(2008/04) April 2008

finally tried to intro some tast to my girl yesterday (she's been taking plain white rice cereal without milk cos it seems she hates milk)..

opened a jar of heinz sweet potatoes, hmmm doesn't smell very appetitising to me, certainly not fragrant like home-cooked sweet potato soup. gave my girl some to try, she champion, after taking some mouthfuls she spattered them right out. splattered over her seat/clothes and on my face.. it's my 3rd time feeding her from the jar today and same reaction everytime, think she hates it..

anyone can recommend any brand of baby jars that actually taste and smells like home-cooked food? or are they all like that? would fruits be better?

lynn - if you can , try puree yr own sweet potatoes over the weekend. Taste better

Lynn
Haha that's pretty entertaining! Guess she's not a sweet potato girl? Hehe

My son is on Heinz baby jars for now with no complaints. I haven't tried other brands but Gerber and Healthy Times jars might be worth a try.

Have you tried your girl on sweet potatoes only or other flavors as well? The fruit combos (apple+mango, pear+banana) are a hit with my son, it's quite tasty in my opinion and has a nice smell too. Do try it

Try making your own purees, you can use just about any fruit you can think of. I'm going to start soon and it's getting me all excited!

all mummies - glad to meet all the mummies n babies today
- 15 mummies altogether!
Angel n lynn85, thanks for the cuppies n muffins.
Sorry, can't remember who brought the cream puffs...was too busy entertaining mummies n talking. Thanks ya!

Diva
I had PM you

littleprincesses
Thanks so much for yr hosting & a chance to meet so many moms & babes at one time on a Fri afternoon!

I didn't bring my camera along today
Would really appreciate if anyone of you who has the group pics kindly share them with me? My email is [email protected]. Thanks

Really enjoyed the gathering today. Met 14 mums and babes for the 1st time.

Little Princess, thank you so much. Julian and I enjoyed myself though he didn't allow me to sit down to take my lunch. He was so tired that he slept at 6pm.

After the gathering, I realised my nick is very difficult to intro. I'll be called Jules' mum from today.

oh my mistake, it's gerber sweet potato jar. smells pretty weird to me, like sweet potato but yet not as fragrant. got the extra 'processed food' smell lor. hehe quite entertaining the way she splatters the food out, but stains her clothes, the chair and my clothes too!

Lil Princesses,

Thanks for hosting todays gathering and great lunch. Angel and Lynn85, thanks for the cakes. Yumm yummm.. I think we all can get fat fast just through this

I think the babes are having just as much fun as the moms.

Both Maddy and her mom will really miss the weekdays gathering in the future, today is last day of extended maternity leave....

introducing soild

Can anyone enlighten me on the '4 day wait rule"?
What does it mean? For eg day 1 , i give my boy carrot, day 2,3,4 don't give carrot or continue to give carrot, then day 5 give apple.

I don't understand the concept. Anyone can help me to explain? Thks

<font color="119911">goodbb</font>
i got the white bait from those dry stores shop in the market.

<font color="0000ff">prawnie</font>
bryan is taking 3 tbsp of cereal every day, but i wont feed him milk till the next feeding which is 4 hrs later.

<font color="ff0000">Lil princesses</font>
thanks for opening up your place for today's gathering. its indeed a big group! really nice to meet up those mamas which i hv not met.

lovemum
my understanding is the 4 day wait rule is to monitor if your boy is allergic to carrots after taking on day 1. not contd to feed him for 4 days.

RE: Carrier...

I use a beco carrier but its only inward facing...so far its very good n no stress on my back or shoulders and design is pretty too...

i can use it for a couple of hrs straight wif no prob....but prob is can onli buy onli coz not sold in any dept stores

sherin..u feed summer mango puree ah...yummy yummy...i thk will do that for luann tis weekend...do u add the mango puree into her cereal then add water or milk? or just feed her the puree separately...

<font color="0000ff">Dear Mummies - Enjoy meeting all the lovely mums &amp; cute babies today. Hope can see ya again.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">LittlePrincess - Thanks for your hospitality and great food. :)</font>

<font color="ff0000">Jules' Mum - Thanks for the ride home. Appreciated. XD</font>

<font color="119911">Angel - Hope got chance to learn baking skill from u. XD</font>

Thanks littleprincesses for yr hosting. Ur hse is very beautiful..
Charmaine n I really enjoy ourselves.

Angel, ur cupcakes look nice n very delicious.

Maddy's mum - I bought my son's crocs from blossom. My shoes arrive about two after she confirm my order. (but after listen to jgal abt her hb incident, I tink i'm not letting him to wear already) Haha..

Littleprincesses-can sent me all the group photos to my e-mail? Thanks

Babybliss-can sent me the photos which u took for charmaine n me to my e-mail oso? Thanks

My e-mail: [email protected]

<font color="0077aa">yo jasmine,

erm.. not sure wat shift i m on the 25th wor.. most likely is a afternoon shift.. thus may not be even able to meet up to go out.. hmm.. perhaps another dae.. gotta c my roster.. </font>

My son is now 5 mths 2 wks old.. I tried rice cereal mixed with EBM for the past few days. He crunches his face and frowns.. Seems as if he does not like rice cereal. How???

Strawberries,
Only HT brown rice cereal is out of stock, it is expected to be back in stock by the 28th at the earliest. This is according to HT themselves

Heinz cereal isn't organic but lots of mummies use it so I'm sure it's fine. If you're looking for organic alternatives, how about Earth's Best and Bellamy's? They're rather popular and can be found at supermarkets and healthfood/organic stores as well.

Caitlin,
Perhaps your son just isn't used to the taste yet. Have you tried feeding him purees? Fruit purees are popular with babies cuz of the sweet taste, my son loves them. Add some cereal to the puree and give it a try

diva, what fruit purees did you give? and did you prepare them yourself? wondering what kinds of home-made purees can be frozen and what can't. i only know banana puree can't be frozen..

yeps HT brown rice cereal OOS, that's why we need to wait till end of the month before HT can fill our orders (for our mini HT spree)..

Lynn,
I think apple, pear purees can be frozen. But preparation method says to steam them then puree then freeze.
Personally, i think i will not freeze fruit purees as i dun think i want the fruits to go through the cooking process as most of the nutrients would probably be gone by then. I will freeze veg purees. Stuff like sweet potato, carrots.

Good morning Mummies!

<font color="0000ff">LittlePrincesses</font>, Thank You for being such a gracious and generous host and letting so many mums and babes 'invade' your very lovely home for an entire afternoon! The lunch spread itself can cater for a small party! All of us truly had a good time. Thank you for your hospitality and it was good to meet Tricia and Alyson too.

good morning to all mommies!

hey lil princesses,
thanks for opening up your home for gathering and whipping up a feast for us!

angel and lynlee85,
thanks for the cupcakes and muffin

it was my 1st outing wif april mom and bb and i'm glad to meet all ytd. can one of the mommies post the pretty pic in facebook or here?

hey earthbaby,
thanks for the ride out! jayden was cheerful all the time unless my ger.

Lynn,
Both fruit and vegetable purees can be frozen. As for what can and can't be frozen, I'm not sure... I didn't even know that bananas purees can't be frozen. Why is that?

If you have the time to make fresh purees everyday, then all the better though freezing them is just as good.

If like Amy you're worried about the cooking/heating up process killing the nutrients, I simply suggest you heat the purees until they are just warm enough, that way you will do no harm to the nutrients. Don't overdo it and certainly do not let it boil.

Heating anything for too long; be it fruits, vegetables or milk will kill the nutrients. Moderation is key

jgal,
i'm glad to see that you are always offering the best price of item cost + shipping for the mummies here.
would like to share with you a good deal of calendula cream, 2oz

get from vitaglo.com
$7.48 each only.

i've ordered mine yesterday and it has been posted out almost immediately!!
hope you can be benefitted from here.

thanks xiaoyun

Vitaglo California baby spree.
All items in. Def cheaper than bulk purchase.

http://www.vitaglo.com/ae-californiababy.html

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb938084.html
California Baby Calendula Cream 2oz
(recomm by babybliss as diaper cream/moisturizer as well as for cradle cap for sensitive skin)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. lynn85
4. Simp

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb580092.html
Bug repellent
1.jgal

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb937847.html
CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH CHAM &amp; HERB 13 OZ
1.jgal

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb938076.html
CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH COLD &amp; FLU 13 OZ
1.jgal

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb938159.html
CALIFORNIA BABY CALMING POWDER
1.lynn

jamie.. i will split the order lor :p you just put in jamie x 15 :p ha haha i may need a deposit from you in that case .. like $100

Vitaglo California baby spree. All items in. Def cheaper than bulk purchase.

(recomm by babybliss as diaper cream/moisturizer as well as for cradle cap for sensitive skin)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. lynn_

Bug repellent
1.jgal

1.jgal

1.jgal

1.lynn_
2.lynn_
3.lynn_

can order other bubble baths?

I've been feeding Ethan cereal for awhile now but would like to start adding it to his milk bottle too.
Can anyone who is already doing so tell me the ratio of cereal to milk? And what teats are you using?

I'm using Pigeon Y teats and hubby and I are doubtful as to whether the cereal can actually pass through the opening.
I know that NUK has special teats for thick liquids but Ethan doesn't seem to like NUK, or at least I think he had a problem with them the last time we tried it!

And we're using barley cereal if that makes a difference

Earth_baby,
I'm gonna email you

Hubby's out today so I'm alone, hard to write lengthy email when Ethan demands my undivided attention! hehe

thanks jgal. no problem, i can pay u in full, if got excess then u refund me lor. let me know how much in total &amp; your a/c no. many thanks!

1. jgal
2. jgal
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5-19. Jamie

jamie : okay.
lynn : yes.
hoon : no mess mat not here yet. But you can come to get other things .. maid will be at home

Please keep dun truncate the list.. else i will missed some items. ** i wont put this in the oversea spree folder because everytime i put things there.. items get oos by other spreeists **
BTW , spoon , discovery ball oos liao
just like the leappad.

1. jgal X3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. lynn_

Bug repellent
1.jgal

1.jgal

1.jgal

1.lynn_ X3

1. jgal
2. jgal
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Jules' Mum X 12

Bug repellent
1.jgal

1.jgal

1.jgal
2.Jules' mum

1.lynn

Jgal, Please let me know if you require me to put a deposit.

Simp, I having been using it as a moisturiser myself too. Hope to have tofu skin like babies. Haha. My son's exzema skin improved tremendously after using this.

Hi Jgal,

I've amemded the list to include the other orders before me. Please ignore the previous list.

1. jgal X3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. lynn_
6. Jules' Mum x 12

Bug repellent
1.jgal

1.jgal

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum

1.lynn_ X3

1. jgal X3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. lynn_
6. Jules' Mum x 12

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal

1.jgal

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum

1.lynn_ X 3

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb580076.html
CALIFORNIA BABY BUG REPEL SPRAY CITRONELL 6.5 OZ
1. lynn_

Hi Jgal

I am interested to join in the spree for california baby.but i am not sure suitable for my boy or not. my boy's skin abit rought maybe current baby bath I am using is not suitable for him. Will C.baby's baby bath suitable for his sensitive skin?
what's your opinion?