(2008/04) April 2008

I can't take the smell & taste of EOC. Is there any recommended substitute for tt?

I don't seem to be able to eat much proper food lately...is this normal? How to improve appetide?MS sets in on alternate days which makes me miserable.

<font color="0077aa">hi Simp,

Welcome back to S'pore! So, how's yr pregnancy so far? You see yr gynae & TCM olreadi? How many weeks liao? Me oso 30 this year expecting 1st child. I am 19weeks now, going for my detailed scan on 10Sept at TMC. Where do u plan to deliver baby?</font>

Simp,

i think so, i was doing my ironing but i was sitting down lor, then after tat i sort of mop the floor using the wet tissue... what do u call that can't remember... hee

Adeline/Jgal, thanks for the advise. think i will give him a call in the evening, his clinic only opens at 6pm today.. haiz

Can i ask u all wat is EOC?

Christine, have u called your gyane's clinic to check on your situation? The nurses might be able to help.

I think weight gain is inevitable in pregnancy. Even in first trimester, dun think you shd be losing weight unless you are puking badly and cannot get anything down. However, i think the weight gain during 1st trim shd not be massive, read somewhere that it's normal to put on about 2 pounds in first trim. So far, at 7 weeks plus, i think i have gained about 1kg or less.

This MS thingy is really driving me nuts. Vomitted all the milk i drank this morning. But I think it was more triggered by the choke on the folic acid pill which i was trying to swallow. Hai...

Hi Cath, it seems quite normal to have white/pale yellow discharge during pregnancy. That's what I read in websites.

Adeline

U're very gd, u can take in food which u dun like for the sake of taking. My mum wanna cook this and that which I noe is gd but my body just can't take it. The tot of it makes me wanna puke...dunno how manz???

Food that I enjoy a few weeks back, now I don't seem to fancy. My selection is getting so limited yet I get hungey quite easily. Is like I'm hungry but don't fancy any food...so weird ah!

<font color="119911">hi cutiebb,

Just to let u know that my cyst did not grow any bigger, still maintain at 2cm & fibroid still at 3cm. Baby is growing well. How's your case? Are u still with Dr. Fong ? Think u change gynae right?</font>

jgal

u mentioned pharmacy can get the folic acid, which pharmacy? me tinking to get fr outside as my gynae one quite ex.....3mths supply cost 15bucks!!!

Step77

Great tt ur bb is doing fine
Seems like if cyst and fibroid is grown during pregnancy isn't a big issue, normally ppl remove upon delivery.

Yup I changed gynea, as shown on Jgal's chart. Hmm havent seen the gynea since i got my 2nd opinion. This gynea said I dun have to see him every week. Will update u when i see him the following weekend
Thanks for ur concern

<font color="119911">cutiebb,

If normal delivery, unable to remove cyst & fibroid unless is C-sect. I would like to try natural, if cannot then C-sect & at the same time remove those as well. ok, u take care

Hi Doobie Doo,

have yet to call him cos he only opens in the evening today.

me everyday also MS, morning sure no appetite, but i do try to eat abit so that i can take the folic acid.
my appetite has not been very gd since the weekend, cos the stomach alot of "air" no cravings liao...

Hi HOneybunn:

So coincidence .. me also just got married in this year march ... Think schnauzie also ... hheheh

Christine: think it shld be normal ba .. last week my appetite was so good and have so much craving .. but monday & yesterday was so bad tat i ate so little ... and feel like vomitting ...

than today suddenly appetite become good again ..

cutiebb: i also cant stand the smell of EOC ... was thinking if there is other things to substitute it anot also ...

morning ladies - been having alot of fast food n instant noodle. also been taking alot of spicy stuff..the blanded taste food just don appeal to me!

anyone taking extended maternity leave to spend more time with bb before returning to work?

Hi Steph77,

I am good and now already 7 weeks. Just need to make sure no worsening of spotting. My tcm doctor and new gynae were surprised that i conceived naturally. So am very glad and happy that baby is a miracle child.Yes, i will also deliver in TMC as well as the new gynae' office is there. Hope it is not too exp.

Can i check who is your gynae, maybe we have the same. I should be back on 14 sep for my tests.

Hi Christine, EOC is essence of chicken. Think i may give it a try though not sure if i like it.

Jgal, so happy to learn that we have a few mummies in our thirties. Dr Chan is good but too exp for me i think unless no choice then i go to him. I like your recommendation though.

kea.. the folic acid found in these places is the same as the one that my gynea give me. Not sure abt yours.
944432.jpg
here's the pic

Jgal: mine is the same as urs... any ideal outside folic acid comes in boxes/bottle? if its the same as pharmacy i will rather buy from there, $5 per mth supply is too ex...

I thik the cheapest place to get folic acid is Unity Pharmacy (or the Living Pharmacy which is under NTUC as well). Just bought last Sat, 100 tablets for $2.53. It is exactly the same as the one in Jgal's photo.

So does anyone know if we can eat guava or jambu?

jgal

mine is in this color n size oso..but is in those pill plastic zip bag......maybe will go check it out...btw, anyone of your gynae giving u all fish oil capsule? wad brand is it?

Can we take any folic acid from outside pharmacy? I was told to stop all my usual supplements, not even vit. c, because we dunno whether the manufacturer added stuff not good for expecting mothers. I used to take meiji collagen on and off but have to stop it too even though the manufacturer says it's ok for pregnant ladies. Gynae advised to stop unnatural stuff.

Sputnik,
I think guava is ok because I saw my colleague eating that during her pregnancy. Think jambu should be ok too, but better check with gynae if you're not sure. Mine says I can eat anything, including sashimi, so I already gave in to my cravings last week. :p Btw, I read somewhere that we should reduce or avoid watermelon and pineapples. Not sure whether it's a myth, but I don't eat those.

Cheesycake : The pills come in plastic pkt.. just like medicine frm clinics lor
Anyway, we will not be needing folic acid pill for long.. soon we will be moving to multi-vit pills which contain sufficient folic acid for our daily needs.

Tonight me going to take pic of my fish oil , multi-vit and calcium pills.. btw hor my gynea told to eat fish oil, multi-vit (morning ) and calcium pills (evening) cos' Calcium absorption will be affected by fish oil.. So have to take separately.
**folic acid is vital for the 1st tri. only**

tsukushi

my gynae oso ask me to stop my GNC folic acid. I was taking that be4 seeing him...my first gynae ask me to cont. he say all folic is the same de...then aft i change gynae, he ask me to tk his, i ask him y, he say dunno GNC from where one...but i guess, is jus doc trying to earn more $$... and aft hearing wad he say, i first time MTB oso scare lo..but aft hearing wad my collegae told me, i decided to buy it fr outside aft i finish the gynae one coz my fren's gynae oso say is the same de...and she took GNC one thru out her pregnancy...

Jgal

wads the brand of yr Fish oil? heard some bad effect of the brand Epax that will harm... and i discover that my current gynae give that to patients.....i haven get it fr him yet...but nxt visit he sure give me..am considering whether to get it...

tsukushi yah.. my gynea ask me to stop my GNC-prentatal formula also... Cos' different stage needs different vit. e.g. Vit a is dangerous during the first tri... In the 2nd tri it becomes essential... GNC formula has high vit a.

So better dont any how buy from the pharmacy/GNC etc.... Cos' salesgals are not properly trained...
folic acid is quite straight-forward cos' it exactly the same as the one i am getting.. hee hee :p

tsukushi if you carry your bb well, i guess can eat most of the stuff.. But if you have spotting cramps etc.. better watch your food lor..

Melons are cooling same as coconut.. i try to avoid.

Kea,

I think I rather spend a bit more if gynae says not to take outside folic acid. I still remember there was a case of recall for supplements from certain australia factory, bec their pills did not meet the standards. That case affected a number of brands we see in our pharmacies. But ultimately, it all boils down to your level of comfort. I have stocked up a lot of supplements from GNC during my bdae mth, now must force my hb to finish on my behalf.

Heard from my GP that fish oil also cannot anyhow take, like those cod liver fish oil from the supermart shelves.

Jgal,

How about Nata de coco? I ate that in my meiji yoghurt last night.

I had pretty bad but tolerable cramps in the first few weeks. But after taking homones for some time, the cramps seem to have vanished. Don't know whether it's bec uterus have already adjusted.

Btw, I have on-off spottings. Doc says it's due to weak placenta or else there's something abnorm with the bb. Need a lot of rest and less movements.

tsukushi

for folic acid, i don mind taking outside one..coz folic is proven worldwide the same by many gynaes...but as for other supplement, i don dare to say......but i don wish to tk oso coz is not good tking so many supplement as fish oil , calcium can intake fr our normal food liao...

Jgal

yr fish oil wad brand? coz if my gynae insist me to tk, i c the brand Epax, i will scare...

hey u gals dont hv to fight, i'm the oldest here. will be 34 this year!!

kea

my gynae only gave me folic acid & multi-vit. i got my own fishoil (DHA) fr GNC, for both my pregnancy.

jamie

is the GNC one suitable for pregnancy? u tk it aft 3mths or thru out ? is it a must to tk? seem lyk alot taking leh....multi vits also aft 3mths rite? now u r in wad trimester?

Water melons i think so.
But i still eat sun melon, honeydew which is generally alright. coconut it will be good to drink about 3 weeks before ur delivery. can help to cleanse ur blood after u deliver.

Erm.. I saw some threads talking about eating their own placenta. Quite shocked.. any experienced mommies here took their placenta or planning to take?

tsukushi : i guess.. if you have no problem.. then you can continue on the diet lor ... Cos' diff. body can take diff. things lor
e.g. i have asthma and CANNOT take yoghurt/kiwi in the evening.

If you have spotting, just check on your diet.. and try to avoid things you think shld be avoided lor :p I avoid prawns, crab etc. It really doesnt mean we need to "follow" when someone say okay or not okay. :p Up to you meh. Yeah.. jamie, you are right.. no need to fight.. hee hee .. mothers just have to make their own decisions lor. No right and wrong answers...

Aniway, folic acid very cheap. can buy from outside or from doc, the different is only a couple of dollars... I suggest to cheesy to buy outside is because she will not be seeing the doc these few days meh :p So she can grab folic from the pharmacy instead of "depriving" the bb of the nutrient. ;)

woah u gers really take lots of supplements even way before u r pregnant....opps I'll in trouble coz I hate popping in pills, wonder how's life going to be like when gynea gives me pills which u all received

cutiebb

i only tk folic and my an tai medication coz gt abit spotting earlier last wk.....best is don tk supplement....tk it fr yr food.....depend too much on supplement, is not gd..then must tk thru out pregnancy.....i gg c gynae nw liao, if he give me ltr, tink i gonna reject all.....

<font color="0077aa">Simp,

Great
to know u & baby doing well. Yours is indeed a miracle baby after so much hurdle. Mine too, aft such long wait ttc then finally...manage to hatch!!haha

My gynae is Dr. Fong same as Jgal. Clinic at Tiong Bahru.
Are u staying in S'pore now? b'cos u mentioned u will be back on 14Sept for tests..what test? Triple test for DS ah?</font>

Hey Jenny and schnauzie, sure a coincidence... Married in March also? I think it was a gd month to get married this yr.

Simp, I have gained 4kg.. Hehe.. I am only coming on to my 7th week..

Steph77, I have a cyst measuring 5cm by 4cm.. I am very worried. Going for my next scan only on 8th sept. Keeping my fingers crossed..

Kea, yup hope can get enough nutrients from fd but I'm not exactly eating well. Come to medicine, I'm like a small kid which needs some sweet after popping in pills coz pills are so yacky to me
tts y i hate to fall sick

kea ... you need to see your condition lor.. i heard that some mother lose hair , drop teeth during preggy. If you dun have signs that you are under-nourished, then your diet is good enuff lor..

If some of us, dun have very healthy diet habits , supplement is the easier way out lor

Cos' i read frm news the other day, if we are not properly nourish , bb will grow up hungry all the time.. and turn out to be obsessed.

Calcium pill is chewed .. not popped.. so i guess that one is easy lor :p

Jgal: thanks gal... now feel abit guilty to skip folic acid yesterday. keke just grab one packet from guardian for $3, 50 tabs... exactly the same as gyane given to me... since my 1st trimester is going to end soon in 3wks time. so guess more than enough liao. oic i tot we will taking thru out pregnancy. heng nv buy more keke...

Honeybunn

was ur cycst there b4 pregnancy or after? If its after, think u dun ve to worry much like steph77. Unlike mine has been there b4 preg.

Update us on ur scan. I will also be going for my check up on 8th sept

BTW mummies, do u all have a metalic taste on ur tongue when u aren't eating?....the taste is similar to tt when one is ill.

Read from bks its quite common for preg women but I don't like tt feel

Hmmm, I also donno whether it was there b4 my pregnancy or not. oops... I don go for regular checks..

Gynae just told me to remove after labour. Said at my age, should not be cancerous..

Simp, Thanks.

Me also in the 30s...

i tried not to eat cooling stuff during the 1st trimester, think better be safe lah huh.

i am only taking folic acid at this moment leh, is that enuff. dun dare to take milk yet, scared i wannt puke..