(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

btw have u all start to eat fish oil??? my gynae just ask me if i wanna buy... it is for bb brain development... so i buy loh

Cheryl, you can try this shop called Egg at vivo city. Its a new Zealand brand, newly opened, so the top suitable for ladies with larger tops! However the price quite steep, all $100 and above but I heard good quality.

Alternatively, can try all those maternity shop at Suntec, next to Toy R S. Quite a few shops there.

ooh cheryl,
wanted to ask u-- the trisomy 21 and 18, together with the neck measurement = OSCAR? cos i did the same tests as u, but gyne didnt call it OSCAR, just say test for DS, so want to find out.I thought OSCAR is testing for PAPP and beta-HCG. Is that same as the trisomy?

Those taking multi-vitamins, are there fish oil in them? If yes, how many mg per capsule?

I am taking Blackmores Pregnancy Breast-Feeding Gold and one capsule contains 500mg fish oil, each day I am taking 2 capsules, which means 1000mg fish oil.

hi everyone, me at work already....

bkkgal, feeling better?

patsy/garfield/babyhope, heehee... i saw some lights in the midst of my trouble!!!! RH agreed to appeal for me!!!! also my MP called me!!!! yes, MP for my GRC called me!!!! cos the night before we emailed to the"meet the ppl" session, n he called!!!! i was so surprised n excited cos all along i see my MP as someone who are there for phtotaking or ndp!!!

he had asked someone from MOH to follow up liao!!!! tho the end result is not clear yet... but i am happier with the outcome now!!!!!

good news dorothy!! so now have renewed faith in MP/PAP? *grin* we'll wait for your good news. are you feeling better?

i haven't started taking fish oil yet, but read it's good for baby's brain devpt. i'm only on obimin and folic acid right now. seeing dr. loh today, maybe he'll prescribe some for me.

today is such good weather for sleeping. wanna be like garfield *streeeeeeeeeetch and yaaaaaaaaawn*

garfield, ya man... now feeling a bit gulity for avoiding him at the market on national day....

hahaha, cos my grc almost taken by opposition.... so the mp in this grc got to work extra hard....

seeing dr loh? wow, i miss him leh....

im a first time MTB and am totally new and clueless..found this forum and will like to join and learn all about what to expect, etc, etc

am i in the correct 'thread'? the various topics and discussion threads are all quite confusing to me.

im 12wks preggie, EDD 15Feb 08

dorothy, come back to see dr. loh lor...=P is KKH nearer to yr new office in redhill??

ya he super nice, stressed also smile smile laugh laugh. and i like it that he involves my hubby. always say in chinese "lao gong lai...." =)

piglettail, welcome! Yeah you are on the right thread. I am also a 1st time mum and so lots to learn too. My EDD 12 Feb, I am 14 weeks pregnant. 15 and 12 Feb only 3 days different but why I 14 weeks and you 12 weeks??? I am puzzled!

HI piglettail, welcome!!!!

garfield, wow!!! u dr.loh's spokewoman????? i think my hubby will kill me if i change again.....btw, have u signed package with kkh?

welcome piglettail! many first time mummies here...i'm one too!

err JD....to add to the puzzle - my EDD20Feb, but doctor tell me i 14 weeks??

no lah, where got spokeswoman =P he really very nice mah. just waaaaay too busy. tried to change my appmt today and the next avail slot is 7 Sep!??!?! *can die*

haven't signed package yet leh, all these horror stories re KKH is freaking me out!!

Hi piglettail, welcome! Many of us are first time MTBs. I'm at 12 weeks 5 days, EDD 24 Feb.

Dorothy, so happy for you there's recourse! Our MPs shld work for us. If dun work to campaign for election, at least try to look into our probs.

I'm a "merlion" again today. All my nice Tom Yum goong lunch came out
so sad Don't know what's wrong. I was really looking forward to 2nd trim, everyone says the m/s will get better. Don't seem to be true for me.

bkkgal, take care leh... maybe u can to look at yr these 2 days food intake? cos my doc said that once morning sickness went off, it seldom comes back.... so take care hor....

thanks... at least i know today i am happier....

garfield, so u din go kkh today huh?

hi all!

still trying to figure out how to access my PM..will get there eventually.

the dr changes my EDD each time i visit, cos my ovulation wasn't regular so couldn't tell for sure. i guess the EDD in the range of 1-2weeks is fine for now? probably can have more accurate gauge when bb is bigger?

wondering if any of u MTBs know of preggie yoga classes i could check out?did some search and only found birth and beyond. tanglin mall/tanglin shopping centre areas are too out of the way for me as i prefer locations that are just minutes from the mrt.

dor great news!!!

aiya i got a scare this morning.. when i woke up there was this sticky feeling in my underwear.. when i went to wipe there was two small red spots and a brownish liquid.. immediately called up my gyne. asked me to go in for checkup, seems everything ok, nwo have to be on bed rest again for 1 week! just now when i went to pee got this skin like thing but no blood that came out.. scared again! i really pray God will be with me....

hi babes...

sorry still can't figure out how to access the PM (or how to use it at all). does it mean it's a email sent to me at my email account?

hi piglettail,

U try 2 click on "profile" right @ the top, then go 2 "preferences".

Unclick "Do not send me "Private Message" e-mails from other board users" if urs is being clicked.

hi all, so long din come in 2 "kay po kay po"..

hope every MTBs r doing fine..

like 2 ask if any1 wif Gleneagles?

hi dorothy, no lah...can't wait till 7Sep so went ahead to see dr.loh just now. today was a record - i waited TWO hours to see him man!!

do take care patsy...be good and stay in bed to rest, ok? don't worry too much. good thing you went to gynae immediately.

bkkgal, I know how you feel, I am in my 14 weeks still 'merlion' everyday. Lets us all hang in there. Its tough but for baby's sake, jia you!

Patsy, you must really bed rest. Can only get up to go toilet and eat. In fact if food can be brought to you in bed even better. Sound a bit 'kua zhang' right, but thats what two of my friends' gynae told them when they had some staining during their pregnancy. But stay positive and don't worry too much
Take Care!

patsy,
take good care of urself!

bkkgal,
i am so envious that u get to eat thai food everyday. i love thai!

piglettail,
welcome to the thread. i think u shd be abt 14 wks now lah. my edd is 4feb and i am nearing the start of wk 16 liao.

cheryl,
thanks for clarifying abt trisomy. i think trisomy 13 is some other chromosome defects.

hi fairfield,

hehe...i think i will ask my dr for the actual exact no. weeks im preggie the next time i visit him. i could have been confused..nowadays very bad memory.

do u MTBs have worse memory than before preggie? i find that i do, probably most of the time my mind is preoccupied with trying to deal with the MS. or rather, whole-day-sickness-syndrome for me.

Anyone can help??

Those taking Neurogain or Obimin, are there fish oil in them? If yes, how many mg per capsule?

I am taking Blackmores Pregnancy Breast-Feeding Gold and one capsule contains 500mg fish oil, each day I am taking 2 capsules, which means 1000mg fish oil. Do I need somemore fish oil?

wow triplets!?! my girl friend delivered triplets couple of months back. very tiring on the mummy, so mummy must take care!!

hi andrea, i'm reading off the neurogain bottle now. it has 500mg of fish oil and the breakdown is as follows:
250mg DHA
20mg EPA
18mg AA
30mg OA

doc asked me to take one capsule a day so my dosage only 500mg = )

I think it will be very tiring for the mummy! Recently I heard from my MIL that her friend's daughter or DIL is having triplets too!

ya very tiring physically, and also requires plenty of emotional strength.

my friend had to go on full bed rest from 4 mth onwards, then delivered in 7th month. all 3 precious had to be in ICU for a month. she transferred to KKH so the bill came up to 50K instead of 150K with a private hosp.

now, even with MIL help, she needs two maids cos at any one time, require two pple to tend to the babies (unless they sleeping)

and she is thinking of number 4 cos she has 3 boys and would like a daughter! i really admire her =)

hi ladies.. wow .. very active thread
i only get to post on weekend cos weekday work very hectic, and my office open concept so no cubicles to hide my computer screen one.

anyway saw the topic on ginseng in the earlier posts.. just to share.. my gynae was actually the one who told us best to avoid ginseng. he says bec some ginseng contains steroid. i asked a girl friend, she told me some of the eys where there is chinese physician may be able to tell you which kind of ginseng can eat, and which to avoid, but since my gynae told me dont take, to play safe, i just avoid lor. but yah i agree bird nest without pao sheng not so frangrant..

i realise all of you get your blood test result very fast leh.. i dont know whether it's blood test i did.. but when i was at gynae last sat, a nurse came and took 3 tubes of blood from me.. but no one call me with any results yet leh.. should i be concerned? and when i was at gynae last sat, during the ultra sound, i dont think he did any nt either leh.. is it bec it's still too early for me?

there are so many posts to read. has been very busy for the past week.

Down's Syndrome Test
I did mine on Monday. It's a torture to me. all because bb don't want to cooperate with me. doesn't want to lie down properly.
1st scan, bb sitting and keep nodding head. doc said probably my bladder not full enough. ask me to drink 3-4 cups of water and go back in 1/2 hr time.
2nd scan, bb was pushed down a little but still not lying properly. go back 15 mins for another scan.
3rd scan, bb lying at the wrong position. can only measure neck but not nose. doc ask me to pass urine and scan again if not got to do v-scan.
4th scan, still cannot measure nose. then i got to do v-scan!!
5th scan, is a v-scan. painful sia... and so paiseh.. then finally be able to measure the nose and can see bb's palm and finger some more.
it took me more than 2 hrs for the scan. so tiring... naughty bb now knows how to torture mummy already.

no one call me up about the blood test result. i suppose no news is good news.

Morning Sickness
i vomitted a few times this week and got gastric pain. that was really bad. merlion don't know associated to MS or my cough. doc prescribe me antacid. so far the gastric has not relapse. i am in my 13wk, thought that i shouldn't have MS as i was quite alright before 11wk.

Nutritients
apetite not too good but still can eat afraid that bb not enough nutritient. hence, i went to buy some multivit for pregnant women just now from nature's farm. 22.9 for 120 capsules (2month supply). don't know i should buy DHA as well. does anyone know that flaxseed oil can replace fish oil? i've still got some flaxseed oil at home for omega-3/6 etc.

did anyone went for the john little bb sale last weekend? wanted to go and buy the NUK starter kit but has been not feeling too well and end up didn't go. any good buy? how's the taka fair? good?

Just now bought a NUK electric steam steriliser for A$99 at a baby fair and they throw in quite abit of freebies. Anyone knows much is it selling in SG?

Saw some Snoopy milk bottle going at 1 for 1, very good deal but hubby said buy again next time!!

Any reviews on NUK products?

patsy, hahaha.... dun dun.... cos it's supposed to be bedrest n seat-rest.....

hi andrea, sorry cant comment much on nuk product asi have never used it before... last time, i used avent....

but seem not bad loh.... me not getting a steriliser... will use the boiling method....

i'm also thinking of getting a steam sterilizer, only so the maid won't have to stand in the kitchen watching over it and can do other stuff instead.. but my mum won't let me buy any baby stuff until i get to 6 months, so won't be able to get anything during the sales.. which is good coz i can't go out anyway

cheryl & xiaoyun, natal plus is the brand of fish oil my gynae pescribe to me too.. mine is pescribed so i buy direct from gynae clinic.. cost $40 for 1 box, which is 1 mth supply (30 tabs)

what a wet weekend!! perfect for zzzzz......=P

anyone went to the taka baby fair?

patsy, how are you feeling? me like you. hubby also doesn't want to buy until closer to end 2nd tri / early 3rd tri. that will be around year end christmas period so i think we can still catch good buys. now i need to do research and short list what i want haha....

Any1 planning to take a trip in 2nd trimester?
My EDD is 11 Feb 08 & planning to go Phuket in early Oct leh, by tt time I will be like 22 weeks already, MTBs, u all think it safe?