(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

HI GIRLS!!

Was MIA today because i escaped from home and WENT TO WORK!! hehehe... never thought i'd feel so happy to sit in my office!! but i did check with my gyne first lah.. he said 1-2 hrs every few days ok as long as i don't walk too much.

am so jealous you're all going to meet up ... hopefully soon i can go out of house arrest.

cheryl, we got our heart listener device from baby hypermart. hubby and i tried a couple of times so far.. but dont really know how to identify bb's heartbeat ..heehee

re the stretchmark cream, i think it really varies from person to person .. must try and error one i think.. my friend also got rashes from the initial brand (developed only after few months of using) she's using (cant remember what brand now :p) then she switched to the palmer cocoa butter and the irritation went away.

cheryl,
boy? then all the prediction not correct already..
my next gynae visit will be next week. hope to know bb's gender too.

do you experience some funny feeling in your tummy not sure is it too early to feel bb movement at wk 16.
i experience soft knocking in my tummy few days ago. then on thursday night, i felt uneasy in my tummy while sleeping. not sure if it's because uterous is expanding. then after that i don't feel the 'soft knocking' anymore. i was wondering if bb's knocking me by complaining not enough space for him/her to play? then after uterous expanded a bit more, then i can't feel it anymore.. 1st time mum, very curious.... :p

xiaoyun

but 100% confirm yet, he only say maybe... so have to wait next appt n detail scan liao....
i oso have been feeling some soft movement.. maybe is bb moving..

Yo ladies,

How's all the stitching getting along? Been a little busy teaching kids in preparation for PSLE. Might go MIA for a short while.

Count me in for the outing. Hopefully on Sunday cos can't really make it on Saturday.

I have not done brazillian wax before. Didn't do any for my first one either. Painful or not?

xiaoyun
Yes, the soft knocks should be the baby's movement. i experienced that too on last fri. yday nite, experienced it again. mine happened at the lower tummy.

patsy
hope you get well soon! it's a good start that your gynae allows you to go to work for a short period. then can slowly adjust back to office life.

girls

i realise now gynae dun put bb hw many week and EDD liao. 1 of another forumer we abt same EDD, but her bb is bigger den me....
kind of worry.. each ppl bb has diff size so doesnt matter is it?

moi_dar, for me not painful.. but i've been doing it for a long time liao.

stephie, actually he just warned me i may be on CRIBS till i deliver!! i told him then he should recommend a psychaitrist also liao coz i'll probably go crazy!

<font color="0000ff">BP for Littlepods Baby Slings:

Hi Ladies BP is ending soon, for those who are interested, please post your orders in the BP thread.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/952308.html?1189346490

Stocks will be available in 1 week's time and you will receive it early the week after.

As the retail price is going to be increased and LHP will not be organising such BPs in future, this is your last chance to enjoy this special offer.</font>

cheryl,

no worry. my gynae also didn't help to calculate how many weeks already. about the size of bb, it also depends on your menses cycle. my cycle is quite short (25 days), this explains bigger size of my baby. so i think my edd should be earlier.

patsy,
take care. what do you mean by CRIBS?

fyi... average fetal length and weight chart

Week / Length (cm) / Mass (g)
20 / 25.6 cm / 300 grams
21 / 26.7 cm / 360 grams
22 / 27.8 cm / 430 grams
23 / 28.9 cm / 501 grams
24 / 30 cm / 600 grams
25 / 34.6 cm / 660 grams
26 / 35.6 cm / 760 grams
27 / 36.6 cm / 875 grams
28 / 37.6 cm / 1005 grams
29 / 38.6 cm / 1153 grams
30 / 39.9 cm / 1319 grams
31 / 41.1 cm / 1502 grams
32 / 42.4 cm / 1702 grams
33 / 43.7 cm / 1918 grams
34 / 45 cm / 2146 grams
35 / 46.2 cm / 2383 grams
36 / 47.4 cm / 2622 grams
37 / 48.6 cm / 2859 grams
38 / 49.8 cm / 3083 grams
39 / 50.7 cm / 3288 grams
40 / 51.2 cm / 3462 grams
41 / 51.7 cm / 3597 grams
42 / 51.5 cm / 3685 grams
43 / 51.3 cm / 3717 grams

Hana, really envy that you can go taiwan for holidays. I was planning to go taipei with my hubby, but my gynae advice better not to travel, and said if travel, then must calculate the risk(am 18 weeks now)..haizzz...sound so serious..now TV showing places in taiwan on every Friday, 830pm, so i can only watch lor...Enjoy your trip ya!

re Holiday,
ya lor, happy bee - me too. not allowed to travel. so envious of those mummies who can...reading about the food makes me hungry =P

re Changi Village Hotel
as compensation, booked hubby and i into the CV hotel. quite nice, idyllic, if you like beaches. beach park is pretty ok, there is a boardwalk, and can even do day trip to pulau ubin (altho i didn't venture so far). had a maternity massage, swam, went to the gym. so feeling much more refreshed!!

re Swimwear
i had three choices - bikini, tankini or one piece. chose the tankini cos not so gung ho to show off my growing tummy in a bikini; and as for the one piece style, it has a lot of excess cloth in front to accomodate a growing tummy so not nice now. got mine at maternity exchange, and spent a bomb, even embarrassed to tell pple how much haha =P kena ka chai tao (for those who understand hokkien)

re Maternity massage
i tried out the spa at changi village hotel (called the retreat spa) the masseur is very nice aunty, but thought the entire reception process was very disorganized. finally figured out how they do massage pregnant women!!! quite relaxing, but very expensive =( i paide $88 for an hour which i thought was ok. checked out rustic nirvana ($98 for an hour) and clarins ($100+ for an hour). will try to hunt for more affordable options!!

cheryl,
different bb grow at different speed... also depend on daddy n mummy size...
i think so long bb is growing well... the rest is not important...

garfield,
so went u gg for yr getaway?

swimwear,
huh... when got cheap one.... cos only wear few months....

CRIB
complete rest in bed.... patsy, hope that u dun have to go thr that man....

dorothy
ya tat wat ppl tell me. doc oso saty everything ok... hehe.....

swimwear
was think if wear 1 pc is it too tight for the tummy???
i knw bikini is out lah... show the tummy oso not nice

cheryl
i know it's hard not to compare the growth of our babies with others. but really, it differs from baby to baby. as long as gynae says it's ok, then no need to worry.

i've not been wearing swimwear for years. will never dare wear it when i'm preggie. me paiseh. those one piece type should be ok for the tummy if it's meant for pregnant women.

patsy
thanks goodness it's just a warning from your gynae and it didn't come true. hope you get well soon.

apple79,
my gynae said in case anything happended lor..he said better dun travel to places need more than 4 hours. So no choice

Anyone knows where can get nice and not too expensive pants?

hi girls....

Xiao Yun, CRIBS is complete rest in bed.. means cannot stand up a lot, definitely not a lot of walking, no shopping, must be lying down msot of the time actualy. very boring, very depressing! but am trying to tong for the baby

dor, yah lor... though the nurse said she thinks he will make me rest for most of the pregnancy. so sian leh.. cannot go out at all, haven't even been to mandai to visit sabie for one month now

stephie... hehe, think he saw how depressed i was getting. At least now he's allowed me to go to office for 1-2 hours once in a while, but cannot be every day and cannot be too long. better than nothing, right??

happybee, sp
ring carrys affordable range of pants!!!!

patsy, *HUGZ*.. sabie will know y mummy is not coming....rem she is always in yr heart... ger, pm yr address... i send u some material to listen...

Remember that i did mentioned earlier i had rashes on my stomach.. its bcm serious now! and very2 itchy & some had even bcm bubbles & turn into 'black' colour.

I just cm bk from Gleneagles Medical Centre this morning.According to the skin specialist, i am already the 5th mummy who have this problem who had applied 'Palmer cocoa butter' stretch mark cream. So, she wants me to stop applying this cream immediately. Sounded scary right..

My stomach now looks like 'got burned' & its so irrtating..i cant even eat & sleep well.

casa,

that sounds scary. i using Palmer as well. but not diligently. how long/frequent you have been using that until it gave you the problem?

casa
were you prescribed any cream to cure the rashes? It should become alright if you stop applying the stretch mark cream and use the prescribed cream (if any). mine cleared after a while. my stomach was horrible too then. even took photo as a 'remembrance'. see if i can find the photo (stored in my old pc which i have not used for a while).

i been using it almost 1 mth..then the rashes come.. and apply twice a day, morning & night. I m so suffering now, sad when look at my bump. Red & itchy.

According to my gynae & the skin specialist, stretch mark acutually cant really help to prevent the stretch. Stretch marks is actually coz by the genetic. So, she wants me no to apply any cream now, but only lotion coz when your bump stretch, its actually makes your skin dry & expand...

Any mummies to share on tis topic?

Hi stephie,

Once the rashes started, i did suspect on mt stretch mark cream. So, i stop using it. But the rashes has bcm more & more... Before that my gynae did gv me some medicine to take, but its cant help. Then he recommended a skin specailist to me.

Ya, i tk pic of it too.really horrible

casa
the rash cream which my gynae prescribed helped to clear the rashes leh (but can't recall what the medication is). before that i bought QV cream to help relieve the itch.

happybee, sorry. typo error...
should be spring... one at amk hub n plaza sing n suntec...

casa, huh... i hope yr rashes will be better after the medication... i think i better stop my palmers...

Its another blue blue monday... the weather is really not so suitable for work, isnt it? More for taking a nice nap at home. =)

Xiaoyun,
I also experienced the soft knocks/ taps since last week. Quite an amzing feeling hor. Think we can start to talk to bb and sing him/her songs at his stage. BB actually responded to the loud bossa nova music we blast while in the car.

Happybee,
Uh-oh.. my flight will take 4-5hours. hmm i guess should be fine for those with normal pregnancy. I have seek Gynae's advice. He says, "of cos can, provided u bring me along". Isnt he funny... Hee.

Stephie,
I start to applied the cream for my skin specialist..its makes me aliitle feeling better now.

Dorothy,
I dare not say its 100% caused by the palmer cream. But my doc had asked me to stop applying it. Cause already few pregnant women got this skin rashes.

hana
i travelled to taipei too when i was preggie last time. no worries. everything should be fine. just make sure you walk around more during the flight and drink more water. i read an article last week, a gynae recommended that hubby massaged the calf muscles of the wife every 20 mins to ensure good blood circulation (this was in Straits Times supplement on Wed). But i didn't massage my leg then leh cos never heard about the advice.

When you flying off? Have an enjoyable trip

casa, I got the same problem as you!! I got rashes on my tummy which I suspected was due to Palmers too! I have been using it for awhile and into my 2nd bottle when I got those rashes. I stopped using after getting those nasty rashes and switched to other stretch mark oil. Try not to scratch them k! Hope you get well soon

Me tooo.... i used the palmers cream 1st bottle no problem but second bottle i started to develop rashes. So itchy till i can't sleep well at nite! Now i used clarins SM oil!

Seems like many will develop rash after using Palmer lotion. Glad I am not very faithful when it comes to applying the cream.

Will switch to other brands.

Pasty where did you do your waxing? Might want to go and try.

i think i'm the lazy one here, never apply any stretch mark cream... once in a while i'll apply the body shop body butter though.. smells yummy!! but i didn't get any stretchmarks for my first one.. so probably won't get also now, or rather hopefully not!

moi_dar, i go to strips in paragon

Thks Andrea,

Ya, looks like few mummies had the same problems as me.. so sad. The rashes is all over my bump now, looks scary too... feelg so down.

Will not use any stretch mark cream already

me too have not applied any cream on my tummy this time round. *lazy* hope don't get those ugly stretch marks. even if i do, think as long as hubby bu xian qi, i'm fine cos i never bare my midriff :p but hor, when i see those stretch mark photos from the internet, looks very horrible leh. really gotta cross my fingers.

patsy
lucky you. since first one no stretch mark, unlikely that second one will have lor.

hi cheryl, stephie
i got a two piece one cos more versatile (in case either top or bottom expand a lot more). so far, have only found two piece version at mothercare and maternity exchange. the one piece type is more commonly available. http://www.maternityexchange.sg/nursing.html# i got the black polka dotted tankini one. quite pleased with it =)

had a long discussion with my mum and dad over dinner last night about child caring arrangements during confinement, 3 months maternity and when i go back to work. luckily my mom offered to help me *phew*, even though only at night - but means i dun have to face MIL/FIL 24 x 7 =P

i haven't gotten a CL yet cos really sim tia to pay 3K leh =P was telling hubby i'd rather give the money to my parents lor. so for confinement, the tentative arrangement is for MIL/FIL to help me during the day and my mom will take over at night. Will cater confinement food which will cost me about $1K.

you gals sorted out your confinement arrangements yet or book CL yet?

good morning!!!

if only i can sleep man....

garfield, good to hear that u have solved yr confinement issue...

for me, we managed to talk to mil... she is ok to cook for me during confinement...during the cny few days... hubby will go n pick up food from her.also will be get a part-time helper to help to clean up the house too..... then my mum will help out to cook too... on the 2nd n 3rd mth of my maternity leave... then i will get a maid....

i haven't sorted out CL... still looking for one.

MIL thinks there's no need, said as long as there's someone to cook (her) for me and wash bb's clothes that's enough.

until i got a bit depressed and broke down last weekend (over other matters). after accessing the general situation hb told MIL "erm, i think hor, she (me) not as garung as you (MIL) lei, think better find a CL for her...."

was sad but when i heard the comical way hb told mum, i just burst out laughing...