(2008/04) April 2008

BY JGAL

Vitaglo California baby spree. All items in. Def cheaper than bulk purchase.
http://www.vitaglo.com/ae-californiababy.html (org. by Jgal)

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb938084.html
California Baby Calendula Cream 2oz
(recomm by babyliss as diaper cream/moisturizer as well as for cradle cap for sensitive skin)
1. jgal X 3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Lynn_ x 2
6. Jules' Mum x 12
7. Koori x 5
8. babyliss x 5
9. calamari x 3
10. princess-j
11. cass_078 x3
12.cutie188 x 2
13. Qcx_amy x 3
14. Maro x 2
15. bebe11 x 3
16. na_na
17. Maddysmum
18. mifi x2
19. serene123
20. Starling

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb580092.html
Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb937847.html
CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH CHAM & HERB 13 OZ
1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb938076.html
CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH COLD & FLU 13 OZ
1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb938159.html
CALIFORNIA BABY CALMING POWDER
1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb580076.html
CALIFORNIA BABY BUG REPEL SPRAY CITRONELL 6.5 OZ
1. Lynn_

BY JGAL

(recomm by babyliss as diaper cream/moisturizer as well as for cradle cap for sensitive skin)
1. jgal X 3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Lynn_ x 2
6. Jules' Mum x 12
7. Koori x 5
8. babyliss x 5
9. calamari x 3
10. princess-j
11. cass_078 x3
12.cutie188 x 2
13. Qcx_amy x 3
14. Maro x 2
15. bebe11 x 3
16. na_na
17. Maddysmum
18. mifi x2
19. serene123
20. Starling
21. cyl_16 x 4

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

1. Lynn_

BY JGAL

1. jgal X 3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Lynn_ x 2
6. Jules' Mum x 12
7. Koori x 5
8. babyliss x 5
9. calamari x 3
10. princess-j
11. cass_078 x3
12.cutie188 x 2
13. Qcx_amy x 3
14. Maro x 2
15. bebe11 x 3
16. na_na
17. Maddysmum
18. mifi x2
19. serene123
20. Starling
21. cyl_16 x 4
22. puffiet x 2

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

1. Lynn_

BY JGAL

1. jgal X 3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Lynn_ x 2
6. Jules' Mum x 12
7. Koori x 5
8. babyliss x 5
9. calamari x 3
10. princess-j
11. cass_078 x3
12.cutie188 x 2
13. Qcx_amy x 3
14. Maro x 2
15. bebe11 x 3
16. na_na
17. Maddysmum
18. mifi x2
19. serene123
20. Starling
21. cyl_16 x 4
22. puffiet x 2

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

1. Lynn_

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb937870.html
CALIFORNIA BABY SHAMPOO/BODY WASH 8.5 OZ
1. calamari x 2

calamari, the CALIFORNIA BABY SHAMPOO/BODY WASH 8.5 OZ you're ordering doesn;t say which scent it is? cos i was thinking of ordering as well but can;t find what scent it is..

By Maddysmum

Evenflo Plastic BPA Free Bottle FAST SPREE

Classic Clear BPA Free 8 oz. 3-Pack
USD $2.99+shipping- will be calculated when item arrives
http://www.amazon.com/Classic-Clear-BPA-Free-3-Pack/dp/B001D18RP0/ref=pd_sbs_ba_3

Evenflo BPA-Free Bottle - 8-oz. (USD 3.79+ Shipping)
http://www.amazon.com/Evenflo-BPA%252dFree-Bottle-%252d-8%252doz%252e/dp/B001C16Q0Y/ref=pd_sbs_ba_3
1. Maddysmum
(only taking 3 bottles for this model as they don't have anymore stock)

Hope to close order by tonight.
First time spreeing, will be using borderlinx.

Jgal, might need your advice
But I order it soon to avoid OOS coz items seems to run fast.

wow, here really become a spree thread liao!

Re: blender
i went to buy the blender yest.. 43 from braun. later going to make pear puree for Charis.

Re: crawling
Charis start to crawl backwards, and she like to do butt exercise.. moving up and down, position very funny..

Joelle,

Like you, I don't buy anything below 12M anymore. In fact, Ethan is seriously in between sizes now cuz he's outgrown the 6M Carter's bodysuits and I've only got 12M Mothercare ones. Haven't tried them on yet cuz he wears tshirts at home, but I know it'll be roomy. Oh well, better too big than a too small 'now' size
I like to get as much wearing mileage as possible too!

And cuz the bulk of his clothes are for when he's older, I leave them in SG so Ethan's suitcase isn't as big as you'd think, thankfully! Hehe for now lah

My own wardrobe has become relatively sensible; easy, simple type stuff. Even my handbags haven't seen the light of day since I got pregnant and started carrying a small backpack due to awful backaches.

How is the baby swimming thing anyway? I thought about it a long time ago but hubby suggested we make use of our own bathtub which made perfect sense to me. But we never did and Ethan's very long/tall now so I don't think the tub will be deep enough for him anymore. Hmm.. must check.

My in-laws bought Ethan this super adorable Polo long sleeved shirt. Cute to look at but when on earth am I going to dress Ethan in it?! By the time I button him up, he'll be protesting from the heat
They're Koreans living in the US and sometimes I think they forget that Singapore is just like Mexico!

Is JW St 91 near Jurong Kechil? Bukit Timah no pasar malam, must go to Jurong Kechil/Bt Batok at least. But you reminded me that I should check my wet market out, they might have some good and hopefully not too cheesy finds
Who knows, you might actually find hubby and I at your market!

BY JGAL

1. jgal X 3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Lynn_ x 2
6. Jules' Mum x 12
7. Koori x 5
8. babyliss x 5
9. calamari x 3
10. princess-j
11. cass_078 x3
12.cutie188 x 2
13. Qcx_amy x 3
14. Maro x 2
15. bebe11 x 3
16. na_na
17. Maddysmum
18. mifi x2
19. serene123
20. Starling
21. cyl_16 x 4
22. puffiet x 2

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

1. Lynn_

1. calamari x 2
2. lynn85

Simp,

I agree with you completely!
I keep my clothes in the wardrobe in the OTHER room so I don't have to look at it when I open my wardrobe with my everyday, 'practical mum' clothes! And yet I can't bear to sell them off! Someday someday, I'll be able to let go.. haha

Baby items are all targeted at parents. We are the ones who fall in love with cutesy prints and decide our kids are going to love it, that they're gonna look so darn cute in them. And very often they do

I bought 2 pairs of Shooshoos from Amy's spree; 1 x 18M and 1 x 24M. Haha some serious planning ahead huh? Hubby helped me pick the design, I'm really glad that he gets involved and that it's not just me doing the oohing and ahhing

Sometimes it's scary just thinking about the time when Ethan will start asking for and needing more things.. not just cute clothes and shoes!

But now you've opened the Xmas can of worms
What is Ethan going to wear?? And what am I going to give him for his first Xmas?? Haha see... these seasonal festivities are yet another parent trap of which I fall victim to most willingly!

Charis is so fast! Jayden just finally mastered how to turn efficiently...not to speak of crawl. I remembered Charis is also born on 26 Mar, rite?

Re: Intro Semi Solids
I have just intro porridge with a little sweet potato. he loves it...

CAN ANYONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT EC BOOKS ARE?
I googled it and got some weird mystery/paranormal stuff.
I've started reading to Ethan and would like to expand his book collection.
Calamari made the books sound so interesting with lights and sounds

Sherin,
May I also have the contact for EC books please?

Winter,
Hubby will tell me if something I'm eyeing is really unnecessary or totally not worth the money. Otherwise he's very diplomatic about things, want to buy just buy, as long as it's not ridiculous

He even 'requested' that I include him in all purchases so he can offer his opinion and make our decisions together.

In all fairness, he'd probably also like to keep an eye on my splurges haha. But that's fine, I'm very very happy that we do things together. With crazy work schedules these days, any time together is welcome

Cath,
May I ask how you prepare your porridge?
Is it our regular adult porridge or baby rice porridge?
And do you mash sweet potato and mix it in?

diva, EC refers to eric carle

cath, how did you feed porridge with sweet potato? do you puree the cooked porridge? i tried adding just a teeny weeny bit of sweet potato puree to my girl's rice cereal, then she can accept. feed her the sweet potato puree alone she spits (splatters) it out everywhere like it's disgusting. at first i tot it's cos it's processed food (jar) so made my own, smells and taste good but she still does the same. then i think think think maybe the taste too strong so add just a tiny bit to the rice cereal which is super bland..

btw, any mummies using HT brown rice cereal? can't realy get the flakes to dissolve (like the powdered white rice cereal kind), and the results looks like oatmeal floating on water leh. did i use water that's too hot?

Friso mummies,

anyone called up the company to check?
i realised that they belong to Friesland company which the dutch lady milk has been called off shelves.

Cath,
How r u?
Charis can crawl backwards, she looked funny, btw, she is borned on 5 april..
Jayden eat porridge so fast. do u grounded the rice?

Thanks Lynn!

I'm feeding my son HT Brown Rice Cereal and I have no problem dissolving it.
Do you add water or milk?

I use milk, have never tried adding water.
Do you add the water gradually? You should as the consistency will be easier to manage that way.
And use water that is less hot, even room temperature is fine.

Perhaps you should try milk as it's more nutritious than water and will make a more substantial meal

BY JGAL

1. jgal X 3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Lynn_ x 2
6. Jules' Mum x 12
7. Koori x 5
8. babyliss x 5
9. calamari x 3
10. princess-j
11. cass_078 x3
12.cutie188 x 2
13. Qcx_amy x 3
14. Maro x 2
15. bebe11 x 3
16. na_na
17. Maddysmum
18. mifi x2
19. serene123
20. Starling
21. cyl_16 x 4
22. puffiet x 2
23. jaspire x3

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_
6. jaspire

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2
3.jaspire x2

1. Lynn_

1. calamari x 2
2. lynn85

goodbb: I grind the millets grain into powder. Something similar to rice.

Jamie: will Bryan get hungry easily? I gave Xav 3 tsp with 6 tsp ebm , he dun seem to get enuf. If I continue to give him remaining balance of the feed, wii I tax him too much?

BY JGAL

1. jgal X 3
2. jamie x 15
3. lynn85
4. Simp
5. Lynn_ x 2
6. Jules' Mum x 12
7. Koori x 5
8. babyliss x 5
9. calamari x 3
10. princess-j
11. cass_078 x3
12.cutie188 x 2
13. Qcx_amy x 3
14. Maro x 2
15. bebe11 x 3
16. na_na
17. Maddysmum
18. mifi x2
19. serene123
20. Starling
21. cyl_16 x 4
22. puffiet x 2
23. Prawnie

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

1. Lynn_

1. calamari x 2
2. lynn85

Cherish, Charis and Dana share the same birthday!
But Dana has yet to 'crawl' yet, she just learnt how to blow bubbles y'day and has been entertaining herself with it

Dana's lunch for today : 3 tablespoons of Frisocream and she loves it!

<font color="aa00aa">
jasmine, thanks. I'll pm you regarding the collection of the FM.

serene123, msg u liao

winter, diva,
have been planning to order more EC books as the last time bought too little but was too busy with movin hse. Now settled down, will try to get the contact from Sherin and I'll post the spree here soon :p

prawnie
bryan doesnt get hungry till the next feed which is 4hrs or sometimes 5hrs later. 6tbsp of ebm is how much ml? i usually mixed more than 100ml of water into the cereal, in order to get the right consistency i want, which is not too thick or watery. if xav still seems hungry, u may try either add 1 more tbsp of ceral or feed him "some" milk. this is what i do when i first intro cereal to bryan. otherwise if u hv already started him on cereal for a while, u may add in some veg/ fruits puree into the cereal which i hv been feeding bryan these days.

harlow all
i am going to take order for the BABY CALENDULA CREAM 2 OZ again. because.Vitaglo is oos on the cream. I will buy from drugstore instead because i cant wait to try out.

http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=54802&amp;catid=26109&amp;brand=16685&amp;trx=BS-16685&amp;trxp1=HPFP&amp;trxp2=0&amp;trxp3=54802&amp;btrx=BS-16685
1. jgal X 3

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH CHAM &amp; HERB 13 OZ
1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH COLD &amp; FLU 13 OZ
1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

1. Lynn_

1. calamari x 2
2. lynn85

Hi jgal, I'll like to add 1 more item from
vitaglo.. Thanks. Pls pm me ur acc number. thank u..

BY JGAL
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=54802&amp;catid=26109&amp;brand=16685&amp;trx=BS-16685&amp;trxp1=HPFP&amp;trxp2=0&amp;trxp3=54802&amp;btrx=BS-16685
1. jgal X 3

Bug repellent lotion
1.jgal
2.cutie188
3. starling
4. cyl_16

CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH CHAM &amp; HERB 13 OZ
1.jgal
2.cass_078
3.cutie188

CALIFORNIA BABY BUBBLE BATH COLD &amp; FLU 13 OZ
1.jgal
2.Jule' mum
3.Cass_078
4.cutie188
5. Lynn_

1.Lynn_ x 4
2.cass_078 x2

1. Lynn_

1. calamari x 2
2. lynn85

http://www.vitaglo.com/cb937854.html
CALIFORNIA BABY MOISTURIZING CREME 4 OZ
1. lynn85

Jamie: hahahaha... I know why already !! Cos I gave him by teaspoon.. No wonder.. hahaha.. cos yours is by table spoon. Aiya.. I'm such a sotong.. Thanks thanks
Do you still have the link for CB BP ? I post oce asking if still got stock, then the next day, the thread suddenly disappeared :S

hi mummies, today is the 3rd day i feed my boy cereal. He finished the 20ml of cereal i mixed for him. But i got a few questions:
1) Do i continue to feed him EBM (like normal feeding) after the 20ml cereal?
2) How much of cereal to give that is sufficient for 1 feed?
3) If he likes a few cereals, can i give 2 different cereal in a day? (like breakfast and dinner)

Puffish,
Here are my answers according to the questions you asked:

1) I reckon you should feed him milk as per normal after the cereal. After all, it's only 20ml and your son should definitely still be hungry. For my son, sometimes he drinks milk right after finishing cereal, while other times he waits awhile before drinking milk.

2) I'm not really sure about this but according to the HT box, 5 tbsp is considered as 1 full feed. I suppose it also depends on how much your son can eat. If he's a big eater, then let him eat as much as he wants and take note of it so you know how much HIS 1 full cereal feed is.

3) I will be starting my son on a variety of cereals soon and while I have no experience with it now, I too plan to give him a different cereal for breakfast and dinner. If you do try this, I recommend that you keep an eye out for any upset tummy or diarrhea that might indicate a problem with too many new foods introduced simultaneously.

<font color="aa00aa">prawnie</font>
aiyo, no wonder xav is still hungry haha...
as for the CB BP, its already close for sept, here is the link http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1666007.html?1221915357
u can join next mth's BP lah. she organise it every mth.

<font color="0000ff">puffish</font>
my answer is almost the same as diva, except for intro of variety of cereals, personally i would wait till bb is 6mths. before 6mths i only give plain rice cereal.

<font color="ff0000">serene123</font>
i also very tempted to buy leh, but i think currently the new alpha yellow bear is OOS.

Jamie- ya oos but they can deliver in 2-3 weeks time.. ok for me cos i have the cheapo ones- those piece together type but feel not safe esp if the pieces came loose and bb might fall into the cold hard floor.

maro- i kiasu bought 20 books.. but some not suitable cos too many words so better to check it out before u buy more.. going to borders now cos they have sale 3 for price of 2. want to get the 10 rubber duckies by EC. not avialbe the other time round.

re: adding water/milk to cereal..

add liquid to cereal or cereal to liquid? previously i add water to cereal but find that sometimes the cereal can be lumpy? so now i add cereal to water, add a bit and stir to dissolve and keep adding bit by bit till i get the consistency i wan.. but then very hard to agar the amount of cereal i used.. also dunno use how much water to start with..

i have problems getting the HT cereal to be fully dissolved leh. i can still see the flakes although it's all soft and lumpy already. but can get the type of homogeneous thick cream like the powdered white rice cereal. is that normal?

Angel,

Good thing I did not join the music class today. I've been sneezing since church end, otherwise will infect the other babies... Tell me how it is later kay...

Today I tried the Gerber banana puree on Maddy. She likes it better than Heinz rice cereal. But I think I'll just go back to EBM until 6 mo, unless if I am running out of it... hee...

Ethan just had teatime: 3 tbsp barley cereal with pear puree

He wolfed it down with relish! Hubby and I had to tag team feed him just so he wouldn't protest that I'm too slow!

Maddy's Mum,
Is the music class at The Little Gym?
I've never brought Ethan to any sorta class, do you find them good for babies so young that can't sit up or crawl yet?

Diva,

Actually I am not so sure. It's at Gymboree, Angel and I are supposed to join the trial class but we were so busy and I've been sneezing. So perhaps can ask Angel later.

My home music education is just I sing to her, and play music to her and try to do everything musically hee hee. You shouldn't have any problem since your hubby is a cellist. I also let her experience with the piano, although it was mainly banging on the keyboard

Lynn,

I put the cereal in a bowl first and then add milk. Here's what I do:

1) Put 2 tbsp cereal in a bowl
2) Add 2 spoonfuls of FM
3) Gradually add water to get the right consistency
4) If I add too much water and it's too runny, I then add a wee bit more cereal

Don't add cereal to water, instead add water to cereal bit by bit. This prevents lumps and flakes that are difficult to dissolve.

This will help you keep track of how much cereal you've used which is the important thing since you need to know how much you're feeding your son.

The amount of water should not be relevant cuz it is simply there to achieve the right consistency. It is of no nutritional value, so work around the cereal and not the water

This is what I do, hope it helps you!

Maddy's Mum,
I took a peek at Gymboree when we were at Vivo, looks like a fun place for older kids but I guess they've got programs aimed at younger babes too.

Ethan is mesmerised when hubby plays the cello, any crying/whining is halted. He's either stunned by the loudness of it or has decided it's his favorite instrument

We also put on Vladimir Horowitz the piano great, and I sing to him while he grins and laughs at my horrid vocals!

Come to think of it, we've never put Ethan at the piano and let him bang away. Will have to give it a go when we're back
Thanks for reminding me!

Puffish,
Ethan has tried HT Brown Rice and Barley.
For the 1st time, we used 1 tbsp cereal, 1 scoop of FM and gradually added water to get the right consistency.

I see a lot of mummies starting with 1 tsp but somehow we didn't think of doing that, and my son finished the 1 tbsp we gave him anyway

just a quick qn:
Does ur dear son/daughter go on milk strike recently?
My DS refuse to drink his milk in day time sometimes fr morning till evening (7-8 hrs).
Is tis a growing stage for Apr bbs?

Gemini05,
My son went on a mini milk strike about 2 months ago. Like you mentioned, not drinking milk for 7 hours sometimes. Seemed like he wasn't hungry or that sleep was more important.
The phase quickly passed though.

Is your son cranky? Perhaps it's teething?
My son has already got 2 teeth and his appetite waned during the teething phase due to pain and discomfort.

I think that growth spurts depend on the individual baby, I don't think there is a general time frame of when is a growing stage and when isn't.

gemini, my girl on milk strike for 4 weeks already.. refuses to drink and never seemed hungry. even if hungry will also drink very littlem like 30ml for 5 hours..

so now feed her while she's asleep (so she would not protest) and closely moniter her intake everyday. becos of this PD advised us to start on cereal already.. even when feeding cereal can;t add milk (ebm or fm), she dun seem to like it. just asked my sis to buy frisocreme, hopefully she'll take it cos there's fm in there right? but she's not yet 6 months would it be ok?