hi Yu Tong, when my bb is abt 2mths old, she loves to be carry and will cry out of her lungs whenever we put her down. Very stressful to hear bb cry and heartache too...
The breastfeeding support group advises to carry when they cry as it gives security and comfort to bbs. BBs normally cry for 3 main reasons: Hunger, Discomfort and Insecurity. I tried it out when my bb cries and found that my bb sleeps throughout her nap/nite and seldom cries in her sleep. Last time we refused to carry her and try to calm her down but sometimes it gets worse (screaming/crying, colic,etc)... of course.. there's the backache from carrying her around, picking her up and down, etc.
Nowadays, my bb can sleep from 9pm till 5am for her next feed (she can tahan min 5hrs and max to 10hrs till the next feed). The breastfeeding support said that bb have reserves and no need to wake or worry that bbs are hungry during this duration.. really a relief as no need to get up at nite for nite feeds... just need to get up for expressing milk only... so i guess bbs needs to be carry whenever they needs it (comfort/security)... sometimes, i can lay her down on her bed for abt an hr and she can happily play with her musical mobile before she "sian" and wants to play/do something else...
have tried to post my bb photo but can't seem to upload it... hmm... dun know why...