(2008/04) April 2008

Prawnie
as long as your boy can still have his milk feed after barley, no problem increasing barley feed.
what i do is i make up the total oz of ebm per feed. e.g. 1oz ebm with barley + 4oz ebm via bottle = 5 oz total (regular feed amt )
Main thing is to keep daily milk feed amt at a certain target level, but a little less ebm cos he's too full from cereal once a while wldn't hurt.

TGIF everyone!

mummies and babies must be having fun at gathering now... (or maybe just over)... aww what a nice way to spend a Friday.

I'm not sure if this is relevant but Ethan gets 2 tbsp of cereal and 2 scoops of milk powder and I just add water to get the consistency that I want.

As I want him to still consume liquids, I end off his meal with milk. Ethan takes 200ml per sitting on average which is about 6 scoops of formula. So in keeping with his usual consumption, I let him have another 4 scoops.

Sometimes he doesn't finish it, sometimes he does and wants even more. Ethan doesn't drink more than he wants, there's no forcing the boy when he's had enough. I don't necessarily have a strict feeding guideline, I let my son tell me how much he wants, when he wants it

Eh i need some light on how to start semi solids, now i blur. btw, i haven buy any cereals besides the heinz one but can only keep 1mth after opening.

koori

mine is the bjorn synergy. its still stressful on the shoulders ever since my boy reached the grand weight of 8kg.
actually i tried the original bjorn for my boy too not much of a diff other then less stress on the back. shoulders still just as stressful

usually after feed cereal, i din feed her milk liao.. i only let my girl drink milk when she want to drink which is maybe 2hr later or so..

after she started on cereal, her intake drop. now drink around 720ml daily + 1 feed cereal

Jasmine - oh tik the difference is for back support only...tik bjorn shld come up with one that can ease shoulder stress....hehe.

Joelle, Diva : Thanks. So just maintained the total milk intake per feed and it's inclusive of the no. of teaspoon of cereal right ? Hope I get it right. hee..

One more thing. I bought millets for baby. I intend to grind it into powder form. So do I just add in hot water to the millet powder ? or can I warm up ebm and stir in the millet powder ?

Calamari,
Oh,so sad
Ok i try to call them, do u still have the contact no? Thks!

Baby Carrier:
Need some advice...My baby is coming to 5mths, I'm thinking whether is it necessary to buy a carrier? Is there any carrier that I can carry baby facing infront? Thks

hi calamari

I read this website for reference as to how many oz total of ebm is needed a day
http://www.babycenter.com/0_how-to-tell-whether-your-babys-getting-enough-breast-milk_617.bc?articleId=617&page=3

Quote: "the average amount of breast milk until 6 months of age is around 26 to 28 ounces per day, divided into six to eight feedings. If solids are started earlier than 6 months, the amount of breast milk a baby takes will decrease."

Before cereal, my boy takes 7 sessions * 4-5oz ebm = 28oz ebm a day (approximate)

After cereal was introduced, he takes about 26oz. not much less because I mix ebm with cereal and afterwards top up with ebm via bottle. but certain times after fruit for e.g., he is too full and manages to finish 3oz only.

i think it is still within the babycenter guidelines so am not too bothered with it. plus cereal is more solid so i'm quite confident he is feeding enough.

article did not specify how many oz milk needed when feeding cereal, but i think can aga-aga slowly decrease till the 1 yr target of 16-24oz a day (as per article).

this link also has info of how much cereal to feed a day.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_age-by-age-guide-to-feeding-your-baby_1400680.bc#2

just to share, my boy is taking total 5 teaspoon brown rice powder a day . usually 4 tsp are fed during "lunch" via spoon feeding and 1 tsp mixed into ebm at "dinner" 7.30pm feed. sometimes when timing is not right and he is too sleepy to enjoy spoonfeeding, i just mix the cereal into the ebm and feed via bottle.

Koori,

I never tried the Bjorn Air or Synergy so I don't know how effective the lumbar support actually is.. it does look good though. But like Jasmine said, I don't think anything can eliminate shoulder pain. I feel like I'm getting hunched as it is!

About introducing semi-solids, I believe it's the same for organic and non-organic. My son is on Healthy Times Brown Rice and Barley cereal. The box suggests that you start with 1 tbsp but I see a lot of mummies here only feeding 1tsp. Follow Kayla's appetite, if she's an eater, feed her more

Go with your gut, in my opinion there's no real right or wrong way. My mum bought a baby jar for Ethan so we gave him some and he wolfed it down, so I started him on cereal the very next day

Here's what I did initially:
I scooped 1 tbsp of cereal into a bowl and made 1 scoop of formula in a bottle. I stirred it into the cereal, making more formula if need be to get the consistency I want (not too thick and not too runny as I want Ethan to eat and not drink it).

I'm a little more experienced now so I just use 2 tbsp of cereal, 2 scoops of formula and add as much water as I need to get the right consistency.

I try the cereal before feeding it to Ethan so as to make sure I didn't add too much water and that it's tasteless.

I think that's all there is to it really. Depending on how much and how often you plan to feed Kayla, you might finish the box within a month. 2 tbsp twice a day lasts us about 2 weeks

the infantino has outward facing carriers.
you can check all these carriers out at taka or isetan scotts
also can try them out before you buy. heheh i went to isetan scotts then brought my boy along... :p then i asked the sales gal to try the baby carriers. after that i did my shopping with baby in the carrier. did that with 3 carriers on 3 separate days before i bought my synergy from them on the 4th try. :p hahah very hard to close my sale.

Prawnie
I don't know what is millet powder. but if it is instant i.e. does not require cooking, i think it is safe to mix with warmed up ebm. personally i prefer to mix with warm ebm, no point filling bb's tummy with water.

koori,
i add a full FM scoop mixed to hot water..
dunno how many teaspoon is that, but i started off with 1 teaspoon of cereal to try and gradually increase..

i feed her Heinz rice cereal, going to buy the barley cereal and brown rice to try..

Princess
i don't have a carrier and don't intend to buy because i think it's not useful for me (personal opinion). my boy quite heavy so i figure regardless of carrier , my back and shoulders will still be strained. in addition, usually i travel with helper and baby, and we use the car, so a stroller is more useful. (lazy to carry lah i confess!! LOL) maybe u cld consider bb's weight, and usage situation e.g. if u travel alone alot on public transport, then carrier will be more useful. hths.

Princess and Be@ns,

There are a bunch of forward facing carriers. Like Jasmine mentioned, Infantino is one. Mothercare, Tomy, Chicco and Fisher Price also have front/outward facing carriers

Re: Carrier

I'm using synergy. So far so good. I have to say i rely very heavily on my carrier. Without a carrier i feel like i'm dropping my girl everywhere.
My girl is 7+kg. So far still managable. I can still wear her for about 2 to 3 hours straight.
I prefer a carrier over e stroller due to the intimacy and bonding that i share with my baby when i'm wearing her as compared to when she's in her stroller.
And of coz the convenience. I have a bulky stroller, so despite having a car, I will reconsider the space there is in the different malls or different places im going. Singapore isnt a v stroller friendly place, i would say.

Re: feeding semi-solids.
Personally i think there is no hard or fast rules about feeding semi solids.
Summer has been taking semi solids since 4 mths old. Close to 2 mths now.
So far she has been taking a variety of cereal, organic and non organic.
I can share that she isnt very keen on HT oatmeal and Heinz rice cereal. I didnt taste HT oatmeal,she still takes it despite her dislike. I tried heinz, absolutely tasteless. I added homemade peach puree to her heinz rice cereal and she loves it much more. Perhaps mommies can try adding fruits or veg to plain rice cereal once babies are more accustomed to taking semi solids.
On top of my mom giving her cereal for lunch, she takes her milk just as per normal (200ml every 3 hourly) and then recently at night she has her night "snack". I give her homemade purees like avocado, peach, manago, pumpkin, carrots, apples. They are freshly made everyday so she loves it. Personally i would think it's best to give them homemade fruits but of coz if time does not permit, jar foods work just as well.

Prawnie,
I agree with Joelle about mixing cereal with milk instead of water. Not only is milk more nutritious, but it also gives cereal a sweeter taste.

If you want your baby to drink some water, feed water between spoonfuls of cereal. That's what I do
Sometimes my son makes a face and lets the water drizzle out of his mouth (very smart and sneaky boy!), sometimes he'll just drink it

Thanks a bunch! Will "test-drive" some carriers this weekend. I dont really need one though, prefer a stroller as i need to carry a baby bag when i go out, but hubby wants to get one, we'll see how!

Joelle: Millet is another type of rice but it's meant for baby. If grind it wil get powder le.. hee..

Diva: noted. Thanks ya.

Sherin: if you add in fruits into cereal, do you add in more milk ?

Does anyone take cereal with them when they go out with baby?
I don't do that yet but am considering it since Ethan has had cereal everyday since he started on it.
What thermos/food jars would you recommend?
I like the Foogo size but the BP has closed so I'm waiting for the next one and also looking for alternatives.

Sherin,
May I ask how you prepare the purees?
I've got the stick that whizzes about to puree the fruit up, obviously I don't know the proper term haha

bens,
friso have promo ar, must go and check it check ay my nearest NTUC then.

sherin,
u can check it out too, think u mentioned summer is on friso too

Cherish, Diva, i make puree everyday, quite tedious. I try to do so every evening when i return home.
I use the moulinex click n mix blender. Amazingly powerful for such a tiny thing. It's a handheld blender.
I just the fruit into cubes then turn on e blender and the puree is nicely made.
Then i'll store in small containers. I bought the colourful feeding set from Walmart which is freezer safe and microwave safe.
For fruits like peach i will cut half a peach for a day's portion. In fact half a peach will only give you about 2.5 to 3 teaspoon max.
For pumpkin and broccoli i will steam then blend with carrot.
I'll then keep in the fridge.
I will then eat the remaining fruit lo!

The moulinex click and mix is selling at $99.90 if i'm not wrong. I bought it at $85 with the other mommies here during a BP i organised.

Thks so much for the infor on carriers. I will consider again whether i need a carrier. Hmn...thinking whether nx time bb will be too heavy for me to carry. Got a MIM sling but have not been using, find tat shoulder will ache if use too long.

Re: Semi-solid
My bb is 4mths n 25days, I haven't introduce semi-solid to her yet. Been wondering how she will react 1st time when i give her, will she puke etc. I bought the Heinz Rice Cereal but not sure whether issit gd compared to the organics ones.

Issit alright to let bb eat different brand(organic/non-organic) on different days? cos i thinking whether will they choose the tastier ones.

So I shd start wif 1 tsp n add how some BM right?..abit gan chiong on when shd start lor

Puree:
When shd I start bb on Puree?

princess, same here...my son is turning 5 mths on sun, still hvent started him on semi-solid. He still enjoys his milk but will stare at us when we are eating. So far has given him apples to lick! He still cant support himself fully (sitting), so thinking of intro cereals to him only later.

Beans,
My girl also can't support herself fully yet so i guess I have to wait 1st. Does yr son knows how to flip already? My girl can only flip halfway, sometimes she lazy nvr practise lor.

Sherin,
You give summer the fruit puree cold?

Be@ans, Princess,
I can't quite comment on the weight distribution of the bjorn synergy as i have only used it once. Previously i was using the MIM sling but hubby dunno how to use it so we decided to get a carrier. I got a pikkolo for a start but that was too big for my baby no matter face in or out. So in the end i sold it and bought my bjorn synergy.
My comments on the synergy, I dun feel warm after wearing it for a while, baby is happy in it as she can look around and her legs can dangle in front and she can move her hands freely unlike in the sling. My husband dun drive so we use the sling most of the time when we are out so now with the carrier its better coz daddy cna share the load. My baby is now only 6kg over so this carrier is going to last me quite a while i think...

princess, he did a complete flip from tummy to back...so far, many attempts from back to tummy but not successful. cos we tend to play with him & no chance for him to practise. =)

Amy, ya. Unless for pumpkin i will use my microwave to warm up a little.
I understand microwave not v healthy but no other choices already.

Littleprincess
Thnks for the sumptuous yummy food not forgetting Angel' delicious cupcakes and those who brought stuff. I enjoyed myself very much and happy to know more mummies. Hope to meet u all more often hahah.

If there is a baking session, pls include me hahaha. I think it is fun to know how to bake and there's this great sense of achievement.

Jgal,
I always forget to take my things from u. Now im lost how much i have to pay u. Can u let me know after offsetting $5.80 (excess i think) and i pay u via ib