(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

iso,
thanks for the info!

tong,
paiseh, i lost the link to your blog cos IT reconfigured my laptop and i lost all my "favourites"...can you give it to me again? for the book you recommended, where can i get it? thanks for sharing

bx,
i think for HFMD fever is definitely one of the symptoms...no fever means should be ok i think. hope it's a false alarm.

qingling,
not sure whether tangkwei affects BM or not, but chinese physician say BF mums cannot take tangkwei too rich for the baby. only can take si4 shen2 and liu6 wei6 soups.

tongtong - saw your lotus root drink for cough. where to get the lotus root powder? i know u post b4, but i could not find the link for the korean bamboo salt - where to get it :p

Pauline
Same here. I was running btw Sarah Mae and K last 2 nights. If not this one cry, the other one is whining. For some reason, SM decided to wake every 2 hrs last night and K is very very manja when she is sick, kept waking up to say here pain, there pain, want milk, cry cry cry. Aiyah. I'm feeling sub-human today.

Leila
hehe, yes I do love Prof! Just hearing her voice in the delivery suite at the last hr gives me strength to push on. Somemore during the stitching up, she and I can joke together wan. haha.

Oh, that sucks! I thought she usually goes on leave in Dec? She usually passes her patients to this Prof YC-straightfaced-dry humour-Wong. He's funny but sometimes I don't know if he's seriously telling me smtg abt baby or joking. haha. I like him too but like I told my hb, if he's in the delivery suite with me, dunno will I laugh or cry?

BX
dun worry. usually HFMD is preceded with high fever. You can red rashes in her mouth? or ulcers? K had rashes in her mouth. Hope it's nothing.

Lezy
Tmr you will arm yourself with cameras and videocams and take pics of your LO gg to "school" for the first time. Aiyah, they are so so cute. Post lots of pics ok?

Carwash
Car serve me, not I serve car. Therefore, car does not get washed frequently unless maid ask to wash. I'm those kind of drivers on the road you see car alot of scratches here there, dun care type, be careful when you see me! hehe. Yeah, maid gotta ask "sir, can i wash your car?" then we say ok go wash. Current maid has not touched the car yet.

Leila.. congrats!

Bx.. dun worry.. may not be HFMD but still schools need to take precautioons..

Yipee.. i am so happy.. Gwen more or less confirm can go st james, i can stop my hunt liao.
Bkk.. is K still going for 3rd session?? Then they can be classmates!! if nothing goes wrong for my side. :p

Actually gwen is enjoying her school now, no problem getting her out of bed and to sch, in fact from the bed to sch is only a 15 min affair inclusive of washing up , chnaging and walking to sch. She will happily say bye to me or rather most of the time ignore me and just go in.I am actually not very sure changing her to st james is a good decision or not.. She will have to get started all over again. Sigh.. any advice?

Pauline u add the echineae to milk?? wont the taste be obvious?? cause its orangy taste.. raeanne wun mind?

tong,
C is a texture person.
find that she doesn't like drinks, fruits with coarse texture. i drinks juice from juice extractor, but not from blender. for fruits, she doesn't like strawberry and things with skin. that's not good cos the skin always has the most nutritional value. hence, i am considering to get those power blender. but it's super expensive. a made in US one is $1200 (3 yrs motor warranty), made in China one $500 (1 yr motor warranty).

lezy,
sama-sama. work not appreciated by bigger boss. small boss will never fight for his subordinates kind. no hope for promotion/increment again this year.

pauline,
when the little ones cough, try to feed less portion but more frequently.
i cut down the milk by 50% to avoid her throwing up everything. for C's case, her cough is more serious at night. and she only vomit 1 hour after milk feed and that's when she sleep. even more poorthing, got to drag her up from the sleep to bathe. :p

qingling,
i also start waking up early in the morning like 4 am+. not going to the toilet, just can't sleep.
and my heartburn is making it's way back. *sigh..*

bx,
think school just being cautius. hope nothing serious for A.

gar,
want to try the google reader? you won't lose your favorite blog links when change PC.

genice,
10 drops of echinacea taste shouldn't be significant after mixing into milk.
you know what? i mixed the 'hou2 zao3 san3 - the chinese medicine powder' into the milk, and C still drinks it. haha.. *evil laughter*

re: school
lezy,
how's ruth's 1st day in school? but start on Thursday, PH Friday + 2days weekend. won't the momentum be lost?

genice,
St. James should be for long term right? hard to get in, must grab the chance to go.

re: car washing
see how my condition will be after getting a car. walk one step and see one step liao.
car is just a mode of transportation for me. :p

xiaoyun
i never wash the car. hubby is the one who will do the washing. for him, only wash once in a while (say 2 or 3 mths). we are not very bothered with the external cleaniless of the car. haha.

lezy/xiaoyun
i'm quite disappointed with the increment this year. compared to last year, my PB is higher this year. however when it comes to increment, it's lousier than last year. to me, not logical at all.

leila
congrats on your #2 and hope you'll enjoy for the remaining of your pregnancy.

genice,
congrats... st james is good right... but i thought it's a kindergarden, do they offer N1/N2 as well?

xy,
it's important to regularly clean the inside of your car as well. so for us, we usually do it ourselves and we invest on few things:
- car vacuum cleaner
- window glass cleaner + cloth/towel
- leather seat cleaner (if needed)

Garfield, u can get the book at abt 12.90 at giant n popular. Ok send u the link later.

Xy, s doesn't like the skin of apple too, so must peel off one. But heok with grapes n blueberry though. I got my blender from m-plan msia, cheaper.

Qingling. U can get from organic store, or chinese medical hall.

tong! I will get the book too! My boy is sick these few days n on antibiotic. It's the 2nd or 3rd time he's ever on it n i wish he can avoid it.

pauline, stop the vicious cycle! V tiring on u leh.

went to fetch A home juz now from mil place. i checked her mouth, din see her red patches though. will monitor her tomorrow. anyway she has a doc appt on sat due to a ear infection. will check with the doc. thanks for all your assurance.

pauline,
can understand how u feel when our little ones refuse to nap. do u know what is the reason for RA having difficulty falling asleep? is it because of overstimulation or maybe she woke up too late in the morning, so she is not tired.

last night raeanne slept close to 12 midnight. This time it is our fault cos we went to giant tampines to stock up for the long weekend. Even then she woke up at 2am n 330am. Faint!

Bx yup she woke up later than usual yesterday morning. My fault, she woke up at 730am but this mummy is too voncussed from lack of sleep so after milk feed I let her go back to bed n ko with her. She woke up again at 840am. Had to rush for school after that. :p

Bkkgal, jia you. We can only hope n pray that this is a phase they will grow out of soon. :p

tute,
yup. my hb asked me to get a portable vacuum cleaner too.
one more thing to buy.

tong,
the m-plan one is ~ RM 1300 one right?
my parents' neighbor introduced one to them too. around RM 1100. but 1 yr warranty only.
is the m-plan one very smooth? how many containers it has?

pauline,
12 midnight?!! raeanne sleep so late. does she get cranky when @ giant?

XY, Ya, she was a bit cranky on her way back. Bo bian, we spent a super long time queuing due to the mad rush before long weekend.

Yeah! Thanks for sharing the book depository discount code. I just spent $100 on Kumon and Sesame street books from BP on Sat. Wonder why book depository never email the code to me? :p

Xiao yun, i think my mum got for me cheaper than 1100. Er, not sure whether it's 1 year warranty though. I used until it cracked on the bottom, am going to change it this weekend. The lady i called never ask me whether the warranty has passed though. Yea it blends till very smooth. can make thick soup, creamy soup, smoothie, etc. When my mum is here, she always make the brown rice oats for us in the morning, and the texture is very smooth. Mine only come with the original container, plus a small one to blend veg/meat .

pauline,
bookdepository doesn't send email about the discount.
i just bought a book from them last week - before 1 Apr.

good morning ladies,
hai... now no more off on Monday. Monday blue too..
it's my turn to cough.. AGAIN. how ah? no fever, can't get MC right?
but i dun wish to infect my colleagues too..

XY
woohoo!! thanks!! I have some items in bookdepository shopping cart, just never "action" yet, now can get 5% discount!

kitsune
i also wonder why they never send to me.. maybe we dun buy enough? heh.

piglettail
yahhh monday blues after a long weekend. some more forgot to bring my phone to work today. sigh!!

tong,
how much your mum got the blender? can help to check? if very much cheaper, can tumpang her to get or not?
crack at the bottom? free exchange? how long have you been using that?

i am contemplating to ask my friend in US got my the Vitamix brand one. USD 449 for a basic model - only 1 container. but bringing singapore means no warranty at all liao.

XY, why no more off on Monday? You got your car already? Are you driving to office then? You can try to see doc and get MC! Shaun also started to cough yesterday. I think it continued from his flu last week.

XY, ok I will call her tonight and check, forgot to bring HP so cant call her now. yea can tumpang since I’m going back to KL next month. Free exchange, yes. can change here in SG cuz they have an office here. I mean cracked at the bottom so once I blend fruits, it will flow some out. Cant remember how long I have been using it though.

Iso, I forgot to bring my handphone to office too!!

tong,
my shift work ended. no more working on Sat. hence, no more off on Monday.
so sad that i still haven't got my car.
too many cars in the workshop to install the solar films and reverse cam. long weekend some more, they not able to clear the queue.
so i got to wait loh. hopefully can get it tomorrow. waiting for the agent to call us.
i will go and see doc later. hopefully can get MC tomorrow.
the cough syrup i have is a drowsy kind, can't take it during office hour.

can try to recall how long the container can last? this is crucial for me to decide between the m-plan and Vitamix. :p
thanks your help for checking out.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">MONDAY BLUES!!!!</font></font>

sorry, need to fa1 xie4 a bit. woke up early this morning blur blur to feed J.

and then A who has been coughing over the weekend decided to VOMIT ALL THE MILK SHE JUST DRANK OVER MY BED!!!

it was literally the whole bottle of milk lor. liquid just gushed out of her mouth non stop each time she puked. and it was like 3 pukes...my poor bed and mattress. just finished washing up 3 hours later.

i know i'm not alone in facing this, but it's really damn sian lor

tong,
thanks! will go and hunt for the book this weekend. wanted to ask you - A always develop phlegmy cough - read above post =( i usually give her what you recommended previously (the chuan bei mu etc). do you know what i can give her to PREVENT phlegm build up on an on-going basis? every time got to clean my bed very shack ah!!!

XY,
thanks for sharing =) google reader, didn't know about this - will go and check out. thanks for the bookdepository code too....also had some books in shopping cart not yet processed so just nice!!

pauline,
wah $100...can share what you bought and the BP link? i'm scouting around for sesame street books too

toddlers choot pattern at night
ME ME!!! A will wake up in the middle of the night and ask to brush teeth lah, play with iphone lah, watch tv lah...like at 3am in the morning lor

XY, I hpe ur doc can give u MC, tell him you are pregnant lor! My doc here doesn’t give MC for the next day , unless got fever. As for my blender, I think maybe around 2 years. OK, if you want mplan just let me know then.

Garfield, I don’t know how to prevent phlegm from building up wor. Do you think should start from building up the lungs ? Read that the white fungus is quite nourishing to the lungs too. The medical hall ppl actually says that giving higher grade of chuan bei mu, ie the song bei, is better to expel phlegm. But also, vomiting out the milk is one of the way to expel the phlegm as they don’t know how to spit the phlegms out right.
If you get the book I recommended, it actually says giving the black bean soup. You might want to try.

tongtong
must be monday morning so we blur blur

gar
aiyoh... i can sympathise, whenever E gets cough he will throw up easily too. So when he has cough i keep lots of containers handy all over the place.

XY
solar film/tinting - must do!! esp if u drive during the day, it really helps. i can't imagine what other cars without tinting are like, cos some days can be like 35deg during the day.

books
i've been buying Step Into Reading books, i quite like them! Also cos got quite a few Thomas and Sesame Street ones..

garfield,
when C vomit, also like that. milk + porridge taken 1-2 hrs before.
time to get waterproof matteress protector.
it's my savior. only need to wash the bedsheet, pillow, etc. and the matteress is still clean.

i also stand by a plastic bag nearby. if your reaction is fast enough, can reduce the mess a lot. - this is through training though. i've managed to learn it after 4-5 rounds of vomit.
when she cough, reduce her milk intake to like 75% or 50% at one go. this reduces the chance of vomitting.

tong,
2 years. still free exchange of the container ah? how about motor?
let me know how much before i decide, ok?

Gar invest in some waterproof mattress protector. That's what I did. Mattress cover n protector still wet but at least mattress is dry. :p I am lucky cos raeanne's waterproof hello kitty water mattress pad helped to shield her vomit a few times so Bedsheet never Kenna as much vomit.

I bought from Babyling's bp. Some flash cards n scribble books. Can see my list of orders there cos I just bought on fri.

<font color="0000ff">BLUES</font>

I fired my maid yesterday. The Gstring one.
She's not supposed to have handphone but I found one in her cupboard. She even sms=ed someone my Address!!!! Nevermind, one of her friends sms-ed her abt POSTINOR (the morning after pill). What kind of company does she keep man??!!!

Never mind, the day before I caught her eating my ham. I asked her is it not enough food to eat. She said no, got enuff, just no time to eat. What the?!!! i told her just go and eat and then cont to work lah!!

She is super fake towards K. Always like to come and touch my baby. Tell her stay away, she still stand there and goo goo gaga at SM.

We can't take a dishonest person ard dis hse. So yday, without warning, we sent her to agent.

Mummies are STRONG!
Mummies are RESILENT!
We Mummies can do it! JIA YOU!

XY, yea, can exchange for free wor. But I only intend to exchange the container. Erm, not sure whether I should change the motor too? I will call my mum and ask her again.

Oh, I’m so fed up with work, so wanna check out BP. I have really never encountered such feeling at my previous com before. I’m glad that I made a right move to quit.

Bkkgal jia you! Maid hunting is really tiresome. U want to consider getting the old maid back if she is repentent?

Xy, take more lozenges to stop coughing. Better see dr, got those herbal cough syrup non drowsy but they do nothing for me. In the end I still took the drowsy type to get well. :p

gar,
on reducing phlegm, maybe you can cut down A's milk a bit and give more water? In C's case whenever he has the cough, we always dilute his milk as what the doctor advised. He's ok with this because well he's not a big fan of milk as well but other kids they might not like diluted milk so maybe cut down instead? milk attributes to more phlegm. so far he hardly vomit when he coughs... though his cough is quite phlegmy.

pauline,
hee... i saw you in babyling's bp but i didn't buy anything from her. i bought from another bp whose selling sticker and magnetic books... almost spend $100 too...

iso,
step into reading good? any titles you can recommend and do you buy them from bookdepository? oh, and you free to meet up tom or fri?

tong,
it's good that S is quite easy with food and willing to try different type of food... C is pretty selective on food.

bkkgal,
good that you have the courage put a stop to her nonsense. that will teach her a lesson. hope you can find a good replacement soon.

Tute, u bought from xiaochuan is it? Babyling stays close to my mil house. Last time I bought from her but self collect. This time hit $100 so got free delivery. I bought 2 magnet books from book depository before but find that raeanne doesn't like them so much so I bought more kumon books so that it is more interactive n I can go through with her. She is learning a lot n I think her pg does not have enough hands on learning activities.

bkkgal,
wow ur maid really jialat...
how did u send her back? just call the agent on the spot and bring her over immediately? or did u liaise with the agent beforehand (e.g half dau before or few hours?)
Am also dealing with maid's nonsense over the long weekend making me very drained. thinking if i should send her back - but will new maid be worse?
actually i'm more or less ok with maid, just that she like to act bimbo and darn slow. e.g: ask her to open up my folding dining table to clean the sides as G had poured water into the crevices (i knew she 'dunno' how to open the table), she said ok but no action, just walk away. i repeated, she said "wait (for) sir open the table..." i was pissed so tried to open the table myself and ask her some over and help. then she came with a table cloth and start wiping the table top when it's actually the sides that requires cleaning...so i took the cloth from her and wipe the wet parts while she just stand there and watch my demo. and can stand there, look so earnest in learning and say "oh yah, wet wet" while im the one cleaning it!
i mean, should she have more initiative??
my hb has a short fuse and really yelled all weekend at her due to her non-initiativeness which will take place in numerous forms throughout the day. most if the time i have to bail her out by mediateing between hb and her. (tell hb to cool down and explain the instructions to her again). although she has not done any major wrong (aka dishonesty/ill treat my G, etc) it's so frustrating..i dunno if im expecting too much or what.
should i change maid?

back. no MC.
out of Doc's office within 0.5 minutes. dun even have the chance to tell him that I am pregnant!
lucky that double check with the nurse regarding the medicine again. now was prescribed with drowsy cough syrup again and with no MC.
what he suppose me to do? drink the syrup and do the wrong thing because i am sleepy?

merlioning A,
thanks for all the suggestions on plastic bags, containers and waterproof mattress. this blur mummy didn't even think of it!! will implement tonight

tong,
thanks! just now i chiong to chinese medical hall to top up on the herbs for cough. hopefully she will recover quickly

iso,
ya, i was BFing J as i saw A merlion...in my heart i went "ooooooohhhhhh shiiiiiiiiiit" (pardon the vulagrity!)

for step into reading - where do you buy the books from? any recommendation

bkk,
wa lau...no wonder you wanna change your maid! same question as pauline - if old maid repents, maybe can consider taking her back. not easy to find a maid that looks after kids well esp she so sayang K (A likes auntie A too hehe...). more imptly, she can help look after K come sep

XY,
aiyo, so irresponsible the doctor. v bad leh. you ask for MC can?

pauline,
thanks for the link - i also ordered some =)

tute,
i tried diluting, but only a little bit. good idea - i think i should dilute further. trust me - merlioning kid no fun at all so good thing C doesn't =P

tong,
i doubt he can remember how i look like.
never check temperature, never see my throat. only listen to my breathing.
so i just be my own doc, told him cough, what medicine i took. from when till when..
lousy doc.

gar,
the doc in company won't give you mc unless you are having fever. (but he never check in the first place, how does he know? >.<)
took the syrup already. if really sleepy will go back home immediately. lucky today not driving.
dun expect me to come to work tomorrow. will just go see nearby doc at 10 am and ask for MC. :p

tute
yes! let's try for tomm? today i forgot handphone at home..

Step into reading, just search "step into reading" in books depository. i like all of the Thomas ones, and E likes them q a lot too. Except I don't like "Close Shave" though - it's a Thomas one but i don't quite like the text.

Also got 3 Cars ones and a few Sesame street ones. Can buy up to step 3 because can still read to them.

I also recently found that there is a similar range of books called DK Readers, so i will probably try that!

Gar
Completely understand - when i see E's pale face plus the "urrrp" sound, i'm usually like, "#$%$&amp;%^" lol. all in my thought bubbles, of course.

pauline,
yeah bought it from xiaochuan. actually, this is the first time i'm buying magnetic books but hope he'll like it. C loves sticker books, i bought one super sticker book from cold storage and he loves it and i think it's really good as well for matching shapes, colors etc. he likes to match shapes, in fact his fave game in iphone now is matches and shapes

are kumon books good? have not tried that... hmm, if i order them now i think my hb will kill me! C's book shelves is overflowing now and he still have some unopened books from the previous MPH sales and not to mention usborne phonics books.. :p

gar,
i usually reduce 1 scoop of milk but now i reduce 1.5 scoop because he was still coughing while drinking milk with 1 scoop reduction.

xy,
i think company doctor maybe have been advised not to give MCs very often ? usually if you go to other GP, they give MCs like giving peanuts. And some even ask if 1 day is enough. :p

Piglettail
I had a uneasy sense abt this maid from the start. But the HP affair just made my decision easier.

After I heard the phone vibrating in her room, hb sent her downstairs to the car to do things while we check the room. Then hb said we better dun leave her alone at home. We brought her out with us, didn't tell her anything, bought Macs lunch for her and drop off at agent. I called agent 2 hrs ahead and explained. We did not tell her anything at all. After that, hb went home to collect her belongings and drop off at agent. We left it to the agent to tell her what she did wrong. Side note: Hb told me that night that he doesn't think she has any "normal" underwear at all!!! LOL, no wonder she wear G string lah. I got more "ah ma" underwear than her.

Yes, maid shud have more initiative. If dunno, ask. At least have to help you and learn.

My hb also yelled at this maid a few times over a few issues. First, we found out she doesn't know how to make K's milk. Put too much powder. I wrote down instructions for her on the tin still can get it wrong. SEcond, she gave cold milk. Few days later, gave hot milk.

Baby's bath. One day cold, one day hot, one day lukewarm. AARRGHH!!

She can hear Kate crying and we are struggling to calm her and make milk but yet she will cont to sleep. Damn fed up lor.

New maid may be worse but may be better. i dunno...if u hv no major probs with her, then just tell her explicitly to do things instead of waiting for her to take initiative.

Bkkgal I will wake the maid up if she continues to sleep when raeanne kicks up a fuss or vomits at night. My take is she cannot be more good life than me. Hee.

thanks bkkgal...yah, mine will prob do the same with the bath water if we ask her to. when preparing bottles for night milk feeds every night (to be put in my room with hot water flask), she'll pour 15ml cold water for day 1, 50ml on day 2 and 120ml on day 3....?!?!

pauline,
yar lor, i was just thinking to myself the maid has a better life than me, the employer. cos she just stand there and look dumb while i do the work cos she give me the 'i dun know how to' look. that's y i'm still on my feet all weekend long. even she has moments of 'hanging around' becos she has finished her tasks of cleaning and washing, the only tasks that she can understand.

sorry for my totally not child-related ranting...

horrible maid stories! Had 1 to add too. Friend's new maid who worked in sg prev, actually sneaked out to meet boyfriend, while everyone is home. Such audacity!

Yesterday i was thinking whether i shld have a maid or not... Now the stories repulse me. Ha...

Baby is so awake! help! But she's not crying or whining..just staring at things, cooing at us..has been like this since 2pm, with exception of 2 catnaps. I'm gonna be in trouble tonight..*sob*

Pauline/Gar
Re: old maid
She has been sms-ing me abt her bonus. I explained to her that not all maids get a bonus. We said we wld give a bonus if she extends her contract but she left early. Anyway, it's not in conntract that we promised a bonus. We also paid her medical bills to see a specialist without counting down to the dollar. Then she said her daughter need $$ for surgery. Hai....

I asked her whether she wants to come back. She gave me excuses lor - her legs pain lah, she must rest, daughter got surgery, can only let me know in 1 months' time. I think suan le lah...I take it that she just wants the bonus.

Hb said the $$ may not make a difference to us but it may make a big difference to her. He's willing to give her the bonus. Well, she has done her part for the 2 yrs she was with me. I just hope that she's not spinning a tall tale for us.