(2008/04) April 2008

<font color="aa00aa">winter:
that question is tough leh...i only agar agar never really measure...roughly is about a 2 joints on the first finger for the water over the rice...but depend on what type of porridge u want...</font>
i boil the grain(until nearly open or slightly open)and put into the thermal cooker...i usually cook around 11am or 12pm and it will be ready by 2pm...and can keep warm till 5 or 6pm(provide never itchy hand keep opening the thermal cooker..)

angle:
i also want to learn baking from u lei...

i got a oven from the previous house owner cos it's built-in but i just can't figure how to use that oven of mine...haiz...

morning poshies...

morning mummies...
<font color="ff6000">it's friday....</font>

good morning mummies....tgif...

wow the cupcakes looks delicious n hotel standard leh...how i wish i not working then can join u mummies for the gathering...

littleprincess
Looking forward to meeting you &amp; all the mamas here later too

Diva
you guessed right, I got the highchair from mothercare at harbourfront. model is called Atlanta fun at the zoo

angel
Yr cupcakes looks great !! This from a novice baker? No way

jamie
thumbs up for idea of baking session...pls count me in if there's gonna be one okies?

little princess,

sorry i wont be making my way down to your place. still nursing a cold and sore throat. now i don even have my voice. *sob sob.*
don want to get all the other babies sick. haiz thought that i would get well by now.....

coz have this since monday.

miss all that fun and good food......

well you all enjoy yourselves k.

simp

sorry only post today

the booster at isetan, there is atill avaliable stock but they are not the packages that was seen during the baby fair either at taka or isetan.
now they are only selling the booster seat with a 20% off. you you are still interested can pop down to get.

also there will be a isetan private sale on on the 25 of sept for all who are interested.

strawberries
want to meet up then? hopefully by then i am well again.

re: thermal pots
think if any one wants to get the isetan private sale has better offers then the bp. so can check that out.

Booster Chair: Can anyone advise?

I have bumbo chair for my Faith, but it's very difficult to feed her semi solids while she is in it. REad the manual that it should be used on the floor only, but has anyone used it as a booster chair? Cos my hb refuses to get a booster / high chair for her.

babysteps - i tried putting the bumbo on my sofa before....but i guess appropriate when feeding is good to get booster or high chair.

Babysteps,
What do you mean by it's difficult to feed Faith while she's in the bumbo? I'm not sure I understand.

Putting the bumbo on a chair isn't recommended as the baby will fall from a greater height should the bumbo topple off the chair. However if you MUST put it on a chair to feed her, then do make sure that you or someone else is always around to watch your daughter.
Does Faith fidget a lot in the bumbo? If yes, it's more dangerous as the bumbo may shift its way off the chair.

May I ask why your hubby will not get a high chair for her? It really is the most secure way to feed a baby. You can leave her in it and know that she will be safe even if you have to turn your back for a minute

<font size="+1"><u><font color="ff0000">FINAL - Reminder</font></u></font>

<u>The Little Gym BUGS trial classes </u>

Annual Membership: S$55
Term Tuition Fee: S$438 for 10 weeks, once a week (there will be a free 11th class)
Trial class Fee: S$42.80
Trial class fees refundable if opt for the course.

<u>20 Sep (sat) 3.20pm - 4.05pm </u>
1. babybliss
2. ABCmum
3. superbunny
4. chewy
5. goodbbb
6. veronica
7. Prawnie
8. cutiebb

Enjoy!

talking about bumbo.... oh dear... my gal's thigh too big can't sit long...... then u know wat... my boy can still sit.... FAINT...

Re: Carrier
Know any place/ shops i can "test" Bjorn, Pikkolo, Beco &amp; Ergo carriers?
Any mummies used it in non-air con places? Will it be too hot?

poshies
same here, everytime when i remove my boy fr the bumbo, his thighs always get stuck. my elder girl, like your boy, can still sit. i guess when they grow older, somehow dont hv much bb fats liao tats y can still fit in. keke...

Morning mummies !! Mummies and babies going for the gathering, do enjoy !!

Angel: your cupcakes looks simply delicious !!!

Babysteps: Agreed with what Diva said. I always put the bumbo chair on flat ground and feed her with me sitting on the floor. Dun put on chair or bed. Cos baby tends to jerk backwards which might caused the bumbo seat to be imbalance.

Jamie: CAn I find out from you which kind of Ikan bilis do you use to make into powder and how to do it ? Thanks.

prawnie
i bought those white color ones, not sure isit call whitebait? these are not so salty. anyway i will wash/ rinse them to remove the salt then sun dry or oven dry it. afterwhich i will use blender to grind into powder. then store in the fridge.

Littleprincesses,
Wow there's a Korean restaurant there too? Great! We're always looking for new Korean joints. BTW, have you tried Kim's Family Restaurant opposite Beauty World? Authentic Korean food, we go there for hubby to get his taste of home

Organic food really isn't cheap, sometimes I wonder if the price tag is worth keeping pesticides out of our bodies. After all when we eat out, the food isn't organic either

Let me know how you find the Dempsey organic store, I'm essentially after interesting cereal varieties (fruit combinations and such).
Thanks again!

Earth_baby,
Aha! I thought I found the giraffe motif very familiar.. The 'Fun at the Zoo' theme is very cute, especially the bedding set

I'll be looking for a high chair soon, hubby and I should go to Mothercare when we're back.

May I ask if it comes with wheels, a removable/double tray and multiple recline positions?

From one SAHM to another, we know that being full time mummies isn't a walk in the park. I resent the notion that being a SAHM is easy and that we have time for pedicures and afternoon naps. Ok lah, I sneak out for pedicures when my dad babysits but I haven't seen an afternoon nap in months! Hehe

Is Jayden an easy baby? My mum says that Ethan is difficult, more so than I was at least. He's not very difficult but is very demanding, especially of human interaction. Eye contact is what he's mostly after, kinda tough when I'm trying to get other things done as well.

Maro,
Thanks so much for getting the organic store info for me, I'll have a look at it

Do you have msn? We can arrange voucher collection when I'm back.

be@ans,
You can try baby bjorn at mums and babes. I tried their synergy there. Not sure where else can you get to try the carriers. Me tried the Bjorn synergy but didn't buy it there :p Bought online as its much much cheaper.

Be@ns,
I've got the Bjorn and Ergo and I like them both. These 2 brands come highly recommended too. The Bjorn comes in Air and Synergy versions which are made of cool mesh material if you're worried about heat. My Bjorn is the original and it does feel a bit warm sometimes but as I'm not walking under the sun for long periods of time, I don't think it's all that bad and baby doesn't complain. In fact, my son can sleep in the Bjorn while facing outwards

I've no experience with the Pikkolo but I know that the Beco Butterfly was recalled due to babies falling out of the carrier. That's something to be aware of if you're considering the brand.

Do note that the Bjorn is an inward and outward facing carrier while the Ergo is strictly inward facing only. I like the Ergo's versatility in that it can used for hip and back carrying as well. If you're interested in the Ergo, then do consider the Patapum carrier. It works in the same way and I find that it looks neater and more fuss-free.

Had I found the Patapum first, I wouldn't have gotten the Ergo

I'm sorry but I don't know where you can try all these carriers out first. I bought mine 2nd hand and got to try them before buying.

Be@ns,
BTW I think that wearing your baby may feel warm cuz of body heat, not so much cuz of the carrier in my opinion.

My 5 month old son is about 7.2kg now and wearing him is indeed very stressful on my back and shoulders, particularly my shoulders. That's the only downside to the Bjorn in my opinion. I like that my son can face outwards, something which is not possible with toddler carriers unfortunately

I would let my Faith sit in the Bumbo chair and then feed her her semi-solids. But it is very bad for my posture, cos I end up slouching for 30mins... and I got very bad pain in my neck / shoulder area.

Have been looking for high-chair / booster seat... but not sure which is a good buy...

Am thinking of dragging my hb to the 2 mega-stores at Ubi, and buy the high-chair / booster seat myself. He claims that bb has a lot of stuff at home. But bb only has a pram (kept in store room), a BN walker, a swing (gift for her 1st month). Even the ABC mat is also minimally used.

Btw, I live in a EA, so more than enough room for the high-chair... Am thinking of getting from IKEA, but scared not comfy cos all wood... *sigh* the woes of being a mum...

Anyway, anyone has the full address of the 2 mega-stores for bb products in Ubi? Please PM me, k? Thanks very much.

beans

if you are interested you can try bjourn and a few other brands at isetan scotts.
otherwise i don mind letting you try my synergy. its black in colour though. but personally i think is to stressful wearing my son now that he is 7mths soon and definitely more then 8kg. He was 7.9kg at the last check up when he was 5 mths.
i only use my bjourn synergy carrier for short trips out.

Babysteps,

I wouldn't get the wooden high chair from Ikea as I think it'll be terribly uncomfortable for baby. Don't give baby a reason not to enjoy mealtimes, taking 30 mins to feed her must be hard as it is

Here's the address for Baby Hyperstore:
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Industrial Park
Singapore 417947

Baby Kingdom is just a few doors down, you won't miss it

goodbb,
erh no sure leh but it's the same as the one i posted...tink 2.5 liter as per the "Isetan Pte sale newsletter" has stated...

will check it out when i go home...

Thanks mummies! My son is now 7+kgs too. Dunno is it a good investment now? Normally we will use the stroller when we go out, but i find tat he'll get restless &amp; want to "see" the world.

beans, same here... i feel like getting a carrier as I duno how to use the sling..

but i think if buy, will only use at most 3mth only ba..

beans: for Bjorn Synergy, max weight is 12kg, slightly more than the rest of the models. You will probably be able to use the carrier for another 7 - 9 months. I tink even at 10kg, it will be too heavy to carry.

mummies...friso 2 is going at $30 per tin, buy 2 tins u can get $10 off. Saw at NTUC TP, not sure about the other outlets.

Jamie: Thanks for the info. Alot of things not sure.. faintz..

Baby seems to love the HT Barley cereals. I mixed 2 tsp of cereal with 4 tsp of ebm. If he can finish and ask for more, can I increase to 3 tsp of cereal follow by his normal milk intake ?