(2008/03) March 2008

sgblingff:
my boy's sleeping hours had been prolonging, on some good nights he can sleep from 1+am to 4+am or even 5am, but when his tummy don feel good he wakes up every 1.5 hours.

<font color="0000ff">
Mini Gathering (Let's have 2 next week)

Date: 21 April (Mon)
venue: Good wood park lobby
Time: 1.30pm

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid

=================================================

Date:23 April (Wed)
Venue: vivo city
Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29
3. aly n bb n maid
4. Liyun &amp; bb &amp; bb's granny</font>

sherly:
BLOCKED DUCT: think i have the same problem as u, but I don feel any lumps, only pain on my left side of my left breast, causing me to have fever last night, now I am slowly recovering from the fever but with body aches &amp; pains. And I have to guai guai wake myself up the whole night every 2 hours to pump my breast hopeing the pain will go away.

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29
3. aly n bb n maid
4. Liyun &amp; bb &amp; bb's granny
5. Adeline &amp; bb

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29
3. aly n bb n maid
5. Adeline &amp; bb
6. twinklestars &amp; bb

adeline, you going to vivo from sengkang? want to go tog?

Sheryl,

Thanks for the article. I hv been lamenting abt my hubby. Keep feeling that he doesn't love our son v much. Maybe the bonding is not that strong yet. Keep asking him if he loves our son or not.

Hmm, pumping out milk. Think I'm the lazy mummy. Hv only pumped out once in the milk storage bag. Hv not been pumping since then. Only been feeding on demand.

connie, sounds like u hv mastitis leh. blocked ducts n fever...

ever since some relatives visited earlier this week, my boy was carried until he was v shiok. now he likes to be carried. he can cry n cry persistently if we dun. faintz. last nite I buay tahan n let my hubb "entertain" him. friend sugg to let him cry it out or patting him without carrying him but hasn't worked yet. sighz.

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Babe dude n bb

Afternoon tea..shld meet later mah... say ard 2.30pm??

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29
3. aly n bb n maid
5. Adeline &amp; bb
6. twinklestars &amp; bb
7. babe dude ONLY!! HAHAHAHAHA

clover
initially my girl was also lydat when she was 1-2wks old. i carried her from 7pm-12am. was so exhausted. then i gt a rocker chair, smth like a bouncer for her. thus, she enjoys being there and seldom cries for us to carry her, though occasionally she still does that. but i tink babies only will cried out loudly to ask to be carried for a few days, after that they wont be that fussy alrdy unless they gt wind in their tummies.

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Babe dude n bb
4. Kate, bb n hubby (TBC) other day can?

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29
3. aly n bb n maid
5. Adeline &amp; bb
6. twinklestars &amp; bb
8. Kate,bb n hubby

Post on behalf of abc to change the date so more pp can join

Date: 22 April (tuesday)

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Babe dude n bb
4. Kate, bb n hubby (TBC) other day can?

Date:24 April (thursday)
Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29
3. aly n bb n maid
5. Adeline &amp; bb
6. twinklestars &amp; bb
8. Kate,bb n hubby

pls note d change in day for gathering . a few mummies mention they cannot on mon thus tues n thurs are preferred.

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Babe dude n bb
4. Kate, bb n hubby

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. happygal29
3. aly n bb n maid
5. Adeline &amp; bb
6. twinklestars &amp; bb
8. Kate,bb n hubby

wow... you gals super on... 2 gatherings next week...

sheryl,
When baby sucks, massage and press on the lump. It's the most effective to remove lumps but painful. Better get rid of the lump, else will get fever... and it's mastitis.

jerejoy,
To improve bonding with daddy, get daddy to bath bb, change diapers...
My hubby has been doing all that since my #1 birth
And #1 teacher also adviced that to improve bonding of kid n daddy. Gotta start very young to bond.

aiya, change to thurs, then i cannot liao =(

btw, today bring my son and daughter for vaccination. My son taking pnemoco jab and daughter 6-in-1 1st jab. We took package for my daughter (including rotavirus, hep A, chicken pox, MMR, 6-in-1) for $750. Plus consultation of $40 for both each and son pnemoco jab $170...got to pay $1000 over...faintz...

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Liyun &amp; bb &amp; bb's granny
4. Adeline &amp; bb
5. twinklestars &amp; bb
6. babe dude ONLY!! HAHAHAHAHA
7. Kate,bb n hubby

So ABC, how har? The desitin cream that I order previously from you, can refund bo? Cos I oredi bought one at phamacy due to urgency...

liyun,
My #1, we go to polyclinic. Two hepB jabs $30+. The rest of the jabs package till 18 months is $200+. I am not opting the optional jabs

For my gals, we are still thinking about it. Cos they are premature... We might want PD to monitor their development rather than the polyclinic doctor... 1 month assessment and HepB jab at PD gonna be $80+ for one gal, including consultation.

liyun, if u have fever / flu like symptoms and have pain in ur breast, it is likely to be mastitis, better to see doc and get anti-botics. After my episode of mastitis, i know that can still continue to nurse on ur affected breast!

lyn, i tried that massage while nursing - maybe got to massage harder! My hubby tries to have bonding with my gal - he even tried to hypnotize her to sleep!! haha.. everytime I'm the first to be hypnotized to sleep NOT my bb! Haha

STRESS!
Wanted to wake bb up for milk b4 heading out. I persevered for 30 mins to wake her up but she refused to wake up!!! Just when we reached PD, she cried out loud for milk!! The PD oso abit stressed up to see how loud my bb cried! Sometimes feel that baby is a timebomb. LOL!

i made an appt for hep b 2nd shot tmr. 6-in-1 at polyclinic just $326. the pd clinic assistant told me $660 coz polyclnic subsidise by govt n sm shots like MMR are FOC. wl find out more tmr. my gp charges $95 per jab fror 6-in-1, nt sure abt consultation. he away till 23rd apr.

any idea how many jabs are there for 6-in-1? i shld be gg for optional shots. a fren's kid got rotavirus and was hospitalized, quite serious took a long time to recover.

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Liyun &amp; bb &amp; bb's granny
4. Adeline &amp; bb
5. twinklestars &amp; bb
6. babe dude ONLY!! HAHAHAHAHA
7. Kate,bb n hubby
8. dreymin, bb &amp; helper

vivo city got nursing room? i usu nurse at home or sm one's house, only exception is sundays at my church which has a nursing room.

dreymin,
6in1 for $95 is super cheap. Never heard so cheap before.. You sure it's 6in1?
Which polyclinic are you going to? Not all polyclinic has 6 in 1, I think...

yah that is what the clinic assistant said, i want to confirm with the doctor but he away till 23 april.

gg to amk, i made appt liao. hopefully not long queue!

sheryl,
with my 1st girl, i could actually train her to stick to 3-hourly feeding schedule and she actually feeds regularly on certain time, like 6am, 9am, 12noon, 3pm, 6pm and so on. with this 2nd girl, she would sometimes ask for feed after 2 hours, sometimes both breasts, sometimes only 1 breast and other days, she could go 4 hours without feeding. no use waking her up for feed b'cos she won't wake up. however, night time is blissful, she could go at least 4 hours and now she's going on average of 5 hours of sleep. so that's why my breast is a little confused over her needs. haha.

really wish i could help you with blocked duct but the only way is to let baby drain it out. maybe you can pump out a bit first then let your baby latch it all out to clear it. last time i had blocked duct that lead to breast abscess. that's a step worse than mastitis!

dreymin,
wow you bb is huge leh! 5.4kg at 5 weeks? i just came back from polycinic, Tricia is only 4.7kg at 7 weeks. she just got her hep B jab.

abc,
i took up the polyclinic 5-in-1 jab instead of 6-in-1 as scheduled b'cos it's a lot cheaper. nevermind i have to visit the poly regularly. it cost me about 280+ and all hep B jabs can be claimed with Medisave! really thankful for the nurse for explaining this to me. for 6-in-1, poly charges 328.

adeline K,
your kim how tall and heavy huh? Kim is oso a September baby rite? my Hannah is short for her age but she's 10kg already. so she's still pretty proportionate. just took her free MMR jab. she yelled! haha.

melissa,
gd to know that, i stl very clumsy feeding outside of my place, coz i rely on brestfriend or pillow

sheryl,
my BB usu feed 1am, 4am, 8am; usu he will be an angel and sleep thru till nx feed. last nite he was crying incessantly. i suspect it is colic coz he slept before i could burp him.

any mummies use colic medicine? i went to see dr koey and he gave me "ridwind", quite an apt name! was wondering if i can get this over the counter or any better recommendations.

melissa,

what is the diff between 5-in-1 and 6-in-1? we r gg to polyclinic for his hep b shot tmr. will there be any side effects like fever after the shot?

rid wind can gt over counter.

lyn, email me pls @ [email protected]

Interested:
1. Abcdisney n bb
2. aly n bb n maid
3. Babe dude n bb
4. Kate, bb n hubby
5. adeline n bb

Meeting place (TBC)

Interested:
1. abcdisney n bb
2. dreymin, bb n helper
3. aly n bb n maid
5. Adeline &amp; bb
6. twinklestars &amp; bb
8. Kate,bb n hubby

clover
same thing happens to my gal, in the end we let her lie on our belly - no nid to carry her - it works. next time mabbe will try using babysling if we nid to get some work done.

dreymin, and melissa - ENVY ENVY! How to make baby go on a feeding schedule. LOL..

anyway, PD gave my gal ridwind as well, cos i tak bulek tahan abt her evening feeding schedule over the last 2 days - PD said it's colic! Aiyoh so simple! Anyway, just administered ridwind for her and she's still on 1 hr feeding schedule. We will see when's the next feed!

5in 1 more jabs for bb.. and 6 in 1 less jabs!

sheryl,

i aso did a search on 6-in-1:

These Jabs Protect Your Baby!
Immunisation protects your baby against infectious diseases, which can cause serious damage to his or her health.

* 5-in-1 consists of Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Poliomyelitis &amp; Haemophilus Influenzae B

* 6-in-1 consists of 5-in-1 and Hepatitis B

Newborn babies needs the following jabs:
1 month Hepatitis B
3 months 5-in-1
4 months 5-in-1
6 months 6-in-1
13 mth Chickenpox
15 mth Measles, Mumps and Rubella
18 mth 5-in-1 Booster

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/367461.html
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/297749.html?1144771477

dreymin,
5-in-1 and 6-in-1 are basically the same type of jabs except for 5-in-1, some hep B jabs are separated, hence u need to visit the doctor more frequently but it's cheaper. i took up the 5-in-1 in poly b'cos the polyclinic is near and i don't mind frequent visits. for 6-in-1, my 1st girl didn't have any fever for each jabs. you can get the PD/GP/nurse to explain to you.

Actually if you bother, u can take all jabs separately and go even more often to the polyclinic and they will all be FOC lor! kekee.

goodbabyb

regarding the Pneumoccocal jab b4 5 in one jab..i have not tried b4..cos the younger they take, the more Pneumococcal jab needed..can discuss with ur doc to schedule the jabs

rotaivirus i heard fr my GP is at least 3 months old, then he will give..not sure how r the practice of other docs..

for those who nt taking 5-in-1, the schedule as below:

2 mth : first 6-in-1 jab

4 mth : second jab

6 mth : third jab

12 mth: MMR

18mth : 5-in booster jab.

crystal, I hv one of those bouncer chair also but its for his awake time. then my bb is total breastfed now so he shld hv less wind in his tummy. sometimes I tried to burp him, n cldnt!

sheryl, I also want to let my bb have a feed and sleep routine! boys especially need a routine. his feeding schedule is also off these days, but not as freq as yrs. is yr girl nursing for comfort?? lying on belly sounds dangerous but no doubt its v comfy for bb, coz I scared that I will fall asleep n drop the bb.

clover,

now i dun let my bb sleep on tummy, i just let him sleep at side, left or rite. use a pillow for his back support. he can sleep for long also

<font color="0000ff">Osim Slim Belts</font>

anyone keen on getting the osim slim belt ? my pal is giving me her used one

there is a brand new one that i got from abc, selling at 10 percent off retail price ..

Pls PM me directly if keen

hi all, i am from May 08 thread... was told by doc that my bb growing too big, so she is going to induce me end of this month on the 28th.... any of you mummies who have popped is thru induction??? can share your experience?? i still thinking whether to go for induction or c-sec directly... please advice! thank you

swifpygal: i was induced @ 38wk cause baby too big.
end up 3pills of induction inserted - 36hrs ltr, c-sec due to no dilation.
bill cost ard $11k. my advice - wait till full term then c-sec. if u wan noe whole story, pm me.

clover: my wound is numb. not exactly pain. but neither is it normal feeling,

doing my 4am feed now!

abcdisney
very clear schedule, better than the clinic's explanation

melissa/abcdisne
found a GP near my parents place that gv 6-in-1 jabs, DH prefs to go there than polyclinic. strange that polyclinic says must go for Hep b 2nd shot even though we opt for 6-in-1?

clover
i delivered 28 feb, wound closed up, no pain.

swifpygal
my case almost sama sama like petrina: induced labour of 10hrs then emergency c-section. the only diff is my reason for induction is due low amnotic acid. by then my BB already 39 weeks so no diff to his growth if induced.

i did not do any research prior to my delivery but after reading up, it appears that a lot of mothers are not successsful in VB during induction.

HOWEVER if given a choice i will still go for induction, at least i have given a shot at VB. but for my 2nd, i wl opt for c-section.

swifpygal, I was induced when bb was overdue 1 day n ended in emer c sect. I think the pain is more intense when induced.

pet/dreymin, I still feel some pain aft 3wks, esp when I cough.

dreymin, I am using ameda pump n find it good coz its quiet n mimic bb suction well. its one of the good pump around.

clover,
My c-sect on 26 Mar. No more pain for couple of weeks already. I still have to wear an abdominal binder. If I don;t wear and accidentally strain myself, I will get pain.

dreymin,
I am using PIS advance. It's very good. But pumping makes my nipple sore.
Last time, I used medela mini electric. That was more painful.

You stay in AMK? I also goes to AMK polyclinic
Quite near my home.

lyn, mine was a day aft u. now whenever I cough, I strain my ab n it hurts.

I stay at amk. quite a few mummies stay in amk/bishan area.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">dreymin,

Really!! So nice to know ur boy's name is also Josiah. Tis is quite a uncommon name. Are you a Christian? I had dreamt of this name when I was 4 mths preggie &amp; hesitated using after googleing it. It's such a majestic name &amp; King Josiah was the best of the kings of Israel, feel "paiseh" to use e name on my son. But my HB said since I had dreamt about e name then it must b God's will. Hence we decided to use this name if it's a boy *hee*

Saw your Q on electric pumps. I had used both Medela PIS &amp; Ameda I find that Ameda suits me more. It clears my breast better as compared to my Medela. I cld only pump out 100-120ml from my rite breast when using Medela &amp; I still have to hand express after the pumping. With Ameda I can easily achieve 160ml &amp; sometimes even 200m nowl, dun even need to hand express. Best of all it's QUIET! Last time Josiah "hates" it when I tandem pump w Medela cuz e noise will disturb him.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ABC,

Very CUTTEEE... I'm try to go see later after Janelle finish her class. Will give u a buzz if I'm gng</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Sheryl,

What I do when I had block duct is to position my bb's chin on the same side which is block when nursing. If this doesn't work then I will check to see if there's any harden milk @ e nipple. If have then will use e back of needle to prick it out.</font></font>