(2008/03) March 2008

Clover
just wana clarify that I have already dealt with the vendors b4 the bash and everything will be nicely delivered for the bash. The contacts are there just in case =)

i can sense ur angriness fr ur sms, tat's y i dun dare to ask u to remind the vendors and was intending to do it myself. And actually there is nothing to cover cos all the liasing has been done b4 the bash

however, i have taken notes of ur concerns, and will learn fr there

i def wun be black face when i see u cos i still treat u as a friend and hope it is vice versa *peace*

oh no, i am quite sad to read today postings...hmmm...yt my dear pri sch classmate, i hope u will cheer up soon. do call me, sms me or msn me if u nd someone to talk to, k?
bbpink and clover,
hope u all clear ur misunderstanding soon. lets forgv and forget, k?

considerbeing, lets not accuse one another. by hiding behind ur new nick, u are creating misunderstandings to e march 08 mummies, u knw? cos they will start to guess who u r and may drag smeone innocent into it.
hope all things go well...lets be happy mummies...

summerdaze

thks for yr volunteer on children day party... but it seems that the response not so good..i guess lot of ppl think that we are celebrating on 1 oct...actually we can celebrate on 3/10 (sat)

how ? any votes coming in ?

Event : Children's Day
Venue : Kovan Melody Condo (along NEL / KOvan MRt)
Date : 3/10 (Sat) timing to be decided later

Food : shall we do potluck ? any suggestion ?

Happygal29
not to worry, i have nothing against clover

but of cos it is best we do not have a "working " relationship
i think there is a saying tat some people can be friends but not colleagues

Clover
i hope we can be gracious abt the whole thing. the bash is over and everyone has a good time, and u r there to make it happen

so i sincerely hope tat we can move on fr there with no hard feelings *extend my hand to shake*

bbpink, seems like u get my drift which u wisely didn't say much. wat I referred to is mostly what led up to the event. I had also called up the vendors, n condo mgt on my accord to ensure things are run smoothly. anyway, bygones coz I have aired my point of view.

ck, taks for the mediating efforts but there isn't really a need.

clover
to be honest, i din noe u r angry with anything until u send me the Easter Day sms ! oops

Even the buffet, i din noe my reply tat i choose the $12 menu which is recommended in the forum will make ur blood boil

anyway, next time if anyone is angry with me abt anything, can talk to me directly..since i already type my hp on the bash eve

Ck
i hope u dun mind tat i post ur email here as there is nothing sensitive and there are many good learning points in ur email for us to share

Sent: 20 April 2009 18: 33PM
To: sunny sun ([email protected]); clover

Clover, do you really stay in Bishan? I can arrange to pick up the banner from you.

Actually, bbpink had already given me prior and ample notice that she wun be attending the event. I had also convinced her to concentrate on taking care of her family and leave all the details to me. That's why I tried my best to reach there early as I know the buffet delivery man will be blur as to where to set up the buffet. Just want to clarify on this part.

Clover, I believe bbpink is a capable organiser, just that sometimes things just dun work smoothly. Don't forget she had a unfortunate week with her HB's accident and the HFMD. And I realised she can't logon as frequent as we do too.

Perhaps, as an outsider frequently reading the forum, lesson learnt is to have open communication. Talk via phone or even meet up if possible when organising any event. Communicating via sms and even via a forum will only lead to many false assumptions and misunderstandings.

Just my few cents worth of thots. Sorry for being a bit kaypo.

bbpink, I dun think it's right to copy n publish other ppl's email without soughting their permission.

I tot u want to move on? looks like u hv not leh. if u believe u r right n wan to clamour for support, fine with me. I hv said my piece.

It's a new day. The rain has poured. Let's forget whatever has happened and look ahead. All the unhappy incidents happened are because we want the best for our lovely babies. And that's much more important and magnificent.

Bbpink and Clover, let's forget everything about the event and savour the good memories and wonderful moments and photos. The event is over and there's no point discussing who's right, who's wrong, who should do things right or who should've done the right thing.

My sentiments exactly =)
The matter has been clarified with your mail to clover and I will not want to comment further.

<font color="0000ff">Wishing all a happy day ahead

After seeing all the posts these few days, i realise that it is best to communicate with each other with an open mind and the best form of communication whether it is between friends or even spouses is to talk

Just to share my personal experience, remember the clock I received for the birthday. Instead of speculating, I have communicated to the pal concerned directly and very frankly told her I cannot accept clocks and also told her the reasons why. She has been very gracious about it and very understanding, for which I am truly grateful

We realise tat it really does wonders for a relationship to be open and to talk about anything that is bothering us.

my two cents worth after seeing the posts for these few days.

i'm embarrassed to be part of this school girl drama episode and having all these unnecc attention. therefore from now onwards i will avoid going for gatherings n will post less here.

alex woke up to be much much much better. Dr Terence Tan rocks!

clover
wat did Dr Tan diagnoise Alex's sickness? i am thinking whether should i bring Arielene to Dr Tan too. She was not his patient and her cough only occur at night which sm ppl diagnose as ecezma or allergy cough... still considering...

Anyway it is gd to hear that he is much better.. :)

adelineL: ya. i purposely bot fruits. various types.. but he refused to drink a 2nd sip. very sian. he's only willing to take barley water apart frm normal water. so i bobian.

kell: yup.. terrible weather... hb n myself also feeling abit sore throat coming up. rain then suddenly super sunny. very jialat i think.

Pet: Yes. I am trying to clear my work. I think I got a slight fever now. I am so in need of MC to rest. But today die die must come to work to submit wkly rpt. Sian.

Take care all mummies.

I haven't been posting for a while as have been busy with my foodblog. How are your kiddos? Mine's already walking round the house now
Time flies, looking back, we were still preg then... and now, they are already toddler!

petrina,
Do u have a blender at home? If you do, you can blend some fruit puree for ryan to eat everyday. It'll help soften the stools. Won't be immediate but should see some effects within the next day or two. A few cubes of papaya and one plum will work wonders for a start. I tried giving James fruit juice (e.g. those from Gerber) but he didn't like it. I tasted it myself and realised it was quite bland...

If you don't have a blender then you can use a fork and mash some papaya for him. About 4-5 pieces of 1 inch cubes of papaya should help. Or you can buy those large pears, normally we eat them when they are half ripe but look for those which have turned yellow and ripe. They are sweet and the pulp is soft enough to scrape with a spoon. That stuff is potent too! I blended one slice of it for James and he pooed 3x the next day. But the thing with the pear is that like apples, it will turn brown after a while so it's got to be eaten immediately.

Just to share - James poos everyday and this is the amount of fruits he takes daily. My mum was the one who insisted that he eat all this stuff and I was a bit skeptical at first but it does work. The fruits vary depending on what's in season but the amount is generally the same.

Morning: Blended fruit puree - 1 strawberry, 1 plum, 3 grapes, 1 cube papaya, 1 cube honeydew

Afternoon: Orange juice - 2 small oranges, squeezed (those small green coloured honey oranges)

This is in addition to the veggies that he eats in his porridge, usually 4 leaves of xiao bai cai &amp; 3 cherry tomatoes (total for lunch &amp; dinner).

tristan also pang sai everyday...sometimes twice a day.....once in morning and once in afternoon....he takes 3-4milk feeds and 3 square meals.....i wonder if pang sai so much is excessive or not!!

sometimes the poo is very nicely formed but sometimes it's quite soft and squishy....but never very very watery or very very hard....

i call him pang sai king...or "full of crap"! hahah!

Hi to all March mummies,

I also have a march baby girl, who is 13 mths now. I did post on the thread before, but it was very long long ago. Lately I am having problem with my girl feeding habit, so would like to get advice on what other mummies are doing.

My girl started home-made porridge when she was abt 8-9 months. But for the past 2 wks, she wouldn't take the porridge (no matter how soft, how hard, how mushy, or watery) I cooked. Sometimes took only a few mouthful then split out and don't want. I tried giving her rice too, but took a few mouthful only. She hasn't been eating very well like in the past. So when she don't want her meal, I gave her other things like bread with kaya, biscults, fruits etc... she is not sick and very active. But still I'm worried abt her health, since she is not taking proper food. Any mummies going through the same thing like me? I am totally lost.

Another question, since baby is more than a year old now, when your baby are outside during their meal time, do you mummies feed them adult outside food (feed baby what u eat for meal), or do you still prepare home-cooked food and bring them out?

Hope to hear some advices from march mummies.

Thanks Blue Skies: I must do that for Phoebe and myself.

Shaz: Tristan has a healthy digestive system. Supposed to move at least once a day right... Old ppl say if you eat 3 meals, you're supp to move 3 times.

Babymouse: Try mashed potatoes w teeny bit of margarine? I am lz. If we eat out, baby eat adult food. She likes tasty/nice tasting food = Adult Food.

What are your toddlers eating for breakfast? Mine is just drinking milk and some breakfast cereal like cheerios/cornflakes, doesn't like bread.

Reena, mine don't like milk. She eat plain chwee kueh (chinese rice cake) or soft grain bread or Dim Sum Buns w/o fillings or scrambled eggs. Once in a while Mac plain Hot Cakes or muffin.

Kell - thanks for the assurance!
some people tell me that his digestive system is screwed up that's why pang said so many times, and that he is not absorbing anything.....(the person who said that to me has a bb who pang sai once a week or something)...somehow, i just refused to believe pooing once a week is NORMAL compared to pooing everyday!

bbmouse - most ppl say i'm very CRUEL! cos i don't feed outside food at all...if we have to go out, i'll still bring homecooked food out and the most i'll go is feeding jar food....but i do feed him with things like bread....i think key thing to remember is just don't feed food that is high in salt/sugar/fat content! :D

i think u can try experimenting different things! i gave tristan mashed potato + broccoli with minced meat topped with abit of grated parmesan cheese and he loved it.....this meal alone there's carbo, protein and vegs so it doesn't always have to be porridge all the time! can also try pasta...sometimes i cook pasta with abit of minced chicken/salmon + chopped tomatoes...then just feed some fruits afterwards...can be one meal also!

as long as ur bb is active and growing well, i think your gal should be ok! :D maybe she just needs new tastes and texture and flavours....try experimenting with diff food/fruit/meat in diff combinations!

I have a concern on my boy, he kept having unexplained bruises on his legs and hands, what could have happened? He's being taken care by my mil, so no reason for abuse lah..

Any mummies encountered that and any advise? Should I go to a pd?

Shaz: Cannot move bowel once a week. Its a not healthy sign. I went to see TCM Doc cos I got this prob. Kenna scold left right center for not eating enuff fibre/fruits.

Kathy: Might be he's playing and accidently bruised himself? My gal will like once a week havea new blue black mark. You sound like the marks seem frequent. Better to chk w PD soon for assurance yah.

So pissed with the server down...wrote so many things but couldn't post...now no momentum...haiz

Guess the heat is getting to everyone resulting in a heated thread as well....

Outside meals
I pack the nestle cereals usually when we're out. As for adult food, I just give those veges and stuff which doesn;t have much salt etc...My boy would demand for our food even after his food!
He likes good food
Like what kell said, adult food = good food :p

Reena
my boy takes baby biscuits, bread, yoghurt or baby cereals for bkfast. I give him bread with jam, cheese or butter sometimes

babypink
thanks for the thought
I'm ok for 15 may. Anyway, ifthere's some awesome non halal place that you ladies wanna go to, go ahead please. No worries

to share..

The other day a cab driver asked me if my boy was a special kid! when i asked why he said my boy looks about 3 yrs and he behaves like a baby. I just smiled and said my boy is normal and he only turned on last monyth. After that the driver was very embarrassed and kept on apologsing. Reason he asked was, he has a 2yr daughter with GDD and he wanted to share with me i guess. I used to be a Special Ed tchr, and I understand him so I was not offended. Guess he would have got a lashing if it was someone else!

Constipated babies
I find apples are just as good as prunes and papaya.

Shaz
Zayed goes many times too. sometimes as much as 3 or 4 times in a day. As long as his stools is no runny or rock hard, i'm not worried la. Guess its just their system trying to adapt.

babymouse
hv u tried rice? my son dislike porridge too. But he love rice. so i cook soup and rice.

outside food vs homecook food
sry i dun gv outside food at such young age. Even my 4 yr old dd is eating homecooked food unless we r in the rush. if outside food will gv her yong tau foo and rice or fish soup with rice. but that is seldom. Only when they finish their main food then prob gv some outside food as titbits.

kathy
my son has a lot of bruises too eso the head, He is a boy with "metal" head. He been falling everywhere n very scary he uses his head to go down first thus accident always happen. Also sometimes could be becos of mosquito bites which look like bruise.

BBmouse
hi nice to have u ard. I started to give outside food when shevon turns 1. Not those fried stuff, seafood. Usually bread, cake, noodles, rice, fish, tou foo, light stuff. I just tried to order porridge for her meal for sat, lunch n dinner, she took them but not a lot. Guess she hasn used to seasoning yet but i tgt i try so i can have a little holiday on weekend, less busy ;P

these 2days ryan has been pooing nicely formed stools tat r soft to touch. not mushy or wet. normal? he eats little solids so abt a thumb sized stool is ok??

bbheng, tristan eats alot? cause my fren's kid also poo very often. he's growing well too. i so worried when ryan dun poo for 1day. cause he is easily constipated.

blueskies: i blended fruits. i bot many types of fruits. blend to puree or juice. tried watermelon, apple, pear, papaya, orange. all ryan dun like. max can bluff him 1 spoon only.

outside food
i also dun give. unless i din pack food for him, he'll eat yong tau foo - tau foo &amp; kway teow only (washed in hot water as the soup is salty)
the only adult food ryan has tried is those we cook at home. but our food is also laden wif natural or added salt/soya sauce. i guess, it's better than those sold outside.
i give because i m out of ideas trying to coax him to eat. all sorts of texture (porridge or rice) he max eat 3-5 mouthfuls only.

Clover n Bbpink
I need to speak up for e both of u as i really feel both r fantastic ladies n dun wish either of u be hurt.

I think e 2 of u r really nice who took up e initiative to run such a big event. Though i never managed to join e bash, i was a bit sad not being able to come for e party.

I must say that march mummies r very open to talk about things. That' really grown up stuff we r talking about.

I suppose things just happened n there wasnt a back up plan when e main organiser was out of action for valid reason. Bbpink was taken out of surprise n hoped someone could help to run e show.

Clover u came in e rt time n took a big step/initiative to help made e event successful.The rest of e mummies might not have e confidence or time to wan to pick up e big tab as it's huge responsibility to run e bash. Well in e process, miscommunication took place n really nobody wanted/expected that. I suppose no other mummies would want to take up e tab forseeing such possible hiccups n Clover, that' y i feel u were brave enough to shoulder both good n unpleasant part of running e show on that day.

Things have been planned n taken for a change though not wished but e end results was a gd party.U shd give urself a pat on e shoulder that things went great n everybody had fun. Yes, after e party there are still some things left dangling ard,there is always a pre n post event cleanup.In that sense, Clover, u have really gone beyond e call of duty to clean up. U r a very reliable n accountable lady that we have ;)

Wat i feel can be learnt from here is to have mummies to be acting organiser in e event e main organiser is down or take turns to have at least 2 mummies to be responsible. To plan for e main event n rainy day program.

I c that both of u r made for leadership position. Hope we have more mummies who r more inclined in this area.

To have fun, everybody wants, to be a leader to plan n organise is another thing. To support e leader, i think many mummies can help as there r usually more people in these roles. Im clearly a support role, dun think im brave to be a leader or confident abt that.

Thumbs up to both of u for doing e good work

Peace n love to e 2 of u!

BBmouse, mine has been rejecting porridge for 1 mth+. Surprisingly last week till now he has been takg his porridge well again. I aso dunno y. But we nvr give up. Just try &amp; try giving him.

i think it is a passing phrase to dislike porridge. possibly due to teeth growing too. wan to hv something hard to bite on. tat y mine love rice...

yasmin, yup.. everyday home cooked food. i mean if ryan does go out, and if i forgot to pack extra food for him, he will eat outside food. and i restrict it to only tofu products which is washable in hot water...

hello hello i haven't been posting for so long! so busy with work. we shifted office and i changed dept so a lot of new things to learn!

Reena,
I latched Tricia before I go to work and let her have biscuits or bread. I bought her baby biscuits but she seems to like that square Hup Seng biscuits best! sometimes even ask for fish keropok! Hahaha..

Kathy,
usually bruises are caused by bumps and falls. usually when babies starts to walk they will walk and bump all the time. this is common. maybe all that happens when your mil is not watching. they are fast!

Shaz,
i agree with Kell. i think normally we're supposed to poo after every meal b'cos there will be waste not absorbed by the body. but it's due to our lifestyle that our body adjusted, hence we're likely to poo once a day while babies more often like 2-3 times a day. Tricia's frequency varies. sometimes as much as 3x a day, sometimes once in 3 days!

Yasmin,
i envy SAHM! can cook own meals for their kids! yeah the best is still home-cooked food. but i am very lax with Tricia i just let her have whatever i'm having. i look forward to my block leave where i could stay home and cook for my family. the best thing about kids is, they don't complain if your food taste yucky they'll take it b'cos it's mommy's recipe! hahahaa... err.. but it's different for the spouse though .. kekeke...

petrina -
tristan takes 3 milk feeds and 3 solid meals a day....is that alot ah??? definitely better life than me lor hahaha!

JTS:

8am - BREAKFAST: 3/4 bowl of cereal + single/mixed fruit (banana, avocado, pear, apple, papaya etc...) and sometimes 2-3 tablespoon of yogurt
1030am - 180ml milk
1pm - LUNCH: 1/2-3/4 bowl porridge with veg and meat/fish, sometimes he gets pasta, or mashed potato with cheese, steamed tofu, eggs etc etc....as long as got carb, protein and fibre!
330pm - 180ml milk + few cubes of fruits
6pm - DINNER - same quantity as lunch
930pm - 180ml milk

is that alot? hahaha! :p

melissa
don't agree! if i give my boy plain cooked rice with vege now, he spit out! he wants his curry! hehe...they can be little devils u know...

pet
no worries. i do that too. i don't even wash the stuff like u do, the tofu just goes in with all the taste :p

shaz
i guess u just go with ur instinct and tristan's feeding la...don't worry. you will know when its too much.

Yasmin: Zayed takes to curry? Phoebe likes gravy sauce. I let her try Ikan Assam and once bun w a bit of Chilli Crab gravy.

If you don't give her what you're having, she'll throw tantrum and grab whatever she can on the table and throw on floor. Sometimes, I am afraid to feed her. LOL

heheh...Phoebe has zayed for company! My boy will reach for the stuff but will scream and cry and u know the works la...Ya, I give gim home cooked curry with vege..Sometimes fish or chicken. Easier for me as I just cook for familyand add to his cooked rice. I make his rice thick but softer since he doesn't have molars yet. Once he does, I can dun cook for him seperately already.Same case when he's having lunch at my mum's or in law's.

bbheng, tats good amt. not overfeeding.. tats alot compared to ryan.. hehe

ryan's schedule

8.30am - biscuits 2pcs animal shaped. 1/4 bowl oats cereal
play
10am - 100ml milk
sleep
12noon - 100ml milk
1pm - 3/4 bowl mee suah with veg/fish stock
snacks (2 teaspoons of yogurt or 2pcs biscuits)
play
3pm - 100ml milk
sleep
5pm - 100ml milk
6pm - tofu or potato with veg/fish stock
play
8pm - 100ml milk
play
9.30pm - 100ml milk
sleep
12mid - 100ml milk
5am - 50ml milk
8am - 50ml milk

total per day abt 800ml milk &amp; 2 solids &amp; snacks

wooo! i just read the previous page and the mysterious appearance of a mommy causing a stir in the forum.

i'm just glad it was handled properly and March mommies are being very adult about it. i agree open communications are the best. we will always have different opinion and at least we can agree to disagree. i like the fact that we can learn from one another and get tips from other mommies with same age children.

Yasmin,
Your Zayed has tasted curry all his 9 months in your womb of course he remembers how much he likes it afterward! Hehe.. my little Tricia is still as little as can be but she now eats everything all the time but doesn't put on much weight. She's always dragging a small stool and climbing whatever, once i caught her pushing the high chair, climbing on it and opening a display cabinet door of our living room! She's always up to something. Sometimes i wonder if i had a girl or a boy!

shaz,
Compared to Tricia that's a lot liao haha. For FM, she can never finish more than 140ml.

Can any March babies drink from a cup? I was caught by surprise when I placed a small cup in front of her, she took the cup and drank off it. It happened too soon as I was trying to scoop out her porridge. Guess she wanted to drink more than eat! I can keep away her sippy cup already.

Yasmin, maybe they took spicy stuff tats why become Spicy Babes. Lol.

Molars should be coming out ard 18mths?

Melissa,
Wow. Thats good. But she's very active to climb like that! LOL. Nvm, its just a stage.

pet
u still BF ryan? Zayed is on Gain IQ and i saw their max per day to be 480ml so he takes water and juices at other times.Mostly water. just curious about the 800ml milk.

melissa
so cute about tricia carrying a stool around to get to things! my zayed is not a daredevil. he doesn;t climb too much and he's very cautious. go down slide also, must hold my scarf until it can come out! guess like mummy la. I say, I have a sensitive new age guy in my hands...a bit soft...