(2008/03) March 2008

mummyboy,
30 mins? my LC say 15 mins enough already liao. so far i feed my bb 15 mins it's more than enough. anymore, she will regurgitate.

aly,
agree with AdelineK that you're overfeeding the bb.

My baby kept whining.. so i juz fed on demand as the books stated. i asked my confinement lady, den she said "ya.. baby keep open mouth, muz be hungry.."
so i breastfed her at 8am.. den bath le..
9am feed again.. den 10am feed again..
den at 11am feed abit and vomit..
each time she kept wanting to drink abit (less than 10 mins).. dowan to sleep.
When baby vomitted le, confinement lady said overfeed le..
In the first place, she is the one who asked me to feed.. haiz.. irritated wif my CL.

gynae c-sec fees - 1.6k, daily c me fees $600

etc fees - ard 4k - ctg machine *they charge*, extra 2 nites stay, post op medicine, epi, bb jaundice phototherapy, induce pills, any other misc fees

package - 2480 - 2-bedder c-sec

pd - 1k+ + daily c bb fees..

anestathist fee - ard $500

there abts. cant rem exact amt.

i paid cash abt $6k. medisave cover $4.1k
i think the bulk of cost come frm gynae fee, pd fee & misc fees like phototherapy cost & inducing cost.

i think my inducing of 36hrs cost a bomb... other than tat it shldn't cost tat much. tats y i was so shocked.. i think mine can be considered e c-sec type of bill cause only difference is me in maternity ward induce instead of labour ward induce... so in maternity ward, they can take their time to arrange for c-sec. so not considered emergency.

i think if labour ward induce, i can claim more medisave lor... as basic package also more ex. so misc costs will be lesser... e c-sec package is ard $2900. medisave can claim much more...

adeline,
ya...i stop swaddling baby. he also find it uncomfortable, wanting to take his arms out of it.

eniale,
admissions letter get husband to submit for you when u admit. u just concentrate on getting ready to give birth. my hubby went to do admissions after i gave birth when woody was stiching my episiotomy site. haha...no time to do admissions cos my baby was too gan jiong to come out. eh i paid everything at hospital leh. didnt pay any deposit at woody clinic. i think the 1.1k u paid is his fees bah.

kea, i stayed in 1 bedder, 2 nights @ TMC.
Hospital charges, drugs, medicine, companion charge: $2k+
Gynae charges:$1.1k
Baby charges: $700+

Roughly around there...

aly
maybe you need to burp baby a bit more and it's quite common for baby to have spit up cos of their immature digestive system...also after feeding try to hold baby upright for a little while so that milk can settle in stomach better...hope that helps some

lyn

ya lor.. u will miss shannon's 1st mth. 2nd time round!!! hehehe

btw, i got a sling at isetan yest. last one left.

i swaddle w/o arms.. cause he also wan to move his arms. i swaddle his legs cause i scared he cold. but i use the cloth diaper to swaddle. so not warm. i dun use blanky on him.

aly: i burp after each latch on.. to ensure he fully swallows... or put him on ur chest upright position n cuddle him for awhile..

baby lush

yr bb pkg not included in TMC pkg? y my nurse quote me 1 lump sum of 1200plus (4bedder rm, Epi & bb pkg)....so me assume my total will be 1200plus + gynae fee of 1000 = $2200plus....so if add on medication, etc, i assume mine will be total of 3K....medisave can deduct $1250 , prenatal can deduct $450..so i prepare overall cash i pay ard $1500..=/...am i rite?

My hosp bill
I had originally asked for a 2 bedded but there's a promo now for 3rd delivery in ESH - free upgrade of 4 bedded to 2 bedded room).

Package - $1280
Lab tests - $170
Gynae - $860
PD - $180
Total bill ~ $2500 before GST
Less Medisave $1800
Cash payment = $800

Yu Tong,
You really have alot of patience to go through 4 CLs! I sacked mine on day 6 and ordered Confinement Tingkat. This is my 2nd week on tingkat leow. So far so good.

Postnatal massage,
I finally started my massage yesterday (today is 2nd day), after such a long time... package is $270 for 7 sessions, 1 hr per session but she's usually finish in 1 1/2 hrs' time. Nice and friendly lady.

Ling Yee,
If only you had admitted to hosp when you had your first contraction at 1am, then won't be so kancheong... If you're trying for #2, better admit hosp fast! That's what my gynae told me when I was there to see her before I delivered as mine also very fast.

Reena: u give birth in east shore hosp?

i will be giving birth there too(my edd is 11 apr)...Is ur gynae Dr Heng TL?

what is in the "lab tests"?

Reena: what are the items provided in East Shore Hosp? Any freebies(or chargeable)?

will Dr Heng check for dilation b4 edd?

Hi Reena

Which confinement tingkat did u go to(i will get confinement tingkat too but dunno which is nice)? price? and which massage lady?

Just some updates:

I delivered my baby boy, James, natural with assisted, on Thurs 13 Mar. He's 3.7kg and 53cm. Labour was 3 hrs. Unexpectedly fast because although was 3cm dilated on Wed morning, I was only 4cm dilated after 12 hrs of waiting.

Thurs 13 Mar
1am: 4cm dilated
1am-3am: Walking up and down delivery suites, couldn't sleep.
3am: Felt some minor contractions, but could still tahan. Breathe in breathe out. Nurse put me on CTG monitoring. Had to get out of bed to poo. Wah shiok feeling after pooing but contractions still going on.
4am: Felt that contractions getting stronger and more frequent. Told hubby still can tahan.
4.30am: Told hubby cannot tahan already. Call nurse to give pethidine. Nurse gave me pethidine and gas. Had to lie in bed. Each time contractions came, I would grip bed very tightly and breathe in the gas. A bit groggy but otherwise ok.
Around 5.30am: By this time, lost track of time already. I was getting contractions again and again but still ok, can tahan. Suddenly water bag burst. No nurse around. Hubby quickly went out to call nurse. Nurse called up gynae immediately and said gynae will arrive in half an hr. In the meantime, was told not to push. Breathe in breathe out. It was like having a really really bad stomachache but cannot find toilet so have to hold.
6am: Finally gynae arrived. Was told to push. But by that time, not much energy left. Told gynae no strength so he used vacuum to help get baby's head out. After that, got a bit of strength and can push out the rest of the baby.
6.30am: James was born!

Baby had little jaundice so was discharged from hospital with me after 3 days. He lost some weight, was discharged at 3.4kg. Just went for check up again and his jaundice level is low so everything's ok. After one week, he has gained back his delivery weight of 3.7kg.

cloudme,
Yes, I'm with Dr Heng ;-) She did check for dilation when I was expecting #1 & #2 but not for the recent one... I just admit when my waterbag burst and I'm already dilated 5cm. She'll do CTG test around week 36/37. I did mine at week 36 as I was having early contractions and was on salbutamol to prevent pre-m delivery.

Lab tests includes the hearing test, vaccinations, bloodtest for jaundice etc.

Yvonne,
I think there are only 2 confinement tingkat in Singapore. One is Natal Essentials and the other is NewBaby. I called NE first but no one picks up my call. Left a message but after waiting for 2 hours, still no one returns call. Then I called New Baby and immediately I confirm my bookings with them. NE only called up after I've confirmed my bookings with New Baby. Food is quite bland so it suits my taste bud. Portion not alot but after calling them up to feedback food is not enough, they gave more subsequently and it's enough for me. Had wanted to switch to NE after 2 weeks with New Baby but since I'm happy with their food and service (their staff are very friendly), I decide to stay with them and had just extended my package with them 2 days ago.

http://www.newbaby.com.sg/

http://natalessentials.com/

Massage lady - I've engaged Siti and I find her quite good. Soft spoken and polite lady.

Hi Reena

Yr massage lady chrges is cheap. Can recommend.
Me hv caesearean on 3 march. My gynae advise to wait for 1 mth before start to massage.

Nt sure whether it is still effective then.

Reena: How many nights u stay at ESH?

is the massage lady the same as the one that left the name card at dr heng clinic? how much is her charges?

My visit with Dr Heng is at the bedok branch...nearer to my place...

Doc brenda low is nice and calm.. hee.. my wound heals pretty fast and able to walk in the next few hrs after stitching.

Today i did my massage too but i find abit no use leh.. the jamu wrap like neva wrap...

Just gone to gynae check and she said dilation still the same as last week! Oh no, after all the walking, still only 0.5 cm dilated!? How could that be? Feel like effort lost. The good news is the weight that I've put on despite eating icecream has all gone to my baby.

Anyway, gynae did cervix check again, and not sure if she did it purposefully or wat, when her fingers were out, she showed me 'some' of my MP is out, and then warn me that brown discharge later is normal.

Was also put on CTG, I didn't know need to pay CTG... so exp $40 for lying down and be strapped for only 30 mins.. i didn't get any reports!

I have cracked and bleeding nipples....previously I never apply any nipple cream. Today quickly go and buy avent and palmers nipple cream. Dun know how long it takes to heal. Any advice from mummies out there? I desperately need help. Cannot let bb latch now cos super painful. She likes to pull left,right,up,down. Maybe that is how I got cracked and bleeding nipples. Only know they bleed when I expressed yest. Saw red milk. Was so scared.

Help! I really need advice.

c-sec massage
my gynae say 1wk can liao.. dun touch tat area only.

i nv massage la. tummy shrink liao. left e flabby skin dangling there. i'm using bio essence firming scrub n cream together. hoping to start tmr. cause csec wound not pain liao...

happygal
lasinoh cream is better. anyway if u can jus continue to bf. tat's wat i do. once overcome tat stage ok liao...btw i think is yr latching prob. u may nt b latching correctly. if can, go consult LC on yr latching.

Some useful info on severe breast engorgement:

If you have severe breast engorgement that even cold cabbage can't work, you can use tamarind (known as assam in Malay). This was suggested by the Malay woman who's doing massage for me.

Put the tamarind in cold water until it becomes a paste. Apply it on both breasts, avoiding the nipple and areola area. Leave for 3 hrs. You should feel some relief. Best is if you can get someone to massage the breasts properly and use tamarind on the breasts once a day.

I had severe engorgement coz couldn't breast feed due to sore nipples. Even pumping doesn't work. Had to get the Malay woman to slowly massage the breasts.

sheryl: ya.. CTG machine is ex.. imagine i was put on CTG very often during induction. tats y my bill for misc charges were so darn high.
If i noe, i wun wan to be put on machine liao. I think total abt 5-6hrs on machine... Hosp charge more than gynae. so $40 for 30mins @ gynae, imagine hosp costs...

happygal: u're latching wrongly. nipple shldn't bleed. perhaps u r expressing too hard... pulling the nipple too often. switch nipples daily.. use breastmilk to soothe the area. can also use ice pack to calm the area down.

blueskies, congrats. your baby is quite hefty, no wonder no strength to push.

wow, hospital bill ranges so differently. hard to budget! Just pray that baby and mother are both safe.

reena, too bad cannot choose what you want to eat for the day. I think they cook in mass, therefore they have a fixed menu. anyway, i might have to go for those to relieve my mum aka CL if she can't make it. lol..

YT, good luck with your CL! maybe you can try confinement tingkat like reena's doing.

Lingyee, your labour is quite dramatic, must be the shopping that morning! Anyway, your baby helps you to save $ for a complete natural birth.

Pet, no wonder ur misc cost is so HIGH! I don't feel like doing CTG in my next visit.. cos don't know monitor wat... if got contraction then it's labour.. if no contraction then the monitoring obviously won't pick up anything ... Maybe I will opt out of CTG next visit. :p

abc, ur package is worth loh

tats y my gynae nv put me on machine at all. though i kept complaining of contractions.. he juz check cervix n say not yet... it's BH... save me some pre natal costs.
but hosp bobian. need to be on. cause inducing. in case bb heartbeat drop mah... Inducing may put bb at distress tats y after pill is inserted, need to monitor bb movements n heartbeat for at least 0.5-1hr to ensure he's fine inside.

My breasts also feel engorged now. Don't know is it because of the latching or because my milk is coming soon.

If tomorrow i have milk and let bb sucks, will my breasts engorgement gets better??

mummyboy: yup.. milk is coming... try to massage n squeeze alittle to ease the engorement.. let bb suck when u feel more comfy. engorement abit hard for milk to flow naturally. u need to latch bb n squeeze breast at the same time to get ur bb started...

Mummyboy,
I suggest you go and see LC. Cos latching wrongly not only haf sore nipples, bb will not get enough milk (i.e. will not eat enough and go hungry so wt will drop. Tat is wat happened to me. My poor bb is always hungry), bb will be easily irritated n your milk supply will drop cos wrong latching means not simulating breast enough to product milk.

Where did you delivered your bb? Your hospital got LC? Today, Abc n I went to Breastfeeding Clinic at Mt E. Its quite useful I find. Nurse there also helpful lor.

Reena,
yar... i will keep going lor. Wanna 'bu' as much as possible during this period of time. Wat is confinement Tingkat?

Lyn,
Wat you mean we are neighbours? You stay in Castle Green also? Join us on this Sat la.. some mummies in this forum will come also. When is your EDD? Or haf you delivered?

Blue skies
Congras!
Your bb is big. How big is his head? Were you induced?
My bb is also big - 3.4-3.5kg and his head is abt 35cm. Going to induce tomorrow morning.

Petrina
Thanks for the breakdown. Hopefully, tomorrow after induce will have contractions kick in soon, dun wan to pay so much for CTG monitoring.

Sheryl
Yup. Got to pay for CTG monitoring at ACJ.

MTAN,
I've pm-ed you Siti's contact. I heard alot of pple also saying 1 month later after C section but Siti says you can do it after 3 weeks. Oh well, I'll think it's still safer to go with gynae's instruction.

Yvonne,
You don't accept PM

Cloudme,
The standard package is 2 nights for natural birth.

No, the massage lady is not the same as the name card you saw in Dr Heng's clinic. I don't know about the one at the clinic but my massage lady is charging $270 for 7 sessions (1 hour per session) plus 2 bb massage.

I'm also visiting Dr Heng the her Bedok branch. We may have met during our checkups there ;-)

HappyGal29,
You may use your own breastmilk as "nipple cream" for cracked nipples. If it's bleeding, you may be "overworking" your breast. Note that it is still safe to breastfeed even thou it's bleeding, but have to bear with the pain.

Petrina,
I do post natal massage mainly for pushing the uterus back to the correct position because when in labour, you push the baby out, the uterus gets pushed down too. MIL also told me she had witnessed some old aunties' uterus falling out of their vaginal!

My detailed bill from hosp came, the CTG machine charge is only $20.80 per hour. I paid $40 when I did the monitoring at my gynae's clinic.

Sheryl,
Of course have to be standard menu lah... imagine if there are 10 mommies ordering, all order diff food, then how they going cook? No economies of scale leh..