(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Waterproof mattress protector
Is it hot when you sleep on it? I thot of buying from BP too but afraid it's hot when sleeping on it. My 8 yr old bed is kiam chye already with 2 kids' vomit, milk, poop, urine...will change my bed when they are bigger and sleeping in their own beds.

L developed feng mo, cough, cold, fever over the long weekend. feel g so down to see him having absolutely no appetite, cry g, cough g n runny nose non stop...wanna ask....he's now developed a big tummy wid lots of "wind" n been complain g that it's painful. Besides ru yi you, r there any other methods i can use to get rid of the "wind" or make him more comfortable?

leila,
have u brought him to the doc? poor boy. hope he get well soon. sorry can't help u on the tummy wind prob.

A has been unwell the last 2 weeks too. persistent cough. now runny nose like tap. feels feverish also though not exactly fever yet. hope it doesn't develop to fever tmr. sigh...

bkkgal, that part i'm not sure, but the maid put the bolster under her blanket to look as if she's sleeping... I'm like, what is she thinking. Friend already sent back the maid.

bx.
A also unwell...she s gg to sch tomorrow or rest g at home? *sigh* so sad to see our kids sick
u rest well too ya? btw, when r u deliver g?

maids
yikes!!! so many horror stories. now i don t knw if i m "brave" enuf to hire one

bkkgal, I see. Well, I never even thought of bonus for my maid if she does serve 2 years. But we should be bringing her to Penang if she stays till June. Asked her if she wants to stay back with one of the grandparents or pay for her airticket and go with us. We will pay for hotel and the rest. And she prefers to go on holiday. ;P

bkkgal, the mattress protector is not warm. Ok even though we never sleep in air con but it does make a rustling sound that takes some getting used to. :p

Piggletail, mine too. One night, I suan her cos no. 1 woke up and no. 2 was sucking thumb so she carried to me. I scolded her and told her that if bb is not crying, don't wake her up and carry to me. End up hubby got to settle no. 1 to go back to sleep, I got to feed no. 2 and you? You are the best lar, you go back to sleep. I hire you to help me look after the kids you know. End up she didn't dare to go back to sleep. After I BF mei mei and carry back to room, she was still awake. Normally she KO immediately after carrying bb to me. I'm a fierce employer. :p

Bx, how is Ashlynn? Have you tried echinacea drops? RaeAnne was better after I gave her echinacea, vit c sweets and liquid vit c.

Leila, sorry to hear that Leonard is not feeling well. I would use ruyi oil too. But may also give gripe water or ridwind. You want to try?

bkk,
oic...how much are maid bonuses? if you feel she has done a good job over the last 2 years i think it's ok to give her the bonus if it's not too much.

leila,
poor len...i also give ridwind and gripe like pauline suggested. it helps. hope he gets well soon!

bx,
oh dear...so A has not been going to CC for two weeks liao? my two cents worth on persistent cough is that TCM is better. i've given up on western medicine when it comes to cough. maybe can try chinese herbal remedies.

clover,
LOL!! err...sounds like something a teenager would do lor

tong,
thanks for posting the cover of the book! will make hunting for it easier

pauline,
waterproof mattress protector - don't think hb wants the rustling sound. maybe i just buy a thick thick one (or layer a few) for greater protection.

SLEEPLESS IN SINGAPORE

after waking up to feed J...now i bak kim kim (hokkien for eyes bright bright)

chum - gonna spend $$ in BPs liao hehe

MATTRESS PROTECTOR:

We use this particular protector from Ikea. It's waterproof. No rustling sound (i think). Pretty good. 30+ i think.

those 'normal' thin spongy type no use la. When RUth's pee leaks, it's no small teardrop affair...

hi everyone! how r all of you?

haha.. sleepless in singapore.. me too.. rushing a report for work.. only half done.. sian..

been really out of touch man.. congrats to all mummies who has already popped! and those who are on the way!! as for me, i'm gonna start planning later part of the year..
any good gynaes in the east area to recommend me? i thinking of changing gynae..

Leila, try massaging clockwise using yr palms on tummy w ruyi oil.. helped to soothe C's tummy the last time i tried and he farted twice while i was massaging..

Hi Leila
Sorry to hear abt poor L. I use ruyi oil too and massage like eliaw says. I do that for K when she's constipated on the potty and it works to get her to fart (sorry so erm..explicit :p) Hope he gets well soon)

BX
A still not ok? I tell you lah, cc bring back lots of germs wan...build up her immunity now so that she won't bringback to your newborn later..K also runny nose today, kena me oso start to drip already. Keeping her away from SM.

Gar/Pauline
I dunno how much do bonuses go but I figure 1 month for 2 yrs' work should be ok bah. Aiyah, just take it that karma led her to me and me to her. If one day our paths cross again, I hope she remembers our token.

Pauline, wah you made the maid pay her own airfare? keke. very good. She knows how to enjoy life. So far, I put the maid to the agency whenever I go on holiday, except that time when I moved house, I left her to pack all the stuff in my house when I was in Melbourne.

BAby woke up midnight, 1am, 2am, 4.30am. Now can't sleep, decided to pump and do BP stuff.

bkk, gar, leila, pauline,
A has been going to CC. just last thur she kena rejected due to red patches in her mouth (but cfm by pd it's not hfmd) and last fri was public hol. ytd she attended cc as usual. when i consulted the pd, he said usually all the flu, cough, fever will come on and off for half a year, or worse one year when the children attend school.

leila,
we will let her go to sch if she doesn't develop a fever. coz i thought she still quite active. let her go learn something.

pauline,
i am interested in the ecchinacea drops, vit c, etc. can u tell me what brand to buy and where? over the weekend wanted to get some vits for her but was overwhelemd by the variety over the shelves. hb asked me to come back forum to ask ard first.

bkk,
what do u do abt K's runny nose? A knows how to blow her nose. but this few days refuse to even let us wipe her nose. coz i think it's sore from the wiping.

leila,
oh and i'm due 24th may. hope the bb can come out one week earlier. dun wanna wait that long. planning to go on ML on 10 may. woohoo... one more month.

Gar I just got another type recently but have not washed n used. Dun know if it is better.

Bkkgal my maid wants to enjoy life one. Me n hubby always say she is not here to suffer. If I dun 'counsel' her she can spend all her $ on herself. But we have given her advance up to may cos of her mum's eyes so the airticket we will deduct from her salary in June. Anyway we still need to pay for extra bed, food etc for her in Penang.

Bx I tried childlife can buy from gnc.

hie ladies...

pauline,
yah think i'm too nice already, becos i'm been treating her like how i would treat a colleague at work - cordial and civil. things not done, i will repeat in non-angry tone.
last night at 9.45pm she was done for the day and sitting on her bed but dare not go to sleep yet (official time is 10pm). i walked pass and saw a pile of laundry on the sofa...so i took the laundry and ask her to fold. think i'm too hands on liao, nxt time i should ASK HER come and take the laundry and fold instead of me taking it to her.
was planning on an increment but not now anymore.
btw, ur maid doesn't have off day rite? do u buy and pay for her toiletries and sanitary wares? if no off day, how can they buy themselves? i've been buying for her but obviously she's been getting on my nerves i feel like removing this privilege.

My cousin who has had maids for more than 10 yrs doesnt' gv maid salary until end of contract. She will send them home and then TT one lump sum to them. Her maids all got no off day. She will guve $10 every month to buy toiletries. They will accompany maid to buy.

I just wonder whose maid is good?? i know my colleague's filipino maid is very good, and she can cook very well. she has made kiam kuey and yam cake for us recently. I think getting a good maid is really ke3 yu4 bu4 ke3 qiu2

hello mummies - i can join in the maid talk very soon, my mymamese maid has arrived in Sg, and we wil take her home on the 14th..now i am bit bit apprehensive..hohoho.

do u do any prep talk with your maid when she first arrive? duno which to start her off with first..schedule of work?

tong - i tink their english standard very poor, i "interview" her before she came over, i tink still ok over the phone, duno in reality can understand or not..haha

qingling,

i didn't prep talk mine, becos when she arrived i was still staying with my ILs so i myself was living under my MIL's 'rules'. also becos mine couldn't speak english, difficult to communicate.

but i did give her a basic time-table of what to do (e.g sweep floor, wash car, do laundry).
the issue with me is i'm also still trying to find my feet with household routine (as i just moved out) hence lots of things are on a 'as required' basis. perhaps mummies who have a more established household routine can provide a better insight

XY
Is there surgery to fix leak? I thot just do Kegel exercises shud strengthen the perineum? I also have that prob
I think after 2 kids is like that. sigh.

QL
I gave her a schedule and house rules. I also have a booklet of recipes and instructions on how to make milk, how to cook rice, how and what to pack in diaper bag.

XY, don’t think you need to do surgery. After delivery, I cant hold my pee many times as it was due to weak muscle. But it will recover by its own, just need to do more pelvic exercise , I forgot what’s that called , ie when you pee, you try to hold, then pee, then hold. If you are still concern, ask ur gynae then

tong,
is the excercise really effective?
i tried but not very hardworking on that.

btw, the women health insurance that i bought do cover a little bit of the procedure fee. that's why considering doing it.

tong,
you checked the blender already. how much? PM me?

XY, yea, my mum got that problem too after she delivered us. So she asked me to do that. I have recovered, but i feel that my muscle there isnt as strong as before though. maybe will be jialat if i have #2 hehe.

oh since your insurance cover, then you can consider! hehe.

oops, i forgot to ask. will call later. pm u then

XY
i also got that problem, only before got preggers 2nd time then seemed to be much better. now i just wear the poise panty liners every day, cos now preggers really bo bian.

bkk
wow! your instructions are all really great and detailed!

all my clothes feel too tight today, wish i was at home and can wear more comfy clothes

tong, tks for scanning the book cover. i tried looking up at nlb n kino but didnt manage to find it.

garfield, the maid is married with a kid!

ql, heard myanmar maid's hygiene standard is quite lacking so u hv to train more on that area, but friends' myanmar maids r all quite hardworking.

Xy, start doing kegel exercise. Oh btw, i borrowed bubu's book fr the lib. She is really patient! I'm nowhere near her..

XY
which insurance did u get that covers this kind of surgery? But surely they will exclude any preexisting conditions no? Your link says it's for severe incontinence...not sure our probs can be classified as such. Most prob you ask your gynae, he/she may just tell u to do kegel ex since you are still young.

Clover
The maid I just fired has 5 kids! She is only 34 but looks like she knows nothing about children. I wondered if she lied abt her bio or not cos I see she only had a picture of 1 man and 1 kid in her belongings.

Woohoo! I managed to get part time help tomorrow! At least the toilets will be washed.

Selling 1 unopen GNC Childlife Essential Fatty Acids Natural Butterscotch flavor.
Expire date: 23 Oct 2010

For infants 6 month old up to 12yrs old kids.

Product detail: http://www.childlife.net/node/53/

Original price: $ 43.50
Selling cheap now: $ 35

Pls PM me if u keen. Collect at my blk (hougang). Thanks!

bkk - tks for the detailed info. very helpful.

xy - i also recommend kegel exercise too first. Let's be more hardworking..hehe

bkk, eh that sounds dubious to me.

if anyone needs pt help, i hv one myanmar chinese helper to recommend. she can communicate in chinese.

kegels
actually i did ask gynae at the last visit about whether kegels will help, he said if you want to do you have to do a lot a day! like hundreds of times, when you're driving, watching tv, sitting at the computer...

bkk - ur hse rules very strict..keke..i am not sure if i can deliver that set of instructions to the maid with a straight face, even though i think it is so necessary.

Qingling,
Get yr hb or ask the agent to do it. My hb always act bad guy - he will run thru the rules with the maid. But you must enforce the rules too otherwise, will just be a piece of paper to them.

Bkkgal I served mr house rules to my maid through the agent 1 day before she arrived at my house. So from the beginning she is scared of me Liao. Haha

piggletail, I let her use her own $ to buy when we go Ntuc.

Xy, me too but after delivery so far no leak Liao.

bkk,
wa...v strict your rules. err, clean floor need 4 steps ah - must sweep, magiclean, vacuum and mop? is it becos got cat fur? i only get my PT cleaner to vacuum and mop only.

bbkgal,
wow, your lists are really very detailed!! means u had everything sorted out how u want it to be done long ago? what abt tasks not on list will maid talk back and say it's not within her scope of work?

bkkgal,pauline,
thanks for all the tip re: maid. but now that she's been with me for almost 6 months, how can i (re)instill the house rules? will it be wierd? like QL, think i will have problems telling her with a straight/no nonsence face.

Long time no "see".

Congrats to all mummies who have given birth.

RE: maids

I believe that everything should be stated very clearly in the beginning when the maid arrives.

In addition, we told our maid that if we were happy with her performance, we would give her a bonus at the end of her contract. This bonus is based on a monthly evaluation of her performance. It's basically a variance of S$10 to S$40 depending on the degree of competence. If she makes 1 mistake no bonus for the month. So far, my maid has shown great initiative, made only minor mistakes (break a few dishes, forgot a few details), the items that I put in the evaluation form, she almost never made any mistakes on. :p My HB said that it is monetary based motivation. But they come all the way here is to work for money right?

I ask my maid to vacuum n mop too but can tell that she is not very clean so some high usage areas I will ask her to mop twice. Last time before Bb is born, I will sweep my hand under the bed to check for dust. :p

Gar/Piglettail
Hb has an allergy prob. But if it's PT help, of cos cannot ask her to do 4 steps lah - hourly charge leh. I'll be broke! hehe. PT help I suppose they are more thorough and professional than a maid right? Plus shud be more efficient.

Piglettail
The 6 month mark is usually the time when trouble appears. The maid finishing or almost fnished paying her bond to the agent will start to think of nonsense. I also had a minor showdown with my old maid at the 6 month mark. Told her to shape up or ship out. I don't think it's too late to set things straight with your maid. USe the 6 mth mark to do a performance review with your maid. Tell her where she needs to improve on and what she's doing well. ARtemis' method is good (hehe, ARtemis, I will use your "monetary incentive" method with my next maid).

I tell the maid that the list is not exhaustive. It's not her JD. If she talks back or argues, I think she ought to be fired. I will ask her to do what is reasonable. Besides, there are certain things that I will forbid her to do like carry my baby, feed or bathe her. My children are strictly out of bounds.

Clover,
can recommend your PT helper to me? The one my sis recommended me charges $70 for 4 hrs. She's coming tomorrow liao...

Gar,
actually after 2 days of doing the chores, cooking, laundry on our own, I think it's easier being a maid than being a mother!!! I find such great relief to cook than to look after a crying baby :p Such a bad mummy right? SM can't be put down at all, so every time she cries, I am filled with dread. I spend hours trying to put her to sleep. Whereas it's quite fulfilling to be able to cook a meal and fold the laundry nicely or to clean the floors.