(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi tongtong,

Yes, I changed job but not location. :p

Hi lezy,

Wah... You let Ruth do that. I think I will faint if Danica tries it. My HB probably would though.

artemis,
it's not that high up la..and there are gym mats all over - soft landing.

also, i'm actually standing quite close by her - just stood back a little to let hubby take shot of her while she brings her legs up.

Ruth very monkey one. Tumble all over bed at home - so signed her up for proper tumbling. She loves the class.

EVERYTHING DON"T WANT STAGE

Ruth also very one-track mind at times..but it's quite associated with certain situations i find. And the more I try to suggest other things, the more resistance there will be.

Sometimes i see myself in her. ha. So abit hard to fault her as we adults also have our preferences (cuz if not, then what are we annoyed about?)

But sometimes, I just play hardball. Time to bath, i will carry her (while she's kicking and all) into the bathroom) and tell her sternly must bath then can play/drink apple juice/etc. She listens to my 'reason' for like 1 out of 10 times maybe. Usually I'll just let her cry and wail while I shampoo, bath etc. By the time we're more than halfway through bath, she will be playing with her pails liao.

Sigh.

lezy,
wah, i'm impressed! cheo pic, even cheo-er model

i wanna sign A up too!!! i think she will love it cos she's also very active also.

btw, how much does the lesson cost? maybe meet you this saturday morning for trial class

lezy,
LOL...thanks on behalf of hb for the compliment!

re one track mind.
i face same situation. i reckon if we had infinite time and no schedule / mtg / gathering / outing - it's a breeze....just let them do anything anytime, own time own target.

problem is - we modern mums are always rushing our kids to
a) school or cc or playgroup
b) adult gatherings
c) play dates
d) enrichment programs and lessons
so TIME is of essence.

if child wakes up later, we fuss
if child takes longer to dress, we fuss
if child takes longer to eat, we fuss
if child plays longer
if child sleeps longer, we fuss

the CRUX is that we are racing against the CLOCK

so maybe the trick is to REMOVE as many TIME-SENSITIVE activities during the terrible twos age.

Pauline!! Nice photos!! Plus the music on ur blog.. got the mood.

Lezy.. great photo too.. i dun think G will dare to do that.. she is quite a timid ger.

Gar.. i will help to vote for ur hubby too.. the photos/videos must be interesting leh, he coping with the 2 gers.. haha.. but how come he must carry the 2 gers at one time?? Under what situation?? *scratch head* A can still sit in carrier.. wow.

Re: bf
bx.. i give her honeystars/cornflakes with milk or some cakes with hot milo/milk . On weekend will be chwee kueh too ( just like ruth) or hotcakes w/o sauce.

Today, she finally took bread, at first she refused when i asked her but i told her must take bread then i will give her the packet milo then she took it. Wholemeal bread with kaya. So happy finally she took bread at home.

Re: pounds dropping
*heartache*, supposed to go london to attend one of the inlaws 50th wedding anniversary but i am due in mid june.. sigh..missed the gd exchange rate... but hubby say can get "push " present, ask sil to tompang back..
, *No fish, shrimp also can lah* But shld i change to pounds here and give sil or just sign credit card?? Any advice??

genice,
what milk u put with cereal? FM or fresh milk? and for milo do u add condensed milk or just add hot water to the powder?

mine still refuse to eat bread at home. the most she eats is 1-2 mouthful.

till now she is still stuck with nestle cereal. haha... big baby.

u also dun send her to cc for brekkie?

bx.. i let her drink HL milk, put in a bowl, let her add the honey stars by herself. She likes it.. i think she enjoy playing more.

As for the milo, i buy 3 in 1 kind so just pour a little for her, add hot water and some cooled ones to just make it warm and quite diluted, i dun like her to take too sweeet stuffs..

G ate abt 3/4 slice today, i think i put too much kaya thats why she like it.

Nestle cereal: I stopped giving her since feb after our trip cause i myself also find it quite sian already.. and i wanted to introduce more food to her so that it will be easier to bring her out in future.. sigh..1 infant is enuff, i dun want to carry so much stuffs when i bring both of them out.

I send her to cc for bf only when i need to go office early in morning else if my appts are later, usually i let her sleep in late, watch tv and eat bf with her. I feel more in control of what she eats, she doesnt eat much in sch, always seem quite hungry when she comes home.

How are u feeling??? How big is ur boy??

Re: potty train

How many of ur kids are potty trained?

G managed to go diaperless the whole of sun, she will tell us when she wnats to pee sometimes real ones sometimes fakes ones. But at the end of the day, she still wet the car seat.. sigh..

But i am still happy got some improvement, she will go diaperless at home, hope she can really be toilet trained at least for day time b4 #2 comes, can save on diapers!! :p

genice,
i see. good idea. may let A try milo too. i think she drinks it at cc. i'm personally sian of cereal too.

good thing ur working hours more flexible. my mil brings A to cc before 9am. anyway A is an early riser.

my boy was abt 2.8kg at 36 weeks. this thurs going for checkup again. hopefully has reached 3kg. i tried so hard to increase his weight. haha... have been reminding myself to eat more when i was twenty something weeks coz bb's weight gain wasn't good. now become my appetite increase liao as i'm used to eating large quantity.

re: potty train
not yet. depends on her mood. sometimes she will pull us to the toilet and quickly take off her bottoms and diapers and asked to be put on the toilet seat. but most of the time she still comfortably wee wee in her diapers. as for poo poo, sometimes she poo when we put her on the toilet seat.

RE: potty train

Currently, Danica is diaperless at home. She still gets accidents but normally she will go to her potty, remove her panties and go there. Sometimes, we need to ask her if she has been playing or watching tv for a while if she needed to go.

She only poos in her potty unless she is outside and we did not make it to the toilet in time. However, she would not be very happy about it.

PEE/POO:
RUth poos on potty. Seldom poo in diaper nowadays.
But need quite a lot of persuading and the whole family to go "your poo-poo coming out coming out..faster faster go potty!" then have to ERRrrrrr! with her while watching tv.

*sweat*

She doesn't poo on toilet seat for now except for once. Doesn't poo in diaper as well - she seems to control.

DIAPERLESS:
sometimes go downstairs play at playground, my mum lets her go diaperless (just panties). Come up must immediately bring to potty.

Once put her on potty, she will peeeeee a big load of urine. BUt stil not very regular la.

Ruth doesn't like chocolate (for now!) so still not giving her milo. I don't think she will like hot drinks. Sometimes she will kaypoh our tea/coffee. But when we tell her cannot touch cuz hot - and try to bring her hand there - she will be very scared and keep her hands to herself. (LOL so bad ah..)

hotcakes - i let her eat with the syrup - but now that we have pancakes so often, am thinking of investing in some more healthy syrup, and also bringing my own along. Cuz the hotcakes syrup at McDonald's is damn big portion - i always feel it's very wasted lor cuz we hardly finish half of it.

Lezy, lovely pix! RaeAnne is like a monkey too, think she will love that. Great idea, you and Bx should partner and take pics. Then maybe start a photography biz for budget mummies like me too? ;)

re: round ligament pain
fairfield,
i have this while i cough too. gynae said i cough too hard while the tummy is expanding now.
now no more coughing but can still feel the tightness there.

dianA,
tomorrow is the DAY!!
congrates for unloading soon.
C does not poo daily too. normally is every 2 days.
i guess it's because she takes too many banana at PIL place - almost everyday one. try offer papaya, it helps.

re: breakfast
bx,
for myself, i mix milo with my own milk powder. Hence, i offer her milo mix with their formula milk powder.
dun fancy condensed milk as they are too sweet.

re: super dad
garfield,
if you nominate, i sure support.

re: potty train
C refuse to be potty trained for pee although she knows to pee in toilet floor before bath.
for poo, she did initiate to use potty months ago. untill recently she just happily poo in diaper. if we manage to catch her in action, then transfer her to potty.
we are quite scared to let her diaperless at home cos our sofa and dining chair are all fabric. >.<
surprisingly she manage to hold her pee from 7pm till 830pm yesterday when she's diaperless at PIL place. immediately bring her to toilet and she pee on demand.
wonder if the potty train sticker works? (i remember Pauline bought some)

re: photo taking
pauline/lezy,
nice photo!

who's hb wants extra income? i am actually looking for someone have portable props to transform my home to a studio for some photo session when #2 around 3 months old.
sounds challenging? anyone wants to take up the challenge? :p

diana
all the best!!!!!

gar
interesting insights! think it's all too true - we're probably trying to do too much without realising it.

potty training
at home E is pretty good, he'll tell us when he has to go, and I think he learnt it from my nephew. sometimes both will go in the same potty at the same time! but of course that's easier for boys to do...
the only slip ups was when he was too preoccupied watching tv (and pee on my bed, argh!), or if i wasn't fast enough with the container.

HURRYING:

i once read an interesting article on hurrying - and how it kills many of us.

Not literally KILL us lah...but it puts everyone on super stress levels.

So best that if there isn't a need to, dun hurry. Dun pack too many things into a day/period. CUz the stress you'd have to suffer isn't really worth it at the end of the day.

re: breastpump
just took out my breastpump (medela PISA) to check the condition. do i need to replace the tubing if it's working fine and still looks quite new?

Wa, Bx so lucky!!! Like that, no need epi n no pain. Dr wong always try to scare me n say some mummies so fast that they delivered in the car so u are one of those. U should have more kids, haha.

Hi ladies - can you share how much your 2 weeks old babies are drinking (i forgot how much Heidi was drinking then..)..now Hayden is taking 90ml of BM, sometimes within an hr he will ask for milk again..hmm..i wonder if i am overfeeding him

RE: maid

The important thing is make sure they read, understand and sign on the agreement. Cause if later there is any dispute, you can still bring out the agreement and point to clause blah blah blah. A bit KS but we scared after all the horror stories heard.

RE: Maid Rules

:p After reading through the document, I realised that this is still not my latest one cause I made provisions on how the contract would end too but it's not there. ARGH!!! Where did I backup my files after my laptop crashed.

QL,
at 2 weeks, i was exclusively latching both A and J. but can share their volume when they are older:

4 weeks - 90ml every 2 to 2.5 hrly in the day
12 weeks - 120ml every 2.5 to 3 hrly in the day

J is now 6.5 kg at 14 weeks

<font color="0000ff">MY FIRST FIGHT, By Ruth.

I got a call from her playgroup teacher on Monday evening, asking me if Ruth is ok.

I was so puzzled.

Apparently earlier that day, RUth had a 'fight' with this other Indian girl. SOmething like she snatch Ruth's toy, and pushed Ruth, then Ruth push back. Then she cry, then dunno how Ruth fell down knock her head (again!).

Then Tuesday, my mother asked the teacher how come last week, on the side of her eye got a little bruise...teacher said got some incident - but my mum catch no head no tail.

THen Tuesday, my mum hear this other kid (who is 4 months older and can speak very well) tell his mum..that teacher beat him because instead of singing with the class when the music came on, he shake his head.

I wonder if teachers are allowed to 'beat' children? In any case, nothing wrong with bobbing his head to the beat mah. WHy beat him? CHildren dun lie one.

Any opinions?

I'm going to see her later to find out what exactly has been happening. My Ruth is no angel i know la. She can be quite adamant about her toys...as most kids this age are. But I've observed her in shopping centers and playgroudn before - that she wil normally not pursue if someone else takes her toy. She looks big size and fierce at home, but outside she is normally quite meek and will just cry and run to us.

She does like...shove us aside when she sees something she likes and is going towards it - but it's not fighting kind of push, just a "get-outta-the-way" shove.

Sigh.

I wonder if my girl is growing up to be a gangster. LOL.

More later.

:D</font>

bx!!! wow.. envy ur super fast labour.. got any advice or not.. how to be so fast???

So u still have time to send A to ur in laws place?

Re: teacher beating

lezy.. i am wondering whther teachers got beat gwen too.. she seem to be very scared of going to sch.. was thinking whther things happened or is it because of #2. But she doesnt seem to have any bruise or stuff.. and she cant tell me if something happened. how?

Re: BM
Ql, my fren her ger abt 2weeks plus drinking 100 ml every 2 -3 hrs.

very happy for those of you who popped! Hope things are fine and remember to rest well. er i guess easy to be said.

I will like to share on teh teacher beating part. I have withdrawn my girl from Cherie Hearts when she was there only for 1 or coming to 2 months. There were a lot of areas which i started to get worried about after my colleageus who attended a trial feedback to me... but the last straw came when my girl came home and tell me Teacher R beat her. She was getting all rowdy and i pulled her hand back, and she said beat beat, i said NO I wont beat. she said Teacher R beat, i asked her where, she said on the cheek and she pointed.

At the point, yes i chose to believe in her. I pulled her out the following week. without giving notice and i forfeit the deposit.

I dont want to instill fear in her and the thot why mum think it is ok for teacher to beat.....

not sure if any of you read the thread on tiongbahru or queenstown thread looking for nanny... there is this mum narrating a horror story on how the nanny put the 2 year old in a play pen all day long watching tv.... the child is only allowed to come out during meal time....

There is no perfect solution or perfect child care.... but i think before our child can fully narrate to us the whole pic, we need to stay vigiliant and prompt her to narrate the happenings in class as far as possilble to catch hints...

my girl will tell my teacher so and so scold her friends for messing up toys or book shelves, when ia sked her in returned if teacher scolded her too, she said no she is a good girl, this i doubt so, but i continue to prompt if teacher beat her friends she told me no...

2 days ago, she said "oh my goodness" i asked where she picked the up the phrase, she told me from Teacher T, i asked her why, she told me she poured paint on the floor and her friend sat on it. i took the chance to ask her if Teacher T phyically laid his hands to which she said no....

i hope all these hints are accurate

winnie.. cna i check with you ur ger is at another ccc? so u took her out and put her somewhere after e incident?Maybe i shld try to ask my ger, i just cannot imagine the teacher will beat her..

genice, yeap my girl was in an infant care (same one) from 3 to 18mths, when she turn 18th mth, i tried a MMI near office. one day only i pulled her out.... change my deposit to a 2 weeks trial which i forfeit also after one day.... cos i cannot stand certain things on hygiene issue.....

then i put her back to the infant care for another 2 more months, requesting that i pay more for her to continue to stay in infant class and not go tots class.

then i continue my search for CC, so in teh end put her in cherie hearts in office but CMI so i changed again and settled her down in current CC. you may think i am very rich if u know i am paying $1,3K (after all subsidy) for her current CC. sigh but I AM NOT... need to emphasize this heee.... but so far i like what she is learning and i like what i see the school has tried to put together..... but if you ask me how is it comparabnle to pats etc, i dont know leh seriously. cos i went to pats before at Jubliee near my place.... they dont have a class for my girl and mainly the children there are half day....

No lah.. i think sometimes we just want to find a sch that we are comfortable with and at time we just have to pay a little bit more. Anyway, where is she studying now, to be honest $1.3k is not cheap but if you feel that she has benefitted and she is happy thats the most impt.

Is it near ur hse/office?

Ur ger is actually quite smart to be able to tell u what happened in shc.. i doubt my ger can do that, i have actually tried to ask the teachers in sch and they obviously said that nothing happen ( which i also have no reason to doubt cause she has been very ok for the past 3 months). They attributed that to my #2.. i am due in 5 wks time. I also dunno. Scared the more i push, the more they "tekan' her.. * hope i am not thinking too much.

Now my ger doesnt even want to wear their uniform, cried so bitterly when she sees the uniform. In the end she wears her going out clothes to sch. Today i will try to talk to her but i doubt i can get any logical ans from her..

trying to sneak to reply in the smallest window i can open....

hee u can call me Ah Q, if anyone of you keen to learn about the CC i put my girl in, i can share their weekly news with you if you can leave ur email address here.

as for talking to your child, a few suggestions, trial and error, but is based on experience not proven theory hor hehee

1) when she tell me teacher R beat, i in turn ask her do you like teacher R? she could tell me NO. when she says teacher beat on cheek, i waited a while and asked her back "Cherie did anyone beat you on your cheek before?"

2) iw ill ask her in comparison which teacher she likes best. i normally compare those i am not familiar with, with the one i know is the fierce one, she will rank. then u can agar agar guess.

3) heart to heart talk.... when we see her moody, my hubby wil bring her downstairs for walk and try to prompt her when alone.. like ask if you are enjoying school and ask her about her friends. like did so and so come, did she behave? she tells my hubby so and so bully her, poke her with fork etc, then she will bring papa to the kid the next day to tell the kid not to fight anymore... instill the thot in her that we dont encourage fight, if any prob tell teacher.

4)sometimes knock off earlier to go to the CC to peep and sit around.... hee cos i wait for car pool or my hubby,i will make myself sit down comfortably and join in with the teachers and kids to observe. the kids must feel at ease with the teachers. able to talk freely to the teachers and look to the teachers for help.

as for wearing uniform, i used to change her on car cos every morning when i bring her out she is still not awake. there was one period she refused to change, so i brought her into CC toilet to change, so from then she is more ok with changing, you may want to try in case she just dont want to change at certain place.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats BX!</font>

Super fast! Lucky it was middle of the night..hehe, otherwise stuck in jam how? Anyway, enjoy your little bundle of joy and get lots and lots of rest