(2008/03) March 2008

fion
hahaha if look like sis mean look like hb liao... sigh.. hahaha . u can gt d cream locally @ mums essential @ united sq or suntec .

babypink
I dun mind gng yr house but think for d rest, it's a bit far..

Date: 29 April (Tues)
place: kais pl @ bishan
Time: 230pm

Interested :
1. kais n bbs (host) - carrot cake
2. abcdisney n bb - yogurt (ok? any objection?)
3. Clover n bb
4. dreymin n bb n helper
5. Babe Dude n BB maybe helper...
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
7. kate n bb n helper or hb
8. Liyun n bb n bb's granny (TBC)
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - tbc

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Raining today.. weather dun seemed good. Today's gathering cancel. pls pass d word around. Thanks </font></font>

bbpink
ur place too far for me :p

Interested :
3. Clover n bb
4. dreymin n bb n helper
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - tbc
11. Adeline n bb (Finger food)

Hi all...
i am opening my house too before my maternity leave ends.

Venue: 61 Flower road, nearest mrt=kovan mrt!

Date: sometime next week? say 2 May 2008

Time: Lets do lunch... say 1pm

Lets do potluck!

Particpants:
1)Ling Yee and baby

bbpink
ur place too far for me too :p

Kais, cant wait to see ur triplets!

Interested :
3. Clover n bb
4. dreymin n bb n helper
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - tbc
12. Ling Yee and bb

Interested :
3. Clover n bb
4. dreymin n bb n helper
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - tbc
12. Ling Yee and bb
13. Adeline Loo and bb

Kais, bbpink and Ling Yee
Thanks for opening up your homes! Bbpink, Lingyee, both your places are far from me but I don't mind taking a cab there
To me, about the same cost as going to places like suntec or vivo city but nicer to have gatherings at home where you can set bb down easily and no prob changing diapers etc....too bad i live wif my parents right now so not v. convenient to host playdates so thanks again!

jenifur sorry but I hv to cancel my order for the wipes. hope its not too troublesome.

bbpink, tks for the vote of confidence.

jerejoy, I can forget abt those words coz I know the truth is opp of wat they say.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Rain stopped! We are still meeting. Vivo at 1.30pm. Call me, babe_dude, adeline, lingyee, yutong, ivy when reached.</font></font>

Interested :
3. Clover n bb- snacks like tim tams, choc
4. dreymin n bb n helper
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - tbc
12. Ling Yee and bb
13. Adeline Loo and bb

so many cute bb pics
For a while they seem to have disappeared keke...so here's my bb tommy who just turn one month old and already weighs 5.5kg! *scary!*
1377324.jpg

jenifur
ur bb's neck seems very stiff...now is just 1 mth plus rite?...he is progressing well ...

abc
ur son looks like he has eye shadow...very balance on the 2 eyes...

u gals enjoying the meetup....i has been working since 21st....enjoy ur lunches...

adeline loo, he's chubby mah. ~pinch his cheeks~ that's v good! I can't wait for my alex to reach 5.5kg too!

mummy_norman, wah u start work v soon.

<font color="aa00aa">now ntuc promotion huggies dry m size 84pcs 1pkt $15.95. cheap! grabbed 2pkts. hehehe...

also saw ntuc got promo pigeon bb wet wipe but not sure how much. can check out.</font>

blueskies/simp/abcdisney
DS aso has rashes around his neck and back. already bath him 2 times a day, so later may try desitin or calendula.

liyun,
same here, my wrist hurt from carrying DS koala style.

jenifur,
josiah just wore a normal top and bottom for swimming?

babypink and ling yee,
thanks for openig your place, however it is quite far for me.

fion mummy,
thanks for the tip, gg to get some later!

btw pls do not buy Pureen Dry 5 diapers. I got a packet 2 weeks back when it is on offer and found the cutting and quality to be really bad; there are a few pieces with missing sticky tape at the sides

Interested :
4. dreymin n bb n helper
5. Babe Dude n BB maybe helper (Fruits)
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - tbc
12. Ling Yee and bb
13. Adeline Loo and bb

<font color="aa00aa">dreymin,
wah so the bad...lucky nv buy. i rem got promo that time.

i think sealer n EQ better than pureen. compare with pet pet, drypers n EQ i prefer EQ better.</font>

thanks all for your advices posted the last few days.. i only got to see them now as i admitted my baby into TMC on Monday night.. just to share abit of the story with all of u..

was feeding him at around 8.30pm on Monday and he coughed real bad again, like as if got choked.. MIL and I was so worried we decided to bring him to hospital.. MIL suggest go to KK.. reached there at around 9+pm, until 3am still waiting here and there.. super frustrated and they only had C class ward.. it was so pathetic, I was so angry, refused admission, request to be discharged immediately, brought baby to TMC instead.. i swear i will nv bring my baby to KK again.

now back home already, after checks and observations, its not that my baby got choked on milk actually.. its that his nose is blocked and there's alot of mucus plus phlegm, causing him to cough real bad after feeding.. suction twice at TMC, heart pain until no words can describe.. cried like mad in my hubby's arms when i heard his cries during the suction..

my boy is only 1mth old, and had to take cough medicine liao.. really very upset.. but hope the medicine will work wonder and he'll recover in no time..

he appears to be well and alert.. its only after a feed then he'll cough two or three coughs.. hope the virus clear away asap.. how much i wish he can pass all the virus to me instead..
really pray it'll clear away soon..

Fion mummy, if you're sure ur bb has running nose, it's best to bring her to PD immediately cuz if its just blocked nose without wet mucus is quite normal.. but if its running nose, it could be a flu bug.. so better see doctor..

hubby precious, u must be v heart pain lah. do u still have to clean out his mucus now and then?

how abt giving him some rest intermittently during a feed so he wont get choked?

hubby precious
gosh sad to hear that but glad that everything is over.

Today after vivo, abc, yt and me went to habour front for the baby swimming.. sEe our babies enjoying =)

1378602.jpg

Kat: No Andrae dun box me!!!

1378603.jpg

Kat: Ok ok i surrender -_-

1378604.jpg

Andrae 1st swimming!

1378605.jpg

Kat happily kicking!

clover,
hmm.. after two suctions at the hospital, i consulted the PD to see if can do without the suction anot.. cuz i really can't bear to hear him cry that hard.. PD say its ok cuz suction don't clear all the mucus and phlegm.. its only for about 4hours of comfort.. but i don't think its 4hours that long, cuz once he came out from the suction room, i could still hear his blocked nose.. right now if he sneezes and i can see mucus in the nostrils, i'll try my very best to take it out..
i know resting during feeding is good and its advisable to burp babies during feed, but not all babies will allow u to do that cuz whenever i try pulling out the bottle, my boy will end up crying.. so i had to make sure he don't fall asleep during drinking. always have to look at him and either tickle his chin or move his hands..

Adeline,
yeah.. its really sad, i cried so much at the hospital.. hope that he'll recover fast and then everything will be over..

Jennifur,

Sorry i need to cancel the wipes also cause i can't wait.

Oh ya, my aunty has a deep freezer want to sell, vr new condition.let me know if u interested, i can ask my aunty how much

hubby precious
aiyo it's really hard on the parents when bb falls sick
....really hope your bb gets better soon....btw my bb also has prob of blocked nose...can hear him snoring...but thank goodness his no cough

Kat and Andrae so cute! I didn't know they have baby floats like dat! So useful! Where to buy huh?

Dreymin
Thanks for the tip on pureen!

Petrina
Yah man...just now i was slinging bb and carrying groceries back from NTUC :p...must have major arm power! but my neck hurts from the sling when walking back, probably sling was loosened and i no hands to tighten it

Fion Mummy
wah good buy on the huggies diapers! I was at NTUC just now but didn pay attention...but anyway awso no hands to carry...will go back to buy

The desitin are here!

Desitin Creamy at $9.50

5 Pancake - paid (addy given)
6 Pancake - paid (addy given)
8 jewel_thief27 - paid (addy not given)
10 dor
11 Bubble
12 Bubble
13 linda

Anyone wan take over d 3 slots? d rest let me know hw u wan collect fr me

abc, can i hv one of the desitin? can pass me when i see u?

andrae doesnt look too happy in the water! lol.

hubby precious, mine also struggle like crazy when i unlatch him. its worse coz at times he will tug at my nipple, making it sore. it's better to suck out yr bb's mucus to make him feel more comfy. how abt trying before a feeding session.

adeline loo, wat sort of sling r u using?

hubby precious,
Hugs... My eyes welled up with tears when I read your story. Poor baby... So fast take medicine...

adeline,
Is it some bathtub kind of swimming? I got that ring float. My #1 hates it. Only used once and now somewhere in storeroom. It's rather uncomfy.

shawn went pd for his first 6in1 jec n 1st rotavirus dose at 2pm.. Cost us $539.. He started feel sleepy after 6pm.. N didn wake up for milk even after 3hr.. Is tat normal ah? I try to feed him whenever i heard him makin er er noise.. But he jus drink a bit then fall aslp le.. Tats y i got to pump now to empty my breast le.. Hope he will b normal later..

Shawn is 5kg at 6wk1d old.. 57cm tall le..

My boy was crying non-stop last nite. Not sure the reason why leh.

Seen PD 2 days ago for his blocked nose but PD said he is ok and no need to adminster medicine.
Anyone else has this issue? Any other suggestion for my bb?

hubby precious
my heart aso goes out to you... must be tough on you to hear your baby crying very hard. i aso quite worried coz DS also has a perpetual blocked nose. Will ask my GP (she is a mother of 4) for 2nd opinion when DS goes for his first 6-in-1 shot on sun. i am suspecting it is not dairy allergy which triggered the wheezing since i hv been off milk, cheese and other dairy products for more than 2 weeks now.

fion mummy/adeline,
petpet actually works ok for DS, i use the cheaper ones in the day and Pampers at night. now trying to finish the pureen ASAP!

adeline,
here is the link to mambo floats, swim suit and tub. i was contemplating where to buy or not
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1322854.html?1209048573

Yu Tong,

DS also has same problem with blocked nose and wheezing, doctor just prescribed some Zyrtec and Singulair. It has been 2 weeks now but no improvement yet

DS tends to cry if he has colic. Not sure if it is the same case with your boy. Check his stomach if it is bloated. If it is, try to burp him regularly during feeding. That will help alleviate the discomfort. You can also get some off the shelf medicine from pharmacy.

Crying could be a variety of reasons; diaper discomfort, hunger, attention or colic.

Interested :
4. dreymin n bb n helper (chips and dips)
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - tbc
12. Ling Yee and bb
13. Adeline Loo and bb

abc
I need another 1 desitin. So is $19 for 2. How much is postage? Btw wat is e expiry date for them. Can post ur acct again. Always miss e post and cant seem to find it. :p. Will do tt today. Thkq

Matilda going in for day surgery today

Hi all mommies, some of you know that my youngest will be going in today for surgery as she has hernia.

taken from :http://www.kidshealth.com/parent/system/surgical/hernia.html

"What causes hernia?
When part of an organ or tissue in the body (such as a loop of intestine) pushes through an opening or weak spot in a muscle wall, it can protrude into a space where it does not belong. This protrusion is called a hernia. A hernia may look like a bulge or lump.
Some babies are born with various small openings inside the body that will close at some point, but have not closed yet. Nearby tissues can squeeze into such openings and become hernias.
Sometimes tissues can squeeze through muscle wall openings that are only meant for arteries or other tissues. In other cases, strains or injuries create a weak spot in the muscle wall, and part of a nearby organ can be pushed into the weak spot so that it bulges and becomes a hernia. "

Her last feed before surgery was at 8.30am. I hope she can tahan till 12.15pm which is her appointment at children's day surgery. There is a need to stay overnight in high dependency ward as they want to make sure she does not develop breathing problems from the anaesthesia.

My hubby has to work so i'm bringing her to hospital on my own. I know she is in good hands (the attending surgeon turned out to be my friend!!) but i can't help feeling an intense heartpain when i look at her. She looks so vulnerable and to think she has to be subjected to the knife. I hope i will be strong later and not turn out to be a crying wreck... so paisei lor.

will keep u all posted

Interested :
4. dreymin n bb n helper (chips and dips)
6. Lyn n 2 bbs
9. aly n bb n maid
10. bbpink n bb - bee hoon
12. Ling Yee and bb
13. Adeline Loo and bb

kais

can understand how u feel..so young

all the best !

hb's precious

can imagine how painful for u to hear his cries..but glad that all is well now

<font color="0000ff">my place</font>

actually my place is abt 3 bus stops fr the MRT Station
The nearest MRT is Bukit Batok. Then if u gals meet up at mrt,there is a direct bus 106 or 77 to my place..

<font color="0000ff">Kais' place</font>

who are meeting up at mrt station 1st ?

kais,

it is definitely not easy to see your precious going under the knife.. i'm sure she'll be fine and all well after the surgery, dont worry too much and be strong..

to all the mummies whose babies have got blocked nose..

i think it is a very common issue in babies as they are still very young, the nostrils and everything are not very developed yet.. all we can do is to monitor and ensure that they don't have breathing problems especially during feeding.. i think the blocked nose thingy will improve as they grow older.. if your baby's blocked nose is real bad, i think you can probably see a doctor for some nose drops or nasal spray..

dreymin,
my boy also on Zyrtec now at night.. don't know if it's working for him..

Sorry to intrude. I’ve a couple of Enfalac HA (400g) brand new tins for sale at $16 each as my child has gone onto his Step 2 formula. Price negotiable if buy more than 1 tin.

Also have 1 tin each of Similac Step 2 and Mamil Gold Step 2 for sale. Each tin is 400g. Asking price for each is $6. interested, pls PM me. thanks!

I've been MIA for a few days, because I was down with high fever (AGAIN!!!) and bad cough, running nose and sore throat! I slept all day only to wake up to feed my baby when she cried - can you imagine all the drowsy medication that I've taken..I could bearly open my eyes. but still try very hard to carry bb to latch on..
GP gave me contradicting info.. i think these GPs shd be sent for retraining! I read that sick mom can continue to nurse their babies, but my GP says u see loh.. see u want to spread virus or not! Actually, when we are sick, we are producing antibodies to fight off those virus which will be produced in the milk and beneficial to the baby.

At the same time also noticed that my baby is developing red rashes all over her body, her scalp, her thighs, her back, her butt, her face - everywhere!! She didn't show extreme signs of discomfort, but just cried a great deal through out the day, we took her to PD dermatologist(while I'm having high fever n cough - felt like dying) and was told that baby seems to have 'feng mo'. PD said too young for bb to have 'feng mo'!! Through some questionaires we seem to agree that it's the prawn that I had taken that triggered the rashes. I felt like a BAD Mummy!! PD said that she can't administer any medication to my bb, cos she's too young, not advisable to give medication before 3 mths old - so we just have to monitor! If really getting worse despite that I don't take prawn, I should bring bb back for medication. She also gives me a list of food which might cause sensitivity to some babies -
dairy, egg, shellfish (prawn, crab, clam, mussels), berries, peanuts.

I had eaten them all during my confinement, except shellfish, which I just started eating after confinement.

My baby's rashes are still ard for 5 days already and looks like clearing up.