(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

haha...primary school. i think we will all be pulling hairs by then!

hubby has already decided where to send the two girls. and it won't be a popular school *phew* so i escape having to jump thru hoops of fire hehe

bkkgal, luckily, you are still in. I saw your FB message but didn't realise it was the new school's school fees you were talking about.I also had to personally appeal to CC when they dropped me from the waiting list.

Why are you changing school for Kate from Pat's schoolhouse to SJCK though? Heard Pat is a very good school?

gar, r u going to eliaw's place to pick up the stuff? can pick up from me too? if not, I may just donate everything to my usual charity but I know they won't appreciate used bb clothes cos they probably can't sell at their thrift shop n will throw away instead. Hoping to clear the things by next week cos going on holiday after that. Let me know ya?

And which pri school r u sending Arielle n Jane too? Are u or your hubby an alumni member so no need to volunteer?

Lezy, what is your bp about?

bkkgal.. luckily can still appeal.. actually i think they are quite particular abt it but i noe ur hb can work his charms lah.. haha.... was it difficult to appeal? U mean they really drop kate out?

I almost forgot abt the sch uniform.. i dunno when.. c how lah.. not urgent..still got time.. :p

Gar..let me guess... is the sch a mixed school? starting with T?

Pauline.. PV= Parent volunteer lor... haha.. my pri sch is too far away ( dun need to volunteer one).. and my hubby school collapsed liao.. so if i really want to go to the sch nearest my in laws.. must do PV, provided they even choose me.. haha.. E sch nearest to my hse must also do PV.. provided they want me too....

Pauline,
Ok can I am headed for the airport this sunday mng I make a detour to come your place?

Re school I am old girl of maha bodhi but not keen on location. Hubby eying Kong Hwa just 2 bus stops away from my place. Some years no need to ballot within one km, Ithink.

Genice,
Hehe no lah, that one must do funny things to get in one. And I dont really fancy the attitude of the teachers and culture there. Have friends whose kids are there and both parent and kid are so super stressed. Takes the joy out of schooling away

Garfield
Will go donate the items required at scape park too. I was abt to give away used school bags. Used to hv a big bag of mac toys. Think donated away some time ago. Shall recce for more stuff which i believe is lying somewhere in my house. Tks for sharing the link.

Hi Genice

haha, work his charms he did!! he said it's better than any million dollar deal he clinched. I think he secretly enjoys it.

Wanna go buy uniform together? I'm thinking of going 28-30 Dec cos next week will be away. We can intro the girls and let them explore the school grounds together?

Pauline
We had already registered for SJCK long time ago. Pat's, to us, is a childcare option. Never really intended to let her go through Pat's all the way. Pat's is good but if you let them go from 3 - 6 years old, they may find it hard to go to primary school. I heard feedback from other parents that the child is not able to get used to our rigid pri school system after experiencing pat's liberal curriculum.

gar, sounds great, Sunday morning is good for us.
but err... how many bags of stuff can your car take? dun want to get overzealous n overpack, u going to put luggage in your car as well since u r going to the airport? :p

Bkkgal, I see. how many hours is sjck? similar hours to cc? I wish I have a kindergarten that offers at least 3 hours class near me but no, they only offer 2 hrs prog for kids that r 3 yrs old. :p

you know hor, i am seriously thinking.

our education system is so harsh, probably one of the harshest in the world. and yet, Singaporeans end up as 2nd class citizens in our own home country. sorry, should be 3rd class.

for those in private sector MNCs, you will know what i mean. in spite of everything, foreign talent is ranked #1. heck, we have the highest percentage of foregin talent earning US$250K (30%). even higher than hong kong.

so, i am wondering if i should subject my kids to this horrible system, which does not appear to place them in a better position.

one of the senior leaders in my company(singaporean) shared that he spent 10 years in greater china to build his career before coming back. cos he shared that the environment in SG is not conducive for singaporeans sadly. his advice was that the next generation of singaporeans will have to leave home to have a better future. cos sadly, back home, they will be discriminated against.

what a wonderful govt we have.

Pauline,
SJCK is 3 hours, similar to cc. Only diff is they follow the normal school holidays, i.e. Mar, Jun, Sep, Dec. During these times, will need to look for programs to keep her engaged.

Gar,
Meritocracy worked for our generation but the stratification of our society has started and will be setting in for our kids. Yes, we have headlines proudly proclaiming that 1/3 of good psle results come from children from poorer families as positive demonstration of meritocracy. You look at the landscape, it's already not a level playing field.

We have 2 choices.

1) Make enough $$ to send kids to international school in Spore.
2) Migrate or choose to work overseas during their school going years (for the latter option, we may not get the kind of "expat package" that foreign talent likes your coy's get. most likely can only get local package and again, have to think how and where to send kids to.)

Tough.

Bkkgal, oic, the only one that has 3 hr prog near my place is some phonics prog but it doesn't go all the way to k2. :p most ftwm mummies i know put no. 1 in full day cc cos not enough hands to cope with 2 tots in the day. :p

gar, oic, breakfast again? oh ya, did u sign up for the free yamaha trial class in the end?

pauline,
ya, i'm very boring when it comes to meeting places haha...

no i didn't sign up for the trial in the end cos already maxed out budget for A due to the renewal of another term of art class. when the term ends, then will let her try out yamaha or some other music class.

share your experience and feedback ok?

btw, i have one free gym trial for this sat, 930am at jwt gym (east gate opp parkway).

for age group 11 to 18months

anyone interested?

Pauline,

everyone in my house objected to putting K in fulltime cc, despite our maid woes. mil simply copes with 2 girls in the afternoons by herself, sometimes with help with fil. she herself objected to fullday cc as well. if she agreed, i would have considered full day cc for K but since everyone is against, putting her SJCK is about the same as halfday cc (without the halfday cc price tag), so SJCK it is then.

when it comes to SM's turn, if by then my home situation is stabilised, i may keep her home until she is 3 yo and can join her sis in SJCK. If still unstable, then she will go to halfday cc from 2yo.

eliaw,

For the old folks, it's this whole pity issue - pity her for going to school whole day, pity no lunch (or bad food or no one to feed her), what if she cannot nap etc etc.

For hb, it was because of the whole spate of HFMD cases this year that made him wary of half day cc. This is because none of K's classmates were on full day. If we put her in half day, she would be mixed with another class, which means she will be exposed to a whole new set of viruses and bacteria. If she falls sick from full day cc, baby will catch it and we will have more work on our hands. --This argument I could work with. But not the above pity pity argument.

bkkgal, i see. Agree with you, think the pity part can be sorted out. Because they are older, if they get lesser sleep and lesser food at school, they will be 'smart' enough to compensate when they come home. Eat more dinner and sleep earlier at night. But yes, the falling sick part is the one that will be most inconvenient for us, plus the kid/baby suffers too.

Gar, hehe, I just packed 3 huge bags of towels, woven bags and toys and I already can't fit the bags into the storeroom. Haven't even started on the children clothes yet. Don't know how to hide them from RaeAnne. Faint!... :p

hello world!
I am back to work since last week.
wa.. super busy. morning rush rush rush, evening rush rush rush. furthermore hb got to attend class in the evening 3x a week.
really need a lot of support from everyone in the family.

tubao,
i attached the funnel/flange of breastpump and together with the bottle to collect the milk while feeding.
you can also try to use the breastshell to collect the milk when not feeding. but i don't think it's good because milk shoudn't be left in room temperature over long hours. hence, i normally throw away the milk that collected using breastshell.
dun worry about the leaking. the breast will reduce in leaking over time. mine already stop leaking after 2 months. (for #1's time, it stops leaking after 6 months). Now i've got too much breastpads. I thought I will leak a lot like last time and stock up too much. :p

it's already very tiring during the pregnancy for twins, that's why they would like you to rest more. if you do not do the night feeding, the maids will do? Make sure you eat more as you are feeding 2 (babies) +1 (E). Rest as much as possible. Hope the milk flow will increase when you have enough food and rest.

re: donation
pauline,
how come you can have so many towels and bags to donate? i look up down left right also cannot find any of that kind is extra.

re: primary school
garfield,
mmm.. 'do funny things to get in' for the mixed school starts with 'T'.
wonder what it is...
looking at big C, am afraid that she will be very stressed cos she's not those genius kind. but what to do, got to do PV if want to let her go other schools..

re: CC
bkk,
i laugh at your 'pity pity argument' about sending them to full day CC.
when big C started her CC, grandpa also keep scolding us for sending her fullday. saying she's 'allergy' to school.. etc.
looking at her social and language development now, everyone agree that it's better to let her go school rather than R&R at home. Most importantly, it's so much easier to take care of 1 baby than 1 baby+1 toddler. :p

year ends coming, they have the 'Year End Concert' thing. didn't realise got to pay so much for their performing costumes and the next is paying for the tickets for the concert then VCD/photos for the concert. Was arguing with the principal about custom make the 2 sets of costumes just for a few minutes fame on the stage.
how much you all spending for the 'Year End Concert'?

XY,
haha...yes it is that school that beings with "T".

my A is very "ang mo" in learning style. her best friends in CC are ang mos. she will be the type that challenges the teacher, and not sit there kuai kuai and listen / obey the teachers. i foresee many phone calls from school in future. hence, i am seriously contemplating pulling her out of the SG schooling system.

year end concert,
i had to pay $30 for the costume. will probably have to top up for the VCD or photos lor

xy, cos we bought a lot of thick aussino towels when getting married but those took so long to dry out. we dun wash towels everyday. then my mum also gave me old towels that she didn't want. then when we go on holiday, I buy cute face towels from pasar malam. plus free towels from hubby's school n my ex company, end up A LOT. lol.

gar, i already have 5 big bags of stuff, think we will drop by n deposit the charity stuff myself cos raeanne is at mil house after school so it's the best opp I have to donate the things behind her back. her idea of donating (after I spun many sob stories) is to ask mummy to buy new toys (which she likes) from toy r us to donate ie cannot donate her things. can die man...

Gar, just donated my stuff at simei care centre n scape youth park. No need to come by my place on Sunday. thanks. bins r full so we have to drop them inside national youth council. please take note ya?

i've been too tired to post anything recently.. baby A loves to wake up for milk at night and morning till early afternoon can go without milk. wah piang.

gar
IMHO - the grass is always greener on the other side. our system is pretty stressful, but there are worse too. and wherever you migrate to, you'll always be 2nd class citizen there too.

i think influx of foreigners is inevitable, as much as i also hate expats who come work in MNCs, take up top positions creating barriers for locals, and basically screw the locals because they're just here for a few years and looking out for their next posting. anyway, most major cities like London, NY, etc, all have a LOT of foreigners, so i think that's the way that SG is going or has to go in order to move to the next level.

i've lived in the UK and HK, and for HK my parents purposely took the risk and opted for a posting so that we could go to the american school. it was a great eye opener, but at the end of the day my family and friends are here and i love it here.

bkk
sometimes older folk have funny ideas hor? my MIL was against putting my nephew in CC at all, even half day, when he was younger and obviously getting restless and v difficult to handle, because she said he couldn't talk yet so the teachers won't understand what he wants. okaaaaaaaay.

pauline,
hihi, thanks for the heads up! will take note!

lezy,
i posted liao! probably will get something.

iso,
hehe...i wasn't thinking of migrating. what i meant is to explore other education options apart from the singapore way
cos going thru it is so stressful and yet does not make them necessarily "better"

<font color="0000ff">garfield,
i want to pay you $..
how much are the vitamins?</font>

lezy,
aiyah.. i just bought my mascara..

eliaw,
v interesting event! unfortunately already have some plan
can i msg you if let's say i decided to pop by since i'll be in the west area? are you planning to stay after lunch?

re: shows during holidays,

mummies whose kids like Thomas, there is a Thomas show starting this weekend at Millenia Walk... every weekend at 1 and 7pm. Therea re some weekday shows as well at 7pm but specific days...

for other shows you can go to this link :
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/meetgreet-sessions-and-holiday-shows-malls-2010-year-end

tubao/clover,
belated congratulations !! i forgot to post this previously... reckon your newborns are keeping you busy, hope they add more flavors in your family and off course more happiness ;-)

hi mummies, thank you all for the well wishes. my no.2 is a drinker n wants to drink n drink. almost back to my pre preg weight lor, but i always said i need lose more.

initially my no 1 was totally not interested in di di and being v jealous, he will do things to get our attention. he also regressed to doing baby things. now these few days his behaviour is better. i just wish he will take his afternoon nap.

Hi bkk,

sometimes our old folks just don't get it.. No choice..

For me, the advantages of sending cc outweighs staying at home despite falling sick n HFMD. As C is the only child at home, going to cc is v impt to me for his social n emotional development. Falling sick n HFMD is inevitable. Besides it's also possible to catch virus anywhere we go. Recently C's cc had a voluntary closure due to a K1 kid passing the virus to everyone during his b'dae party. So these few of them all brought the virus to school n everywhere they went! But when there's a case of hfmd, I choose to keep c at home instead.

Re: local schools
I'm from that T school leh.. Hahhaaha.. Anyway I also agree that our local system is harsh but we as parents can choose the schools which are not so rigid n have good teachers. I heard KH is not bad. I know 1 parent sending her son there. Will find out more in due course. Btw, our Govt also recongises that the system has flaws n are also slowly changing. So most important, get them in the right primary school.

Eliaw,
Ya I agree with you. That's why hb prefers KH cos it's less of a pressure cooker. As iso says, home is here so it's a tough call to really uproot temporarily.

Yesterday was super pissed by some American in my coy. His pay is not only much higher than mine, he has a freaking 10k rental allowance! That's why I made that post

Gar
You mean like international school here? 10k housing allowance, I'd be pissed off too! Sometimes I think with their perks, and some even get their kids international school fees paid, we could hire a few locals who can all get the job done and better too!

Tute
Thanks!! I might bring E to check it out.. Will also try and go to Sesame Street!

Xy, I remember you said you got the Rainbow cleaner right? well, i've joined your club, sort of.

Delphine came for demo tonight and my hubby was so impressed after he cleaned our queen size mattress and suck out all the dirt that he decided to buy it. But we got the cheaper, silver series and over 3 year installment plan lar so each month only need to pay $80. This time, I'm the one who tell him even though the machine is good but no need to buy lar cos I'm not working mah. But he thinks the old vaccuum cleaner cannot make it liao cos it emits smelly air plus we need something to clean mattress (RaeAnne peed on our bed again today. The other day, she puked all over her own mattress
).

The salesguy who came down was also very nice and patient, not pushy at all so that also helped cos my hubby doesn't like hard sell too. So, if anyone wants Delphine referral, look for me ya. For a free home demo to clean 1 mattress or 1 sofa, you can get a free small pot that can be used to cook porridge for kids. If I get enough referrals, can get 3 stainless steel pots so I also gain lar. hehe.

lezy,
what happen to your BP? disappear?

eliaw,
so which primary school you are sending C to?
T or KH?

garfield,
my colleague (local) expat to overseas, also good allowance and kids send to international school.
but then, sending them to international school means got to prepare huge amount of $ for their overseas tertiary tuition fee.

pauline,
wow.. you bought the Delphine.
My Rainbow is a cheapskate one - refurbished set and that cost me $800 only.
I also got the Delphine small pot and the person came for demo is super hard sell and gave me black face when find out i've got Rainbow.

XY,
hee. paiseh to say - moderators removed it. I dunno why it didn't occur to me I cannot 'advertise' in discussion threads. It's my mistake that I never really pay notice to such rules.

Anyway, new Bp coming up soon. It's a blessing in disguise cuz just had some new discussions with my supplier and well, the 'break' from the Bp gave me time to sort out some administrative procedures.
The coming one tomorrow will be a confirmed one.

EH..I JUST NOTICED!!! I seem to have missed out A LOT of posts here! (Normally i read it in my emails instead of here....) I must have accidentally deleted it somehow and didn't read/notice them.

Pauline,
It's for I NUOVI Cosmetics. Some basic products for sale like foundation, loose powder, 2-way cake, lipsticks, lip gloss, cheek colour, eyebrow pencil.

eliaw,
was the 'big draw' fun? I can only imagine my Ruth going there to destroy everything in her path. :p (ok lah..she's not so bad but well, sometimes kids get a little overexcited, they tend to get carried away...)

XY,
ya....that's why i must work hard hard now!

lezy,
so no need MOQ? cool...i am looking to replenish my 2 way foundation. you bringing any in?

Got MOQ..but i decided to change approach. Only gonna offer a fixed range of products because suppliers will not be relenting on the MOQ so no point for me to stress over extra items that WON'T meet the MOQ at all.

Yes yes...i'm bringing in the FACEFIX. Has SPF and good coverage. (I wanna get it myself.)

Only catch, it's a refill - means u have to have a compact case to put in.

bkk
wow thanks for the site, v informative! the hubby will like it cos he really prefers term insurance. and the SAF insurance looks good!

kitsune
this fri i can't make it in the morning because we have art class. i wanted to move it to afternoon but they won't let me anymore cos we've missed and made up too many classes. sorry!

lezy
any BB cream? i remember I Nuovi used to be all the rage when we were younger.

xy, oic, my sales guy is not hard sell n very patient. he has a 5 year old gal himself. if not, I will also be very 反感。
in fact, he said he will personally come to my house to train the maid n us this thurs instead of calling the regular trainers cos I ask him to teach the maid how to clean ceiling fan n how to use the free steamer (hopefully can remove urine stains).

lezy, oic, I bought some make up 6 months ago for family photoshoot n they have only been used once. :p

Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 4:12 pm:       
Iso, oh shucks, no choice then. hope to meet up next time.

anyone else keen to join this fri?

Polliwogs, 1020 East Coast Parkway
3 Dec 10 (Fri), 1030am
http://www.thepolliwogs.com/
Admission price:
$16 per kid 2 and above for weekdays (unlimited play)
50% off for kids below 2.
* Value play package - $110 for 7 kids (unlimited play)
* POSB everyday card holders can present their welcome pack promotion coupon for 1-for-1 free play.
* PARENTS DON'T NEED TO PAY. SOCKS REQUIRED FOR KIDS AND ADULTS.
1) kitsune
2) Bx

qingling, hehe I also intend to let Raeanne 'ponten' school if it's this fri. Or is there any day that the kids have no school? Raeanne won't be going to school on 13-14 dec cos she is starting new school on 15 dec, so that's another option, anyone else keen on 13 or 14 dec?

kitsune
13-14 i also can't cos i'm away, haha.. hubby and i going to korea on ski trip, woohoo!

genice
how much and how often is K drinking? A still drinks quite little, about 120mls every 3 hours. my sis said PD advised her to put my niece on 4 hourly at 5 months...