(2008/03) March 2008

hope you dun mind me joining this group...

my bb gal is born on 25 march and currently 14 weeks.... she's on TBF and currently weighted 5.4 kg.

thanks.. hehe.. miss her so much. going back home to see her tonight again...

she's a frowning girl arh... like me... haha... everyone keep complaining that she frown. but bi bian mah.. factory frown in nature so must the the product loh...

babies not sleeping through the night,
No it's not because baby's sleeping with you. In fact, the more attentive and close you are to the baby, the more he/she feels loved and secure. My 1st daughter slept through the night before 2 months old and she sleeps right next to me on my bed. She has been sleeping through the night eversince but now i'm struggling to let her sleep separately hehehe. My Tricia sleeps separately in her bassinet (simply 'cos there's no space for three of us on my bed) and she sleeps through the night as well.

Well, not that I don like or wana protect my boy but I hope he learns to sleep on his own so it'll be easier to make him sleep even if we're not at home. So I usually try to find any chance I have to leave him to sleep on his own. Especially his baby cot. The timing of his sleep depends on my luck~ *sign*

Yasmine
i see 8.6kg and my jaw dropped..mine is same numbers but 6.8 kg :p
yupz, the gathering is on 5 July at Pancake's place at Bouna Vista
PS: typing her nick is making me hungry..jialat man..

Lee Hong
seeing ur pic , my jaw dropped further
very cute ! like a baby scholar =)

BB wt
Mine was 2.844 kg at birth, has gained abt 4 kg since week 14..6.8 is not very heavy but i m quite pleased tat he no longer look like a pack of bones which is how he looks like at birth. Maybe becos he has heavy bones bah..my 1st one at 2.6 kg looks plumper at birth

BB slepping thru nite
when is my turn ? sleep for 4 hrs i will be happy liao !
last nite sleeps at 11pm for 15 min ( last woke up at 8pm , then only doze off at 2am, wakes up at 5am and then 8 am

Abc,
can i add in more orders from old navy, now they have 50% off. Now i am browsing the site. Let me know.

BBpink,
U r in entertainment/media/hospitality industry? Very interesting but a lot of work kekeke. Think very suitable for u as u r very outgoing and pleasant.

Simp

haha..not so posh lah..
still in this job becos my boss is a nice guy

maybe when my boss leaves and a nasty one fill his shoes , tat will motivate me to look for a job with more regukar hrs

Any mummies experience your bb needs to be carried all the time? Mummy is having backache liao leh... My friend just told me tat in Germany the doctors called it YMS= Young Mothers Sydrome. Whahahahha!

alethea&belle,

According to melissa, nt the case leh... haiz! hopefully our bb will be able to sleep thru the nights as they get older bah...

bbpink,

I really admire u. Sometimes during my bb's bad days, when he wakes up n refuses to go to sleep, i am so tired that i feel like banging myself on the wall...even raise my voice sometimes... feel so guilty when i'm sober after that...

hi Yu Tong, when my bb is abt 2mths old, she loves to be carry and will cry out of her lungs whenever we put her down. Very stressful to hear bb cry and heartache too...

The breastfeeding support group advises to carry when they cry as it gives security and comfort to bbs. BBs normally cry for 3 main reasons: Hunger, Discomfort and Insecurity. I tried it out when my bb cries and found that my bb sleeps throughout her nap/nite and seldom cries in her sleep. Last time we refused to carry her and try to calm her down but sometimes it gets worse (screaming/crying, colic,etc)... of course.. there's the backache from carrying her around, picking her up and down, etc.

Nowadays, my bb can sleep from 9pm till 5am for her next feed (she can tahan min 5hrs and max to 10hrs till the next feed). The breastfeeding support said that bb have reserves and no need to wake or worry that bbs are hungry during this duration.. really a relief as no need to get up at nite for nite feeds... just need to get up for expressing milk only... so i guess bbs needs to be carry whenever they needs it (comfort/security)... sometimes, i can lay her down on her bed for abt an hr and she can happily play with her musical mobile before she "sian" and wants to play/do something else...

have tried to post my bb photo but can't seem to upload it... hmm... dun know why...

i personally believe we have to know when the baby is crying in need and want... Else really suffering as baby becomes bigger and especially if you have bigger size baby (talking about myself). My right arm hurts from carrying...

NEXT GATHERING in July!
Date: July 5 Sat (WEEKEND!!)
Time: 2pm onwards Catered
All mommies, & babies, daddies & siblings invited!
Venue: Pandan Valley Condo (alg Holland Rd nearer clementi side)
Nearest MRT: Buona Vista (pls meet in groups for me to do pickups tks...)
1. pancake & bb & hb (host)
2. Liyun & bb (others TBC) YES....weekend!
3. simp & bb (tbc if i am still in spore )
4. abcdisney n bb n Arielene n Helper
5. bbpink & bb ( maybe hb & kelicia)
6. Adeline, bb, kim and helper.. wahahha
7. clover, bb n hubb
8. Kate & BB
9. Sheryl & bb (gg to be first time go out alone wif bb!)
10. Shirley, Lele and zac zac and helper
11. Babe Dude & BB

Swimming at pancake place on 5 july
1. abcdisney n 2 kids
2. clover n bb
3. Adeline n 2 kids
4. Liyun n bb

NEXT GATHERING in July!
Date: July 5 Sat (WEEKEND!!)
Time: 2pm onwards Catered
All mommies, & babies, daddies & siblings invited!
Venue: Pandan Valley Condo (alg Holland Rd nearer clementi side)
Nearest MRT: Buona Vista (pls meet in groups for me to do pickups tks...)
1. pancake & bb & hb (host)
2. Liyun & bb (others TBC) YES....weekend!
3. simp & bb (tbc if i am still in spore )
4. abcdisney n bb n Arielene n Helper
5. bbpink & bb ( maybe hb & kelicia)
6. Adeline, bb, kim and helper.. wahahha
7. clover, bb n hubb
8. Kate & BB
9. Sheryl & bb (gg to be first time go out alone wif bb!)
10. Shirley, Lele and zac zac and helper
11. Babe Dude & BB
12. Adeline Loo & bb

Swimming at pancake place on 5 july
1. abcdisney n 2 kids
2. clover n bb
3. Adeline n 2 kids
4. Liyun n bb

abc,
i never see properly...

Suntec carrefour selling active baby series (size M/ L/ XL), 2 boxes for $55. each box is 2 packs. 3 days only. for L size, each box consists of 76 pieces. for M size, each box consists of 88 pieces.

liyun,
talking about need vs want, i think our march babies are still at the point where everything is a "need". thus when she's crying to be carried, I will carry her, even on a day of running after a terror two. as long as she feels comforted, i don't mind sacrificing my own time. one thing i'm learning is to train their sleep time to synchronize with each other, so that i can have all the time to myself. i read an article about letting baby crying it out being a bad idea. it came from a pediatrician as well, a Dr Paul M. Fleiss. here's an extract:

"Expecting a crying baby or a young child who has experienced a night waking to "self-soothe" without any positive and nurturing interaction from you is unreasonable and ineffective. Responding to a child's cries, comforting her, and lovingly trying to help her overcome whatever is bothering her is not only effective, it is the only proper way to soothe and calm a child in order to help her fall back asleep. A crying baby wants the calming presence of a parent precisely because the baby instinctively knows that the presence of a comforting parent is the solution to her problem. Unless the parent makes himself available to the baby, the baby will not be calmed. Babies are responding to biological needs that sleep "experts" either ignore or deny."

It is true that a baby whose crying is ignored may eventually fall back asleep, but the problem that caused the night waking in the first place has remained unsolved. Even if parents have checked to make sure that the baby is not sick or in physical discomfort, unless they pick up the baby, interact with him in a compassionate way; soothe him, or nurse him until he falls back asleep, the underlying or accompanying emotional stress will remain. The emotional stresses of a baby do not simply go away if they are ignored. They multiply and may lead to long-term disorders in the relationship between parent and child. Meeting your baby's emotional needs by answering his cries and interacting with him, therefore, is the approach of choice for parents.

read more at http://www.nospank.net/fleiss2.htm
(it's a very good read)

his idea happens to coincide with mine and i'm not saying that he's right, but i'm offering a different perspective to why a baby should be soothed by the parent and not trained to self-soothe. i see that the self-soothing method works for some and i believe that mothers know best. i have two kids and i used this method and they both slept through the night since 2 months and now. i take it as they're comfortable enough to fall asleep that long, thereby allowing me to have time for myself and more couple time for me. the article above is for those who have some free time to read.

Melissa
i did the same as u hehee..
Now kim and kath's sleeping time and napping time is exactly the same! so i have time for myself now !!! reason being is cause when kim is awake, kat cannto slp as well cause kim is like a loud trumpet. So by the time kim is tired, kat is SUPER exhausted thus both fall aslp together :p
When kat is uncomfy, i will carry her and play with her if need be. unless kim wants my attention, then i let kat whine for a while before i attend to her. So far doing good. What i am afraid most is bringing them out all by myself! the nearest plc is compass point hehehee..

chewwy
i hv 1 box extra. Selling $12 a box.

Crying bb
My bb lvoes to be carried too. However thanks to Liyun he loves the bumbo too. Thus at times we jus place him on bumbo and play with him. However i think he will outgrow the bumbo soon as he is learning to struggle out from it. Aiming for the exersaucer now

Bumbo seat:
We didnt have the time to look after Isaac if we place him inside the bumbo plus, his thunder tights get stuck inside the bumbo seat. If he try to get out I think will sure be a fall flat on his face thingy which I don think I wana see it happen. Wait he cry and his beloved daddy will blame me for buying that seat. hahahahaa

I realise Isaac is smart enough to come out with "fake" crys. he cry... then stop and look around, no respond then he cry again and then stop and look around. I was just standing there stareing at him.... I realise how Isaac got alot of "want" carry rather than "need" carry. He knew that as long he raise both his hands outwards, my mum will SURE carry him. I will first try to play with him first until he make noise then I carry him....

jerejoy:
Walker is cheaper... kekekekee
But I was told walker slows down the walking process of your baby as they becomes dependent on it. So I feel it is still up to the parents which one to get~

abc, can you sell the box to me? You don't have to refund me the money left over from drug store. I will transfer the balance to you. Not sure how much as I need to check the spreadsheet you sent. Thanks a lot!

lee hong: my baby is also a frowny baby!! keep trying to make him smile and he will frown back!!! i hope he learns to smile more, cos when he does smile, it's such a sweet smile!!!

baby dropping hair
any mommies find their bbs dropping hair? my boy recently has been dropping a lot of hair!!! and i will find that he will even have a lot of hair stuck on his face cos plastered there by his saliva!

agapebaby,
don't worry when your baby is over 4 months he will keep smiling even at the glimpse of you!

baby dropping hair,
hope that doesn't happen to my bb. she's born with a head full of hair. so far so good.

Adeline K,
if you do everything yourself at your age, you're very peifu ok. kudos!

walker,
my #1 oso use walker from 5 months onwards. i know that the ang moh said walkers are dangerous but i swear by it. at least when my bb is old enough to sit on the walker, i can have some time to myself! that's another plus point of the walker, plus she could still practise her motor skill and strengthen leg muscles. i will still use the walker for my 2nd.

exersaucer vs walker
walker is more mobile n easier to climb out. But i think most kids would love walker thn exersaucer.. in my opinion la. For me i am still deciding betw the 2 but since my gal uses walker and she start walking at 13.5 mth i m thinking of using exersaucer this time round. Also i got quite a gd second hand price. But then again am still deciding...

True walker is so much cheaper. N it is true tat when bb use walker they tend to tip toe first... over reliance on walker i guess. But i nvr tried exersaucer so i duno.

Melissa/abc
eh.. i same as melissa. i swear by walker as well. kim use walker and she knows how to walk at 1 years old which i think it's ok. She doesnt tip toe leh.. only recently after she go CC then she started to learn how to walk using tip toe!!.. Soo.. personally i wont get exersaucer.. i rather let her use walker lo.. Kim started walker in about 5 mths also. but now my aunty actually place kat in for 5 to 10 mins.. on and off.. i just close my eyes and let her be..

Babypink
I've something on 5 Jul, what a waste
. Hope to see you and bb together with the rest at the next meeting perhaps.

BB sleeping through the night
Trained my boy to sleep in his rocking bed. So, when he cries/whimpers at night, I'll shake his rocker. Now that he's sleeping more soundly, he sleeps in his cot. When hubby goes to work in the morn, I place him next to me. But, if he looks uncomfy in his sleep, then he sleeps between us sometimes. I feel that when baby sleep btw husband and wife, it takes something away from the marriage.keke...just my thoughts la.

Comforting baby
We always carry him when he wants to be carried, to an extent ppl scare us saying we spoil him. But he knows. He can lie down and play also w/o us carrying him. 1 prob is my boy dunno how to fall asleep. Used to be us rocking him to sleep in our arms. Now that he's bigger, we can't do that. So, we've trained him to fall asleep with pacifier, working quite well. He seems to have strong sucking needs. But I don't give pacifier other than for sleep.

Melissa
I agree with you and the article totally. Hubby and I always say that now he wants attention from us. When he's older, he would have his own life and would be more independent. So we have to appreciate the times now! heheh! Zayed only bullies his grandparents. He knows he can't get his ways with us! Kena scolded by us a few times already for being naughty..haha! Interesting this is, he knows. And he'll either shout back at us or he'll just cry louder. Then of course, we kiss and make up to him very soon after we scold him la...

jerejoy
frankly, i think u r more admirable..i can't imagine staying overseas with neither mother's help nor domestic help
so thumbs up gal ..it is tough man

cuddling bb
hehe, i believe in tat myself..read b4 tat children can't throw tantrums b4 1 year old ..so when they cry, a cuddle would work wonders most of the time
but of cos i prefer lying down besides him and talking & smiling together with him ..when tat works of cos..which is in the daytime

Yasmine
nevermind, we are having one monthly
hope to cya soon

Auroa
u want to email me at [email protected] ?
i help u post =)

by the way, i just knock off past midnite..sigh*

just carry baby back 20 min ago

kelicia is with hb , kyzac with my mum , when i was working

so went to fetch kyzac & steriliser with hb as kelicia is fast asleep at lovenest

Can i check with u all.. Has anyone receive the prenatal exp claim chq ah? Tat claim we submit with our receipts, done by hospital one lo.. When sld we expect to receive it? Any idea?

So busy at work, not much time to read the posts here, but anyway, just to share, my boy at 14 weeks. Due for his second dose of 6-in-1 in 2 weeks time... He's wearing Pampers Active L Size already :p

1519337.jpg

Blue skies, your boy is so adorable and chubby. Feel like pinching his cheeks!

Pancake Cake, that's a lot of supply. How much does your baby drink now?

Abc, I need to transfer another $3 to you. Can you send the box via mail to me? Not sure how much the mail cost, can I transfer another $1 for postage?

chewwy
yes jus post another $1 to me. Btw can u email me yr postage again?

Drugstore
I had email u all on drugstore shipping. So far only ivy paid. Pls do so asap Thanks

Chewwy and other
Pls transfer to standard chartered bank (woodlands) 2229940516 Thanks