(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Bx,

I hv a schedule 4 my current maid,mostly she follows but certain tasks she "choose 2 ignore". i remind her again & again till i scold her damn jia lat.

Big A is @ CC rite, small A ur MIL cant cope? maybe age catchin up, not much energy. I'm gg 2 change another maid. Told hb the 3rd 1 will be the LAST 1. If cannot make it, i wan 2 do without these maids, rather than 2 get myself angry. and worst, still got 2 pay them $$ 2 mk me angry.

Tong/Ester.. its confirmed! We are meeting at 130 pm at the coffee club at taka level 3, u can sms me/ bx or Ql. I will pm u all my no.

Ester bringing C so she can play with S!

Bx.. u really getting a maid har, is it because ofthe cleaning up that u have to do?? Cause i think even if MIL stay with u to help out with feeding and cooking, still need to clean up hor?

I think a helper will be good cause sometimes i am so worn out esp when both of us are returning hm after a day out, each one of us have to carry 1 kid and all the barang. But i dun think i can "afford" a maid now.. till i am stable w my current job bah. In e future #1 and #2 will be at my in laws place, at least i dun need to clean ur their place cause afterall still their hm.

Iso.. yar.. feel damn guilty for ignoring plus scolding #1. To be honest, i must say that G has been pretty sweet which really surprises me cause i never think that tots at this young age can be caring ( since she always behaves so spoilt be #2 comes). But now, when #2 is at homei mean the 3 of us, she seems to undersatnd that i have to deal with #2's needs first before dealing with hers, most of the times she will just watch tv and entertain herself or talk/console didi if he is crying. But when i am done with didi, i try to make sure that i give 100% to her, carry and hig like she is still a baby.

Just to share:
Sometimes when i wear diapers for G at night, it feels so weird cause she seems like such a big ger ( with her long limbs and bigger backside compared to didi) but yet she is just 2 .5 yrs, still so young..

With a smaller kid, i tend to forget that #1 is still young and perhaps have raised my expectations of her too much.

re: maid
Esther, u have soft copy of the schedule? can share?

not that MIL can't cope. but i see her work until so tired feel very bad.

for now, i am fully look after small A coz i bf. sometimes when i go out, she help me take care for awhile.

morning she wake up to prepare big A for CC. not easy as big A run ard and throw tantrums.

after big A goes cc, she will wash clothes and keep clothes.

cook lunch

afternoon quite free. but she will fold the clothes, prepare the ingredients for dinner. mayb tidy up the hse abit as big A created a havoc by throwing thing ard.

cook dinner. big A comes home. feed big A....

she sleeps with big A and she still wakes up a few times at night.

once i start work, she needs to take care of both!!

i think i will just get a maid for 2 years until these 2 kids are slighly bigger.

genice,
yup, i can imagine how worn out u r coz u do not have help. i think at the end of the day, i rather be poorer. i think i want to spend more quality time with the kids. and yes, she cooks and the hse is messy after they shifted in. not that i'm blaming them. but it's inevitable. plus old ppl eyesight not as good. they are not aware when they drop things like food crumbs, etc. for me, a dirty hse really adds stress to me. i have always wanted my hse to be clean but sigh...

O.. yar.. bx.. forgot that u have to work eventually.. yar in that case probably need a helper. I think i am still quite lucky in the sense that both my in laws are not working and my FIL quite hands on can cook , can do hh chores and can even bathe my #1 so they cans manage with 2 kids at their place. But we also feel bad lah so show more appreciation by bringing them out/ go for dinners and stuffs.

i think if my in laws move in with me also got prob.. i noticed #1 will be more difficult to manage with more pp ard. In fact, i find it easier to get her to prepare and go to sch and even have dinner when i am alone. Thank goodness, she only take 10 mins to change and get ready to go sch.. that helps a lot.As for my laundry, we only wash every 2-3 day, just dunp into washing machine and i hang dry when i at home or hubby will help... I think all my clothes /bb clothes/ hubby clothes all spoil after all the washing and spin dry. we totally bo chup laio..
b
Eventually, if i stay with my in laws in a bigger hse, will prob get a helper to do the HH work and let my in laws spend more time with the kids.

Yar.. i cannot tahan my hse with crumbs plus ants crawling ard.. buay tahan...

tong/ester.. cannot pm, my no is 91693265.. think QL/Bx posted their no.s above.

I abit scared of pushing pram to take mrt tmr.. haha.. wish me luck.. :p

genice
pushing pram to take mrt is not scary at all. i did that few times when i was on maternity leave. definitely much easier than taking bus, and much cheaper than taking cab.

enjoy your tai tai session tomorrow

Re: Italy
Any mummies been to Italy on F&E? Is the place really very very unsafe? I know places like Paris, Italy have got lots of pickpockets. Just not sure how prevalent. With kids around, lagi become their target?

Genice,

I noted ur hp no liao.

Mine is 90483010.

Genice/Bx,

Can understand hw u gals r feeling abt tiredness after long day of work, go home still gotta handle 2 kids. Reali not easy.

I hv the luxury 2 stay wif my dad and my cousin. So at most times, they help alot when i'm busy. Really appreciate them. Hb aso help. But then hor, feel "useless" cos I'm SAHM! yet i still need so many pple 2 help out including maid! Probably becos Cayenne is clingy to me so most times i handle her alone.

Bx/Genice,

If staying wif inlaws, i tink better 2 get a maid 2 help out cos our parents/inlaws are old liao. even they are so willing 2 help out, they do feel burnt out. Even myself cant tahan! As long as the kids are up, I'll be bz wif them, be it playing, preparing food/bathing etc...

Bx,

I hv emailed u the housework schedule. Very simple one.

genice,
my FIL totally hands-off. can't cook, do hsehold chores, feed #1 or #2, let alone bathe them. MIL is all on her own. he sometimes just sit there and watch even when there is chaos going on. he is still working lah, so i guess he is tired from work.

meet up
sorry mummies, i can't make it tmm
hubby not working till afternoon and we have a few pple coming to the house to repair/fix things tomorrow.

maids
we've also decided to get a maid...
i know some mummies had a list of questions to ask during telephone interview, can i trouble you to give me an idea of what to ask? think i might call one up tomorrow.

bx
sounds a bit like my FIL. i call him the armchair parent - he will threaten the boys from the sofa, and call MIL to come and scold them, and usu MIL is busy cooking or something, if i were her i would have scolded him to do it himself, lol.

genice
i know what u mean! sometimes i look at E and i think he is SO BIG, even his face looks big. everything looks big compared to #2 hor! and i think u r right, we also expect a lot more from them, becuase we are busy with #2. sigh!

Bx I no longer have a schedule for house chores cos only when both Bb n raeanne r sleeping then the maid can do house chores. But of course she needs to cook lunch n dinner, look after the kids on weekdays n every fri need to do laundry, then vacuum n mop the floor n wash toilet on sat.

hi mommies
long time no talk...been really busy going back to work and all...and it is really TIRING after a long day to come home and deal with 2 kids, housework, clean up, night feeds etc. I really salute those who can do it without a maid. But I must say that mentally, going to work is much less challenging than staying home with 2 kids. I'm not cut out to be SAHM maybe that's why I felt that gg to work seems easier, overall just easier to deal with issues, colleagues, probs than to try and pacify #1, #2...

I think a maid is useful just to tidy up the odds and ends. Mom/MIL do help out and the schedule is roughly what BX said but with a maid, they could take a short nap with #1 if #2 sleeping or they could watch some tv in the evening when both #1+2 are in bed. Whereas when we didn't have a maid, me and hb's time is spent on laundry - washing, taking in, ironing, packing, cleaning kitchen after cooking, and MIL/mom see us tired after a day's work will also try to "fight" with us to do which makes us feel VERY VERY BAD. I may have had a long day but I think they had an even longer day with the 2 children.

ISo/Genice
I also sometimes forget that K is only 2.5 yo. We tend to treat them as if they are indept..the fact is they still need cuddling and loving from us.

"notti kids"
After the initial phase of bb coming into family, K became better and easier to manage. Less whiney (wah i really can't tahan whineyness!!! can drive me nuts!!) and less clingy. Probably because she realised that we still love her and still pay much attention to her. But nowadays, her new "trait" is defiance nowadays...tell her to say sorry she will be stubborn, refuse to say. Very subtle type of actions which makes it hard for us to take punitive action - if we punish, then it seems quite unfair, you know what I mean? like she put shoe on table we said cannot, shoe is dirty cannot put on table, asked her to say sorry but she die die won't apologise, yet we can't punish cos no real harm was done.

Wish I could meet up tomorrow. If I knew, wld've taken leave tmr instead of today. I had an "SAHM-with 1 kid" day today..hehe, run errands when K was in cc, met hb for lunch with K. I wanted to go to Polliwogs but K still napping. Life is shiok with 1 kid, I dun mind being SAHM hahahaha! but it's totally different story with 2!! why did we think life was hard with one kid then? it'stougher with 2 and I can't imagine moms who handle 3 on their own!! super moms.

Stephie, another holiday to Europe? Dunno abt italy but I've heard of pickpocketing being rife there.

Eating
K has never been a great eater. She's picky, she's fussy. Textures need to agree with her, otherwise it's ptooi and out it comes. I dun really fuss about her intake generally cos she still likes milk and its more than I can ask for if she still wants to drink milk. Once, she came home after a day without napping and she just slept all the way from 6.30pm. No dinner! I just woke her at midnight to give milk, she drank, pee and went back to sleep. She eats better outside than at home definitely. PRobably bored with rice rice rice.

We're more relaxed with the sweet/junk food nowadays. She is allowed choc and icecream on limited basis. I read your tots like french fries. K is such a funny girl, she doesn't like fries! maybe it's the texture. good for her i guess *shrug*

Btw, I have a pass to go to Polliwogs valid until 16 Jul (can go 3 times), anyone wants to get from me and make use? Since you all in town tomorrow, can come get from hb (he works across Taka). PM me if anyone keen ok?

Stephie the last time i went Italy was 7 yrs ago, it was a backpacking trip. I din find that there were a lot of pickpockets , maybe we din see or we were lucky. We went Rome, Florence and Venice I feel that it's ok just that Rome is pretty crowded ESP at the city centre, train station . If F&E , it helps to stay near train station, think there is a bus terminal beside, we took e bus to Vatican city, we stayed in a hostel 15 mins walk away, very convenient, we even bought food to cook in the kitchen. When are u going? I thot u went japan or going japan again?

Iso.. U very funny armchair parent! Actually most guys are like. That , maybe cause ur fil never stay at hm w kids previously so very naturally always get wife to do things.

Bx.. Ur fil still working. Must be super tired after a day, even we also tired so he can only eye power lah.

in my case, hehe, my mil told my fil to compensate for the yrs that he din take care of the hh previously do now he do a lot of hh chores lor haha.

Ok lah , c u all tmr, got to sleep Liao.

Bkk
same here abt saying sorry!! And I think a few other mums also mention before. Sigh! I have to try and find other ways to get him to admit wrong, like twisting the question to ask if that's the right thing to do, are you going to do that again, followed by a hug for me. Sometimes much later I'll ask him again whether he wants or if he's supposed to do the naughty act.

re: saying sorry
yesterday big A bit her classmate's thumb. when back at home, i told her to say sorry to her friend. she said no. like what iso said, i asked her if it's right to bite, she said no.

HELP! S cried badly and din want to go PG again. He run around nanny's house and din wanna change into uniform. And he went to pick his home singlet and wanna wear instead. told him that there's no toys at nanny's house but he said got. then went to bring out all the toys. told him that if he was not going to PG mummy wont bring him to garden to play with the sand and water, he said ok, dont wanna go play sand and water and stay at home then. URGH!! dunno what to do. may want to withdraw him after JULY liao. sigh..

Tongtong, bear with it first. Raeanne took two weeks of adjusting (ie she realized that no matter how she cries she is going to school). After I leave, the duration of crying got shorter n shorter but it took 1 month before she stopped crying n started enjoying school.

genice
thanks for sharing. thanks, lezy for emailing me too

me going japan in nov. probably go italy in sep. first time i'm so scared of travelling overseas. to the extent that i have to leave one kid behind and bring along 1 only. sob.

Stephie, if you are carrying a backpack or sling bag in Italy, remember to wear your coat over the bags. My cousin's friend lost her backpack and passport in Italy. They work in teams. One person sprayed their coats with black paint. Another 'kind soul' tapped them and alerted them of the stain on their jackets. My cousin's friend had to take off her backpack to clean her jacket. Another person took her bag the moment she set it down on the floor. The 'kind soul' disappears. My cousin was travelling with her friend but she didn't kenna cos she wore her jacket over her backpack so she didn't need to take off her backpack so the thieves had no chance.

First day reach Italy they had to go to police station to make report and to embassy to redo passport. It really ruined their holiday. Be careful ya. :p

genice,qingling,bx and ester, so nice and great to catch up with you and the babies! Think we should have gatheirng more often hehe.

tong-ya ya
nice gathering..

I just woke/jump up suddenly and tot I fell asleep while warming the milk since 1am..end up false alarm..but its time to pump since last pump was at 11pm.....so tired...yawn..Keke

How abt bringing our tots to Kidz amaze (at jurong west Safra though) or explorer kids(at ntuc pasir ris)next time but must b weekends then cos let the hub climb with them..Haha..

Stephie
and erm, there's no embassy in Italy hor...so if you lose passport, u need to call the Hon Consul General in Rome and see if he's around to issue you a Letter of Identity. If he's not in, the next nearest Singapore Emb is in Brussels. I had a case of this backpacker kena robbed of passport and money and beaten up real bad. Had to call collect home. Managed to convince SIA office in Rome to lend him money, while the family TT money to the SIA office.

Tong/QL/Genice/Bx,

Oh yes, it was reali nice 2 mit up wif u mummies and the little ones! Thanks 4 jio-ing me!

QL,

Haha... too shacked liao ah. Btw, let me knw the amt 2 transfer 2 u ya.

Ya, i agree! Let the hub do the climbing while we can hv a nice chat! Like yesterday, Cayenne was so active tat I hardly can chat wif u all. jz bits of here and there. Keke...

QL, let me know the amt to transfer to you too! me & s had the sandwich and the smoothie.

esther, yealor! we shall chat more at either kidz amaze or explorr kids. did cayenne fell asleep on the way back? mine walked half way and wanted to buy toys, so we went toy section , he was very happy pushing the bb stroller. then put him on stroller and he fell asleep while i pushed him all the way to mrt , reached my place, pushed him(still sleeping) up the skybridge leh! so many ppl wanna offered help. hhee.

I think Singaporean are all still very helpful!! I think 10 ppl offered me help leh when i was up and down the stairs.

u know what, think stroller worked too hard, and the left side of the wheel came off and rolled into thte middle of the road. I got to push S aside ( he was still sleeping!!) then went to pick up the loose wheel , 2 construction man came to rescue n helped me "service" my stroller. keke.

goodday mummmies!!!
i am still at work. 37wk 3d, bb not engaged yet. *phew*

tong,
agree with you that majority of the singaporeans are still very helpful ppl - esp. those uncle aunties.
i've met many many kind hearted one and they do lend me helping hands when needed.

most ppl that make me shake head are the youngsters only.

need to air my frustration!!

kenna 'tua' last minute by PIL!
our initial plan is that MIL will do confinement for me except the National Day weekend that they will go holiday as it was booked long before I got preggy.
and I managed to find a 1 week confinement lady for help for that week.
last night, they told me that they just booked another tour 2 weeks after national day and asked me to find other helps!!!
hey!! where can I find other helps when they are so last minute??!!!
now checking with the confinement lady if she's able to extend her assignment with me. hopefully her schedule can accomodate my last minute request.
if not, i think my MIL will suggest to get my mum here to help. but my mum's health is not good and I always quarrel with her (ooppss).

*update: confinement lady can make it. ha :D

XY, yea you are right. There's actually many reasons for me to really consider whether to homeschool our kids when you see the edu system and the behaviour of the youngsters nowadays.

XY, i think get a Confinement lady for a month to help out!

tong,
for me, homeschool is totally out.
(1) I don't think I am disciplined enough to teach the kids that they need to learn at different stages.
(2) I don't have the right knowledge to teach the subjects.

so, just leave it to the professionals. what I can do is trying to instill the right value.

yup. already asked the confinement lady to extend to 1 month. MIL told me last night that 'i think you better get a 1 month confinement lady' while I am just less than 3 weeks to edd!
if she doesn't want to help, she can tell me many many months ahead instead of NOW. she even came our place last week to access the pots and pans I have for her to cook at my place. and suddenly tell me to get confinement lady now? aiyoh..

Hi Xiao Yun,

Or lor lor... I understand your frustration but no point getting angry over it if your confinement lady is fine to help out for a month. The negative vibes may affect your little one so think calm happy thoughts okay?

RE: Baby & Junior Race 2010

Not sure if any of your ladies interested to sign up for this event: http://www.explorerkid.com/events/events.aspx? Thinking of registering Danica for the race. :p But not sure what is the some tasks that needs to be done during the race.

tong/esther/bx/genice - i just post the bill here hor..keke..lazy to pm..

1 potato platter + strawberry lychee + GST&SC = 9.90+6.50+1.64+1.26 = 19.30

1 skipper's delight + strawberry lychee + GST&SC= 13.90+6.50+ 2.04+1.57 = 24.01

1 country pie + strawberry lychee + GST&SC= 10.50+6.50+1.7+1.31 = 20.01

1 portobello SW + strawberry lychee + GST&SC= 12.90+6.50+1.94+1.49= 22.83

GST + service charge is 9.36 + 7.21 = 16.57 so i allocate accordingly

my posb savings acc is 009-90900-1, gam sia!

Artemis- looks interesting
, last round we sign Heidi up for the cold storage kids run (800m), end up the daddy carry her all the way cos she refused to run..zz..haha

QL,

Transferred liao.

Details as below.

To Account POSB Savings
009-90900-1 QingLing_Feb Mummy
Amount S$19.30
Transaction Reference 2999361679

Tong,

Wa, wat a happening 4 u ah! tink i will panick, dunno wat 2 do man!

U mean u can carry S in pram while up dwn the stairs?! i cant leh. the pram is 2 heavy 4 me plus Cayenne's weight. I big sized but no strength. useless man... :p

Mine hor... Still wan go gai gai... say dun go home, go gai gai. Looked at me with her "innocent eyes". So i brought her to the toys section for a quite walk. Wanted 2 get the strawberry toy since nw her fav. but got perfume smell, so in the end din get.

Told her we r heading home, ask her dun u miss didi? she say no! Anyway we went to catch a bus and alredi in bus, she still hold my face with her little hands and say dun go home, go gai gai. i told her ya we gg gai gai but on the way hme. keke... guess wat. the next min, she asked 4 her "chou chou" (pillow) and immediately dozed off!

and when we abt 2 reach my place, it rained! & i din bring any umbrella. tot of dashing ard the road while carrying her in my arms sleeping. Then i saw a lady with THREE umbrellas! I so thickskinned 2 ask her 2 lend me! Now hor... abit auntie liao, boh chap image! 4 the sake of children, hv 2 ask! Haha..

Haha xy, what can I say? Ils probably not keen to suffer compared to going on hols so last min fly aeroplane. Do u pay mil if she do confinement for u? Some mil very ngeow one hor. Cos they think u rather pay outsiders than pay them. Anyway, luckily Lezhuang is free to help u. All's well if it ends well.

Artemis/pauline,
I am cool now.

since already found a solution, just laugh when my mil called me to check if I able to find help.
then she continue saying that good to hire for whole month cos it's tiring for her to come my place to help, etc... didi dada..
but my hb already told her that he will pick her up and drove her back with car daily during the first month, drive her to market if she wants. i don't know how tired she will be. during my #1's time, she only start helping out about 10 am, bathe bb, cook for me, then she rest till 3-4 pm, help looking after #1 if she doesn't want to sleep, cook dinner, off duty at 8 pm, no night duty.
hai.. grandparents nowadays are just too modernised. :p

i am thankful that auntie lezhuang is so accomodating. my mum will be very happy if i hire confinement lady for 1 month. thanks for your recommendation.

the problem i have now is that don't have enough space & mattress to let auntie lezhuang + my parents to sleep if they were to come over. initial plan is my parents to avoid the period that auntie lezhuang is here so that we can have extra bed. and now don't know where to let them sleep liao. aiyoh. headache..

Xy, dun worry about sleeping arrangement, Lezhuang is flexible one. Last time I let her sleep on my ikea double sofa bed (unopened), she can't even stretch her legs. But she understands cos my room got 1 wardrobe, 1 changing table, 2 cots n the maid sleeps on tilam on floor so really no space.

As for your mil, I bet she will change her mind if u tell her u will pay her $2k to help u. Truth is even for me, I rather pay that kind of $ to a professional cl who will definitely do night duties n everything else instead of il or mum cos they need to rest all the time n dun do night duties, dun know how to wash, sterilize pumps etc. :p

Tongtong
what a funny story! I guess looking back it's funny, probably on the spot I'd be stressed when the wheel fall out! Lol.

Any mummies gone to the Art Museum for the Children's garden thing? I'm thinking of going on fri, it ends this weekend!

Iso - questions for maid that i ask..usually just to test her level of understanding. How old, how many family members (how many brothers, how many sisters), do u know how to cook?what can you cook (if they know how, just a rough idea what u will expect of their cooking level),can u take care of baby at night (sleep with baby?) even though it was not my intention (anyway my current maid sleeps like a log, i tink earthquake she can still sleep :p)..by then u will be quite frustrated or happy, cos they might not be able to answer anything..then u can skip this maid liao..haha

ql, transferred! your acc number very nice leh haha.

esther, yea happening haha. i din carry the stroller la, but i used the wheel to walk the way up n down the bridge, u get what i mean. but it was real heavy and i stopped a while, then ppl starting to ask whether i'm ok and offered help, ehhe. cayeanne got 15 kg or not ah? i couldnt carry S liao eventhough he kept asking me to carry him. i just told him that after i carried who pushed the stroller? then he said Daddy, then i said where is daddy? then he giggled haha.

Iso, yeah, luckily there were ppl around when the wheel fell out! cuz they sure came to rescue me haha.

tong,

wa! i reali salute u leh! i dare not do that. keke...

Cayenne oni 12kg! her little brother catching up fast, alredi 11kg!!! keke...

haha... so cute S. is it most tots wan mummies 2 carry instead of daddies ah.. mine always wan me 2 carry. walk abit, tell me, baby tired, mummy carry. ;p

QL, ur maid can sleep like a log?! Mine aso leh!!! a few times woke up even later than every1 else in the family! damn jia lat!

iso,

i tell the maid my requirement/expectations roughly 2 her, & reinforce no hp, no off day etc.

some agency let u see the video clips, can roughly observe hw well they understand the interviewer's questions & observe the way they reply. i saw 2 clips whereby 1 is quite gd in understanding & replying while the other 1 knw nothing abt the questions. of cos, the video clips wont tell u hw gd the maid is.. cos everyting boils down 2 LUCK & FATE betw u and the maid.

Talk about off day, my maid is due to get her off day next month cos she has been with us for 1 year liao. Not keen to give it to her but don't want to 'cheat' her off it either. But she has no bus card and doesn't know how to get around. She has gotten lost 3 times, once at parkway, 2 times at Tampines Mall. Everytime, end up crying her heart out cos she is too scared. Really don't trust this blur maid to go out alone, wait I need to go and look for her, even more sian. :p