(2008/03) March 2008

Joining the gathering at goodwood park. I got the goodwood park hotel gourmet card! 15% discount on ala carte (but not on sets or promotions). =)

Date: 22 April (tuesday)
venue: Good wood park lobby
Time: 1.30pm

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Babe dude n bb
4. Kate, bb n hubby
5. adeline n bb
6. pancake n bb

=================================================

Date:24 April (thursday)
Venue: vivo city
Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. dreymin, bb n helper
3. aly n bb n maid
4. Liyun & bb & bb's granny
5. Adeline & bb
6. twinklestars & bb
7. babe dude ONLY!! HAHAHAHAHA
8. Kate,bb n hubby

babypink-
is your volume discrepancy die to blocked ducts? I had same problem when i had my mastitis. After it cleared the volume near doubled!

lyn
have been following with interest on your recommendation re the GD program and got his book how smart is your baby.
It sounds incredible (my hubby and MIL thinks its incredulous) for the baby to achieve such early milestones.
U mentioned that they have classes for those who purchase their materials? Are the classes held locally? Coz i only found the US website.

hi Petrina and dreymin,

Thanks for sharing... seems like most ppl end up c-sec in the end... so have to pay for both Delivery Room and Operation Theater loh... more added cost...

Petrina, i have PM you liao. hope to hear from you soon.

pancake

how r u going to goodwood park ?

i went to SGH to check out the dif..the LC said not blocked, just less duct..her advice is to latch on bb more

how does mastitis come abt ?

lyn/clover
i stay at sin ming ave considered under bishan constitency, glad to know mummies around my area. who else is from bishan/amk?

btw do u go to amk polyclinic or any recommended pd in our area? a couple of my frens used to go to dr oh meng choo at bishan st 22 so i chose her too. however she left after my 1st appt with her at week one! very frustrating to find another one near our area. i went to see dr koey recently at tmc but found he dun share much, i hv to keep asking him qns so nt very comfy with him.

jenifur
hey yes i am aso a believer, the Lord impressed this name before i was preggie and i told DH that i wan to call our son Josiah. once i knew i was preggie and aso the gender, i was interested to know indepth about the life of King Josiah, it fell into place why God gave me this name, thus this name has great significance to me.

rgd the pumps, i have an ameda pump but felt it does not drain properly, maybe it is the funnels? i have not used the supershields and handsfree kit, not sure how to use them! very tempted to buy a 2nd hand PIS advance.

reason is on Day 4 the day of my discharge, my milk suddenly kicked in and my breasts got engorged and i tried to pump out using ameda but was unsuccessful. desperate i went to TMC parentcraft and tried the 2 electric pumps, avent and PIS advance. i like the PIS coz it is very efficient.

2 days ago, i tried to pump again and the ameda does not drain my breast so i am tempted to buy the PIS advance. i want start pumping and store EBM before i start work.

(answering on behalf of lyn)

pancake,

you can go to this website:
http://www.gdbaby.com.sg/index.aspx
tel: 6456-3526

they are the local distributor for GD materials.
if you are familiar with upp thomson area, their unit is 2nd floor above dino's and chicken house, across the road from the famous roti prata stall next to standard charter.

would like to consult all of you.

is it normal and common for babies to rub their own face or scratch themselves? my boy is only a month old, he has the habit of rubbing his own face real hard and even though he wears mittens, he can sometimes scratch his face real hard.. i think it's very painful because his face always appears red and sometimes even bumps appear.. it'll go away after awhile if he doesnt rub anymore but i hate to see him doin that as it always make his face "not nice"..

i notice he usually does that whenever he stretches himself when sleeping or when he's feeling frustrated..

not sure if any of ur babies have this habit? if anyone of u noe wat behavior this is, please kindly advise me.. thanks..

hubby's precious,

yes this is very common when the BB reach one month old. they are just starting to explore their hands. actually it is advisable for babies to stop wearing mittens once they reach one month (read somewhere).

DS also has the same habit especially when he is stirring from his slumber and like you said frustrated, haha!

thanks dreymin.. really appreciate ur prompt reply.. whenever i see his face all red and "bruised", my heart aches.. i'll trim his nails and let him stop wearing mittens one of these days..

by the way, when will they start seeing us? I mean can they see now? sometimes my boy can rub his eyes even and his eyelids will appear red as well. i'm afraid is i remove his mittens, he'll poke his fingers into his eyes..

Lyn,

Is the medela PIS advance as noisy as the medela mini electric pump? I had the mini electric pump from medela and I find it v noisy. Also my nipple sore when I use the pump. Tot of changing to a better pump.

I'm tempted to buy the GD teaching kit as well. I'm addicted to reading the book. Tot of buying more books written by him. Thanks again for yr recommendation.

pancake
remind me to bring the avent valve set for u.

bbpink
my right oso less supply than left. no block ducts too

bb swimming
no one inteested?

babypink
prob get my parents/ MIL to send me there. I haven't gotten brave enough to go out alone with baby!

mastitis from plugged ducts. Had oversupply and guess the breast was not completely emptied and led to blocked ducts. U will know if u have- breast very painful and patch of red with high fever.

dreymin and lyn
tks, will check it out.

abc
yah get the avent set from u on tuesday. tks!
have u gotten the desitin fr ur pal yet? If u have i get from u on tuesday as well, then save u the trouble of posting to me.

oh yah..talking abt avent

where can we get the replacement parts..mine have one slit which is on the portion of the transparent and white thingy

pancake, u r getting the whole set fr abc ? abc, u not using ? hehe..me just kpo lah

btw,pancake, YL invested in the ameda pump and doubles her MS

abc, mine is right more than left..

<font color="0000ff">Pumps</font>

what pumps r u ladies using now ?

<font color="0000ff">Boosting milk supply</font>

I m drinking like endless water..hope it works..

was boiling the 3rd round of water..

talking abt bring bb out alone..i did that during last gathering..with bare hands :p too challenging for me

too bad this time round the venues i dun have direct transport

hope u gals will have another gathering at suntec soon

when can have weekend gatehring ?

BBpink,
Avent is now under Philips, you may want to call them up to check. The transparent thingy is call diaphragm and the white thingy is valve ;-)

Address: 620A Lorong 1 Toa Payoh, TP4 Building, Philips showroom lvl 1
Contact no. : 68824570
Email Address : [email protected]

I'm using the Avent Isis although I'm trying to reduce my pumping. With my 3 breastfeeding careers, I've owned:
1. Cylinder looking manual pump (15 yr old pump)
2. Medela single electric
3. NUK single electric
4. Medela PIS (sold off without using it as it's too heavy for me to lug to and fro office)
5. Avent ISIS
6. Ameda
7. Avent IQ Duo (just sold off)

I've not tried the IQ Duo so I can't comment but my vote goes to Avent ISIS and Ameda.

Boosting milk supply
Try eating oats on daily basis. It works for me when I was nursing #2. With #3, I no longer have time to cook oats but my supply is still a lot.. maybe because I'm drinking a lot of water too.

Suntec Gathering
It was a great pleasure meeting up with the mummies last week. I still can't quite figure out who is who as I'm really bad with names and faces, and what's more, most of you are in nicks here. I'm super blurred... Hope to have more chances to meetup with the mummies here but my time is quite restricted so can only attend if the date and place is convenient.

Date: 22 April (tuesday)
venue: Good wood park lobby

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Babe dude n bb
4. Kate, bb n hubby
5. adeline n bb
6. pancake n bb

=================================================

Date:24 April (thursday)
Venue: vivo city
Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. dreymin, bb n helper
3. aly n bb n maid
4. Liyun &amp; bb &amp; bb's granny
5. Adeline &amp; bb
6. twinklestars &amp; bb
7. babe dude ONLY!! HAHAHAHAHA
8. Kate,bb n hubby
9. Fei, bb &amp; maid

Wanted to join the gatherings long long ago already but no confidence that i can handle my bb. now still abit scared scared actually cos my girl is impatient and a screamer. hopefully, you all won't witness lah. **keep fingers crossed**

abc,
are you the one who has a babysling extra that you want to sell? Can you bring along as I'm considering getting one. will there be live demo on how to use the sling during this session??? haha???

oh ya, another question, sometimes my girl needs a burp half way during her feed or else she will fidget and scream. hmmm.....have not figure how to do that properly under cover???

clover,
Wah.. We can meet up at AMK hub sometime after our confinement
hee... I gotta orientate my maid first, then can go out.
I coughed badly after my c-section for a week! That was my worst nightmare. Do you still wear an abdominal binder? I think it will help.

pancakechia,
Quick go and get the book "how smart is your baby". The exercises and stimulations in there start from birth. Hee... I don't do every single things there, I just try to do as much as I can. Cos baby at this stage keep sleeping and I got my #1 to tend to. But if you can do whatever is recommended in there, you will have a super baby!
Janet Doman just came to Singapore to give a seminar last month. Yes, go to www.gdbaby.com.sg.

dreymin,
So far, people who use PIS advance swear by it. That's why I decided to get one too
If you are going to breastfeed even when working, it's a worthwhile investment. If you got friends going US, ask them to help you to buy. Half the price in Singapore!

hubby precious,
I read from Glen Doman book, let bb sleep on tummy and there will be no more scratches. It's true for my case

My gals only wore mittens for a week
I also cut their fingernails already.

jerejoy,
No! PIS advance is very quiet! If you are SAHM, and baby only gonna latch on, think you can no need to buy PIS advance. I used mini electric for first 3 months to regulate supply only with #1. Then I 100% latch on, rarely pump.
I also get very sore nipples when I pump. It's less sore with PIS advance. My friend just shared with me yesterday to buy the biggest funnel. Nipples will be less sore. But I yet to get the funnel.
I bought PIS advance this time cos I am not sure if I can cope with latching on the twins. And I am going for intensive courses in June, Aug and Oct.
He do not have many books. kekeke... I finished collecting already. 6 more books for you to collect. If you going to get the read, maths, encyclopedic knowledge books, no need to get the "how to multiply your baby's intelligence" book. This is a summary of all the 3 books. I love the "how to teach your baby to be physically fit" book. Makes me wanna fly to US to visit the institute! Imagine 3 years old kids running 3 miles!

abc,
When you wanna start bb swimming? #1 started swimming at 12 weeks. I dunno when to start for my gals yet. I only have a pair of hands. Cannot cope with 2 babies. kekeke...

by the way lyn, ur girls also rub and scratches their faces? how long it took them to kick the habit? after u cut their nails, do they still rub their faces with their hands?

hubby precious,
Now no more scratches unless long nails. They are 3.5 weeks old only. They will rub during breastfeeding when not sleeping on tummy. Gotta cut their nails every few days.

I do not know how to turn bb to sleep on his tummy, how to go about doing it? Wat are the pros and cons? Wil tis cause SIDs?

I let my boy use pacifier when he wans to sleep but when the pacifier drop off, he wil wake up. Any way to reduce the no. of time tat he wake up in the middle of the nite? And he makes a lot of noise when he's sleeping, duno due to wat? How to reduce his mang chang ness when he's trying to sleep? Any advice?

i also not very sure how to let bb sleep on his tummy.. but i think my mother in law knows how to.. I read from somewhere its one of the causes of SID.. i think if u wanna let bb sleep on tummy, bb must be under supervision..

any idea when will babies's blocked nose go away? any of your babies have blocked nose at 1mth old? for my boy, it went away a few days ago, yesterday it came back again. =(

kathy/hb precious: i put my boy's head on the indent type pillow. so his nose is always facing upwards while on tummy slp. *rectangular pillow wif hole in middle* - juz nice size for bb's cheeks.

clover: ya. try the binder. i lazy on binder but hurt till abt 2wks only. coughing is pain. so i try to clear my throat then slowly cough.
walk more. so ur wound can *exercise* n stretch.. helps heal faster.
i've been doing direct nursing wif bb on tummy frm day 1. nv try football hold. so i think it helps tat first 2wks hurt like hell then after tat numb liao. so i kinda reduce hurting time.
binder helps prevent ur wound frm bouncing* during cough. so it impacts lesser.

hb precious: i gotta clear my boy's nose every evening b4 slp. otherwise nites r hard to feed...
my boy is currently 6wks.
i heard tat it will prob last abt 100days...

kathy: tummy time hard to intro pacifier as the plastic is in the way of his nose.

jenifur/dreymin: u both christians or catholics?

thanks petrina.. i have the babysafe infant pillow.. the oval one with a hole in the middle, is that ok as well?

i wear binder, bought from TMC.. i think it's good and it helps to flatten my tummy.. cause i still don't dare to massage, had been using the binder to get rid of the tummy.. =P

lyn, i m a sahm too, so plenty of time to meet up next time. can we get the glen doman book from bookstores, like kino?

ab binder
yeah, i m wearing one given to me by kais(!). shld i wear it over the wound or higher???

dreymin, i use the supershield n handsfree for the ameda pump. there's once i forgot to insert the shield n just pumped. i find the suction not as good... oh quite a few mummies here stay in amk/bishan area. next time can hv play dates too!

<font color="0000ff">mummies on facebook and the march2008 group

do post a photo of yrself and your little precious one in the group today!

babypink
right now using avent IQ uno and very comfortable with it. going to be a SAHM and TBF my baby, and only pumping 1x/day for stores in case i need to go out without baby.
thought of investing in an ameda double pump, coz it'll cut down time and also double pumping increases prolactin levels.
BTW, read in a few sources not to overdrink- it can actually suppress milk production. But neither did any mention how much volume per day is recommended, they all say drink 1 cup at each nursing session. So im drinking 1 cup after each nursing session, and a bit more to prevent dehydration.

clover
I got doman's book 'how smart is your baby' from kino. He's got many many books in his series! But the above book is for infants, the rest for slightly older toddlers.
If its inconvenient for u to go out u can get from kino's online bookweb. >$50 free delivery. I got kino's card can get you 10% off even for online purchases.

pancake, tks for the offer! i also have kino (and page one) card.
now still under confinement which is really really boring. i am having cabin fever liao. hopefully can get out for a short while tomolo.

Clover
yah confinement is the pits. Everyday i was counting down and feeling so pek cek. Too many rules in the house!

Now i also consider myself under semi-confinement. My MIL don't want me to bring baby out until he's 3mths old and i can't leave baby alone at home with her either! Worried he won't have enough expressed milk and all the need diaper changes and tt she'll think i'm throwing the baby for her to take care of while i go out!
Slowly trying to get her to accept that it's ok to bring baby out- at least she's ok now with bring him out for a meal/short outing with family and to my mom's place.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Mummies staying ard Woodlands /Admiralty/Sembawang/Yishun area,

Wanna share pigeon wipes? I want to get from e site below but need to purchase S$80. I don't need so many packs so find ppl to share.

http://www.shopbug.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=1775&amp;osCsid=17bb2c3500598608df7f7850292f00bf</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Any mummy want to get leapfrog toyz or Lansinoh Breast Milk Storage Bags etc? I doing spree from www.target.com.

Interested go to this thread:- http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=590029&amp;post=4695529#POST4695529</font></font>

lyn,
hmm it may be too late for me coz my colleagues just back from states. the only thing i have asked them to buy handbags, haha!

yes i tot agree the GD books are quite good, the first one i borrowed from library was ""how to teach your baby to be physically fit" and after that i was hooked. i aso got a couple of titles from kino.

hubby's precious
my DS also wheezes and seems to hv phelgm or blocked nose. but the pd said it is due to allergy. so i was told to cut down on dairy products for a month. quite torturing coz that means no milk, cheese, butter, and even certain cakes.

petrina
how do you clear BB's nose?
i am a christian.

clover
how do you fix the supershields to the funnels? yes it will be fun to meet up with the amk/bishan mummies

<font face="calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Kathy,

No problem. Just add in your order. I can try to meet u on Sun @ Bishan MRT station when I go to church.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Petrina,

I'm a Christian

<font color="0000ff">Dreymin,

Which church are you attending? I'm with New Creation. Only started gng to church regularly last yr after I had a miscarriage.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ABC,

I'm gng to bring Josiah swimming too. BUT 1st mus find him a swim suit. I brought Janelle to swim when she's 2 mths old. Now she luvs to swim, always asking to go swimming.</font></font>

Reena

Thanks for sharing !
The info is very helpful

i took ur advice and have been eating a big bowl of oats for breakfast ever since i deliver
no need to cook leh..i am having Quakers Instant oats..add hot water can already

Pancake

i think i am drinking more than 10 full cups of water a day...

shucks, din noe drink too much oso an issue..haiz

btw, wat u said sound so familiar..my mum also kind of hint wat ur mil said abt bringing bb out..but hers is more indirect and her stand not very strong =p

is ur place near clementi MRT..hehe, if so , dun noe whether i can get a lift to goodwood park =p

============

i hate oats since i m young, will secretly pour away when mum is not looking during my sch days..who noes now tat i bec a mum, i have to swallow wat i hate..life is so ironical

babypink,
Rolled oats got more nutrients. But need to cook.

dreymin,
Yes, I love GD books. Can get tips on parenting too

clover,
Sure. We can meet up
I don't mind inviting you gals over too.

binder: wear over the wound. That's wat my gynae taught me. If wear too high above wound, will hurt.

abc,
I follow waterbaby book and DIY
To get babies not be afraid of swimming, gotta start before 16 weeks.

jenifur,
if u can meet up on sun at bishan, i would like to add to your order. need to know what time to meet though coz my timing may be quite tight. btw i attend cornerstone, glad to know you have renewed your relationship with the Lord

saw Fei's comments, wanna know if anyone using MIM sling? i just got one as a gift, still trying to get the hang of it, DS is so MJ when i try to put him in!

abc..i wanna go bring bb to swim leh.. it says from birth can start liao leh.. bb now ard 2 mths!! must go!! must go!! when when??

milk supply.
Not sure abt it manzz.. been drinking plenty water.. and feed purely on demand.. sometimes she just wanna drink and drink, but i just carry her and she stops crying for milk.. not sure if i do not produce enough for her.. but was thinking, now already 2 mths +, supply should stable liao right???

Baby scratching..
My bb also scratches alot..esp when she is hungry for milk or cries like crazy (i.e. when i change her!!) but i stop putting her on mittens liao and also cut her fingernails too.. try to cut every 2-3days with a finger and toe spa!! :p (i.e. using Q-tips to clean her fingers and toes web!)

Gathering n GOing out with BB alone!
For those who still trying to convince herself to come forward to meet us.. please be brave k.. its ok that ur bb cries or be cranky during gathering... all bb sure cry one k.. infact, by meeting all of us, it can help to boost ur self-confidence and def prep u well to bring bb out with HB or even alone! No need fear bb cry.. but i realised..all BBs usually is well behave during gathering and merely cry or make noise when hungry hor.. at least for my little girl it is so...hahahhaaha

Sooo dun stay at home .. come out.. brave and challenge urself.. u can do it de!! Jia You..