(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

thanks for the payment!

XY,
no worries, i oso forgot myself until i was doing some housekeeping of my files.

Tute,
hee...no lah...if efficient no need to stay up late late liao
i think A picks up these phrases either from TV or her friends in school. she surprises me constantly!

3 Dec,
Would love to join. See if I can take leave to bring A.

Recent gathering,
What impressed me was how our kids managed to have fun with completely no props / toys. it was just literally one huge carpeted area with some bars. but they used their imagination (overhead A being the imaginary school bus driver and K being the passenger for example) which is just so very wonderful

Bx, noted.

Polliwogs, 1020 East Coast Parkway
3 Dec 10 (Fri), 1030am
http://www.thepolliwogs.com/
Admission price:
$16 per kid 2 and above for weekdays (unlimited play)
50% off for kids below 2.
* Value play package - $110 for 7 kids (unlimited play)
* POSB everyday card holders can present their welcome pack promotion coupon for 1-for-1 free play.
* PARENTS DON'T NEED TO PAY. SOCKS REQUIRED FOR KIDS AND ADULTS.
1) kitsune
2) Bx
3) Isobellies

Hi garfield,
Payment made
To Account POSB Savings
032-73860-5 Garfield
Amount S$15.91
Transaction Reference 3287495209

re: Polliwogs on 3 Dec
Can't join in.. have fun!!

hi mummies - how to detect mastistis ah? i am running a fever since friday, and one side of the boobs is sore (with blocked ducts)..very painful
,but prior to that i had gastric flu, so i tot the fever from gastric flu,never inform doc about the sore breast.

Qingling, sounds like mastitis. If there is fever, shivering, body aching and painful boob (hard to touch and painful when you try to squeeze that area). Aiyoh, bring back my painful memories.

LC not open on Sunday unless you call for home visit. Better try and massage in 'hot' shower and 'open' the blocked duct. Squeeze the painful part and see which duct is blocked ie. milk coming out of that duct will a bit tranparent like fore milk not hind milk like the rest cos the milk flow is not good. Try and massage to get that duct unblocked. After that, try to latch Hayden directly or pump.

Depending on where is the painful part then alternate the nursing position so that the baby's chin is point at the part. Eg. if the painful part is on the left side, at 4 o clock, then use football hold. If the painful part is left side but at 8 o clock, then use cradle hold to latch.

Good luck & jia you!

Pauline - tks.. i tink got a golfball size lump liao..sian..now keep pumping..hayden also latching but like not much use . i think its mastitis cos the milk supply dipped to minimum and with golf ball size lumps (ouch). i tried massaging but no milk come out..sian..i tink by morning if still like that will try to call for home visit..

never tried football hold b4...hmmm....

ql,
ouch. i think it's mastitis. everytime i kenna blocked ducts, little A's latching is the only remedy. better get the LC to come before it gets more blocked.

sigh... little A is coughing again. dunno y he's so weak despite he's on total BM for 6 months. arghh... no motivation to continue pumping.

qingling, aiyo, golfball size lumps, peifu u ah, endure the pain for so long. got to massage first n get the milk coming out of the blocked ducts if not u pump or latch also no use. Better see LC then.

Bx, raelynn also always down with cough or cold. I think it is not that Ashton is weak but because they r exposed to more virus brought back by no. 1. No. 1 has developed immunity after going to school for so long but no. 2 has not. :p if we never bf, maybe they will be more sick or sick longer bah.

pauline,
thanks for the encouraging words.
check with u. if i took panadol for my cold and fever, for how long must i pump and discard my bm? i took the medication at about 8pm last night. at abt 11.30pm, i pumped and threw. however, i just latched A at 6.30am today. wonder if the medicine has already been flushed out.

hi mummies.. sorry to disturb

i have 2 tin of 1.8kg Gain IQ to let go at $52 (NTUC selling $62) and 1 tin of 900g Gain IQ to let go at $28 (NTUC selling at $32.95). All expiry is Oct 2011

letting go as my boy has changed to pediasure

collection will be at buangkok mrt.. pls pm me if u r interested.

bx, bf is not easy, we must encourage each other.
panadol is safe for breastfeeding. no need to throw away bm leh. last time right after delivery, i also take a lot of painkillers. :p the yellow cold tablet is safe for breastfeeding cos I asked dr before. even some antibiotics like augmenting is safe. is that what u r taking? i think f u n Ashton r both down with same virus, it is ok for some 'safe' med to be passed to him via bm.

pauline,
but then i took the panadol for flu tablet. was worried that it will be too strong. anyway, I stopped taking le coz i am better now. i'm not taking antibiotics.

was about to start Ashton on FM this week then he fell sick. sigh... pd advised to hold back on introducing FM for now.

Bx- me also on panadol( white ones) n flu med allersin, doc mentioned its safe for bf still,

My blocked ducts seems be better but still some blocked, now like on the road to recover duno still need to see LC or not. Yesterday they not available for home visit..

Me also feel like stopping bf liao, taking too much toil on me. But i like it tjat i can eat as much n wun get fat.. Haha

ql,
i wanna reduce pumping. not totally stopping yet. coz wanna clear the frozen BM before i call it quits. but needs intro A FM coz i'm going hongkong in 2 weeks' time and worried that A doesn't want entirely frozen BM. also scared middle of the night mil gotta wake up to warm milk, etc... excuses for me to slack... haha... but then for me, bf doesn't help to maintain weight
coz i eat a lot, somehow didn't burn off the calories. so now heavier than when A was 2-3 months. also now staying with mil and got helper, everyday return home and eat a lot for dinner. sometimes mil cook like feast. coz she wanna cook her bao bei son's fav foods.

pauline,
i din realise it has caffeine! anyway i also drink kopi. i #1 kopi addict. told myself to stop, but felt miserable and deprive. haha.. whenever walk past stalls like ya kun, toast box, etc... the coffee aroma make me buay tahan.

kitsune
ya i think some meds have an anti-drowsy effect! not sure if it's caffine but i know must be careful with what you take, in case you want to nap but can't! heh.

btw for polliwogs, does that mean that my #2 not even 6 months yet also must pay 50% of the price? E has art class on 3rd morning but I'm trying to change it to afternoon class. will know by this friday whether can or not

Bx, yup, it has 65mg of caffeine but I don't know how many cups of coffee is that equivalent to. ;P It's funny when I was working and didn't have kids, I had to avoid coffee or take diluted coffee cos I'll have gastric pain after drinking it. Starbucks or coffeebean those type of strong coffee confirm cannot take.

But now, I get so little sleep so coffee is one of the little luxuries that I cannot do without. If I have a bad day with the kids, I MUST have coffee. keke. But heng heng, no gastric even the brewed coffee. So strange. :p

Iso, I think so. I've heard that peekaboo is free for kids below 11 months old. But most people said it's very small and got very rowdy kids (not suitable for younger tots) so I think no point to go.

Eliaw, thanks for the referral. They called me today but must wait for a day that hubby is free to attend the sales talk. Now still school term for him and I'm flying to Taipei in early Dec after Raelynn's birthday so a bit difficult to coordinate. :p

Eliaw.. yes.. e lady called me too.
Now their offer has changed.. haha no more free stays but still good offer. Thanks k. BTW i am down these 2 weeks.. i mean physically down w virus infection so cant collect stuffs from you, when i recover will meet up w u k. Paiseh still owe u $$.

Genice, yup, no more free stay. I checked online for the Mai Khao resort in Phuket. It's 1 hour drive to Patong or Phuket town. Seems like it is very out of the way so got to be prepared to pay through the nose for food and forget about shopping. Sigh, don't know whether they are available for peak season eg. weekends/school hols also. Haha.

i also checked.. haha.. very far away so still thinking how to settle food.. wouldnt want to be dining at the restaurants for 3 days leh.. will go broke.. The lady suggested that i can cook there cause kitchen provided..but dun thik they have good super mkt ard there..

Prob.. day 1 stay there, checked in and rest, day 2 go patong, phuket down whole day , grocery shop and day 3/4, stay in.. cook.. . Actually i already booked my flight liao.. will be travelling to phuket for 4 days 3 n and then to bkk for 3 days 2n , party of 6 inclusive 2 kids.. But i am travelling in aug.. hehe.. not peak season lah since i am not teaching already.. die die also refuse to travel in peak season now.. :p.. unless i go back teaching then bo pian.

Genice, Wa, u r fast. yesterday, the lady just called, u booked your flight Liao. which airline r u flying? party of six? so nice! no one wants to travel with us cos we have 2 kids ESP my mil n mum. :p aug is my birthday month too, hope to travel but cannot unless got long weekend.

I dream of the day my hubby becomes a full time tutor then we no need to travel during super peak. but then once the kids attend pri 1, also must travel super peak. :p

oh ya, been meaning to ask u, when u were an insurance agent, did u get maternity leave and childcare subsidy?

Pauline.. no lah.. i already booked in early nov.. travelling by budget air.. haha.. save $$. We treating our in laws for this trip so have to manage the expenses since only single income now and yet still wanna go travelling n still wanna treat pp.. haha. But they deserve a treat lah for helping us with the kids and we need them just in case we need to sneak away for massage or stuffs :p n i can prob go shopping with my mil at bkk... guess always gd to have extra 2 pairs of hands when we go out.

ML??
Haha.. u wanna have #3 har after u become property agent? No ML one lah.. but u can claim 4 mths of ML from government for #3 but u have to declare ur income based on the previous yr NOA. As for child care subsidy, its actually quite easy to get one.. as long as u fulfill 56 hrs per mth.

Full time tutor
I think ur hubby stay on will be better since he already SEO scale liao.. wasted if give up.. I am so looking forward to my hb finishing his MBA and then perhaps can change job ( pay rise) then i can stay at hm for longer but tough lah... i think i might pick up some adjunct teaching next yr for 3 days ( My plan is 2 work 3 days a week..then can spend 2 full days with K plus cook and weekends with family...) if only everything works out..*dream...*

bkkgal
wanted to ask u.. so is kate still going sjck?

Hi, Xiao yun

Got to ask you how you solve one breast leaking problem last time. My right breast leaked milk, and its yield is half of left one.
But at E's time, Right one produced 2X left one. Don't know whether leaking cause yield problem. Thanks.

Hi Genice,

Yes, she's going to SJCK. I have to "induct" her into the idea. Probably in December will bring her jalan jalan the school, see the kids, get her excited abt it. Right now, she is really enjoying Pat's and all her friends are staying on in Pats. I think she'll be sad if I switch her without warning.
Is G gg to be her classmate?

Genice, haha, oic must be based on last year's income. I want to know all my options before I join. plus now nov, so tempting to have rabbit Leo baby like me. but hubby said NO. :p

that's nice, very difficult to plan my holiday in advance cos hubby worry about courses during school holidays. sigh.

aiyah, my hubby doesn't want to be P leh. in fact he doesn't even want to be hod cos English hod got to be in charge of other subjects eg literature so very siong. so, he work all the way until retire also no use cos he will be stuck at salary ceiling. :p

bkk.. i dunno.. when will we be informed of the classes? The last time i was informed was only to pay the sch fees..thereafter no news.. hope i din miss out anything. Gwen also very used to sch now.. so i dunno how to pluck her out too.. actually i do feel a bit upset for her that she has to go to a new env.. i am sure she will miss the sch and her frens..

pauline.. wah.. rabbit bb will be like now lor have to plan..vrey rush.. haha.. i think ur hb wants a break..
3 kids can be more headache.. i will like to have #3 after i shift hse/ K turns 3 yrs.. haha...c how things goes lah... if my 2 kids are angels.... then i will consider..

Being a P is not easy. i think ur hb just want a simple life bah.. actually i would very much want to be simple, just earn $$, stay happ and go home after work.. haha

ya lor, I also thought 2 years age gap is too close, but tempted again cos RL is walking n even getting toilet trained as in will poo n pee sometimes when we put her on potty. she is so fast compared to RA. Kekeke, dreaming lar.

oh ya, my hubby said young ex teachers may not be offered adjunct. dun know how true is that. :p

izzit?? Hope not true.. :p so far all my frens who left were offered when they joined but recently MOE seems to be a bit particular... nvm lah.. i am not dying to go back.. will wish to delay as long as possible.. i think if i can give 3 more tut, i can earn half my last drawn pay.. then i dun need to go back already.. Will stay as tutor for a while.. even better..then i cna do my PV too..

tubao,
how much milk right side leaked?
you pumped both sides and found out right yields 0.5 of left? did you take into account of the leaked milk?

i have a record that one side leaked 100ml and i dun even manage to pump out any milk after that.
good for it to leak than blocked ducts. :p

do you have enough for the 2 girls?

Genice, what's PV? Anyway, I think it's better to be a full time tutor cos no marking, no setting of exams, no paper work, no school/college day/open house and no meetings.
The only bad thing to me is that tutors tend to work on weekdays evenings and weekends (PRIME family time), no CONNECT plan & no medical benefits but you can earn more as tutor if hardworking. And the benefits of civil servant sucks anyway. If you see Gp, can only claim $10. Which GP charges $10 nowadays, you are lucky if your bill is less than $25. Even if you see a specialist at govt hospital, no subsidy unless you go through A&E, be a subsidised patient & don't choose your doctor. :p

Hi genice n kitsune,

no problem about the referrals. Hope u all enjoy yr stay. Let me know how it is cos I've never been there before..

Anyone else interested for the Mariott offer do let me know. Cos if I have 3 more referrals, I can also get some freebies..

Hiya mummies,

I am embarking A on an annual "donate a toy" campaign.

Reason being she has waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too many toys that she does not cherish most of them. So I want to encourage her to identify one or two toys every year, to give away to charity (i will screen to make sure they are in good condition

Any mummies want to join me?

Hiya mummies,

I am embarking A on an annual "donate a toy" campaign.

Reason being she has waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too many toys that she does not cherish most of them. So I want to encourage her to identify one or two toys every year, to give away to charity (i will screen to make sure they are in good condition

Any mummies want to join me?

Genice
Just realized after reading yr post that we haven't paid the school fees!! We were overseas when we got the notice and we immediately emailed to ask for extension but no reply. I think we missed following up it.

I think the admin at sjck is quite jialat. A few times already we had to chase. If we forget, they also won't rem.

Dunno whether still got placement or not...sigh

gar, I also want to donate raeanne's toys but she doesn't allow me to. got to do it sneaking behind her back. where r u donating to?

xiao yun,

How you collect leaking milk all the time?

I noticed my breast pad at one side is soaked with milk every 3 hour.

I don't have enough milk for 2 girls; this time my hubby and mum don't support me on breastfeeding as last time. My mum opposed pumping after latch-on; my hubby nagged me not to wake up for feed at night. They felt that I have lost enough nutrition at pregnancy, need to recover as good as possible.

But my older daughter still sick often, how can I ren xin not to breastfeed? Now I gave 40ml EBM to E; hopefully her immune system is better.

Hi Garfield,
Keen!! I'll go pack some toys, blankets n sweaters.. I was gonna check out make a wish foundation, but I will go for this then..

Pauline.. true.. teacher's benefits are not very good.. haha.. if only they still retain the previous medical benefits scheme.. when i was doing pt work recently, i met with many retiress ( former Principals and teachers) and they told me they have a "gold" card.. haha.. they can retain their CSC card after retire and FLASH them and "ah Gong" will pcik up the tab.. super good.. they say esp now they are older, down with gout, osteoporosis and blah blah.. their "gold" card esp usefyul.. haha..

I actually like teaching in school compared to tuition because of the people factor.. like to have colleagues ard to chit chat and gossip too.. makes me feel more human and more in touch with the world.. haha. Hopefully, if wanna do adunct.. still can..

Gar..
Ur post came at a right time, i have some clothes and toys to clear.. so how to go abt doing it?

Bkkgal
How ? did u call them to check? I almost forgot to pay up too until they sent an email notice again.. i mean who will remember right since their last notice was at the orientation period. I have to go down last min to pay up...Their admin quite stucked up.. hope things will be better when they are official students there..

eliaw, genice,
ok great! we can pool our stuff together. genice, you will be meeting eliaw to collect the spree stuff right? can pass to her, cos we live nearby i can pop by her place to pick up.

Genice, ya lor, now only issue bronze card. :p yes I understand. I also miss the social interaction of colleagues.

gar, i just read the wishlist. aiyoh, I just threw away so many macdonalds toys, guilty cos some of them r like spiderman n soccer toys which RA is not interested in. :p i got towels n clothes etc. dun know whether r they looking for small face towels or big bath towels? too bad, they dun want bouncer or else I can donate raelynn's since she outgrow Liao. :p but how r u collecting? n by when? cos I need to clear the stuff asap, my storeroom is a hazardous place to walk into. :p

gar.. these 2 weeks not conveninent for me cause i am down with infectious virus cant go out. If u all finiah collating just go ahead and donate it away first. I realise their collection pt is at scape park, pk lah.. not very far frm my place, perhaps i just drop by after i recover and put all the things there. Actually i am quite excited that all those baby clothes/ toys will go to these kids that can appreciate them better than us.. wanted to give away some baby clothes but i din maintain them properly so got some faint milk stains , throw away wasted so very happy that its going to the needy.. Now i noe where to donate all baby's stuffs..

Sorry ladies, not joining u all for the toy/clothes donation.

Most of Ruth's old clothes mostly given away. Toys as well - to friends and etc.

Also, got a vietnam lady married my mum's next door neighbour (who isn't very well off). She is very lonely and doesn't know anybody. EDD in Feb and haven't bought a single thing - her hubby has a bit of weird history so doesn't talk to anybody.

We're giving away our things to her - hope it'll help her.

Genice...get well soon! Horrible to be sick!

3-Dec gathering, I'm afraid will be rather busy at work to take leave - cuz going for holiday the following week (just malaysia) plus gonna be running a BP soon so will have to give it a miss.

(Plus I'm damn lazy to bring her to Polliwogs - everytime go i sit outside and my hubby will accompany her. PLUS...we just forfeited 3 sessions cuz my hubby greedy and bought a "package" but could not finish using it. So sian.)

genice,
oic...no prob! you take care ya? no la, not kaypo. if the items will be better appreciated by other needy kids, the more the merrier

i went to myanmar for a charity mission before. every day take a 2 hour ride from yangon into the rural areas. really eye opener - to see all the stilt houses in knee high level mud. the children there mostly in tattered clothing. give them one lollipop and their faces will break out into darlie like smiles. it's really very heartwarming, yet sad. that's why i make it a point to donate to needy kids overseas every year.

lezy,
good that you know someone to pass the things to. i have tried asking around nobody wants / needs my stuf haha....

your BP finally up! i wanna get stuff!

Genice,

Hi, yes we are still in. Hb had to go down personally and appeal. Yeah, they very atas hor? Sometimes almost feel "abused" by them. But I guess popular schools are like that. Next time wanna go to good primary school, must "shou4 qi4" lor.

lezy,

finally! make sure you post the link here yeah? We will support!

Gar,
I will drop off my stuff at Scape Park myself since I'm not far.