(2008/04) April 2008

Hi Adeline,

I'm 29 this year.
Am i the oldest here?

At least I know I'm not alone when I feel exceptionally cold. Seems like my resistance to cold temp. has weakened after expecting. It's quite tough to endure 1 day of work in office when I keep shivering.

I think those sayings like having MS or not MS as an indication of gender are just myths. My mom didn't have MS for my bros and myself. If you talk about genetics, I'm not sure either cos her sister have had very bad MS.

honeybunn,
Who is your gynae? Mine didn't congratulate us either, but overall she tries to assure us of the +ve sides even though during the early visits I had symptoms like ectopic preg. I think they have probably seen too many cases and got immuned already. But if you're not comfortable with your gynae, you can still change.

I'm 27.

tsukushi - i am also shivering and teeth chattering very often. my mum and i discussed the issue and it's down to nanny or maid..hubby and i decided to get a transfer maid who is taking care of my granny now. im feeling very lost and confused. one side of me wish to take care of bb on my own but we decided that i need to work. my parents have 2 dogs to take care of and cant help me unless i settle the dogs, my in laws live further away and often need to go for medical appointment so i don want to tax on them.

tsukushi - u decided to stop working?
anyone in a similar dilemma?

Am new here.
Currently about 7weeks+ preggie and my first gynae appointment will only be this coming Sat. Pretty excited about it. Hopefully can see/hear bb heartbeat. MS is really quite torturing, aint it? Feels like stomach flu! Nauseous when I get hungry and cannot eat too much or too fast otherwise will feel very very bloated. Just started to take ginger tea, hopefully it helps. Not much appetite nor do i have cravings! Can't wait for all these to be over.

Regarding whether MS is genetic... personally do not think it is. Cos my mum do no have any MS at all for all 3 of her pregnancies whereas I do.

Hey ladies, is it normal for the clothes to get tighter at the hips and thighs at such early pregnancy? I started to feel that my pants are tighter at about 5 weeks and now in 7 weeks, cannot wear many pants liao. Dunno if it's because my pants are usually more fitting. Hai..

All the best to all MTB out there and bear with the 1st trim MS. Will be over soon!

Hi celine, dun worry, u are not the oldest. Me in my early thurties and expecting my 1st one. Have been married for coming 5 years. Actually I originally had no intention to have children, but changed my mind last year, so started trying this year.

My MIL said she will help to take care, she even said she will get a maid for us and come over everyday, instead of us bringing the baby over. But dunno if this confirmed or not, guess will settle at a later date.

schnauzie,

Not decided yet. But thinking of passing the bb to a nanny. She has taken care of my nieces and my nephew is still under her care. The kids are healthy but tend to be a bit naughty. Of course, the best is to take care of the bb on our own, but living expenses are high, so I would have to return to workforce sooner or later. Unless I strike toto
It's a tough decision to make and a lot of sacrifices no matter which way you decide.

Btw, any ladies getting a maternity seat belt? It straps at your laps instead of tummy. Any sales coming up? Don't know if I should just get a mothercare membership?

Hi doodle,

I cannot fit into the tighter pants already, and have to let the jeans collect dust. Anyway, my mom has told me to avoid tight fitting clothes. Time for shopping soon!

my purchases was from Perfect Mum. Spring was my first stop but i find that the pants are expensive. Seeing Perfect Mum has discount and Sunday was the last day, I popped into the shop. Hubby was never discouraging abt the purchases. In fact, he was estimating that more maternity apparels will be purchased. Frankly speaking, I am a small size gal. Wondering if I really need maternity apparels. In Perfect Mum, bras was sold in a set of 3.

Why do I buy so much in the first trimester? Maybe it's the sales talk and first pregnancy.. But I have to say that customer service is good. I don't think I will be purchasing more in the coming months.

My wedding dress was sent for alternation.. I will post the clothes pic if I can.

doodle, tsukushi - i think i need new clothes soon too. my clothes are fitting n non stretchy ones. >P excuse to shop! where is a good place to go? suntec, novena sq, or where?

schnauzie

I am looking at infant care now. Not sure if I can get a nanny to look after for me. Nanny would be my first choice, followed by infant care then be a SAHM.

heard that novena sq 2 (korea shops) has free-size clothes and is not expensive. Suntec has a 'maternity' floor (besides Toy'r us).

anybody know if chicken essence can be taken in the first trimester?

anyone looking for confinement lady now?

So far i've got no symptoms like you ladies have mentioned here, starting to feel alittle worried.
I've got no MS, no nausea, no giddiness, no cravings, no cramps, no bloated feeling.
I feel perfectly normal le. Wonder if this is ok.
I'm seeing my gynae on this coming monday. BB will be 9 weeks then. Cant wait to see BB again.
Seems like a long wait.

i just bought two dresses frm Forever 21, after delivery still can wear. Maternity wear mostly looks v auntie to me le.

Sherin: u r not alone without MS... i have no cramps, no sore boobs. i do have abit of nausea sometimes but very mild type. like u i start to worry, guess i need to talk to my gyane on coming mon too.

tsukushi, i have not done my research, not sure where i could find nice loose clothing. have to agree with sherin, dun really like maternity wear cos they always seem oversize and kinda auntie. hehe... will probably go for baby doll tops or dresses.

Sherin, you are so lucky to not have MS. how i wish i do not have. so enjoy it..

Cheesycake, i'm also like you, nauseous on off but never really puked. usually happen in the morning or when i'm hungry.

hi, me 30, i think i ll be SAHM...all my pant oso very tight, is time to take out all e maternity wear to wash liao.

Xiang, heard tat infant care very expensive leh.

cloudluv

no choice as I have no one to take care of the baby except myself. I would love to be a SAHM but the income earned supercedes the expenses. But I am thinking of working in the early years, afterwhich I will consider to be a SAHM for the child's sake.

some infant care can be subsided by CPF.

schnauzie
my mum will be taking care of bb with the help of a maid which i'll be getting.. i stay just 5 mins drive away from my mum so very convenient..

Sherin / Doobie
might want to check out far east as my gf said that there are lots of baby doll tops there.. me went down to bugis last weekend but there isnt much already..

xiang, infant care is at least $1000 and above. Personally i do not like it, because it may not be as clean and as hygenic as home, and the teachers will not take trouble to prepare the food for your baby, most likely only milk and milk so it will be tough to introduce solids. My friend's baby went infant care, practically falling sick every other day.

My mumm will take care of bb. THe only issue is whether we want to bring bb back every night. Can be very tiring to wake up for feeds and go to work in the day. Sighz.

Heard bad things abt infant care also. I had a friend whose toddler was in infant care, fell sick very often. One time she went down to take a look without giving them any warning, and found her kid tied to a chair. Needless to say, she did not send him there anymore.

Xiang,

My mom asked tcm shops and the people says we can take chicken essence. Actually prior to seeing the gynae, my gp also said chicken essence is ok.

Hhahaha just woke up from my nap and saw so many msg... was on 1/2 day mc today and was so pissed off with the company doctor ... who is so unprofessional! Was having a bad headache and ms tat i went to c him this morning ... and when i asked him abt my scalp problem does it have any thing to do with the hormones changes etc .. he shrug it off and say so young where got hormones changes... & he started to say buy the medicated anti-dandruff shampoo from him .. after tat he start to write some stuff on my medical records and when i asked him the medicine he going to give me can it be taken together with those tat my gynae gave me .. he asked me y gynae gave me medicine? am i trying to get preg?!? I told him i am already pregnant! he gave me an answer i shld have told him earlier! guess wat ... i was at the clinic only 2 weeks back to do the preg test and tested +ve! he just din bother to look back my record and just happily prescribe the medicine to me .. luckily i told him abt it than he say the shampoo pregnant cannot use!

Cannot imagine if a patient have allergic to certain medicine and he din bother to check back wat would happen to tat patient ...

Adeline: i will b 27 this coming october ...

schnauzie: my mum is prepared to help me take care of my baby after giving birth... be having my confinement there too... after tat start working will only be bring baby back home on friday ... guess it be too tiring to bring back everyday ..

Hi Doobiedoo: Welcome to the family! My skirts also starting to feel very tight and uncomfortable .. hahhaha have to wear those baby doll dress and loose clothings now

hehe i am just curious of our average age.. and seems like alot mommies are 26/27.

I am the youngest. coming 23 in nov.

My aunty is looking after my 1st girl and she will be looking after my 2nd girl as well.
IF letting baby go infant care, better let them have pneumococcal jab. My aunty has 20 over yrs nanny exp.. and she tks good care+ dote on kids alot.

Xiang
Spring clothes quite Ex hor..
i bought my top from perfect mum too. Their CS is very good and they wont push u to buy. if u try already dun like they still smile smile (though they might not be happy inside) i also like the service kekeke.. maybe cause i personally am into customer service.

Another thing about Essence of chicken. It can help improve milk quality and helps in lactation.
WE can drink EOC thruout our pregnancy + confinement. It will help us boost our energy and increase milk supply.
BUT BUT BUT.. please do not drink herbal range EOC. they are not safe for pregnancy consumption.
Traditional EOC will do.

Doobiedoo
Welcome!!

i dun like the smell and taste of EOC ...

so dun think i would be taking tat...

Adeline: u so young already going to be mother of 2 already!

i am 31 and is first time mother. anymore 30s out there?
my MS is getting worst esp during meal times. backaches is back. good thing is baby is growing well. went for a scan. we saw the legs and arms.

Thanks Jenny & Adeline...

For me, will be arranging for my mum to look after my bb after maternity leave. But i also have the same dilemna as most of you ladies here. That is, whether to bring bb home every night or only on Friday. I think the latter arrangement can be during the 1st 6 mths of bb. However as the bb grows older, he/she might become too attached to grandparents instead of parents if we do not bring him/her home everyday. Need to spend time to build the bond with him/her.

Btw, seems like there are so many young mothers here...
I'm already coming 31, haha.. maybe the oldest here...

I'm a Dec MTB. Due to pregnancy hormonal changes, i've developed some rashes and have stopped using stretch mark creams since.

I would like to sell the following from Palmers - cocoa butter formula:
2 x Stretch marks cream 125gm + free Bust Firming Massage cream 30gm. ($20 each)
2 x Stretch marks lotion 250ml ($20 each)
1 x Pre-Natal Radiance body gloss 250ml ($20 each)

Please PM me if you are interested. Thanks.

Hi Dolphin

I am 31 too!!! Yeah, hvg the first bb.... so excited.

MS is terrible. I am going into 9th week but MS is still terrible esp after meals... Argh...

Anyone has any yellow discharge after taking folic acid and vitamin B tablets? I've getting that badly recently, esp the Vit B tablets... Starting to get worried. If this continue, i will give the gynae a call...

Morning everyone!! I'm not working today, so relaxing at home....

How often can we take essence of chicken? I'm one of those who love the taste of EOC. Also, can we take fruits like guava and jambu (rose apple)?

This is what i know.
As you get older, the ms will be worse. Thats the reason y i dun suffer from ms.. my age grp i already have 4 friends with baby. 5th one coming up same EDD as me. all of them dun have ms. (maybe we love getting married young and give birth young! hehe)

Doobie
i bring my #1 back only on fridays and visit her whenever i have time. she is still very attached to me. They know who are their parents.
I am still studying + working so at times i dont visit her.
To bring home evrey night (unless hv transport or near ur house). if not will be very tiring to bring to and fro. + my aunty dote on kids and my cousins treat my girl well so i feel very safe to leave her at my aunty place. only bring back on fridays.

Adeline

u're indeed very young...its quite rare nowadays to see ppl getting married young and giving birth young. Tts explains y u r able to enjoy ur preg without much unpleasant encounters.

Sputnik

U r on leave today? Hubby actually adviced me to take MC today coz I vomitted badly last nite...hmm but I still struggle to be in office today. Will c how my situation be like later

Hi girls, to keep up with the threads, which is moving very very fast... I am 29 this year.

Doobie doo, u r not alone. my skirts feel tight too. My gynae not very happy that I put on weight. But she din even noe i was very slim before. I got married in March this year. And cos my hubby and I thought of starting a family, I tried very hard to put on weight. And in the mist of doing so, I got pregnant. So now my XS skirts and pants are tight. And my gynae said I should lose weight this trimester and not gain. I felt so sad.

tsukushi,
I thought of changing gynae. Mine is an old lady, talks very slow and dreamy, I am worried if she delivers my baby.

sputnik,
I take chicken essence 3 times a week. Hubby said cos first trimester very tired one, so must take to keep my energy levels up.. The sales lady in Eu Yan Seng said it is fine to take 3 times a week...

Cheers...

cutiebb - yeap, on leave from today for the rest of the week. Hehe... enjoy life hor...

Honeybunn - thanks for the advise on the EOC! I am very slim (underweight actually), eat and eat but cannot put on weight that type. So have started drinking Annum to get more nutrients.

Do you gals heat up the EOC before drinking? I usually too lazy to heat up, so just drink it cold.

For EOC, I think it doesn't matter. But I like it very lot.

I was underweight at 43kg 1.6m. Now I am 47kg. Cos I eat the oily fried mee with cabbage and fish every morning together with a lot of chilli. Also I drink 2 glasses of milk each day. And I eat ice cream and chocolate every evening. Try that...

Hehe...

Honeybunn - wow, u managed to put on quite a bit hor...not bad... for myself, i'm 1.6m, thik my weight is abt 44-45kg currently.

Adeline
wah.. u seem to be the youngest mummy here.. nxt time when ur kids are big, will look like brother & sister rather then mummy with kids.. me too aiming for 2 kids that's y started this year.. wanna stop production b4 i turn 30yrs old.. hahahaha

Wow,

The thread is moving so fast i almost lose track.

I see quite a few MTB in their 30s but the majority the young mummies. I am 30 this year expecting my first baby. I will be a SAHM for the next few years until i move back to spore with family. Think after confinement in spore, i will be taking bb back to kl and take care by myself. I am concerned that i may not be able to handle and take good care of bb since mum and mum-in-law are not with me.

Did anyone gain like 2 to 5kg in first trimester? I think i have been gaining so fast and worried that i cannot shed them after delivery.

Just a check, any 2nd time mum that had her 1st bb delivered via c-sec? I would like to know if the confinement meals and post-natal massage are different if i am also to breastfeed.

Simp
I eat alot and so far i gain 500g.

Tratties
think it is my family trend also.. hahaha.. my mom is 41 yrs old. grandma of 2 already.

My gynae say average weight gain can be 12kg to 15kg. I was almost exceeding 15kg for previous pregnancy. hehe.. but he dont scold ppl for over eating! he will warn us though about the consequences and make u scared then u will feel guilty haha.. Quite a nice father he is actually. Guess thats why i feel very comfy with him.

Btw if u do eat durians right. dont treat them as dessert! tk them as a meal and skip ur rice/noodle or whatever.
Durians can cause MASSIVE weight gain.
And my gynae told me durians cannot be treated as a dessert during pregnancy. take it as a meal. This will reduce weight gain.

I drink EOC daily (unless i forget) Works wonder!!! no worries about drinking them at all.
Remember it helps lactation and improve milk quality which is good for preggy mommies and during confinement.

Wow think I'll start taking EOC, but afraid I'll start to puke after it.

There are baby fair at Taka and JL sales. Anyone planning to go and grab some stuff?

i am at my 6.5 weeks. i notice this morning when i wake up tat i have alot of light brown discharge, but it has stop already. u think is normal? shld i visit the doc immediately

i think i oso wan to start taking EOC since i hv not enuf sleep, but afraid i'll puke after it.
EOC shld take in the morning before meal?

Adeline,

Really envy u, 500g gain only. Think i gained like 2 to 3 kg liao. Pengsan.

Would taking eoc very heaty? i dun know if i can take it.

Hi Christine, did u carry haevy stuff or do strenous exercise? Maybe can give your gynae a call to check.

EOC belongs to WARM side not heaty. As for heaty it depends on individual body constituents.
It is a type of food so ok to take with empty stomach.

Simp
if u think eoc too heaty after trying, take them once every 2 to 3 days!

christine
if it stops shouldnt be anything dangerous.. but if it comes back pls consult ur gynae to be safe.

tsukuni
I haven go to the sales. i heard all new born stuff nothing much also + very pack.
If u scared of drinking EOC try making warm? actually i dislike the taste leh. i drink for the sake of drinking. haha

CheesyCake : you can get folic acids in all phamarcy. Probably exactly the same as what your gynea gave you. 50 tab for $2.50(w/o GST). I buy it when i forget to bring to work :p hee hee...

Simp same here.. me 30 this yr.

Tsukushi will start to buy bb stuff once 1st tri. is over ... at least the bb is confirmed.. and maybe know the sex .. then can decorate room liao
hahaha...

Christine.. call your gynae , email or something. Cos' he will have your record and will be able to advise you properly.