(2008/04) April 2008

kea

i'm now in my 9 weeks. its safe to take & dont hv to wait till after 1st trimester, i hv been taking both the multi-vit & the fishoil. will be taking it thru out same as when i'm preggie with my #1. its not a must to take, up to individual lor. more for well-being & development of our bb.

Honeybunn,
Better watch your weight! We should only gain about 12kg throughout the 4 terms. Gynae advised me to take low-fat milk although I'm not overweight or what.

cutiebb,
Don't have the metalic taste, but I think taste buds not so sharp cos my hb says the food I take is very saltish now.

Just wondering if this metalic taste butt last thru out the preg or just 1st trim? Experienced mummies care to advice?

cutiebb, my gynae is in Mt E, dolly wee. i somehow guessed tat cos i m still early in my pregnancy, she don wanna put too much hopes. if change gynae, i also not sure who to go to. this gynae is recommended by hubby's fren. sigh.. not sure how to change lor..

schnauzie, have u got a schnauzer? i also have a schnauzer...

girls, i am only taking folic acid and an tai pills.. cos of the yellow spotting. gynae said pregnancy not stable like tat.

Hi Steph77,

I am back in KL now after going back to spore for abt 3 days fri to sun. Yes, i hope all of us will have healthy bb. I will come back to spore on 14 sept for tests. Dun know if oscar test is the same as triple test. wat is it for?

Hi Honeybunn, now i found a kaki who gained like me.

Cutiebb, like u and steph77, i have my growth (adenomoya) before pregnant. Cant take out then if i wan bb. Anyway, now cant take out the growth. Mine is also 5cm.

tsukushi, ok i will try.. my nausea disappeared. n i m eating a lot cos always hungry. i m at 47kg so i guess not that bad right? (trying to console myself)

my taste palate also different liao. i used to eat chocs every night. now no more. i don like cold stuff. i find the food served in the canteen taste weird.. i love spicy food now.. chilli padi...

honeybunn

u can just walk in to see another gynea for 2nd opinion. What I did was tell my 2nd gynea about my condition, blood test and pills which I've been consuming. You don't have to tell them what ur 1st gynea commented. After hearing from them, its up to ur discretion who do u have faith in to continue for the rest of the months.

If u want, can pm me and I can share with u contact of my gynea who is gd at treating cycst but he is quite pricy.

hey simp, u have a cyst too ar? at first i thot i m the only one when i saw the scan... very shocked!! now i feel better.

and now i noe it is normal to put on weight in first trimester..

cutiebb .. dun be too worry over your cryst problem.

actually, we have survive much 1st tri. According to statistic, 40-50% fertilized-egg survive the 1st 4th wks.. and from the 6-12 wks.. only 20% may miscarriage.. and we are only 4 wks away. I doubt the cryst will harm your bb now. It's the getting preggy part that it hinders.

http://www.birth.com.au/class.asp?class=6620&page=1

When the 2nd tri comes, doc will do more tests and confirm the size and the need for the ops.**I guess dr fong just didnt want to expose you to unnecessary test since the cryst will continue to "grow" and he cannot do anything to it anyway. **

Hi Honeybunn,

Mine not exactly cyst. It's more complicated than that, it is a growth a result of my severe endometriosis, the growth has grown into the lining of the uterus, i thin. Cant remove as it will cause uterus to collapse and no longer to conceive in future (same as removing womb). So no way to take out if i wan to try for family. Normally condition like mine and Steph77 cant conceive so easily so if we can, it is a battle won for us. Miracle. Think u dun have to worry like what cutiebb says, cysts and fibroids are ok. Just need to pull through the 1st trimester and i am looking towards that before i can celebrate. So dun be too worried ok. We are all here

Thanks Jgal for ur reassurance.

Really Celine...great to hear tt coz of this metalic taste I can't seem to enjoy my meals. I kept having alot of sour/sweet stuff to stimulate my tongue.

oh can liao

cutiebb, i will give my gynae another try.. hubby's fren said she is gd. so maybe she just too experienced. i cannot be so unfair lah..

Will let u noe if i need ur help... thanks!

cutiebb n honeybunn - yes i got 2 miniature schnauzers..at my parents house. yesterdae i watched a movie on scv about 8 sled dogs left to fend for themselves at the antartic for 157 days and i cried buckets! my hubby was ??? like y r u crying so much nowdays? u know it is just a movie ;p just cannot help it!

oh i also got this salat tastebud..nowadays don like chocolate, find drinks too cold..and love to take spicy food..my cooking nowadays is also more salty. haha..

honeybunn - if u want just give the gynae another try..not tt she is no good..some times there is just no chemistry..think of it tt way. and since u r entrusting 2 lifes with ur gynae u should stick with one u can rest without any fear

hi honeybunn,

Simp & Jgal are right, dun worry too much.
My cyst was bigger than yours, diameter 8cm b4 preggy. I had it removed 4yrs ago. I oso suffered from endometriosis & ovarian cyst. During past few years of trying to conceive, my cyst grew back to about 3cm & when i managed to conceive in April, my cyst now shrink to 2cm & discovered a new growth of a 3cm fibroid. But so far, my pregnancy is smooth. Gynae will monitor as our pregnancy progresses.

its important for us to stay happy and positive wor!
then we will have happy babies and pre/post natal depression which is very dangerous.
Smiling also bring more oxygen to the body.. i guess this is very good for anyone.

I have to say.. i also cant help getting feeling guilty for forgetting my folic acid, put my laptop on my lap unknowing the danger of radiation for 2 hrs.. catching a flu last wk.. But i guess.. it will do the bb and i more good if i dun dwell on these things.. and be happy.. Cos' i cant change what has been done..

<font color="0077aa">Simp,

forgot to answer yr question...abt Oscar & triple test.
Oscar test include NT scan (measure bb neck thickness) + blood test = 90% accuracy for DS.
Triple test is just normal blood test = 70% accuracy for DS.
Another blood test which is necessary is for HIV, hepB, any blood disorder etc. You can check with your gynae during next visit & he will explain to u in details.</font>

jamies

wads the brand of your fish oil? jus come bac fr gynae, he give me multi vits and calcium tabs....but i rejected his fish oil...coz is Epax...heard bad stuff abt it..

Kea

u r also on multi vits and calcium tabs so fast? Did gynea say y u need those?

Hmm...steph and Simp, wat type of tests are u all discussing? Why seem so complex? My gynea just do the normal blood test when i 1st see him

Hmm Cutiebb,

I thgt the tests are standard, u mean it sounds complex is it? I also dun know maybe it's either because of high risk pregnancy or it's the standard tests. So far i have not done any blood test only did ultrasound scan. That's ok is it?

So now at least i know oscar test/triple test is to check for down syndrome. Thanks Steph77

I also forget to tk my folic now and then haha..

I stop taking calcium tabs make me feel like puking.

I know about the 7 doggy show!! It's very NICE!

adeline

calcium tsbs will make us puke??

cutibb

he didnt say....to him is jus supplement..he say more, no harm..he give it to all his patients....like 1 set like that..but i insisted don wan e fish oil lo..

<font color="0077aa">cutiebb,
dun worry. Triple & Oscar test are not standard test but it is pretty normal for MTBs to do either test for peace of mind. You want your baby to be healthy & avoid any risk of DS. These blood test are usually done during 13weeks. The normal blood test u 1st see gynae is perhaps HCG test to check if HCG level doubles cos during pregnancy, HCG hormones should double up as pregnancy progresses. You can re-check with gynae during next visit.</font>

harlow .. did i miss out anyone .. :p
<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> GYNAE</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD><TD>CHILD #</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline</TD><TD> 2nd </TD><TD>Dr Lim T.B.</TD><TD> Mount A</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tratties</TD><TD> 8th</TD><TD>Dr Sng </TD><TD>GlenE </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kea </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alexia</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp *</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gail </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sock Ling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chew Yuan </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>Dr Fong </TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rain </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini05 </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ann </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LL77 </TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan</TD><TD> GlenE </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pucca </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutiebb * </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Dr Sito </TD><TD> Glene H. </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bun </TD><TD></TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cloudluv </TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheesycake 82</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> CH Koh </TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>schnauzie* </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sherin </TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mushloom </TD><TD>5th</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dolphin </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sputnik </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> 1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celine </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doobie Doo </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </td></tr></table>

kea

i got mine fr GNC, its DHA something. will let u know the full name tonite. it consists of algae & fish oil (omega 3 & 6). as we can easily get omega fr our daily meals, its this algae which we cant get thru our daily intake, tats y its quite ex, abt $70+ per bottle. its suppose to help better absorption of omega & bb's brain development.

cloud

coz the brand is Epax...heard some stuff bad abt it in other thread......maybe u can search it out...

Jgal

btw , i change gynae to Dr Chong liao...

Kea
calcium tabs wont make us puke. But i am not used to swallowing big tablets. so when i tk them it is like stuck in my throat and i will vomit them out.

Jamie - thanks

Jgal - to9 can let me know the brand of yr fish oil too?? dunno must take anot leh...haiz...my collegue ask me don take.....she pregnant oso nv tk..she ask me don depend so much on supplement..headache...but like all preggie now gt tk ....

Kea
i took fish oil thruout my pregnancy. My gynae says it's good to take fish oil 3 mths onwards but not during 1st trimester.

Kea.. hahaha .. you have to make your own decision lor :p 1st of all , both of your daily diet is not the same. 2ndly, it been proven that fish oil kids have better hand-eye co-ordination than those who doesnt... And the different can be seen as young as 8 yr old.. I dont want to risk my child.. next time cannot study, he cannot blame me !

schnauzie : actually i wanted to '*' all mothers with cryst , and other condition lor.. so we can encourage each other.. but posting so fast.. i also cannot "catch" all the mummies :p

Adeline

ya lo, alot say aft 3mths then take multivits etc...dunno y my gynae so fast give one....

Jgal

i knw fish oil is gd but which brand? Epax contain an ingredients call AA that will cause high blood pressure...

doc give me liao.. but i guess.. no harm taking now .. but the real benefit for the bb is in the last tri lor

jgal - haha thanks

hey been noticing a strong discharge smeell "down there"..not sure if it is normal..anyone got similar encounter? feel abit worried

jgal

woo...then think yr doc oso like mine , give supplements v early...but do let me knw the brand of yr fish oil ya...will be waiting for u tonite...keke..thx.......

xiang

coz Dr woo seem reluctant to check my V when i told him last time i use to have UTI......he jus give me an tai medication..so i went to c Dr Chong then he check liao say i gt infection lo..n jab for me....

kea.. my gynea give me those suppl because i am not vomitting lor.. else eat already vomit out also the same :p

I read this fm the website:-

Will morning sickness hurt my baby?

Morning sickness can only become a problem for your baby if you can't keep any foods or fluids down and begin to lose a lot of weight. Many doctors think morning sickness is a good sign because it means the afterbirth (the placenta and fetal membranes) is developing well.

So for mummies like me who face vomitting problem and get depressed, can put on a smile after reading this