(2008/04) April 2008

summer's mum.. sometime is inevitable..
will take note..

Sherin

Btw nice recommendation on the walker. Ian finally knows how to push it around.

What is a slam baby syndrome?

look like alot of mummies are celebrating for 1st child first birthday right.

how abt those with 2nd child? do u intend to hold celebration for 2 nd child's first birthday? my sis in law no need to celebrate for my 2nd child lei.. hmm

Jojo,

My opinion, it's the child's first birthday no matter which order of birth. The poor child will look back and compare... why the elder one has all the celebrations and not her. Just my thought.

Jule's mum : I share you views. A birthday celebration shld be regardless of order. However, whether you going to hold a party or not depends on circumstances though. Maybe 2nd one you can opt for a small family celebration at the park instead of a massive one.
I think the important thing is to let them know that each one of them are special.. and that's regardless of how much parents spend on their birthdays..

Jgal : Ya. I forgot to add this too. Hehe. Maybe do a small one. I'm the eldest in the family and I do get everything. I pity my sis cos she's always comparing. I feel that's where the middle child syndrome starts.

jgal/jules's mum,
like wat u said, think i will definitely hv a celebration buffet with friends. if not later kids grow up and said i 'big small eyes' haha

if my 1st one has it my 2nd shld also have it. must try to be fair. if not, i will feel bad to the 2nd one.

Angeli

last yr, my sis in law had her birthday party in apr n cater fr neo garden. then i had my gal 1mth celebration in may last yr with angeli(i can't eat much due to confinement except selected one). those relatives & MIL comment tat angeli is better. in turn of price, its much cheaper too. it had 1 rice n 1 bee hoon instead of either rice or bee hoon(neo garden). guest sure can eat til full. the curry chicken and fish not bad. hope this info help if u wan info abt them.

ya lor, must be fair mah.
my sil trying to talk mi out of celebrating, maybe cos her own child did not celebrate then she felt not necessary ba.

diff ppl will have diff view. if u feel that ur 2nd shld have it. then go ahead with it. cos they only have one 1yr old celebration once in a life time. for subsequent birthday, just make it a small family event. just my 2cents worth of opinion.

I think i will celebrate for all my children.. i want everyone in the family to "feel" their presence. But I initially wanted to keep it within the close family members until my hubby started to ask his colleagues to come to the party *sigh*.. Initially, we were planning to ask each family member to do / make something special for the little gal. My auntie has make her flowergal dresses and my hubby intend to cook for my gal.. and i was about to try out cake-making with my sisters.

I think the impt thing in a birthday celebration is to make the birthday person feel special.. party or not.. i think that's secondary. i want to let me children know that they will always get different treatment given the time / situation. I hope that they will give up comparing from young.. ha ha ha

Frankly, i dun think i can give the 2nd one the same love i have for Constance.. And it will never be the same for Constance when 2nd one arrive.. *aiya* Hard to be parents..

Angeli

i order for 50ppl portion n got 60-70 ppl come(my MIL invite too many relatives liao). after tat still got left over for curry, beef rendang, veg, noodle-many n rice-many.

any mummies send their babies to tumble tots? have one very near me.. tempted to go since i heard My Gym is closing their civic centre gym

Lynn, i also have one near my place, thinking of sending my gal there too... wana try the trial first at $23 (irc). But I always too lazy to bring her there.. even just a stone throw away distance. =p I stay at cck. Where do you live?

hope all the lil bbs who r sick, get well soon. Hugz Hugz!!!!!!!

Talking abt buffet, I feel that International catering is not bad 2 cos i hv ordered afew times from them for co. events. Price quite reasonable & food are nice especially their laska, mini durian puffs & assorted tarts are delicious. Mayb u all can consider 2.
http://www.intl.com.sg/

esther, me at sembawang. really very near me but hubby worried about enrolling her in play gym as she has not taken her pneumoccocal jab. plan to let her take it at 1 yr old..

any mummies can share their experience at tumble tots?

<font color="0077aa">maomi, serving at ISS is quite big .. let sae order fer 30 pax.. they will give bout 32-35 pax like tat.. but tat time baby full mth.. din expect a big turn out then become not enough food ahhaa.. but my guest commented not bad, food taste good :D, my hubby oso sae is good.. </font>

<font color="0077aa">mummies, have ur manage to book any birthdae cakes yet?? im still sourcing. . any recommendations? i had planned to order a bdae cake &amp; cuppies too.. cuppies i secure the booking le except fer cake..</font>

strawberries, me ordering cake + cupcakes from cupcake divinity

who are u ordering the cuppies from? why not get the cake from the same person/shop to reduce the hassle?

morning,
my gal has on-off fever for the past few days..

given fever med but fever will still come after the night...

yesterday she had a fall from the bed...and her fever started again...

so far she has not vomited but her fever not that high...
besides vomitting and fever what else do i have to monitor??? restlessness??

lynn,

i oso ordered my cake from cupcake divinity. didn't get their cupcakes. cos i will only hv a small party for own family members.

can share what present are you all buying for ur bb on their 1st bday?

let says u got 80 guests for bb party. how many pax shld i order for the buffet? 50pax? coz my MIL cooking curry yong taufu. very afraid lots of left over food. some say come in the end cancel. so taken in consideration some wont turn up.

i ordered 60 cupcakes frm cupcakemomma. Chevelle's birthday is from cupcakdivinity

Good afternoon,

For those who are interested in Neo Garden Cater, they got this promo for 1st birthday. Nvr use them b4. Gonna cater for my son's birthday next week. Hopefully everything turns out good. :)

http://www.neogarden.com.sg/promo_current.cfm?Mode=Promo

I used Gim Tim Group for my ROM, quite good &amp; portion big, but they increase their price liao. Too ex. :-(

http://gimtim.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=72:eek:utdoor-buffet&amp;catid=42:catering&amp;Itemid=78

Hi Calamari,

The school timing is from 7am-1pm Half Day (Cherie Hearts) but we can bring him in anytime from 7am onwards.
Anyway have discuss with hubby again, decided to send him to Playgroup when he is much older, probably at 24months.

Planning to sign him up for Enrichment class. Will be going for Trial Class at Kindermusik next Sat. Any comments for the school?

jaspire,
need to enquire something from u...

is the medela freestyle pump good to use?
seen that u have ordered 1 from BBpotato from the 1st spree...

Mummyfel,

My boy is having lesson in Kindermusik since 5 months. My son and I enjoy the class. Have fun.
Think Angel brought Dana for trial. How was the class Angel?

I'm ordering my cake from Pines. Our family love their cake.. Yummy...
Any recommendation for cuopcakes? Do we need to give the guests something? hmm... I hope to make this party special but instead getting more stressed than my own wedding preps then.. Sigh..

Mummyfel: IMO, Kindermusik is quite good lah. Music and movement kinda class. But I went for an organised trial class, so not sure whether the instructor put in extra effort just for the trial class or its like that for all other classes.

I am searching for Mickey Mouse cake..preferbably a small one that not over 1kg, coz cant finish oso.... any ideas ? i cant seem to find it..haiz..bengawasolo. min is 3kg.... i wan mickey head cake or the whole body ..... w/o any other design....

<font color="0077aa">lynn, i ordered my cuppies from cupcakemomma :D, this is my 2nd time ordering from her, the first is when my boy full month

Hmm.. i seen cupcakedivinity, her cake is only 7" &amp; my hubby wanna a bigger cake so guess hers is out.. im currently still waiitng fer the sweetest moments reply, enquired wif the sale person on during the baby fair, they sae they do make large cakes but unable to code me really a estimated amt.. thus already sent an email to them but till till yet reply.. so in consideration fer larger cakes.. guess i would go fer pine garden.. but worried the outcome of the cake ahahaha.. no doubt their cakes are nice :D

Caitlin, perhaps u can try cupcakemomma? sweetest moments oso have cuppies and oso the cupcakedivinity :D</font>