(2008/03) March 2008

Reena
Nope now based in kl w hb as he is working there. Only coming back end nov for his bro' rom then go back kl. ONly during 2nd day for cny i hope we can come back sg to celebrate w families. My in-laws were here over the weekend n we went up cameron highlands. The weather was cooling like a bit of of temperate countries but e place very packed due to long weekend/deepavali holiday.

Maybe the mummies can organise a trip to cameron highlands during the weekdays/off peak then can enjoy more. It is a nice place for relaxing i feel. Then maybe i can join u all there too
Thin i feel deprived of gathering and holidays/getaway ;P

Hi all Mummies,
I just tried the Happybellies Oatmeal on my DD over the weekends and she loved it. I think that its good 'cause one spoon is already very heavy. Can feel the weight as compared to 1 spoon of Frisocream.

Simp,
Cameron Highland indeed looked very relaxing. But the only way up there is by land around the winding road? That's a total turn-off for me b'cos i get motion sickness real easily. It's even worse than morning sickness liao..

clover,
For Express Boarding, I read mixed review about it. Some say it's not worth it b'cos the difference between payers and non-payers are only like 5 minutes!!! In which case I think it's a waste of money if they did not deliver what they promised. Did u take up the Express Boarding? As for seats, other than the first row, which rows are best for parents with infants? Where are the toilets located? Got changing station?

Reena,
cute picture indeed! kekeke..

boon,
wow Felicia knows a few words already? that's very good!

melissa, yah the diff is abt 5mins. we got the express boarding option on our return flight. the flight which was delayed n every passenger were restless n waiting to chiong into the gate, so we're glad tt we gotten boarding priority. I think first row is still the best coz all the seats are rather squeezy. I didn't go to the toilet during both flights or changed baby, so can't comment. :p

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">Happygal,

Yr BB very pretty leh ... mus b look like mummy</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Twinklestars,

Tere's a gathering @ yr place tis Sat huh... Can I join if both my kiddo aren't too tired after gng for open hse?</font></font>

hi abc, u posted a list of toys. Do you mean your supplier has stocks for those toys? Do let me know as i'm keen in a few of them.

my phone is cranky. Can receive calls but not sms these few days. If you are not able to get a reply from me n need to look for me, do call me. tnx.

Wanna ask,
my son is keep on yawning today despite he has full 12 hours of sleep last nite, took 2 naps today. But he is stil active despite of keep yawnin. Is it normal?

happyface
yes those r the those my supplier has

Happybellies
i still hv oatmeal and multigrains. Anyone wants? $10.50 per tin. I had started Andrae on porridge thus he is taking only 2 tablespoon of cereal a day.

Reena
really good pic !
how o was DD1 then ?

Yutong
never encounter this b4 ..hope the other mummies can help

Melissa
u sound like me ..tat winding rd sounds very scary to me cos i hav motion sickness since young, stop in my adult day and has came back again since i got pregnant with #1.

my #1 also motion sickness..every car or taxi trip to Changi airport she wil threw up unless it is via MRT, as long as trip exceeds 20 min she cannot take it unless it is via MRT

how abt ur kids ?

nice to see all of u here. i am new in this thread. my boy is born in march 08

still have lots to learn frm all of u.
1829971.jpg

can share/exchange anything with me.

i am staying at admiratly

Reena: Nice photo

Saw many cute photos while surfing the march forum in ofc today. So wanna share some which I took last long weekend

1830042.jpg
1830043.jpg

Haven been surfing the forum for some time &amp; OMG all the bbs are growing so fast! Felicia still dunno how to crawl nor stand. But we have been giving her more tummy time. Coz she couldn't crawl so she slam around from side to side to wriggle to get watever she wants. &amp; if that fails, she will scream her head off so that the caregiver will juz have to give in &amp; get it for her..

My sis &amp; bro-in-law said that I am not teaching her correctly by giving in to her whenever she "throws tantrums".. but i find her screams so irritating.. My sis is learning children psychology &amp; she said that all of them are veri sly &amp; we muz not give in to them juz becoz they are screaming..

Mummies: do you all "give in" to your bb if they scream n irritates u? I dunno is it too early to "discipline" Felicia..

But anyway I did a sadist thing juz now.. Felicia is screaming her head off n instead of attending to her, I m busy taking video of how irritating she can be to email to her daddy. haha..

oh wanna share another photo i took. Felicia is playing with her cousin in ikea. Had been venturing out more often with Felicia now coz I think I am getting "trapped animal syndrome"! Juz purely working n coming home to look after Felicia is draining me out!!

1830044.jpg
1830045.jpg

Shu Yi: i stay @ Woodlands Drive 75 Blk 688c. aro 15mins walking distance from Admiralty MRT station. U leh? btw here got a few north mummies

boon, i stay at blk 786c woodlands dr 60. i am near woodlands mart. can meet up one day.

clover, thanxs actually i dun knw the meaning of the name, my mum in law got someone to name the bb

Hi ShuYi

welcome
kao_welcome.gif

zi le is really a happy boy. when is his date of birth ?

we r having a birthday bash for our thread bbies on 4/4/2009..u can see more details in the archives a few days ago

do join us if u can

i agree with clover tat the name suits him well

Boon,
I always enjoy looking at your daughter's photo. Soooo CUTE!!! Oh, its never too early to discipline your child but dun be too harsh on them cos it will affect their confidence when they grow up. Hope this helps:

when should you start disciplining

Whenever my 1-year-old son, Luke, is near rocks, he likes to shovel them into his mouth. And when he sees our cat, he likes to lunge, even though the cat likes to swipe and hiss.

These kinds of moments make up any given day, and figuring out how to shield my son from harm without breaking his spirit usually leaves me totally confused. In my humble experience, getting a toddler to stop eating rocks is easier said than done.

At this tender age, traditional discipline, such as time-out, doesn't work. But what does, and at what age is it appropriate to try which tactics? As you may have guessed, it's as necessary for parents to learn how to discipline properly as it is for children to learn that some behaviors are unsafe or just socially inappropriate.

Ultimately, it's a long process, but when it's done well, it will be a positive experience that will help your child.

the birth of discipline

Setting limits, reinforcing good behavior, and discouraging less-desirable behavior can start when your child is a young baby, according to experts. "There are things that even young babies have to learn not to do, such as pulling your hair," says Judith Myers-Walls, PhD, associate professor of child development and family studies at Purdue.

Because little babies have limited language comprehension, memory, and attention spans, the best strategies to employ early on are more about damage control than about teaching an actual lesson. Distracting (helping him move from a not-so-good activity to something better) and ignoring (just what the name implies) are two very effective strategies. If, for example, your 4-month-old discovers how much fun it is to yank your hair, you might gently remove her hand, give it a kiss, and redirect it toward something fun and appropriate, such as a rattle or other toy.

Of course, you never want to ignore a behavior that's potentially dangerous, but looking the other way when your 7-month-old cheerfully pelts his 59th Cheerio from his high chair is a smart move. It's essential to remember that very young children are utterly guileless; your Cheerio pitcher isn't trying to annoy you. He's learning how to control his hands and beginning to understand the concept of cause and effect. As annoying as this behavior is, it's important not to get upset or overreact.

In fact, a recent study found that 39 percent of parents think that their baby is taunting them when he continually changes channels on the remote. Many parents become frustrated when a child engages in such behaviors, says Nancy Samalin, author of Loving Without Spoiling (McGraw-Hill/Contemporary Books, 2003). Your best bet is to maintain a calm demeanor and carry on with what you were doing.

8 to 12 months

When your baby starts to crawl, around the 8-month mark, it's time to think about setting limits. Suddenly everything -- from the knickknacks on your side table to those rolls of toilet paper under the bathroom sink -- are big no-nos.

A child this age only wants to explore (he has no concept of what he should or shouldn't do), so if you don't want him to touch something, place it out of his reach through childproofing and let child-friendly items take center stage. Experts say this is the best way to help your child stay out of trouble and makes it a lot easier to follow the rules.

Of course, many of us merely say no when we catch our little ones getting into mischief. Unfortunately, it's not a reliable discipline method for kids this age. Your child can comprehend by the tone of your voice that "no" means something different from "I love you," but she doesn't understand the real meaning of the word. Furthermore, she doesn't have the self-control to heed your request.

Use other techniques to reinforce the lesson that some things are off-limits, as Cristina Soto of New York City does. "Starting at around 8 or 9 months, every time my daughter Sonia got near an outlet, I'd say 'Aah aaah!' in a playfully scary voice so she'd stop and look at me," says Soto. "I kept doing it. After a while she'd cruise over to an outlet, point, and say, 'Aah aaah!' to me."

12 to 24 months

Around this age, your child's communication skills are blossoming, so you can start explaining basic rules -- don't pull kitty's tail -- for example. You can also begin using the word no judiciously, in serious situations. Too many could wear out the word and eventually render it completely useless.

Your child's physical skills are coming into full play, too. Your new little walker will likely be thrilled with his freshly minted independence -- and frustrated that he can't do all the things he'd like.

Enter the age of tantrums. While tantrums require a quick response from you, these emotional thunderstorms are a part of growing up and not a cue for harsher discipline techniques, such as taking away a privilege or sending a child to his room.

When tantrums strike, "you need to know your own child," says Claire Lerner, a child development specialist at Zero to Three. Some kids calm down quickly through distraction; others need a hug. But if a tantrum is lengthy, remove your child from the situation and gently explain what's going on ("We can't stay in the store if you continue screaming") until he calms down.

Frustration that stems from your toddler's inability to communicate effectively can lead to hitting or biting, too. Disciplining such scenarios involves telling your child what not to do quickly and simply and redirecting him toward an appropriate activity. For example, if your child hits you because you've interrupted his play for a diaper change, say, "We don't hit, it hurts," and give him a toy he can play with while you diaper him.

24 to 36 months

The two-year mark ushers in twos' programs, preschool, and play dates, which are great for your child's socialization skills but also present a new set of discipline problems. Sharing -- toys, time, and attention -- is difficult at this age. What complicates matters further is that folks (and kids!) outside your family may end up in the path of a toy-snatching toddler who happens to belong to you.

Toddlers understand easy commands, empathy, and cause and effect, so you can now employ these concepts when you discipline. If your child grabs a crayon from his friend, for example, you can say, "We don't grab toys. Taking Billy's crayon hurts his feelings," and then give him a similar crayon to play with.

A key to disciplining toddlers and preschoolers is to keep things very simple. According to a study conducted by Susan G. O'Leary, PhD, professor of psychology at The State University of New York at Stony Brook, those moms with long reprimands were less effective than those with short and direct ones.

Susan Simmons of South Riding, Virginia, the mother of 2-1/2-year-old Mia, agrees. "When Mia hit 2, I started giving her long explanations as to why she couldn't do something, but I realized she didn't understand. Now when she wants to have an ice pop before dinner, I just say 'You can't have one now,' and leave it at that."

using time-outs

Kids between the ages of 24 to 36 months are also ready for you to try using time-outs. Time-out works like this: When your child misbehaves, for every year of his age, he gets one minute to sit quietly in a chair or in his room to calm himself down (for example, a 3-year-old gets three minutes). He gets up when you say time-out is over.

Of course, every child is different, and no one discipline method will work all the time. But the more practice you get doling it out and the more your child understands boundaries, the happier everyone will be.

Kathryn Perrotti Leavitt, a mother of one, is a freelance writer based in Boulder, Colorado. Originally published in American Baby magazine, November 2004. This article is kindly provided by:

Shu Yi,
Welcome! Indeed, your bb's name is very meaningful for him. Who is the wise man who give it to him?

Babypink,
thanks for the advice. Shall continue to monitor my son's behaviour. Was sleeping wif him since 7pm now I m awake n he is still sleeping.

Drooling &amp; Co,
1. Brandon
2. Mikael
3. Jun Kang
Hahahha! My son has been drooling since he is 3 months old. Everyone is saying that he is teething since then. He is 8mths now, I haven't really seen any teeth out yet!

yutong,

thanks for the parenting tips on discipline..very timely!

jenifur
pls join us if u can make it

Those who are coming this Sat, pls update ur attendance...btw...need to wrap up the gathering by 430pm or so cos got a last min function to attend..

Venue: twinklestars' place in Sengkang
Date and Time: 1st Nov(Sat),1230-430pm

Interested:
1. twinklestars,hb and megan (drinks, cutlery)
2. mikael n bb
3. Yu Tong n bb ( hopefully our hubbies can mit then )
4. abcdisney n 2 kiddo (will bring finger food)
5. AdelineL n bb
6. Summerdaze n bb
7. Adeline
8. Isabellali + maid + 2 kiddos &amp; baby
9. Bubble n HB (mayb) n bb n maid
10.Kate n bb
11. bbpink &amp; family ( pending colleague's agreement by this week)

twinklestar
haiz, my colleague said he will revert to me by today..hope he does and it is good news

i told him i hope to attend a gathering :p

Yutong
tat is a great article posted

shuyi223
Hi to meet you~

Drooling &amp; Co,
1. Brandon
2. Mikael
3. Jun Kang
4. Rhys

Rhys has been drooling since 3-4 mths old. And like cpyt, everyone said that he was teething.. It was until he's about 5mths then I saw jis first teeth, now the 2nd teeth coming out...

Anyone going to the Carnival at Botanic garden on the 9 November????

http://www.sbg.org.sg/JBCGCarnival2008/

isabella

sound fun ! we should have a gathering tat day

<font color="0000ff">Potluck Picnic Gathering in Nature
9 Nov 2008
10am ?

Interested:
1. Isabella &amp; family ?
2. bbpink &amp; family</font>

babypink, clover,CP&amp;YT &amp; other mummies,

thanxs for all the lovely praises for my boy. all the photos here are oso very lovely n cute.

babypink

my boy birthday date is on 18 march 08

do keep me update on all the events. will try to join in as much as possible

thanxs to all the mummies
.«♥»-(¯´♥´¯)-»♥» (isabellali)

nice to meet u too.

Hi Yutong,
Timely advice! Where can we find this article or more of these?

My baby is so "naughty", pulling hair, pinching, screaming at the top of her lungs. Until she gets what she wants. Haiyo...

Hahaha.. clover.. this is sooo cute!!! u bought it?? i shld have bought my bb bjourn.. then can go chatuchak..

Hey mummies.. i wanna buy desitin creamy.. any idea where can i buy instantly.. i.e. dun wan to wait for spree.. :)

haha,clover the strawberry one is nice for a gal bb

these kind of thing are fun for photo shots and studio shots :p
indeed not practical under our hot sun

bae_dude
i tot u went with them, tat mean u stay in hotel while clover went c mkt

babypink..i went.. but in the end missed on the chatuchat coz my parents and sis prefer to stay at platinum mall for bargains.. in the end.. i follow them.. hahahha

clover.. thanks thanks.. will go see see..pharmacy i think more exp hor.. :p dun think they have creamy...i bought the original before.. but very hard to wipe off.. saw ivy using during the trip.. quite easy to wipe off..

yah pharmacy more ex n 1/2 the size also. i prefer original leh n i must be the only mum here tt prefer desitin original. i like it coz i find the coverage better.

clover!
nice caps! is the weather hot over there? how much are those caps? i have two girls, i'm imagining my damage will be greater! hahaha... oh by the way, how do you bargain? can they speak English? i'm the supermarket-fixed-price shopper type, i dunno how to bargain wan. perhaps if i am a SAHM with single-income, i'd be forced to learn kekeke.

Venue: twinklestars' place in Sengkang
Date and Time: 1st Nov(Sat),1230-430pm

Interested:
1. twinklestars,hb and megan (drinks, cutlery)
2. mikael n bb
3. Yu Tong n bb ( hopefully our hubbies can mit then )
4. abcdisney n 2 kiddo (will bring finger food)
5. AdelineL n bb
6. Summerdaze n bb
7. Adeline
8. Isabellali + maid + 2 kiddos &amp; baby
9. Bubble n HB (mayb) n bb n maid
10.Kate n bb
11. bbpink &amp; family ( pending colleague's agreement by this week)
12. Ivy n Aidan

melissa, the weather is like singapore lor. bring yr umbrella along~

urh, it doesnt take a sahm from single income family to bargain. i tot its woman's instinct? hehe. most thais i have came across, their english is limited but however enough to discern price haggling. usually we pay 2/3 of the quoted price. dun get chope carrot head!

Hi March 08 mummies, can i join this thread?
My baby is born on 28 March 08, Natasha Tan Jing Xuan....
I love to read the posts in this thread...

I'm staying at Choa chu kang

1834567.jpg

Welcome to all mummies who joined. So many new cute babies. hehe..the more the better.

Abc
thanks for the offer. we decided to settle for a second hand one that my bro in law offered. Guess u guys are right. He's going to try walking soon so not really good idea to buy now.

Drooling &amp; Co,
1. Brandon
2. Mikael
3. Jun Kang
4. Rhys
5. Zayed

Mine is a drool factory. Now, when he's concentrating and playing, he drools more. No teeth yet. My boy is very active so I guess his drooling could also be because of him exploring.