(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

sunny and stephie,
ooh, i thought everyone will get the belly button popping out...hopefully if mine really pop out, will go back in after the baby is born.

good morning patsy! nice to hear from you? how are you feeling?

me very sian....went to see dr. loh for diarrhea and stomach cramps (thought food poisoning). doc scared my womb unstable. scan if cervix open or not etc etc. end up now end up on hormone therapy *AGAIN* dun like the medication cos it makes me bloat, nauseous, headache .... =(

hi moi dar,
ya we live very near each other leh. hope you've sorted things out with hubby =) we can set up a knitting club since a few of us are interested. actually there is one shop at tanjong katong complex near the paya lebar mrt that teaches knitting too i think.

HI everyone, din post yest as in one of my super lousy mood!!!

knitting
a bit disappointed cos din start anything.... was pretty ambitious cos wanted to make everyone(my friends) something this xmas... after mon evening, i think buying will be a better choice....i liked the design that snowbelle bought... veri cute!!! too bad, i having a boy....heehee, met blueginger n snowbelle... n guess what !!!snowbelle n i work in sin ming...somemore same building b4 her office moved to another building nearby!!

cecilia, ya... me now into knitting leh....amk have meh? where? garfield, so when u gg to start?
a knitting club? yes!!! blueginger or cecilia can coach us... hahaha... i gg to tampines cc to pick up the basic technique too... intially, i wanted to go for 1 to 1 coaching... but veri ex!!!!2hours for $90!!!

baby gender
congrats to those who knows the gender.... exciting hor...

babyshopping
starry, if u looking for stroller or baby seat can try baby hyperstore@kakit bukit...
i have not started my stuff cos usually i shop online...

garfield
so u on mc or working.... dun worry cos dr loh veri cautious one... i like him!!!

cecilia
good to hear that yr mood is better!!! i guess the final year exam is coming soon... so our stress level will increase

blueginger
when we starting our lesson???

patsy
how is yr bed rest???keep u in prayer!!!

thanks fairfield, dorothy. will take care.

knitting ah...i wan i wan...but have to wait till my current course of hormone drugs end which is 12Sep. cos now suffering from side effects of the drug.

still sooooo young dear fairfield = ) ....i was still partying like crazy at 29 can go clubbing till 3,4am and still wake up to go beach at 9am the next day!

hahha, i havent partied in yrs ever since i came to US, on and off still miss, but every time go back singapore, no time leh, and suddenly feel old compared to those young kids at mohd sultan.

morning ladies...

fairfield, thanks for letting me know about the clarins oil. yeah, i tried to apply the oil in shower and then rinse off last night, very ley cheh!! ended up making the shower handle,tap,toilet bowl,etc,etc oily. oh dear, sure kena 'comment' by all in household sooner or later...

i feel like switching to another stretch mark oil/lotion/cream, but am worried what if it's not as efficient as clarins? (not that i know clarins is efficient, but since it's a popular choice among preggies, i guess it must have worked for most?)

will be getting the elancyl cream for day use, thinking of still using the clarins oil (or some other more moisturising option at night lor).

i must sound like some airhead and vainpot, but cos already noticed stretch marks on my chest, so super sianz and gan jiong already.... haiz.

im very eager to find out gender of bb too...but at same time also worried. worried about bb's health and worried if im 'asking for too much' as deep inside me i have a preferred gender. of cos above all, bb's health is top priority no matter what happens. am i normal to feel this way?

tried to feel for bb's movements since Monday night by placing my hand on tummy, still no luck...

pigletail & garfield,
We din do much that day as it was surprisingly crowded. We just manage to grab some thread and needles. Snowbelle like bought additional baby sweater pattern which is very sweet.
If I have a baby girl, will ask snowbelle for a copy of that design. As for me, din spot any new pattern I like. Will find another day to drop by the shop for a detail pick and chatting with the teacher.
We planned to allocate a day where I teach them the knitting method for the booties.
I wonder if dorothy and snowbelle can make it this sat or sun.
Dorothy,
Sat morning I will be at jurong point teaching my friend. you may wanna come along if you dun mind the travelling.
Otherwise is this sat evening or sun whole day. Can you let me know the time and venue? SMS me OK? Snowbelle MIA???
WOW One-for-one coaching??? You very rich leh!!!
Next time, can help me buy more thread with the money. Kekekekek...

Garfield,
Are you feeling better? Can take some sweets to ease the bitterness.
Knitting club? That's a good idea. Let's see the response of the rest.

Casa,
Congratulations. You can start to buy clothing for baby... BTW, what is the ring method to test for sex of baby?

Fairfield,
Happy related birthday... 29 only... Still young and energetics.

blueginger

the ring method, tie 1 stread of hair to the ring, den use right hand to hold the hair, put it over ur left palm, if it goes to n fro den is boy. if round n round is gal.

Am new to this forum and i find it is very informative. Am 17 wks pregnant now and just had my scan on last saturday at TMC. I can see my baby is moving during the scan, but so far still cannot feel any baby movement or kicking, quite worried abt that. Is it normal for 1st pregnancy?
Also cannot tell the baby's sex yet..quite disappointed and anxious to know.
By the way, every visit to gynae only take urine test, there is no blood pressures test, i find it strange, maybe should ask my gynae next time, rite?

cheryl
for the chinese age when conceive, do we count to the exact date of bday or just use the year we are born can liao? hmm...for the conceive month, I have a problem cos mine is in btw 2 months, don't know which to use. :p

fairfield
happy belated birthday too! when's the actual day? ya, you are still young leh.

piglettail
try to feel bb's movements again in a couple of weeks more. usually, movements can't be felt so early. of cos, there are some who can feel it earlier than others. on average, should be able to feel around 19-20 week bah.

fairfield,

wow!!! so young!!!!thanks!!! wan to do some retail therapy... but dun know where to start...

piglettail, i got some stretch marks on my breast...

belly button- i think mine coming out leh... the last time, when i had my gal, it came out too!!!

blueginger- no lah... cos my hubby said i veri "slow" so one to one coaching better... i asked him to sponsor me... but i dun think so loh... got to spend so much!!! this sat morning i cant- cos got to acc my gal for lesson then during her lesson, i gg for my facial.(saw my outbreak right?)sat evening-i can... but see the rest wan to meet-paisay to "fan" u on sat evening....

blueginger- u looked young too!!!

garfield,
if u not ok... better go home n rest...

fairfield
still young leh....

blueginger
you stay near jurong point? me too! next time ask you to be my lao shi if i wanna take up knitting?

happybee
welcome. my gynae did take my blood pressure during every visit. not sure if it's a must to do so. maybe can just ask gynae to set your mind at ease.

Gender not a concern for me. I'm more worry for baby development and health. Baby seems to be diving in my body, hence when I din feel the movements I started to worry. Will move around to keep baby movements. Would this tired the baby? No rest mah!!!!

Fairfield,
Try gng to St James when you are back. Lots of club are smoke-free now. Tehy allocated a smoking room for smokers. I've stop gng to disco after 29, now mainly in pub. Nice and relax. Still do that once a month, but no alcohol only fruit juices. Sigh... Next time must banned the rest from drinking. Tempt me leh!!!

stephie

let say i m 26 tis yr but bday havent reach at the point of conceiving... so is 25 yr old. but i go by chinese age shd be 26 hor.... den the month i go by roughly the date conceived so is april... hehe

farfield...
really not old lah =P ...i didn't feel old back then. cos depends on where you go. i have always avoided zouk cos that's where all the teenagers go. i prefer places where working adults go (these days it's st. james power station) so i dun stick out like a sore thumb lor.

piglettail,
not vain lah - me same same. only thing is i'm more afraid of the weight gain bit than stretchmarks. i like the elancyl cream, but dunno about effectiveness. used the clarins oil couple of times and stopped cos too oily i cannot tahan.

blueginger,
thanks. now back to drinking lime juice and eating sour gummies. haven't done that for a few weeks now but no choice lor, my baby needs "extra protection" =P

ya, i like knitting club cos then i will make effort to knit at least once a week. if not, sure lazy one...then won't be able to finish anything. we can share patterns oso hor - more economical!

so tempting to go club or pub.. since it has become smoke free... so no need scare go hm smelly. haha... but den hb already dun wanna go such place liao.

farfield...
really not old lah =P ...i didn't feel old back then. cos depends on where you go. i have always avoided zouk cos that's where all the teenagers go. i prefer places where working adults go (these days it's st. james power station) so i dun stick out like a sore thumb lor.

piglettail,
not vain lah - me same same. only thing is i'm more afraid of the weight gain bit than stretchmarks. i like the elancyl cream, but dunno about effectiveness. used the clarins oil couple of times and stopped cos too oily i cannot tahan.

blueginger,
thanks. now back to drinking lime juice and eating sour gummies. haven't done that for a few weeks now but no choice lor, my baby needs "extra protection" =P

ya, i like knitting club cos then i will make effort to knit at least once a week. if not, sure lazy one...then won't be able to finish anything. we can share patterns oso hor - more economical!

ya nowadays i oso no mood to go clubbing or pubbing even though smoke free. prefer to stay at home and zzzzzzz......

i put on combined 4kg altogether by 16wks. read in the jan08 thread that many of them put on only 2kg at 21wks. i'm just worried that the weight gain will accelerate in the 2nd / 3rd tri

Cheryl,
have to use left hand ah??? Dun use hand how to hold??? See if I have time to try tonight??? So amazing. My friends all very professional. They calculated the ovulation period.

Dorothy,
evening is fine for me. Let see how is the response, otherwise will be just the two of us. We can have dinner together if you want cos you might need a few hours for the basic and the start-off. I fine without too. Will decide that day. If you are ambitious and not too tire, it is better to complete one booty before you go back. Through my friend experience, she din manage to complete it from 10am til 4pm last sat. Hence we are metting this sat. Will see how things work. Dun worry too much. Guess my friend and I chat too much... Kekekeke...
ME??? Old liao!!! Last time can party till dawn and work the next day. Now cannot loh!!! Hv to sleep the whole day to recover.

Stephie,
I'm not sure if I'm fortunate or not. But I can say I stay near there loh!!! My parent stay there, so every weekend will visit them. I now stay at Tampines. I think I'm used to the distance liao!!! Most of my friends oso stay ard there. One adv of my situation is when I need to do something in the west, I'll stay west overnight. Hheeheee..
I can feel the tummy area bubbling ard leh... mayb my tummy too flabby... Hheheehehe...

belated happy birthday fairfield! wah 29 so young!! i can't even remembere when i was 29

dor: yup, still on bedrest.. getting used to it liao... still spotting a bit.

garfield, if gyne give you MC must rest leh...

so many posts!! must slowly read

cheryl
thanks for explaining. i tried again and used both Mar and Apr (cos i think my conception date is in btw). both results showed boy. let's see if it's accurate.

blueginger
Oic. my sil parents stay in tampines while she stays in jurong west. becos of the distance, she doesn't visit her parents so often. good that you do the visiting every week, your parents must be happy to see you

Clubbing
I think I'm the most sua ku. In my entire life only went pub/disco once or twice. keke :p

Cheryl,
Paiseh. I get wat you mean liao!! Only can use right hand lah! OKOK.. Will try tonight if I'm free. Hv to dig out my wedding ring? Can ask husband to hold it for me???

Garfield,
Too much lime juice is no good too. Not actcide.

happybee,
Welcome... I'll have my visit next week when I'm wk16. May I know what would I expect from the doctor during my visit. More pills and blood test? Anything more??

Stephie,
Have to. Otherwise, miss a lots of crap jokes in my family. And I can catch back all the foods I missed eating. MIL cooking different style, her cooking was as good leh! I can have both side of the world. YUM!!! YUM!! YUM!!! Esp now we are like queens. Just place order and it will be delivered to you. Heheeeh. I personally crave food more, and put blame on my baby. den my husband scold me and warned me not to do it cos baby will learn from me and husband will get 2 big headaches after baby is borned.

blueginger

haha. tat 1 i duno wor... hold it urself lah.. haha.

btw any short mtb here?? any 1 1.55m n below??
cos i heard short mtb will have problem giving birth naturally. argh. i duno hw true is it

blueginger, or u wan to try to count the no. of grain of rice? even = gal. odd = boy...

i tried that... i got odd!!!

kapo a bit. how old r u? i actually free from 12.30pm onwards... but will have to go home to "monitor" my gal on her studies... bu fan xin her with her daddy... the 2 of them together= not productive

i going to tampines central cc to take the knitting lesson... to pick up from basic technique...cos i wanted to pick up something other than just going to work n coaching my girl... sigh... i think i veri stress up.

blueginger

haha so the saying of short ppl will have problem giving birth naturally is not true huh.. unless bb is too big. my family history bb born quite big leh... haha

hi patsy,
good to hear that you are adapting to your bed rest. hope your spotting ends soon and your baby kuai kuai be safe and grow healthily. my baby also needs "extra protection" so can relate somewhat to how you feel.

i trying to take it easy in the office. somehow i feel worse at home, not sure if it's psychological or what - but i feel like i focus on my discomfort when alone lor =P then up feeling very shitty.

thanks blueginger,
didn't know that it's acidic. will try to go easy on the drinks. hopefully my nausea is manageable this time round.

oh, btw, the ring test you can get hubby to hold. impt thing is that the person holding the ring must have steady hands else not accurate leh

garfield and dorathy, thanks for your support! when i 'whined' to my mum about the stretch marks she actually chided me for being frivoulous... seems like nobody understands what im gg thru other than u babes here.

clubbing
i used to go pubbing/light drinks once a week with hb before preggy. now still want go but feel so sianz when i can't drink alcohol and i'll also start to feel tired around 10pm, which is the time when hb and i just enter the pub in the past. so we have't been since we found out im preggy.

hb still continues his pubbing with his friends...i feel so left out and sad.

like last night, i spent the entire evening doing household chores, applying stretch mark oil (+ rinse off),feeling blue about my horrid hair, stretch marks, weight gain, etc, etc. when hb came back from pubbing all night, the first comment he had was how smelly my clarins oil was...then he told me two young ladies tried to pick him up at the pub.

i felt really low.

i try to laugh/joke it off and even ask him if the girls are pretty, but in fact i feel really crappy inside. it's like here i am, looking crappy and not as mobile becos im having our bb, and now he is starting to xian2 qi4 me becos of this.

so sorry to be complaining about this not quite bb related stuff...but just feel so frustrated and sad.

piglettail.....sayang sayang.....don't feel down. your hubby oso lah, so insensitive *box box his ears* =P dun think he xian2 qi4 you lor, just being a bit too honest. you know men lah, always blurt things out without thinking one =P

if he cannot tahan the clarins oil maybe you bring him along to test out the other stretchmark creams lor, see which one smells nicer to him. then you have one less thing to feel depressed about. seriously, try the elancyl one - i find it very fragrant and no complaints from my hubby so far =P

piglettail**HUGZ***
maybe u wan to talk to him.... cos i think having a bb is a couple affair... it should not be the mtb's affair...he should help out in the household too....let him know how u feel abt the whole thing... also we (mtb) tends to be more emotional too.... it is good to talk thing out now before waiting for bb to be out...

piglettail

y ur hb like that?? instead of asking hw are u? he comment abt the smell and den tell u abt 2 girl tried to pick him up... so insensitive.

u shd let him knw abt this....

my hb oso very long nvr go clubbing with his frens. if my hb's fren ask him out, i will be happy to join. :p although i do get tired nowadays easily.. but i think my hb already over the stage of liking to club. haha

piglettail,
HUG! HUG! HUG!
Oh... So insensitive. Give your husband left right center. Hahahah... Tell him how you feel, dun bottled it in your heart. Not good for yourself and baby. YOu can also make yourself feel so much better by chatting with us, make a new hairstyle, Go for mani/pedicure. Pamper yourself lah. Life is not just into pregnancy now. Have so many things to do before the little one come into your life.

Needle or Wedding Ring
This an easy baby gender prediction method to try. Take a pin, needle, or wedding ring and attach it to a thread or strand of hair. Hold the dangling item over mom to be's belly while she is lying down. If the needle or wedding ring swings in a strong circular motion, you will be having a girl. If it moves in a to and fro motion like a pendulum, you will be having a boy.

An alternate version of this baby gender prediction method is to dangle the needle or wedding ring over the expectant mom's wrist instead of belly.

Hi ppl,

wah... miss working. Now that I work part time, I sleep late and wake up late.

Cheryl and Garfield9,
Don't worry about your weight gain. I should be the one worrying cos I have put on 9kg so far... sianz... not going to do anything about it till after birth. I remember my first one I only put on in total 12kg.... So sad. I can see stretch marks on my tummy liao. Slapping on all the oil I can get. Must go and get the clarins oil too!

Dorothy,
When exams come, stress level sure go up one. But I am looking forward to it so that I can be a really full time SAHMTB. Now I am still teaching at tuition centre till end of Oct. I was a full time teacher till July. he he he.

piglettail
don't feel sorry about pouring out your unhappiness here. we are all here to share our experiences, lend our support to each other in one way or another, not necessary must be related to bb stuff.
yes, do tell your hubby how you felt. by laughing off the matter may send him the wrong signal that he has done nothing wrong, especially men are typically insensitive. if my hubby were to say such thing to me, i will bu ke qi and tell him off straight away. hee...me bad wife :p

hi, i tried the url above. the prediction is boy... must wait till next tues doc appt to see if can see the gender.

Hee a bit out, cos i am the type never been to clubbing before.

For stretch mark, i apply the oil bought from an organic store at suntec.... forgot the name... I tried to use organic shampoo and shower gel heee, but very ex, maybe after this i will be too kiam siap to buy anymore.

sigh guys... insensitive.... i feel lack of confidence too, as my chin has terrible peeling and break out.... colleagues will go ayoh why like that. why you dont go detox, why you dont take medicine etc when they dont know i am expecting... stressful....

I would also give him a piece of mind also. I feel husband has to make some sarifices also, not only the mothers.

Moi dar, how many weeks are u? I am 17 weeks and have put on a total of about 6 to 7 kg scary. Eversince my "4kg gain in one mth" espisode, I have started writing down what i ate at every meal to keep track and remind myself not to eat rubbish.

Winnie
my chin was also peeling previously, then when i try to scrap off the skin, became red red. nothing much we can do except to apply moisturiser on the chin.