(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

oh gosh..
just throw up my tea break after coughing seriously.. when will my cough recovering?

btw, as most of us are reaching 2nd trimester already, any of you planning for a short trip?
what's your recommendation? I was thinking to go cruise.

I am thinking of going somewhere too. I have not gone for my honeymoon yet!

Cruise should be nice and u dun have to walk so much.

xiaoyun, i resort to cough syrup over the weekend too despite gynae not giving it to me. GP says its ok in small qty and its really helping. Perhaps u need to take more rest, I sleep a lot over the weekend.

For personal trip, perhaps not. No time cos need to go on biz trips once I am fit to travel. But cruise sounds really nice provided one dun get sea sick.

Tummy definitely getting big, today got colleagues ask me liao ( I haven told them yet) so guess I have to invest in more maternity clothes.

hi xiao yun,
yes i'm planning to travel during 2nd tri. my hubby owes me a trip to europe since our park tor days....he studied in london and promised to bring me to the places he used to go to. promise only, already 5 years until now big tummy!!! i told him i don't care i still want to go before i pop cos it won't be the same travelling with a small baby.

but it really depends on my condition lor. i already had one miscarriage, plus this time have threatened abortion, so doc may not allow flying.

in which case i think your idea of cruise is a good one!!

but wun the bella band make our tummies very hot? doesnt look very comfy leh.

yeah, i'm planning a trip for 2nd trimester too. can't wait!! btw, 2nd trimester effectively starts beginning of 14 weeks?

xiaoyun,
hope ur cough is getting better!!

i'm from the dec thread and saw your enquiry on the bella band. I have 2 and so far its working great, i can wear it with alot of my old clothes so its quite versatile.

in terms of whether its 'hot', well if you work in an air con office, it should be fine. unfortunately I dont so sometimes it does get slightly uncomfortable. ultimately, it still needs getting used to because we don't usually wear something extra around our tummies.

but I would still give it a thumbs up because its so useful! I'm already in my 19th week and still can wear alot of my old pants/skirts because of the bella band.

hope this info helps

hi fairfield, yes 2nd tri starts from 14weeks from LMP...i think many of us are counting down *hooray* my gynae advised me not to tell our parents until 2nd tri so it's still hush hush for us =P

hi all mummies with cough, do take care! for those who believe in TCM, may want to give that a try. my mum had a 1 month cough and saw western doc 4 times....finally it was still TCM that cured her.

thanks for your feedback on the bella band botanist!! i was prepared to cold storage all my pre preggie clothes already....now there's hope i can make them last a bit longer. i have a question though, some pple tell me to avoid having anything tight over the bum - is that true? if it's true does it mean we need to wear the bella band below our bum then? thanks again!!

The bella band isn't tight. of course you should try it before you buy, so you get the right size. Initially, I followed the sizing listed on the packaging, but after trying, I settled on one size bigger. After all, its made of lycra so its stretchy so dont buy one that's too tight!

Got mine at maternity exchange, the store assistant helped me to check and decide on the size. Very helpful

So, you wont need to wear them below your bum, just over yr tummy is good enough.

do u all sleep at ur left or right side?? i sleep face up everytime but later i will turn n sleep at my right side. how huh? cos slp at right side is better?

hi botanist, thanks! i will check it out at maternity exchange.

hi cheryl, i sleep on my left side and right side. can't sleep on either sides for too long leh...cramp =P

So happy 4 u all..will pray for urs and ur baby's great health

As for us,ur little one has gone on to God's side last Wed.I had some bleeding on Tues nite and called the clinic on Wed morn and was asked to go see the dr..little did we know it is the day we have to say bye to our little one.

Was told the little one is no longer in the sac and was told I have to go thru a D&C (a op to wash out) either on same day or we can wait for a while. But we decided we may as well do it on the actual day as it was already agonizing enuf..wat more to prolong the emotional pain and come back to the clinic again..

It was hard to accept as a week ago we were told baby has a weak heartbeat..it was already very worrying..n within a week,we have to deal with this..

It was very painful n it took me a full week before i have the courage to post this to share with u ladies..last week has been very tough.

Altho my frens were very supportive in praying,cooking nutritious stuff for me,but the grief in my heart is still there..

I keep telling myself to be strong but it still hurts.Hate it when others tell me "you are still young,you can always try again!" I knw others mean well when they say that,i so wanna tell them "yes i knw i m fertile,u dun need to tell me tat i can always get another baby!I m sad tat i have lost my little one and another baby will not make the grief go away!So stop saying tat!!!!"

My frens,my heart is still very painful but i have to put on a strong front as i dun wanna burden others around me in comforting me...

Some days i m oki..but others i can still feel the pain..like now..as i write..i cannot help but....

Pls do not let my story upset you but instead rejoice & believe in the fact that you have a healthy baby and will do great as a mummy ok?

second on the TCM on coughs too cos i myself had a very very bad cough earlier this year and yes, cough till i wanna vomit type. The western doc's cough mixtures that i was taking wasn't helping at all, so had to resort to TCM and after that, the bouts of cough jus disappeared and that was my very 1st time visit'g a TCM...

cheryl, i thk sleep g on the left side is recommended. but i wld agree sleep g on 1 side too long is uncomfortable, so i rotate both sides. Chk tis out http://www.babycenter.com/expert/pregnancy/pregnancysleep/7608.html

talk abt sleep, these days been hard to get a gd nite's sleep. Either wake up due to toilet visitation or tummy discomforts... anyone has tummy discomforts too?

PJ,

sorry to hear that but you must be strong ya.
Me exp two m/c last Jul and Apr this year.

Its really take time to heal the pain.
Do grief if you need to, Hugs... take care

PJ,

i am truly very sorry to hear of your plight and understand that u wld prefer some pple to shut up if they have nothing better to say, though well meaning to a certain extent but... ..

i really hope u do take good care of urself and pls do drop by whenever u wanna chat k?

Dear PJ, sorry to hear that....take care of yourself okay...important to have a small 'confinement' cos your body is still pretty weak, that's what i learn from one of my ex-colleague who also gone through the same thing...take care..

<font color="ff0000">heavenly

same i oso very long nvr have good nite slp liao... either wan to go pee, or wake up sneeze, or tummy discomfort

PJ
sorry to hear that. do take care...</font>

PJ,I am sorry to hear the news. I think you are very strong to deal with this already so stay strong and take good care of yourself.

Dear PJ,
So sorry to hear. The grief will take some time to heal....Meanwhile please take good care of yourself and your health. Our thoughts are with you.

PJ, I'm so sorry to hear that. Take your time and recover. Make sure you take care of your body, drink tonic soup and rest alot.

To the rest of the ladies, I have just moved to Bangkok to join my husband. I'll still drop in the forum as it's nice to have a community of MTBs to talk to. I'm looking for a gynae in BKK - wish me luck that I'll find someone I'm comfortable with, speaks good English and is pro-natural birth. Gynaes in Thailand tend to be pro c-section alot.

My visit to gynae was last week. Baby has grown from 4mm to 3 cm at 9.7 weeks. We cld see a 3D rendition of the baby and brain devt (left and right brain devt ok). Very moved to see the little fella and also very amazed that though I lost 2 kg in 4 weeks, this little thing continued to grow at breakneck speed. Thank God. EDD still 24 Feb 08; this our no. 1.

Take care everyone!

PJ,take care and be strong.

Ladies, have u been reading any pregnancy book? I am looking for a book called "what to expect when you are expecting". Any idea if it is sold locally? Thanks in advance.

hi cheryl,
i think sneezing should be ok. baby is supposed to be well insulated. are you sneezing due to cold or allergy? try inhaling some vicks vaporub or vapex.

hi apple,
i just bought that book at Times retail price is $21. have also seen it at MPH. it's supposed to be best selling pregnancy book so you should be able to get it quite easily. recently they launched an online version so you may want to check out that option too.

Btw, anyone starting to use anti stretch mark creams yet? Any recommendations?

I looked in the mirror just now and saw some on the back of my thighs....almost fainted.

oh no! i've not looked at the back of my thighs for a long long long time, everytime concentrate on the tummy area only. Must go hm and chk!

i've been using baby oil ever since i've got itch on my tummy to help moisturise the area. Haven't tried out the clarins oil yet though, but that's my intention, cross my fingers and hope it wks!

I checked out a few brands, and the prices range from $20+ (L'oreal, Palmer's) to $40+ (Elancyl) to $70+ (Clarins). i don't mind investing in a good one even if it's expensive. most important thing is that it must be effective lor.

But i think stretch mark cream must get better one cause it will be absorbed into your skin and if not good one it's bad for baby right?

Is there such a logic? i am not sure also.

cheryl, my visit on this thursday...anxious to see how much bb has grown

apple, i bought the book at kinokuniya...think most bookstores sell the book..i ever saw it at popular also...actually the library has some pregnancy books also...have been borrowing some quite informative ....the 'what you expect' book is more wordy...some of the library books have illustrations so more interesting heehee...

do u all still have constipation?? i realise i go toilet for big business everyday liao. den ms oso subside liao leh. abit scare leh. but last sat just see gynae only....

but i have bad flu. so i go see tcm, the doc say my pregnancy pulse still ard. so shd be ok?

Garfield,
going europe is no joke leh. flight is so long, and got to walk a lot too, you got to fight the jetlag too. better think twice about it.

now i can't even go shopping for more than 2 hrs.

PJ,
Be strong.

I am on MC today. Cough is very bad. I will heed Heavenly's advice to see chinese sinseh later. Gynae appointment suppose to be tomorrow evening, now bring it forward to this morning since i've got nothing to do. Hope the check up turns out fine.

Cheryl,

i don't have constipation too. Not much MS either.
should be not much problem.

I am wondering what's pregnancy pulse? is it possible to feel it by myself? if so, then will be good because no need to rely on gynae scan which only a few weeks later to ensure bb is fine :p

Hi Blurfairy, Xiaoyun,
Let us know how your checkup goes! So exciting = ) I have to wait until 17Aug...

Hi Cheryl,
Same here...my constipation also almost gone. MS also subside. I read that for us Feb08 MTBs, we are nearing 2nd tri and it is normal for the preggie symptoms to slowly disappear. So don't worry too much. But if you notice spotting and/or have cramps, then good to check with gynae for peace of mind.

Sigh...re my trip, ya i know it's going to be a challenge. Mine is an unusual case. I ROMed back in 2005, and back then hubby and i (plus our parents) all agreed not to have wedding dinner. Someway along the line, we got lazy and decided not to have tea ceremony also. So we said we'll just take wedding photos and try to take them overseas. That time so happy to be able to "siam" all the trouble, but sometimes I also regret not having worn a proper wedding gown.

Then I kept procrastinating and dilly dally, until now big tum tum and I haven't taken the photos yet!!! So I hope to at least be able to go to Europe before I pop. What to do....can only blame myself for postponing all the time.

When will morning sickness end?

I am currently in beginning of the 11th week, abt 10 weeks and 3 days.............still feeling nauseaous..........

Anyone has any idea when this feeling will go away??? People say beginning 12 to 14 weeks..........

Pls advise..........I hope it will go away soon!!!

i'm also having a bad flu. Yet to see doc.

hi Garfield9,

My next check up also on 17 Aug same as you. Which part of Europe ypu plan to go?

Hi Joan,
You poor thing...hang in there! What I've read is that most pple tend to feel better from Week12 onwards. Hope you feel better soon.

Hi Yen,
What a coincidence! What is your EDD? Mine is 20Feb08. I wanted to go London and Scotland for hiking - now with tum tum cannot lor, plus with the floods in London it's going to be quite yucky. Looking at Spain, Germany or Scandinavia now. 2nd tri is autumn in europe - nice and cool weather = )

just nw call gynae clinic. to cfm my nt test appt.. my nt test is at 10 aug. haha. i have a long weekend next week... blood test everything normal...

hi PJ, take care n have a good rest....

Cheryl, i got constipation still... now i am taking the iron supple....

GArfield, i currently using Palmer's cocoa butter stretch mark cream... my friend got for me in UK.. per tub..100ml only for $11...
i got 4 tubs!!!!
so far so good....

btw, i wan to let go 2 tubs at cost... let me know anyone interested. thanks

Normally i go everyday now cos my stomach always feels funny. If i din go for one day, my husband say the baby so ke lian, living in a "polluted environment" haha.

Not using any stretchmark cream currently. Unable to decide which one to use.

Garfield,

My EDD is 5 Feb08. Had my triple blood test done last saturday.

I went to Europe in Apr.
Autumn is nice but must be prepared for all the walking like what xiaoyun has mentioned.

hi dorothy,

I am interested as i am currently using Palmer's cocoa. I'm fr Jan08 MTB thread. So, u selling at S$11 bucks? Izit the same volume as per SIN selling 100ml per tube? How to collect & pay u on the spot okay?