(2008/03) March 2008

All the CC prices are so good. Those in Bt Batok area and close to MRT all charges around $350 aft subsidy. So sian. And they look ulu ulu, dunno why they charge so much...

Yeah!!!! I pray for the kids last nite...Hope the parents will take cautious. Cos i think they are fully depending on the maid.

The maid uttered to me " Just report me to my madam lahhh...Let's see...I am the one who take care those children!"

She even gave me their block number..Crazy!

GOSH..so confidence!

Thanks Yasmin for sharing the incident on the Tamiflu. My boy was having high fever and we brought him to KK. The doctor wanted to give Tamiflu to my boy but I insisted no. He has recovered now except having false measles all over his body now.

Mikael,

I also can't stand this type of maid's behaviour. There is this maid in my boy's shichida class who is always scolding her young master for fidgeting around in the class. My friends & I were so pissed off with her

sometimes maids r so confident & arrogant because the parents r over reliant on the maid for everything.
it becomes the cycle - maid knows everything whereas parents know nuts apart from earning $$.
IMO.

Good Morning!

Pet: That's a generalisation. True to some extend.

But if push comes to shove, I think one parent shld be prepared to stay-at-home for a while. The most ideal thing is to have a grandparent who can and will take care of the children. Then the maid will be the secondary helper that's all.

However, things don't happen ideally. With 4 kids, I think its straining financially le. This just might explain why the parents hand over reins to maid instead of childcare.

Let pray that the family gets all the blessings they need asap so they can iron things straight.

Then again, if you have a maid, its good to show her you can do whatever she does once in a while. Just that you need her here because you have no time. Keep them in line.

Mikael,
wow! I admire your courage. But you did the rite thing. Hope everything will be fine wif the kids.

Kaa,
I agree wif you. Best is to haf someone around to "look after" the maid from time to time. But we mus also show her that we can do watever she does so that she dun think that she is in charge instead of us.
There are good ones around no doubt but we stil mus keep them in check from time to time and parents should not be over reliant on them.

Recently, I started to change my son's FM back to cow's milk. He had been on soya for a while. But now, he rejects milk totally! Gosh! How ah?!! Any suggestions, mummies?

YT
Haiz lele is also on milk strike. this xiao jie is drinking half of her normal amount. Zaz is never a big fan of milk but recently he has been drinking quite a lot of Meiji milk. he can finish a bottle of 830ML of meiji milk in 2 days. This really surprise us cos his intake in the past can be as low as 100ml or none at all. Its hard to force them to drink when they dont want. i only trial and error but didnt give them too much option. you may want to try fresh milk as the taste not so strong. One thing about pediasure is it is quite sweet. Zac used to be drinking that but i switch to meiji. dont worry too much as long he is consuming other food and water. think should be fine. Saying that, i am also worry about lele's intake too. haha hard not to worry as a mum.

kaa: yes. i noe 4kids is financially straining. cheaper to have a maid caring & doing chores instead of sending all to cc & doing chores yourself after work.

usually when this happens, the maid will think the parents cannot afford to sack her. therefore they may turn a blind eye to most things unless something drastic happens.
so the maid tend to be arrogant.

Ladies! Suddenly my hubby wants to eat shabu shabu hot pot. Where to eat famous shabu2 in spore? What's the different in Chinese shabu2 vs Sporean shabu2 vs Malay shabu2?

erny: i only noe japanese shabu shabu.
shoduko have shabu shabu. not bad.

chinese style is perhaps steamboat? then steamboat i personally like the herbal pot type @ bugis.

reena's & pet's posts always cause me to drool

pet
i m impressed, the oven appear simple & small, yet u can create so many items.too bad i m not ur neighbour =p

jerejoy
poor jervis, hope he gets better soon

regarding FM

i realise my 1.8 g of Enfalac last me only 6 days

btw, bt bato watson having a sale on Gain IQ at 49.20

PS: pheobe's daily feed = my boy's feed at 9pm to 10pm

bbpink: ur too kind. hehs...
1.8kg only 6days? wahh, so much $$ leh...
maybe because both ur kids drinking from the same tin?

ryan also drinks abt 130-150ml per feed for FM in the day. he can't drink more than 150ml.
but taking into consideration he eats so darn little solids, i think he's abit malnourished...
he drinks quite alot of BM though. meaning he can drink every 2hrly. quantity i dunno
his weight has remained stagnant at 10.4kg since 14mths.

yeah, esp now at frisco is almost same as gain q in term of pricing.i have switched bac to Gain . Enfalac selling for abt 54 offer in ntuc

anyone who noes of FM sales must share here

Thanks mummies for sharing your bb milk intake. At least I know that its kinda normal for bb at tis stage to haf less milk in take.Enfa haf promotion? I very scare to get FM now cos my son is stil rejecting milk.

I called Kinderclinic on Sat, Dr Lim told me that its ok for babies not to drink milk so long he is eating n drinking other fluid well. But as a kiasu mum, I keep trying out all ways to make sure he takes milk on top of his solids as I feel milk is a very important source of calcium for bb growth.

I finally managed to find a way to let him to drink milk! Give it to him while he is going into deep sleep wif his eyes closed. Hehehehehe!

I also bot alotsa varieties of fruits and cereral, blend fruits and add 2-3 oz FM inside the cereal. So far he finished the cereal!! After 3 days of totally no milk, now he drinks like 4 oz twice a day. Pray hard for me that he will continue to take milk.

Btw, any mummies knows can avocado n papaya be frozen after blended? I bot too much thats y i blend n freeze it. Heeee....

y can't freeze? will spoil?

haiz... i always envy other tods who eat alot. ryan eat like a bird. small bite size, extra small portion.
sianz. i dunno how to keep him entertained with new foods. he dun eat blended stuffs anymore. i tried all sorts of fruits, he dun eat. only like to suck orange slices.
i can't think of any way to make him eat.
any suggestions?

Pet
with Chelsea I remember I used to have to "feed" Elmo and then feed her, then she would eat :p...i also made a "face" on the plate using fruit/bread etc and i said don't eat the "mouth" and she loved to eat the various body parts haha....with tommy, he thankfully still takes blended food/porridge but if he's not keen on it, i give him food that he can pick up with his fingers, like he loves cheese and bread...that makes him eat more

does Ryan snack outside of meal time?? might want to cut down on that to see if his food intake during meal times will increase...he might also be taking too much BM?? is that possible since you said you don't know how much BM he takes

Frozen papaya n avocado,
oh... I think I heard about it before. Guess I haf to eat it as a sorbet then. Hehehehehe! My excuse to eat it la.

YT,
Papaya and avocado can be frozen, best if it's in puree form. If you don't want them to turn brown, add a little lemon juice before freezing.

Clover, the trip was gd and I am glad we made it. It’s the bonding that makes the 3 of us very happy.
We have covered platimun, siam paragon, dream world, Suan lum, BoBae & Central.
Thais are friendly and they love babies. My gal wave & say bye bye making the hotel guests & staffs at grand diamond so happy.

Hb repeatly say “Sawasdee Krab” & “khob khun krab” with the hands gesture infront of her and she respond by grasping both hands like ‘gongxi’ on the 2nd day. On the 4th day we come back spore, she can respond by straightening her fingers when place both hand together near her chest like the thais gesture liao. hah...

reena: yes. sponge feel. very light.

shoduko - i noe of raffles city branch only. in basement.

FL: nice.. how was slping? my hb scared ryan not used to e bed. so we procrastinated for so long.

FL
Very cute leh!

Pet
Wat I realised when we brought zayed to HK last May, was that he hated the unpredictability, small room, etc. Like he wanted to be back at home. But from 2nd day onwards things got better. So, now hubby and I know that we need to get a bigger room and our itinerary has to be free and easy and not packed. He was a darling when we went to batam when he was 8 mths so I was shocked la! But I guess its ok to accommodate for our little ones
Anyway, he loved disneyland! So, maybe you can plan something nice and easy for him? Something with a nice swimming pool perhaps? I'm sure he'll love the experience.

Pet
I'm not sure if running around will help Ryan increase his appetite? If Ryan is walking already, maybe can bring him for walks or let him run around in a playground?

Shabu-shabu
I tried Hibiki at Cuppage Terrace with hubby earlier this year. Hubby had a sukiyaki hot pot and I had a korubutsu shabu-shabu. We shared a california maki ($10) and salmon sashimi ($12), plus a pot of green tea (with roasted rice). Total bill was about $80 but the portion of food was generous. Service was good, waitress very attentive and topped up the tea in our cups. Also explained to us what sauce to dip the meats in etc. Price of the california maki and sashimi is more expensive than places like Sakae Sushi but the portion is double and sashimi was twice as thick. Yummy.

Other places to eat
Speaking of food, if anyone is looking for a place to eat at for special occasions with your hubby, would like to recommend Prive at Keppel Bay. It's a bit pricey but the al fresco dining there is very nice and it's not crowded with so many people. Hubby had a tasting menu (6 or 7 different dishes from their menu but in smaller portions) and I had a grilled korubutsu pork. It's one of the best grilled porks I've had so far.

blue skies: ryan is learning to run now. my mil brings him down for walks every morning. then in the evening, i will let him walk outside my house corridor.
end up, he will wanna drink more BM then eating. so in the day, my mil try to squeeze more food to him. so when i return home, he can feast on BM. but when i m ard, he always wanna drink. dun wanna eat.

Pet,
No prob with the sleeping. Hotel bed very comfy and she KO at 8pm+. Eversince she started cc she sleep earlier. Last time, she sleeps like 10pm

Good Morning!

Travel is alys exciting! Hehee. Natas Fair starts this fri!

Phoebe also suddenly reject outside food. We brought her to Mac for breakfast on Sun, she spit out the muffin and hotcake (plain), spit out buns and bread too. But luckily she still take home-made porridge and soup and then fruits. Phew...

Anyone know of specialist that can guarantee the gender of the bb? Have a relative who already 4 daughters and wanna try for a 5th one end this year. Her 1st gal is sec 2 next yr and the 4th one gg Pri 1 next year. They do not have high income but they love children and she really wants a boy and this is her last chance. She married young so she is only 32 this year.

fl, i don't thk specialist can gurantee the gender of bb leh. if her mense quite accurate, get her to get ovalution kit and try it on ovalution day, then will probably get a boy.

hi FL
re: choice baby
since bb gender is 50-50, this company basically takes a 50-50 chance to earn your fees, for providing a "service". mebe you'd like to reconsider

FL, i don't believe in paying dubious sources to get this advice.

Most gynae can advise best dates to try for a boy, provided menses are regular. But my gynae told me he put it at 80%. Not 100% too.

Shettles Method doesn't work on everyone. There's the minority that didnt hit the jackpot too. I sort of agree Shettles work, but maybe its due to our diet/lifestyle habits. No one knows.

Best to ask gynae bah.

Btw, can share cost of the CCC? I got one from Bt Batok Central quote me $380 for full day care aft subsidy! Faintz.

I dunno if I wanna go ahead. Those places convinent to me have charges like $350. Other places that require me to take 2 buses (abt 6 stop) charges like in the range of $200... that's a lot of money.