(2008/05) May 2008

haha, peace... mayb it's my imagination too... kinda fluffy fluffy feel... kekeke My hb also mention i think too much, staying at home.

I just delivered in November and I'm helping my confinement lady with recommendations. She's currently still with me for another 2 more weeks and has been a great help so far. She's malaysian and I pay her $1800. She's been very good with the baby and takes care of him very well. I also find her very easy going, in the sense that, unlike some CL's, she's not too fussy about what housework you ask her to do on top of her duties. Eg. she'll sweep my garden and wash my hubby's clothes even though I tell her she doesn't have to. I also find her cooking very good. Only thing is she doesnt do grocery shopping unless someone takes her because she doesnt know Singpaore well and is afraid to go out alone. Otherwise, I find her to be a very good CL. She's booked till March and will be available for end April onwards.

I dont get a commission out of this as I'm just helping her since she's been a great help so far. While she's here and if you wish to interview her, you can arrnge with her personally.

Her name is Jing Hua and you can reach her at :
SG number : 96126596 (until 19th Dec)
M'sian number : 0127260955 (after 19th Dec)

Winnedy,
It depends on your gynae's fees for c-section n the room type. Mine was extreme case cos was induced, then tried natural, then went emergency c-sect and i stayed longer due to fever. So my hospital bill at TMC for single bedder came to $3000 cash after medisave.

If you go straight for c-sect and no complications, should be cheaper than this. Your gynae shld be able to give u an estimation.

Dear mtbs

Sorry to barge in here. I am having a BP on maternity and nursing clothes at :
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1107159.html?1196835638

Do take this opportunity to get some new clothes for Xmas or CNY and take a look if you are free. Thanks

just want to vent my disappoint a bit. cos my hubby applied for deferment of his overseas NS training next May, but was rejected... sigh....
actually it's not his first time applying. first time, he applied on the basis of his employer-sponsored course which will last all the way to next Aug. was rejected. then we got the letter from my gynae saying my EDD is next May please grant his exemption. so he used both reasons for the deferment, yet got rejected again.....

sigh... i thot the government is pro-family and always encourage pple for upgrading???

Hi Piggy Mummy,

Yeah, next year after the birth of my son, I will confirm stay at home, cos have 2 children already! But quite scared as i am very use to financial independence! But I feel it will be best for the children, so the huge change! Do you have a hard time making this decision?

Smurferoos,

so far i din regret become a SAMMTB, may b my last job was very busy and req long working hour..everday i go out fr my house ard 7.30am, reach home may b 10 plus or 11 plus (if got many project and tight schedule, sometime works till midnight)..but this year,i already talked to my boss b4 i resign, hope he can look into it, i explained to him i cant work so long hours,( because we want to try BB, some more my health nt very gd for the past year). but i don think he appreciate what i have "fu chu", so he received my resignation and hired a Myanmar worker to substitute me..

so till now i din regret to stay at home, but sometimes abit boring neh..

tracy,

the CL u recommended me is peranankan rite, emm, my HB n i prefer chinese leh..haiz,so chang nao jin..

Hi Winnedy,

baby kicking is like.... how should i describe... hmm.. initially it will be like someone is poking u from the inside but some said they will feel tickish and when the baby gets bigger, you will see your tummy move like a wave and if the baby happen to kick a little hard, you will see that part of area on your tummy which the baby kick/punch will be protruding out.

piggy_mummy,
Will look out for more contacts and let you know if I have them.

Winnedy,
Hmm..I would describe early baby movements to something like goldfish swimming past.you know, that...swoosh feeling..

Yanling,
Was the deferment for the course applied by your hb or the company? So far when our company request for deferment on behalf of the staff, it gets approved. For eg like next Feb, we have incentive trip for staff and one of them reservist clash, so our GM called and wrote in to MINDEF. Approved.

Hi Tracy,

ya first time he applied on the ground of employer sponsored training, the company HR helped him. but still got rejected cos the mindef said it's an active overseas training. the 2nd time he applied himself citing both reasons, also cannot... Maybe try again somewhere nearer the date lor.

Do u drink soft drink during ur pregnancy? I cutted down a lot but still drink abt 1 tin per week... i drank "MUG" which indicated no Caffeine... duno true or anot...sometimes i'll drink ice lemon tea...
Just wondering am i the only one.... hehe

Bel
my baby's got a sweet tooth, so consumption of soft drinks went up actually lol . there was a period when i got hooked on cherryade. thankfully grew out of it now .

piggy_mummy,
don't worry too much...now baby movements are not so defined yet so can't expect to feel the movements everyday. Later on then gynae will ask to monitor number of kicks per day, but not so soon.

Bel,
My last pregnancy I abstain from soft drinks, but now...this baby seems to love it, so i just take a sip or two once in a blue moon to satisfy taste buds only. I still try to control myself.

maybe my skin is too thick.. i dun have those tickish feeling u all describe.

Only got poking pain near the womb pain!!! And when i pee, like got "cramp" at the virgina..

Anyway, seeing my gynae tmr...

Hi Bel,
I dun really drink soft drinks b4 pregnancy.

But in US, i drank alot!!! I was craving for coke every meal and I dranks lots of it...

Come back I try to cut down.... I change to things like Polka carrot juice

it's hard to control especially when the weather is so hot. Gynae said baby will be born smaller in size but there's no benefits at all.. haiz... will try my best... (^.^)

Winnedy,
Lately, I too have this problem of poking feeling. When I sat down, it's ok, but once i stand up, the poking feeling gets more intense, sometimes near the right side of my waist. Hope there is nothing to be alarm.

Me used to love coke, but now can't stand the aftertaste.. Love poka green tea now though, although it's still too much sugar to be desirable.. Must remember to bring my own water bottle, if not eat at hawker centres or coffee shop dunno what drink to order...

I felt very bad pain at my sides earlier this week, like very sudden pulling of muscles, but thankfully now much better. Hopefully it's due to the streching of the womb..

piggy_mummy, the ticklish feeling i dun think i feel everyday, only those days when i'm more active. These few days at home not doing much so nothing too

Anyone has bad backache when sleeping? I can't seem to find a comfortable position to sleep in at all! I read that lying on the back may cause pressure on the spine cos of the weight of the baby (which is by the way is sooooooo tiny still).. So I try to sleep on my sides, but no matter what position I adopt, left, right or on my back I'll wake up several times in the night with very very bad backache, like my whole spine is in great pain! Any tips to help me get through the nights? Still 22+ weeks to go and it's not going to get any better is it?

Gd morning ladies,

yesterday what i describe is the kicking part. As for the movement part, is what Tracy has describe. Right now i still drink coke once a while when i feel like having the chillness go thru my throat, haha.. but normally i will open a can and pour some in a cup rather than finishing a whole can.

Lynn,
yesterday also wake up several times but not because of backache, in fact i also dunno why am i waking up a few times...

lynn,

2 days ago i also encountered pain at my left side, but it stopped after that. me also hope it was because of the stretching.

me usually will sleep on my left side and back, also cant sleep well, wake up several time, seldom have a good night sleep

did u ask dr about the dosage of calcium we supposed to consume perday?

lynn,
I also encounter backache when I sleep on my back. I dont wake up in the night unless I need to pee. But when I wake up in the morning, I have problem getting up due to the pain. Must slowly turn myself to one side even I can sit up.

I have pass the stage of sleepless night. Initially, I always wake up at night or can't sleep even i'm super sleepy, so everyday don't feel like going to work.. now ok liao.. sleep thru the night and dont even feel like waking up in the morning.

And normally I dont really like to drink soft drink but my this bb love soft drink so much. I know we shouldn't drink but me cannot control myself. hee..

Hi muzicgal,
US was ok only... not particularly fun. Maybe the buildings there does not have a historical "feeling" or they do not have special designs for the buildings...

Shopping was great! I bought quite a few baby outfits.

Osh Kosh was so cheap there!!! US$32 for a jumper going at 50% off. I asked a few sales person there. They could not differentiate if its a boy or gal jumper so i bought a few.. Gap was cheap as well.

Has anyone of you experience leg cramps??

I have been experiencing it the night b4 (left leg) and last nite twice on my right leg!

Winnedy,
I learnt to avoid kangkong. Kangkong causes leg cramp in preggy women. Did u eat kangkong or anything 'liang'?

My amino test result is out, bb is normal n is a baby gal. I burst into tear when my gynae called me tis afternoon. My detailed scan is on next thur, hope thing goes fine too.

leg cramps...? I used to. But mayb now no more. What i do is- Stretch. Stretching my legs (especially calves) before going to bed can reduce chances of getting leg cramps. When I feel a cramp, I will straighten my legheel firstand wiggle my toes. I also avoid standing or sitting in one position for long periods of time. B'cos hubby said sitting in a position for too long may restrict blood flow (such as sitting with your legs crossed for long periods of time).
I also drink plenty of fluids. To avoid getting dehydrated. I make sure I'll drink 2 glasses of Annmum (am & pm) & plenty of water during the day. Next, my hubby also does massage to my legs and apply heat. Whenever I have a leg cramp, my hubby will ask me to relax the muscle and massage gently, sometimes he will heat the muscle with a warm towel or hot water bottle. I always make sure i get a warm bath before bedtime B'cos I believe it may also help to relax my muscles and prevent leg cramps. I hope you can avoid leg cramps thru these methods too...

Hi, I am Selling Pigeon box for pigeon wipes 82pcs refill at $4.50 Jus the box. (Kiddy palace selling wif 82pcs wipes at $7.20). If u are keen pls pm me

Hi winnedy,

I love Gap Maternity clothing... nice and casual and comfortable, but singapore never bring in... =( I bought a few baby gap, unisex de.. cos tat time i still dunno is it boy or gal... then bought some baby polo ralph oso.. hehhee... shopping there is great! hehehee...

I oso got leg cramp last week when I stretch myself in the middle of the night... quite serious cramp... serious until the next 2 days walk abit limping...

I also cant find a good position to sleep... everytime surely wake up to pee... very disturbing... then morning wake up not enough sleep... i will feel very grumpy... but scare affect the baby so trying to make myself happy...

hao xin ku wor...

Hi Yanling,

about your husband's request for postponement of overseas training, my husband who's a regular, says it is standard procedure to "reject" at first request, but if you appeal, citing more reasons, (eg can say no CL, first kid, wife nervous wreck etc...) usually they will approve... Hope this helps.

Hi oldmum,

Thanks a lot for the advice. they did say in the reply letter that they will consider the deferment again in March08. if still fails, then will lodge appeal. keep my finger crossed.

Sparks,Dearie_e,

Thank you. Hope my coming detailed scanning results will be fine too.

Sunshine,

Thank you. THe one & half month of waiting is stressful, luckily my hubby n family v supportive. Hope i did not stress my bb.

Muzicgal,

Maybe u can try to put pillow under your leg when u sleep, its help in blood circulation. I do tat during my last pregnancy.

Hi xavpris,

I'm oreadi sleeping with a pillow under my leg liao... and change my pillow to memory pillow liao...sumhow the memory pillow help a bit..

anybody know when is the next baby fair?

went shopping at robinsons and OG (20% off) to help my sister pick up baby stuff for her baby girl..

went to check out baby bottles myself, and also saw on the internet on the risks of Bisphenol-A in baby bottles by major brands.. I was looking at Dr Brown's and the patented internal vent system seems so intersting!

seems like the 'safe' brand to use with a smiliar vent system would be Bfree? But that is so much more expensive than the usual brands! Anyone knows abt the brand Bfree?

supremely fussy mummy-to-be me went shopping for cot mattress last week and this. yet to find one that fits my requirement

most foam ones do not seem dense enough (at least to last till 3 yrs old for my convertible cot) and i can only find one decent spring one at either baby kingdom or baby hypermart (forgot which one) but the sales stuff can't tell me how many spring coils there are or any other information other than the price *faint*

if there are any hard-to-please fussies like me, i'd like to share what i found these 2 weeks.. seahorse could custom-make foam mattress for cot, the salesgirl recommended medium thickness and said she custom made one for her own baby cot! takes 2 weeks be ready, cost is very reasonable, somewhere abt $100 for my dimensions and 4" thickness..

for spring mattress, i asked several places and up till now it seems like only four-stars can custom make cot mattress. for my size and 5" thickness cost is abt $160. also takes abt 2 weeks to be ready..

the other brands say cot mattress is too small to custom make
so unfair cos in the US there's simmons, sealy, serta etc good brands for spring mattress which makes baby cot mattress at very reasonable prices, abt US$120 only, some with pocketed springs too! too bad my sis says it's too bulky for her to bring back for me

heartache spent a bomb on bird's nest and dunno what fish bone thingy which the salesgirl says has collagen and is good for baby too... she says just add to normal chicken soup ingredients and the thingy will dissolve and we can drink the soup.. later going to 'dun' bird's nest for myself.. using my long-neglected double boiler..

lynn,

i just 'dun' birdnest yest..yummy..this week drink birdnest, next week have to drink 'bu'..alternate week..

abt the bottle, only dr brown's bottle is Bfree? me thinking to use Avent, coz will buy their sterilizer.

muzicgal, I would actually recommend play pen, cos I heard alot of my friend's baby all cannot seem to sleep well in baby cot and will cry after a short while. They recommended me to buy playpen cos can last longer. Say if baby don't sleep in it, later can still use as playpen.

Plus the cost is cheaper. Hubby and I went to look at some of those cots and average playpen cost less than 200, and cot cost ard 300, plus still need to buy bumper etc. Will cost more.

So see what you and hubby are comfortable in. Go shopping and look around. Good way to bond with hubby also.

Kelcqi,

i have already registered the prenatal class, but if i want to choose Mrs Wong class at AMK hub, when shd i tell TMC? coz last time i only told them i want to attend, they din ask me which centre i prefer to go..

hi lynn,

what is the dimension of ur cot?seahorse will customise foam mattress with holes?i measure my hand me down cot based on the base board,is it correct??do we need to give any allowance in between for the mattress size?

hi goodbaby, my cot is approx 28" by 52" if i remember correctly.. i'm still for my cot to arrive cos must measure the actual thing to give the accurate dimensons. for cot mattress cannot allow much allowance. i read that if can stick one or 2 fingers in between then t's too much allowance, should be as snug a fit as possible.

for seahorse, they recommend the medium hardness foam, no holes in between if you're referring to the latex mattress kind of holes. the mattress needs to be suitably firm, not to soft as it can cause SIDS and can't support the baby properly..