(2008/03) March 2008

Re: Maid
I thin my maid have something up her sleeve but I just can't quite get it... Initially she told me that her half of the roof top in her house @ Indonesia was blown away and need money to repair. Den say that she need 5 mths of salary to repair... I was like.. Huh?! Why so much.. After that I tell her I hv no money.. Den she tell me 2 mths... I say I dun hv.. At most I can only give 1 mth.. Den she say nvm.. Cos her father say if cannot take 2 mths den dun wan... Den I say ok lorx.. Dun wan, I also cannot force her to take...

Den to day suddenly tell my mil that she want a walkman, ask my mil to buy for her.. Den my mil act blur to her.. Ask her what is walkman.. Den tell her that she dunno all these things.. If she want, come directly to me.. So I tell my mil say if she come ask me, I'll let her buy but using her own money...

I find that she's starting to 'chu pattern' liaox~ Suddenly want this, suddenly want that... Den my mil tell me that she feel that she's the kind that will steal money and ask me to keep all my coins properly... (those that i save in my piggy bank) I think I'll have to guard against her... Cos I also hv the same feeling as my mil...

Re: Bringing baby out
Last time I hv no problem bringing my DS #1 & #2 out. Cos when they're out, they won't make a noise unless they wanna drink milk or soil their diapers.. When they wanna sleep, they will just 'knock out' in the pram... But for my DS #3, I still dunno yet cos I only bring him over to my mother house every weekend.. This topic make me realise that I've never brought my DS #3 out to town b4, guess I gotta try bringing him to town this weekend..

shaz17... the thurs meeting at united sq is more for talking and catching up session.. been a while since some of us meet..so, we plan to meet up..and post on forum for interested mummies to join in.. prob we will find a place to sit down, have tea or something..

united sq coz it is bb friendly..but not pram friendly though! hahaha ...

connie.. take leave lah! :p

reena.. ur encounter damn funny!! hahahaha.. not bad leh.. can pose off as poor..got so many goodies.. wahahaha.. maybe coz have so many kids.. and u so skinny!! so the auntie thinks..ohh poor mummy.. so skinny no money to eat! wahahah .. if is me, sure cannot convince..coz too fat to convince her of being poor...

reena, the auntie buys ho liao for u leh :p

babyheng, come n join us lah. it will be nice to meet u. we are all mummies, so already used to crying bbs.

babe_dude,

thanks for the info!
haven't been to united sq with my bb yet, might join you guys if i can take leave!

hard for me to bring bb out in a pram so i guess not pram-friendly is ok! :D i usually sling him when we go out! prams are for outings with papa so he can lug the pram around when bb is tired of sitting in it hehe!

talking about slings...does anyone want anything from www.hotslings.com? if yes, please tell me because i prob will get 1 more sling from that site!!

isabellali -

lucky you! i dunno why my boy cannot sleep in his pram...er maybe too hard?! he can sleep anywhere....other ppl's bed, car seat etc. but just not the bloody pram!!! unless he's damn tired and he falls asleep while being carried and then gets transferred to the pram...hahah!

when he's in the pram, he just wants to be pushed around and see everything and anything!!! HAI!!

clover -

my bb is screaming kind when want-to-sleep-cranky! i was just joking with hubby...ask him bring the bb to his kopi sessions with his friends then confirm after that will have no friends cos the screaming bb will scare everyone away....muahahaha!

babyheng, then petrina's ryan can compete with yrs. hehe. I guess all bbs will be cranky when they are over-stimulated n sleepy. mine will turn cranky too n fuss more. when he's physically tired then he will turn quiet n look for me. I just realised the diff today.

babyheng
but that was before.. My baby Rhys now dunno got like his kor kor so easy to handle or not.. Rhys is being looked after my maid since he was 2 wks old.. So his pattern is different from his other 2 kor kor. He's more demanding.. Even I can't stand of him sometimes..

Baby Rhys doesn't like to be placed inside the walker. He will start screaming the moment we placed him inside and when we turn to his attention, he will lift both his hands up like the way a baby wants someone to carry...

Here are some photos to share:

1670774.jpg

1670775.jpg

Reena
hehe, really amazing encounter

Babedude
haha..u really have a good sense of humour, ur hb is lucky to have u as a spouse..no boring moments

my baby fell down from the bed during midnite... !!! OMG , guess i was too sleepy last nite..usually when she fidget i will know... we co-sleep

HAizzz., she cried so loud in the house and woke everyone up...since then every 2 hrs she woke up and cried .guessed she got a shocked ! i havent sleep well since after that incident..

hengzz.. there no bruise and fever at the moment.. will keep monitor for the rest of the day

wat a careless mother i am !!!

sahms/teachers/whoever can make it
let's meet next week!

===============================================

Date: 1 sep 08 (Mon)
Time: 4pm
Venue: sentosa
Meeting place: vivo city outside food court at level 3

1. abcdisney n 2 ABCs

================================================
venue: united sq
time: 2:30pm
date: 4 sep 08( Thurs)

1. clover n bb
2. babedude n bb
3. abcdisney n bb
4. Belle_mommy n 2 bb

celia
OMG. Hoep she is ok. My boy oso co slp with us and he is occupying half of our bed liao. ahhaha...

babyheng
nvm if bb is cranky... all babies r. We can always help each other.

Celia,
yar... monitor here. There are things tat you might wanna take note. Eg. refusal to take milk, sleepy whole day, slow in reaction and vomitting.
The good thing is that she cried immediately after she fell. So should be still ok la.

babyheng,
I haf a sling from Littlepod to let you? Let me know if you wan.

Venue: United sq
Time: 2:30pm
date: 4sep08

1. Clover n bb
2. babedude n bb
3. abcdisney n bb
4. Belle_mommy n 2bb
5. Kresentia n bb mikael

Isabelali..re: maid

Hi..from my experience..if our maid has requested so many stuff, pls watch your back. They are so poor in Indonesia and the family think they made so much money in here. Thus, they also got pressure from the family to send much money as they can. Pls watch your purse, wallet, hp and yes! your piggy bank! I had ever lost my piggy bank which i had saved for years...when i opened the coin isn't as much as i thought so. Someone filled up a marbles to make it heavy..so I won't realised the coin is missing.

Pls be cautious when you purchase something such as clothes, toys or your credit card statement etc..remember to destroy the price tag. Don't let them see! they will know your daily expenditure, how much you shop etc..etc..

Some of them are dumb but not too dumb as long as it involves money.

usually Indonesian maid is very simple. They don't have higher expectation. Only treat them nice and give them enough to eat.

But those who are experienced..should be taken close monitor, especially if you got small kid!

Mikael,
so scary the way you describe. Wat you mean by those who are experienced should be taken close monitor, especially if you got small kid?

goodness celia.. hope bb is ok..

bb pink... my spouse is lucky??? hmm... bet he must be complaining abt my "wu liaoness" hahahah .. my daughter seem to enjoy my "wu liaoness" though.. as of now lah.. coz i kinda entertain her all the time... but guess she will grow up and get sick of it soon.. wahahha ..

yes i do agree with mikael

the one with experience always 'ay-ya-pa-pa-ya' ..thinks that we cannot do with them ..

my indonesian maid likes to steal food to eat..sometimes it can be quite irritating... eg my mummy bot some food back when she wanted to eat the food gone !! my mummy was so angry that she keep telling the maid ' got BAMBI .. how can u eat' the maid got scared.. hahaha

only treat them nice like dunkeep shouting at them over small trivial matter like forgetting things ..we are human sometimes we tend to forget things too... learn how to close one eye ...

thks babe_dude

now the baby is sleeping since 830am ... hopefully she is well ... before she slept she dun wan to latch on ... still worry...

she landed with her head on the floor ..facing up position

i can imagine how dumb they are. back in the villages, there's no technologies like washing machine, flat-screen tv, iron and their kitchen is not full of stored food either. they eat what they could find for the day. and their culture, it's just completely different from a singaporean's. we're the only country in ASEAN with a very fast pace of living wherelse theirs is super slow mountain tortoise pace. so imagine when these two paths crosses.

my mom wants me to get a maid but it's really hard for me to refuse, so i'm glad u guys related your stories to me so that i can scare her with stories like this. i think it's working. i told her, whenever i'm home, i will help and take over and if i get a maid, i won't buy her things like i used to. no more shoes, bags and excursions on impulse liao. i think that notion is oso scary for her hahaha.

Babypink
Thanks for your compliment.. But I think all kids are good looking cos they have the kind of innocent look on them.. That make them look so good..

Celia
If she didn't vomit, feeling giddy, reject food within 24hrs, you are actually quite safe.. But if there is any symptoms mention above within 24hrs, you will have to bring her to the doctor immediately..

Melissa,
you are so funny. You told your mum on the incentives that she has to forgo if she has a maid? hahhahha! Smart ah!

I suddenly have a wild idea. I was thinking if its a good idea that all the SAHM or caregiver can stationed at one house in the day time all together n we would bath, make bb sleep, chatting away etc etc.. I think it will be fun. Also, its a support system to each other esp when sometime the mother need to run some errands for a while.

Its sort of like infant care la, but wif more fun n flexibility lor. Nice rite? I dun mind at my condo lor if dun mind the limited space. Heeheeeheee...

Back at Jakarta, so many maid got pissed with her employer but they can't get back to us-they get back to our kids. Many cases lehh!

So don't too hard with our maid. They had accessed to our belongings, to our food and even to our personal life (cos they lived with us).

My closed friends got big fight with her MIL because her maid told everything that's happening in the house. Such as my friend and hubby fought, my friend was gosipping her MIL with her friends-not aware that the maid earsdropping.

I don't like taking the experience one- i'd like the new comers, even i have to put extra effort to teach her.Usually they are easy to handle and train. They also tends to be loyal to us.

Hi! how to give fruit puree to our baby? Do you buy from supermarket such as gerber? or you buy fresh fruit and blend them?

How about orange juice? is it okay? Afraid it's too sour..for baby stomach.

I gave my boy orange juice when he was about 4 mths old and he love it. Cos the one my MIL chose is not sour, more to sweet. Gave him about 2 ounces and he finish it off.. But one thing to take note of is orange tends to make baby phlemy..

Isabellali,

What kind of orange? How to choose the sweet one? Very confusing...not good in doing groceries...so disappointing...

isabellali -
i said this before but really love Rhys' 大眼睛!!!
question to you and other mummies who use the walker - have heard that bbs who use walkers tend to get "lazy" and will refuse to use their legs, hence leading to learning to walk much later? any truth in this?

yutong -
thanks for the offer on the sling! i have one already but plan to get 1 or 2 more....vain la...so can match different clothes wahahhaha! thanks anyway!!

1671545.jpg

This is Tristan with Monty the Monkey - got this toy blanket thingie at the Taka Fair....thought my boy would hug it to sleep but end up he play and scream (in excitement!) and toss it around, Monty has since been banned at bedtime...hahah!

Hi moms,

Sorry to gatecrash your thread. I have with me 5 unopened boxes of Bellamy's organic rice porridge (for 6 mths and abv) which I want to sell at $5.50/box (rp is abt $7+). Reason being, I bought too many at a go previously and my bb has already outgrown e stage. This brand to me is good for bbs who are abt to start on their first solids as e texture is v smooth and fine. Expiry is July 2009.

Do email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Celia
geez, glad tat Alethea is fine

Babe_dude
hehe..i am those kind tat appreciate the humour around me rather than the humouros one ..so usu i m the one who starts laughing when my colleagues are humourous

Maid
my new maid sings when she does the chores..hehe..i hope she is just happy and not going cuckoo

isabellali -
do you dilute the orange juice? or give it to your bb concentrated?

babypink -
thanks!! the reason why i bought tristan a monkey is because me and hb thinks he looks like a baby orang utan wahhahaa...uh oh, that means me and hb look like "lao gow" too, to have produced one! LOL!

mikael
best is not to gv orange. I am one child who eat oranges and had asmatha after tat. Thus even for my 3 yr old gal i dun really gv orange.

Mikael
U go cold storage n buy the veg or fruits and puree yrself. u can oso freeze puree. Frozen puree are more nutrition than canned puree. U can ask ivy for help. Just help her the other day on shopping for groceries. :)

Shaz17
Nope, I didn't dilute it.. I give it to him like that...

Shaz17
Thanks Thanks for ur compliments..
Your little fellow have nice smile...

Babypink
A happy go lucky maid, I think...

ABC
I agree with you... If dun let them drink when they're baby, you will have a hard time making them drink plain water next time...

PD mention that babies less than 6 months shouldn't take plain water. My boy is 5 mths + already. Can take? he have not start solid yet.

i gave my girl plain water even though she is a month old and was BF. so far no problem. and she likes it. she'll open her mouth big when she see the bottle with plain water.

I start giving water a few hours after baby was born to clear those dirty things in his body(that's what my grandma said). So far so good.. Only when I heed PD advice and didnt give my son plain water, that's when things start to go wrong.. Travis had UTI due to not drinking of plain water when he was 2 mths old.. And I only didnt give him plain water for less than 3 days..