(2008/03) March 2008

Yea yea i am happy lio.. Andrae dun like to add ebm to the cereal. he prefer adding water instead. Guess everything is jus trial and error.

ivy
thanks to yr banana porridge from rafferty gardens. I gv him this this morning without ebm! Happy happy!

hey jgal, i admire your passion to see thru the cda thingy for the jan-aug first borns. singapore needs more passionate people like you.

my motto is "if u dun try, u'll never know".
in my last job at unsw asia, i co-led the local staff to negotiate compensation with the aussies, met the lawyers and govt authority, held mtgs n mtgs. so i know it's a tiring journey, but neverthless jia you! u have my support.

jia you again!

ok...i shall do that...

RE:Cereal
which brand of rice cereal is w/o milk and has a smooth texture?

recently bought the nestle one (for 6mth) and it's not smooth texture and i have to use a shift and make it smoother...

Kate,
I think I already look 10 years older leow! You should see all my white hair :-(

Celia,
Yes, I'm a sahm. Only became one last Nov, when I was heavily pregnant. It's tough juggling work and family so decide to quit and be a full time sahm. Coincidentally, my bb's edd was also 15 March but she decides to come out earlier. And on a very special day too =) If chance permits, we should really meet up ;-)

Cloudme,
What kind of spots did your bb develop? It may not be the whole body, but look out for signs esp near the mouth area, if it swells, it's definitely allergies. If it's at other parts of body, look out for hives like spots. Stop the prunes and try it again maybe in a week's time to see if your bb is really allergic to it.

Damn! My maid threatens me that she wanna call agent and leave again! Cannot stand it anymore! She keep treating herself like the employer here! Last nite, she blames me for causing the bb for not having enough diapers cos I throw all the diaper clothes ( which is clean ) into the laundry bag. And everytime I tell her something this minute, next minute she will do the opposite! She keep telling me she forgot where its only one minute ago! Gosh!

Worse she would lie and lie about things.

Yesterday, I went out with bb bringing her along. She said she giddy following me around. When I tell her to stand at home next time then. Guess wat she says to me? " Can you handle bb yourself?" she said in a sniggering manner. OMG!

I know there is no perfect maid but I think I really cannot stand it anymore.

Sorry mummies... dun mean to complain in the forum but I jus very fed up.

YT, I change mine 3 mths ago bcos she aso keeps threatening. Until I really cant stand it anymore. Thx nxt day when I tell her to pack up. Wana bring her back to agent, she started cryg. At first I wanted to give her a 2nd chance but sis insisted on sending her back. I waited for 3-4 weeks for my new maid to come. Luckily I was on maternity leave so stil can survive w/o a maid. So my advice is to send her away. Can understd how u feel. The maid's attitude is v impt.

Reena:
is the cereal texture smooth?
cos i wanted to get it for my mil who is bb sitting my ger...my mil is bb sitting 2 bbs(my ger and niece)...dun think she will have time to filter to smooth texture...

for me at my place, nestle is no problem...

My girl has not been sleeping well esp at night. She will cry in her sleep and sometimes scream. My hubby and I hv been very tired looking after her cos we still hv to look after her gor gor who is 2 yrs plus.

I was wondering if she is over stimulated during daytime and cause her to cry during sleep
Any mummies hv encountered this problem.

YT .. talking abt maid.. i woke up this morn.. saw all my things on the bed and guess.. SHIT..she washed my bag.. my kate spade tote!! and guess how she wash.. soak the bag into water.. goodness..there goes my 900bucks bag.. SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS...

am angry.. coz she ruin my bag.. however..i shld be happy coz she got initiative?? hahahah .. haizz.. dun wanna talk abt it anymore.. she old maid..also got attitude.. but i must be louder than her..then she scared..

YT... i think u too nice to her and too soft..thats why she climbing over ur head! ... u have to consider changing loh.. attitude is impt i agree..but, what abt ur relationship with her.. can talk?? can joke?? since u say she dun do her work well.. abit jialat..i wld change loh.. coz for mine..at least she does her work well...

cloudme, i have 2 pack of organic bellamy cereal for sale at $5. Anyone interested? It is "tasteless" to me and it is oatmeal flavoured. No milk added in. U can jus add water to the cereal to feed.

y

bb talk this sat at mandarin. who else is interested for session #2? i'll be going there to register on the spot.

1. clover n bb
2. kate n bb
3. crystal n bb

Yutong
have u tried getting a thrid person to talk to her? Maybe yr husband? When i am unhappy and angry i would jus keep cool but will complain and spam my hb's sms. Hahaha... after that he will talk to her n try to be a middle person. So far this works n build up our understanding too. U can try.. dun put everything on yrself... perhaps ask yr hb to try talkign to her ?

clover
i cant go for this talk on sat already. my parents place doing housewarming on sunday so we got lots of stuffs to do on sat. sorry sorry. i yest then rem. lucky i have not reg yet. hee

abc,
errh i think i will stick to the rice cereal first...

thanks for the offer...if u stay in the east can consider getting from you.. cos me stay @bedok...

CYT
Ur maid is very rude... Guess the best will call agent and counsel her since there's no maid available as it's the fasting month now.. If she tell you she wanna leave, den tell her that u have no objection.. See if she dares to threaten you again.. She's like so sure that u can never be able to handle the baby yourself... If she's mine, I would never tolerate..

Mummy_dube,
I tot i can joke n talk to her till she cross the board yesterday lor. She blamed me for alotsa things yesterday lor. You got Fillipino maid ready? Is she good?

abc,
can you imagine, even my hubby who is so patient cannot stand her. My hubby talked to her jus now but she argue and argue. She even walked away from my hubby and said " I dun wanna work."

Rude,
she is very rude indeed. Initially, when she is first here n I was staying wif my mum. She would shout across the living room from the kitchen to talk to me or my parents. She would even interrupt when I m talking to my mother and contribute her opinion in the topic that we are discussing.

I hate to do this complaining but she would threaten me every month so wanna go back cos she compares me with her ex employer who gives her alotsa freedom blah blah blah...

The last time she threatens to go back cos she said her agent promised her to give off days to her for the next employer but when she comes here she dun haf off days. She said that she was unaware when we told her there is no off days and she din agree to it. She said she go out everyday when with her ex employer and now no off days she is very bored. I even talk with her peaceful and tell her that we agreed when we are at the agency n also its signed in the black n white. We compromised by saying that we give her one off day on Hari Raya and will not deduct from her pay at all.

Sigh... now she goes again to threaten to go back ...

Ng Chee Kiong
I got one like this from Mamas Love. Can be found at Kiddy palace.. My friend bought it there @ over $100. Can use as a walker, can jump and can keep the seat and let baby use as another form of walker when they learn to walk..

Now my friend pass this to me.. And I'm letting my son use.. Too bad, he doesn't like it..

Baby Rhys have been screaming all day yesterday till he choke and cough... Any mothers have the same problem?? No way of stopping him... He would go on and on... Even when we hit his mouth gently...

isabella
Mine has always been shouting until his voice is so "sexy" hahaha...

yutong
wah then i think u ca change maid liao... i think kais has one very gd one but very ex. $400plus i think

isabellali -

is baby Rhys unwell? maybe teething? i know babies can cough during teething periods because of excess saliva in their throats....not sure if he's experiencing that.

reena: yup.. luckily i nv *murder* ryan yet.. keke
i threw him to my mil the min she came home ard 4pm... spent 15mins cooling down.. then ok liao.
last nite he very farni, usually he'll nurse to slp. then delatch n remain aslp in same position..
but last nite he push me away and turn to hug his bolster.. nite feeds also same lor. i so happy he's gaining independence..

weaning
today i officially intro solids.. cause i c my boy tahan me eating w/o him very poor thing..
initially i fed heinz rice cereal wif ebm when he was 5mths. he dunno how to swallow.
today he's abt 51/2mths. bot heinz pumpkin & sweetcorn puree.
gave him abt 2 tablespoons in total.. he enjoyed it so much. hehe. now he understands basics like *open ur mouth*.. keke

yutong: if i were u, i'll sack her already.. if ur job is flexi, prob u may wanna return her. then fasting mth end then get a new maid.. better than u bear wif her nonsenses..

bbpink: i nv read. flip few pages then i forgot abt it le.. prob i'll read it ltr..
very scary.. 16mths. haiz..

Cai Yu Tong
If that's the case, den I think the problem lies with her, not you. If she can't let go of the memories she have with her ex employer, den she will keep comparing you with her... That's being very unfair to you. Bring her for counselling... If the counselling from the agent can't even help, den it would be best to change another maid.. Lest she make life hell for all..

yt

i think she's has already make up her mind tat she wants to go back, let her go lah...no point keep asking her to stay, go n find another good maid, there r still many agencies out there...

yt
i think hor wat u can do is to tell her. Since she wan to go, buy her own ticket. I think that is in the contract. If maid is the one who initiate to go back, she has to buy her own air ticket. BUt if it is us that dun wan the maid, we buy the air ticket for them. Correct me if i am wrong

yt

poor gal, u have my sympathy !

times has changed, we are at maids' mercy

my new maid here since mid aug, keeping fingers crossed myself

cloudme,
I do not know what's your definition of smooth, there will still be some lumps on the cereal, just need to use the back of the spoon to smooth it out.

Oh, you staying in Bedok? Maybe we can arrange to meetup one day, I'm staying in Simei ;-)

YT,
Can you send her back to agent for counselling? If I were you, I won't want to keep her anymore. The most is I suffer rather than the whole family suffers. Oh well, that's just me. I don't see a reason why I should be the one having to face the music when I am the employer. I've only had one maid in my life and she has worked with me for slightly more than a year. But I have seen so many horrible maids my eldest sister got (one even ran to police station to report my sis abused her!). Anyway, to cut the story short, I won't keep her if she has no respect for her employer. I'm not saying employers are always right. We have to respect the helpers too since they are also humans but if they go overboard, they need to be reminded who's the boss.

And as far as maid is concern, my dh never intervene. I'll prefer to be woman-to-woman's talk and leave the man out of it. But if my man does open his mouth, then it's something very serious. This doesn't happen to my maid of course as she's really a very good helper. Anyway, my man is too nice a guy to talk reasons too. If he talks and the maid out-talk him, I'll be the one jumping like crazy.

crystal,
I'm interested to meetup as I'll be alone w bb this Friday. Let me know venue and time, I'll see if I can make it.

ever since i saw articles abt employers forking up more than 10k for maids' treatment at IMH, i have been telling the new maid if not happy, must let us noe immediatly

oh yah, let's talk abt lighter topics, ie, gathering.....hehe

<font color="0000ff">weekend potluck gathering</font>

date - sunday, 5 oct 2008
time - 11am
venue - bbpink place at bt batok

re: maid
I hv no maid butonly pt helper. but last week at my friend's, she told me she's sending away her maid the next day. the maid's work is not that good but nevermind... during her 6mth checkup, found out that maid has STD! wah, can faint! the aget told her tt maid was undergoing treatment for std, but the treatment is not working for her case. only fools will believe the agent...

maid no doubt is impt, but a reputable n responsible maid agency is just as impt.

bbpink, can't join u on sun gathering..

sahms/teachers/whoever can make it
let's meet next thurs!
venue: united sq
time: 2:30pm

1. clover n bb
2. babedude n bb

Oh, I wanna show this interesting happening this morning.

Met my MIL's neighbour at NTUC in the market section. My bb was in the sling, napping face down. This old auntie insisted I turn her head up but how to turn? Anyway, I managed to brush it off and quickly walked away.

I met her again at the food chiller section. She asked if I'm done with my grocery shopping, I told her not yet as I need to get some milk and cheese. She kept talking to my ds2 to be guai guai.

While I was at the cashier, she appeared behind me. When I'm done with the payment, I turned around to say goodbye to her. She asked me to wait for her for a while as she needs to get something else. I waited for 15 mins before she reappeared. During this period, I was panicking as I bought ice cream!

Anyway, when she returned, I passed her her grocery bag and said goodbye again. She asked me to wait for her. Then she gave my son a packet of biscuit. She then told me she wants to follow me home! I tried to reject but how to turn down somebody's request? I told her my house's in a mess, she then told me it's ok, I just follow you home and stand outside your house. I've no choice but to oblige.

When we got home, I invited her in. Immediately, she offloaded her things. And they're all for my family! Here a list of things she bought for my family:

1. Biscuit
2. Bread
3. Fuji Apples
4. Fishballs
5. Fishcake
6. Vegetable
7. Lean meat

She took out a bag of prepacked apples (not too fresh kind), showed me that it costs only $1. That one, she will keep for herself but the fuji ones, for my family. I told her it's ok cos I bought the fuji apples too but she insisted. OMG, I feel so paisay.

I have totally no idea why she bought these for us. When we go over to inlaws' for dinner, we need to walk pass her unit. It's always "hi and bye" kind. Made me feel so paisay!

After she left, I immediately called my mil to inform her and to ask her to thank the auntie again if she sees her. Then I called dh and told him the same thing. Guess what dh asked? "Is it mom told her we are very poor, that's why she bought you so much food?"

Aiyoh, don't know what to do.. think have to buy something in return for her kind gesture.

sahms/teachers/whoever can make it
let's meet next week!

===============================================

Date: 1 sep 08 (Mon)
Time: 4pm
Venue: sentosa
Meeting place: vivo city outside food court at level 3

1. abcdisney n 2 ABCs

================================================
venue: united sq
time: 2:30pm
date: 4 sep 08( Thurs)

1. clover n bb
2. babedude n bb
3. abcdisney n bb

Reena:
do u still remember someone query about ESH and what they provide..i think...and u reply me via email...keke...

that time u mention u also seeing Dr Heng TL @ eastern specialist @bedok...

Reena,
sure can meet out if u want cos it's so near...keke...will go simei shop shop tonight and get the cereal for my mil...

hey abcmummy,

whats the plan for both the sentosa and united sq meeting?

i wanna go but my bb take multiple naps a day so i'm afraid wait he get cranky after awhile, starts screaming and scares everyone and their bbs hahaha!

jeangal -

i bring bb out during weekends mostly but if it's with family members not so bad hahaha so if the bb "mang zang", it's excusable...with friends abit pai seh wait disturb everyone!!!

there was one time we were at vivocity lunching and shopping then i think becos we took our own sweet time, bb got so tired and cranky! in the end, we were pushing a screaming monster at full speed in his stroller all the way to the car park! the moment he sat in his car seat and my hb start the engine and moved the car, he KNOCKED OUT immediately!

but yeah, it'll be good for him to meet other bbs to socialise!!

reena: wah.. free groceries.. how come? initially i'd think the old auntie very mafun.. ask u wait 4 her.. haha.. the fact is she wans to give u her groceries.. so nice of her. better return favour soon.. otherwise very paiseh.. keke

bbpink: i'd love to go over. prob stay awhile niah.. wif hb n ryan.

clover: thurs can.. United Sq.

jeangal: ur boy opp mine. mine have to go out.. shopping king.. otherwise will cranky at home. so i bring him out for a stroll every morn.. see his dad to bus stop.. then go cold storage, then go home. haha, then he'll be kuai for the entire day.. keke

bb talk this sat at mandarin. who else is interested for session #2? i'll be going there to register on the spot.

1. clover n bb
2. kate n bb
3. crystal n bb
4. Zhiqiang/Yvonne n bb Bryan... already registered, hope to meet each other. My wife n I will wear our boy/gal Pure Milk T-shirts.