(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

gar,
i think all childcare centres have their own syllabus. for elfa, they cover topics like transport, fruits, animals to name a few every month/term. Now they are learning facial expressions.

they have a communication book where teachers and parents can write down questions or announcemnts. their pass motion calendar is also attached inside.

gym lesson once per week by external trainer. cost $40 per term.

celebrate major events like Racial Harmony Day, National Day, etc. Parental involvement like making latterns.

Form teachers do call to follow up when A is absent from sch. they wanna make sure it is not hfmd.

they played important role in the success of A being toilet trained.

they have the healthy food award.

on the whole, it is like any other cc. but i like it coz the place is clean, brightly lit with vibrant colours, good curriculum, suffucient activities, enthusiastic teacher and most impt, A is well-settled there.

Bx
Thanks for sharing. How much do you pay for her CC?

The school I send A to just converted to Elfa so wanted to get some feedback. Apparently no change with teachers and curriculum so I am a bit puzzled.

Pauline,
Read your blog post on Oct 17. Very touched. Can empathise with your feelings cos I feel very much the same. Made me reflect on what I say to A...

Fairfield, she drives me up the wall sometimes cos she is so clever to talk/argue. But next second, wants me to sayang n hug her especially after I scold her for being naughty. Typical woman, haha.

Blueginger, thanks, LSH is good but too far to walk n not convenient to take bus. On rainy mornings, very jialat. Yup prices more exp than Elfa by almost $100 for half day.

Bx, thanks for sharing. Elfa is also good on chinese curriculum which is a major bonus for me. Will be sending raeanne to elfa in jan, start with half day prog.

Gar, thanks, it's really difficult to be a loving mummy when it comes to discipline. :p

pauline,
jia you! we are all trying our best. awareness is the first step, so you can be mindful of how you manage the situation.

actually the previous night before i read your post, i had a similar feeling. i was lying in bed next to A, and I felt that I have "shortchanged" her. cos i was not actively engaged with her from 16th-24th mths (i was conceiving J then and so so tired everyday) that my memory of that period is a blur. and after that from her 25th till now, have been less patient with her due to mei mei. felt very sad and resolved to be more loving and patient.

so when i read your post i really felt very very strongly.

gar/pauline,

me also feel the same way... in fact just last night i felt so bad and guilty towards C because he was acting up during dinner and i had to rush to get into a 3 hr marathon call.. these days i feel that i take him for granted and i will easily flared up... partly due to stress at work.. like last night, i was rushing and he insist that i feed him etc etc.. in the end, C fusses and refuse dinner and me had to lock myself in a room to work...
after i'm done with work, he walk out of the bedroom and asked me "Mama, can you smile?". These days if i get angry, he will usually approach me after a while and asked me this... followed by a "Mama, are you still angry?" question...

Gar,
I pay 520 after subsidy.

Pauline,
A still can't still speak mandarin despite their good Chinese curriculum. She always score low in her Chinese progress report which she brings home every fortnight.

Gar, me too, I also 'wasn't there' when she was learning to talk. It's like suddenly, she is talking so much and saying things that I never taught her. Feel so guilty. That's why if I ever have a no. 3, think must have bigger age gap to spend more time with Raelynn esp during toilet training, talking etc. :p

Bx, RaeAnne speaks a lot of Mandarin cos we use both languages at home plus ILs speak to her in Mandarin. But her '咬字不清'. LOL.

kitsune/gar
i also read the same post! it was a v interesting read, and a good reminder for all of us who struggle at times. it's nice that we have each other's blogs to learn and share from!

I've had quite a tough morning this morning. Lots of crying from E because he's v stubborn and so very sticky to me. I really need to find a way to be more patient with him because I guess he just wants attention, but I find if I speak to him nicely, even if it's firmly, he won't listen. Only if i raise my voice then he'll pay attention.

Other times he just amazes me at how much he's grown and how fast he learns things. Being a mummy is tough hor :p

I find that tempers tend to flare when we are rushing for time to go somewhere or to do something.

I find that when I have the luxury of time, I don't mind (as much) if A doodles a little longer, plays with her food a bit more, changing her mind for the umpteenth time re which pair of shoes to wear. My patience seems to correlate with whether I need to get her to do something by A certain time.

As a result, I have cut back on many social engagements especially if they are too close to nap times, bed times, meal times. Which means almost all time!! Cos the need to be punctual drives everyone nuts and creates too much tension it's just not worth it.

So Hubby and I are now anti social.... End up rejecting most engagements.

Gar
at least you have engagements to reject, these days I'm actually a bit bored cos like nothing to do! lol.

I think a long time ago you posted about us always rushing everywhere, I think it makes sense for us to give more time allowance to not rush them. And for those instances where they are really taking their own sweet time, I'll leave the house before him and before long he'll hurry himself along because he doesn't want to be left behind

ha.. i think i am the one that taking my own sweet time to get ready in order to go out.
big C is the one that waiting at the door telling me: "mummy, go xxx already!!" :p

there's one thing that i want to complain about big C is her mealtime behavior. it's so hard to feed her a bowl of rice/noodle. and she's mostly eating rice/mee kosong as she has been rejecting all kinds of vege and meat (except baked bean and pork floss).

re: potty training during sleeping
how do you all train?
or wait for them to stay dry automatically?

hurrying
haha..ya i also nowadays just think late late la. what's the big deal? I have bigger issues (tantrums!) to put up with if i were to hurry!

taking their own sweet time
Ruth can be very rebel - even knowing we're leaving the house/wherever and she refuses to 'comply' by changing clothes or putting things away.

So far I've resorted to 2 things which work.

1. "I'm going off. You can stay here and play with iPod ok?"

99% of the time, she will hurriedly put down whatever she's doing and yell "WAIT ME!" and come to us.

But i say what I say in a very nice and mattter-of-fact tone, not scolding.

2. Not returning, but helping to put.

"Return to mummy."
"NO."
"Mummy has to go work. Give mummy the phone."
"NO."
(I can understand. she wants to play with it and hasn't had enough fun.)
"ok, then you help put into mummy's bag."
(she puts it into my bag and happily goes off.)

*rolls eyes*

I was trying to figure that one out. I think 'returning to mummy' involves a change in ownership, her having to give up something - which is 'painful' to her.

but putting it into my bag is an action she owns and she controls, so it's more acceptable?

TUTE:
Actually the way u describe it, C just wants your attention ah? Still can ask you to smile. Very endearing leh...

I totally agree that tempers flare when I am pressed for time. Most morning is a battle for me to get her off her bed, get her to brush her teeth and get her to chang into uniform, and for her to allow me to go off earlier than her. So I am usually late by 30 mins for work now everyday!

I can spend like 15 to 20 mins talking nicely to her to get her get things done but she simply refused and I am running late. Thats when my temper really flew. There are a few times I beat her on her hands etc and things got worse with her crying and vomitting. Some days, really have to be a clown to get her to cooperate as I find that sometimes if i use the hard approach on her, she will *rebel* more. Usually after scolding/beating, I will feel really guilty and *sayang her*. So I am trying hard to control my temper.

However these days, if its her daddy, he only needs to give her angry look/ignore her or he whip out cane (for show), she will cry sadly and later automatically go over to him and say sorry to him and tell him she don't want him to be angry in the midst of tears! But she never say that to me automatically. so sad.

Tute, iso, apple, lezy, gar, looks like we r all facing the same issues on dawdling kids. sometimes, I told RA u r so
slow, I am not waiting for u then wear my shoes n go. usually she'll rum to me n say 'I coming, I coming'. but once, we really left her behind cos she was throwing tantrum n refused to finish her food. :p

xy, u r so lucky with Carrie wanting to go out but yes feeding sounds like a nightmare. :p

pauline,
ya, we all facing the same! i did try to gain some insight as to what goes on in our toddlers' minds. found this article quite useful.

"Children are keenly in tune with curiosity. When something captures their eye, they submerse themselves in wonder .They “tune into” fascinations so deeply, that it’s easy to “tune out” what is going on around them. No one dives so deeply into learning as children. Such focus is to be envied, even when it does slow family
routines."

http://www.mysmallwonders.com/resources/pdf/DAWDL01PELibrary.pdf

Oh! I'm also facing the same issue with my boy. I just started reading a book, just the first few pages only n the author wrote that a child's pace is naturally different from ours. I think same as every mom here, have you caught yourself wondering what you need to do after your child is done with the task on hand? I do n it's bcoz I need to be accomplish my own tasks to feel in control of my life. Then one more thing, the author also wrote that we must have caused our parent the same wrath but we have forgotten. Haha.

Let's Ganbatte!!

Gar, yup, I always tell my friends or family that if I go out with the kids, I can only come in the morning at 10am and must leave by 12+ or come at 3+pm and leave at 5+pm. They find me a spoilsport lor and complain not enough time, like that might as well don't come out. Hiaz...

I guess our kids are at the age where they have their own mind.. wanting to do things or hoping to do things their way. Testing our limits at times especially when time is tight.

re: Post natal massage
Like to find out if any of you mummies tried the Origins Jamu Postnatal Massage (http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Jamu-Postnatal-Massage.html)? If so, which masseur is good? Read the reviews seems quite good but not sure which masseur to choose.

re: Gathering

Sat (AM)
1. Pauline
2. xiaoyun
3. Iso
4. Jass1408

Sat (PM)
1. Garfield
2. tute
3. Eliaw
4. Pauline (after 4pm)
5. xiaoyun
6. genice
7. Bluegin
8. Iso

Sun (AM)
1. tute
2. Eliaw
3. xiaoyun
4. Bluegin
5. Jass1408

Sun (PM)
1. Garfield
2. genice
3. Bluegin
4. Thankful

XY
i think can just wait for them to be dry automatically. every night i have to fight with E because he doesn't want to wear diapers to sleep anymore. but i don't want the hassle of having to change sheets and to have him sleep in my bed if his is wet! last few nights he'll wake up in early morning and insist on taking them out and i'll get him to pee. sometime for naps i just put a thick blanket under his bum so if he pees the bed won't get it.

kitsune
a few times i actually have left the house without him, but i tell ILs before hand that I'll wait a while downstairs. that usually teaches him a lesson. for a while!

Iso, hehe, good for you, at least you got your ILs to help. For us, if we go out without her, then must leave the maid behind and bring the baby out unless RL is sleeping cos difficult for the maid to cope with two. :p

lezy,
at this particular instance yeah he was looking for my attention since i had to work... but at other times, i think he doesn't like to see us frowning so he always asked us to smile when we get angry... maybe because we are not the type of people who scold... if i get angry i usually just stay quiet and give him "the face"... that's when he will asked me this, on the other hand if i just flared and scold him... he will cry :p

Hi, mummies

Hope to join your gathering, if it's after Nov.

Xiao yun,
I can join Yakult factory visit in Jan.

Garfield,
Abrakadoodle looks fun, I may ask my husband bring E for trial. Thanks for sharing.

E likes dancing, though husband and I feels that she dances like 伍佰。

Her fine motor skills is a bit weak, just starts to color and draw.

Lezy,
Your descriptions of tackling with Ruth is very fun and interesting. Haha……

Hope you don't schedule during 4th to 7th Nov as I'll be on course full day. Else my time is flexible. It has been ages since I last saw all of you. I believe all our princes and princesses have already grown up already. Talking and being to be a little bit naughty here and there. Haha... Can't wait to see what is V reaction to see all her peers.

lezy,
i find that i do use your technique to get big C get going too.
it works wonder.

pauline,
hai.. she saw gouqizhi and carrot in her porridge last night.
told me: 'i dun want red porridge.' and refused to open her mouth liao. >.<
really dun know what's in her mind..

iso,
thanks for the advise.

xy:
Haha unlike your big C, my boy loves wolfberries. Thats the way we get him to eat ya. Really dont understand why my hubby and I love food and he simply hates to eat.

pauline,
C basically eats nothing... she only likes biscuits, ice cream and sweets. all my efforts in the first year down the drain when she starts to get the taste of sweet things.

she doesn't get hungry. just talked to her teacher in CC, she has very poor appetite too.
take forever to finish a bowl of food (with teacher feeding) during lunch. tea time will just stare at the bread...

and problem is she doesn't shows interest in food when she gets home even though she doesn't had much of tea time..

now she even refuses the milk before sleep.
dun know what happen to her. hai....

xy:
Mine too. How huh? Sometimes he is not even interested in junk food. Fainted. We resort to have all this food blended coz he is more willing to drink then eat. Sigh... So I try to feed him those all in one FM once a day. Another 2 more milk feed throughout the day. Sigh...

XY, oic, hmm. Time to buy si shen fen and mix into her meals? She used to like macaroni and other stuff you cook too right? Now with Cammie, difficult for you to cook interesting food for her also.

RaeAnne likes fried macaroni, fried rice, hot dog bun, cakes, ma lai gao, bai tang gao etc but if she does get tired of all this and western food usually after the weekend. Then will guai guai eat porridge/rice. :p

jass,
me too.. exploring the best recipe to blend vege into smoothie for her.
so far she rejects the smoothie even i use the power blender.

pauline,
she used to eat lots of vege and other thing else. but now super picky.

she funny tonight. ate the mee tai bak cooked with miso salmon belly soup, and ate lots of tofu and mushroom.
i am so happy...
:D

Jass/xy,
Same here... C will eat rice and soup only, I have to cut his meat and veggie till very fine. I have been reading though that one of the way to increase food interest is to go grocery shopping and show them how the vege looks like. Today suddenly when i'm eating dinner I showed him that I'm eating carrot. He looked interested so I told him it is carrot, he was willing to try and liked it! After that he tried baby corn as well... Not sure if it is a one time thing or not but I will continue to introduce vegetables to him... See how it goes. I suspect for c he prefers crunchy veggie as well... Hence the carrot and corn went down well with him but cannot guarantee other veggie he will like.

XY, kekeke, maybe she knows we are talking bad about her so she decided to 改过自新。Or maybe she likes to eat more savoury/tasty stuff. I have been giving RaeAnne table food since last year when she doesn't want to eat porridge cos no point asking the maid to cook separate portions. But our home cooking is less oil, less salt and no MSG lar.

eating
apart from grocery shopping, how about involving them in cooking? when my hubby cooks he will get E to help, and sometimes he will even watch cooking shows with us! my nephew on the other hand, has no interest in cooking whatsoever, and hardly any interest in eating either. unless it's McD's. haha.

holiday programmes
any mummies planning anything? the Julia Gabriel one looks interesting. since there is school holidays i think i'll bring E for some activities, since my ILs can still look after baby A!

iso.. i was thiking of bringing Gwen also but i cheapo.. will only go if can gather 4 pp.. haha so can qualify for 20% disc.
At least there's 2 of us now.. haha.. anyone keen?

Genice, parents got to accompany for JG programmes right? Think the Zoo &amp; Sun/Surf one for 2.5-4 years old won't suit RaeAnne cos she doesn't like sand. :p

jeannie
not cheapo, just smart cos if can save $ why not right?

crystal is also interested! so that makes 3 of us liao. she said she will check if we need to sign up for the same course/week, maybe just sign up together can, and can do different course if we want.

kitsune
i was thinking of the carnival rescue one. cos those with field trip, i can bring them myself right?? some more we recently went to the sentosa butterfly park. heh.

So when is our gathering.. My dates are gradually being filled up for nov n dec .. All e weddings plus Xmas parties plus parents birthdays.. Anniversaries aiyoh.. I can c a hole in my pocket .

Eliaw, where r u staying? Cod k.

Gathering,

Sat (AM)
1. Pauline
2. xiaoyun
3. Iso
4. tubao (Dec)

Sat (PM)
1. Garfield
2. tute
3. Eliaw
4. Pauline (after 4pm)
5. xiaoyun
6. genice
7. Bluegin
8. Iso
9. tubao (Dec)

Sun (AM)
1. tute
2. Eliaw
3. xiaoyun
4. Bluegin
5. tubao (Dec)

Sun (PM)
1. Garfield
2. genice
3. Bluegin
4. Thankful
5.tubao (Dec).

Eliaw,
PM you already.

Genice,
i stay in mountbatten area.

November for me still ok. But come December I Bo Eng liao! How about hari raya haji?

MIA for long time. Been 6 wks since my delivery of my bb gal and life have been chaotic. Whole entire family took turns to fall sick.First,the confinement lady, then hubs, son, mil and myself. thank goodness bb gal didn't catch it cos made everyone who was sick to stay away. Worst was for L where he had full blown flu and fever of 40 degrees for 2 days on and off. so worrying and damn pissed with the whole situation. L is now ok but i notice that he seems to be sensitive to cold temperatures recently. he wld sniffle or have a runny nose/block nose but later will be ok. Anyone come across such situation?

And L is not taking his bb sis all too well. He has been having nightmares, shouting and bawling over minor things, wetting his bed, insisting he needs to be carried/hugged etc when i feed/carry bb and if not attended to, his tantrums will be very teary and loud, almost as if he is try g to release all the pent up feelings. Have tried to engage him in help g me wid bb sis, he wld do so only according to his mood. Driving me crazy!!! what else can i do to make him feel less "dethroned"????

Leila, poor thing, it's been a hard time. for me, I let the maid handle the baby except when I need to bf. maybe u can do the same by asking mil to be more hands on with the baby? cos in the beginning, the baby doesn't know the difference who takes care of her but Leonard does. is he attending school? I allowed raeanne to come into the room when I bf until baby got older n more easily distracted then I started sending her out of the room. maybe u can try?