(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

wah, looks like many of u have already tried/started potty training. Now i feel bad for delaying it so long. Got to try this weekend liao.

I dun understand, need to arch back when pee? U mean they dun stand straight ah?

fairfield
my mum was the one who started to toilet train my boy. if left to me, doubt i would have started :p

heehee.. i think if arch when peeing, less likelihood to wet the leg. or maybe it's just my boy. maybe his penis is crooked? that's why when he stands straight to pee, will wet his leg.

stephie, did shawn open his leg wide when peeing?

i observed how mine pee yesterday again (he din hold his p), it din wet his leg and he din arch too wor.

June, raeanne is the same. She only allows the maid to feed her n bath her (but with a lot of whining n crying if we r at home). Making her sleep is only by me or hubby. If maid she will cry n scream until she is drained then sleep lor. :p ya definitely not easy for u to go out n give tuition cos the 2 kids r young n reliant on you.

re: potty training
didn't know boy boy can have different style of peeing. so interesting to read about your posts

btw, i am having a serious cough. practically coughing non-stop. will the coughing cause distress to my bb? coz i think he will keep shaking in my tummy. anyone knows if it's ok?

tong,
haha, okok, i guess the waterbag will bounce around. A is also coughing, so no need to wear mask. we cough together.

hello mummies !

gd the morning !!!

bx: i was having vy bad cough recently too. every night can't sleep so no choice got to see the doc.

the gynae asked me to do a blood test and was test mycoplasma positive. he said recently many ppl are having this. dry cough, no sore throat, no cold. just coughing. and it is infectious.

so i was put on anti biotic and cough mixture.

i saw during the ultra scan while i was coughing, the bb was having a tsunami in my womb... so i think they also don't feel good if we keep coughing ;p

diana,
oh no, i went to a GP. my gynae appt is next week. mayb i should call up to ask. tsunami sounds scary.

when r u due?

tongtong: thks !

bx: i'm 30 weeks now. my edd around 28th may. but i expect it to be early. N was born at 37wks

now already switch off mode from work...hahaha ;p

and even without the cough, am also not sleeping well in the nite... :-/

bx: no lar, i was instructed to hv as much bed rest as possible during N's time ah! cos i had low placenta and was having cramps and spotting then. so must hv bed rest lor.

had planned for elective c-sect at 38wks but was bleeding quite badly 1 week b4 in the middle of the nite. so got to go thru emergency c-sect at 37wks lor....

so i dunno this time will be like that also or not ;p

tongtong
don't think shawn open his leg wide wide. shall ask him to do that.

bx
haha.. funny hor. last time used to think it's so easy to toilet train boy since they just stand to pee. apparently mine is not :p

Re: milk intake
may I ask how much bm or fm are u all still giving? Cos I'm nt sure if I'm giving too much milk. I give 240ml of bm thrice daily. Once b4 nap, once after and once b4 sleep. He'll also
drink 100ml of Milo or fresh milk in the morning.

Re: jealous of father?!?
Does anyone have this problem too? Jerome has no issue with didi but is very jealous of papa. He simply refuses to let his papa come near me. When hb is hugging me in bed, J will fight to climb btwn us. He'll pull, struggle, kick, and even when hb pushes him away, he'll fight to come back and won't give up until he splits us up. How come he is jealous of hb but nt his brother? Anyone has same experience?

hi mommies
i always thot toilet trg boys wld b much easier than girls? just observe the daddy? but seems like it's not so easy from ur exps.

June
my dd like yr Jerome - can drink alot of milk. if i let her, she is happy to drink and not eat. got a separate stomach for milk! she drinks 180 ml morning, 180 ml before nap, 240ml before sleep.
as for eating, she's not that good at it altho nowadays she is starting to discover textures. PD says she is 25th percentile for weight, must eat more. Well, the older folks say it's gd if a kid loves to drink milk, at least that's a good form of nutrition for them.

Jerome's jealousy
an interesting early manifestation of what psychologists call, the Oedipus Complex. It is apparently an early realisation of the child's own identity, he starts to see himself as an entity apart from Mother. The boy competes with father for maternal affection. It is phase which will pass. You can google and read more abt it.

June I give 240ml 3 times a day too but she hardly finishes it. She leaves behind 40-120ml each time. Waste $ lor but she's very slim (only 11+kg) so I rather make more FM than underfeed her lor. Kiasu mummy... ;P

bkkgal
does it only apply to boy? how about gal? my gal used to be like June's boy... she got very upset when she saw hb and I hugged each other. but after a while, she got used to it. when we hugged, she will just stand at a corner, looking at us with smile.

xy
still in time to share the order for the patches?
i would like to get 4 boxes.

sunny, is your son taking oatmilk only or also FM? i realised my boy isnt full after taking the oatmilk before bedtime. he demanded 3 bottles. > 600ml in total before zz.

good morning!

re: milk intake
june,
C is having max. 180 ml x 3 times a day.
when she's sick, coughing and merlion, we gave only 90 ~120 ml.

tong
wah, 600ml!!!
yes, he's taking oatmilk only. sometimes he will ask the milk before sleep, sometimes not. but if we give the milk, we will give him a bun as well.
which brand of oatmilk do you give?

sunny
It's more complicated for girls. Called Electra complex. Also has to do with self-awakening and self-identity that sort of things. But it's not as well studied as Oedipus complex. I don't know much about it. You can google and read more

An observation
Interestingly, most of the may/june babies due are BOYS. Also the mummies who are due have already #1s that are boys. Is it in your family where the Y chromosome is more predominant? Or does it have to do with the month that the mummies did it?

Ho ho, then I guess I'm wrong. The one who has boy and having boy again is Isobellies and who else?

Our #2s seem to be coming in batches...the Pauline/Bluegin batch in end 2009, me/gar in early 2010 and the mid 2010s (bx/genice/qingling/iso/xy)

yup i'm having my 2nd boy!

bkk
maybe just coincidence that there are so many boys? i have 1 friend who just delivered last week, and 2 friends due in May, all boys! but the mummies are all different ages..

i don't know about the rest, but this is the 5th grandson and no girls yet. even hubbs sister has 2 boys, and his female cousin has 1 girl....

Iso
I've a fren whose entire family line, exception of 1 cousin, is full of boys. Seems that no matter how they try, the Y chromosome is too predominant. They literally cheer in jubilation when their cuz had a girl.

Pauline
Also gar rem?

I am so stressed. Kate returned to school on Thurs cos she's so bored at home. Her HFMD recovered already and I gave her MMRV, no prob, no reactions. So I thot ok let her go back, she's super bored and I'm also quite tired out looking after the small one. She's been getting lowgrade fever over weekend and this evening, fever spiked. And then evening the teacher called to say a boy in her class came back from holiday in HK with HFMD confirmed. The boy was last in class on Wed; Kate went back on Thurs. Technically they never came in contact but who knows, the bug could be present in one of the others right?

I'm wracked with guilt for sending her back to school!! She just got well and now again!! I'm also exposing SM for no good reason to these stoopid bugs except that mommy is tired of looking after a crying newborn and entertaining her toddler!!!

Bkkgal, Asked gar before but her gal is confirmed tiger Bb cos born after Li chun.

Can understand the guilt. But it is really something u cannot control. Cc is like that. Alternatively can your mil come over in the day to help u with kl n sm? I have a maid but the beginning is still very diff. Nowadays I get woken up twice by ra at night n at least once by rl for night feeds. :p

oh yes, forgot about u, hweiz. Join us here more often lar. It is quiet in the feb08 thread except when someone announces good news. Haha.

bkk,
ya, dun feel bad. i will have sent her to cc thinking that she is well and keeping her at home also like waste time, may as well let her go sch to learn something. the HFMD situation seems quite bad now.

ytd when A was going to sch, my mil told me that a boy was told to be brought home after the physical examination. so scary.

I also have a cow baby in jul09 :p

bkkgal, i can understand your feelings. I think everyone knows it's difficult to handle a toddler the whole day. Now it's terrible 2s...

bkk - H's school had a 10 days break during the March hols, meanwhile, they had the whole school disinfect, and also to break the cycle of HFMD. Till now, i still cross fingers, still no new cases as of yet.

by the way, mummies, i tot this playdough recipe sounds quite good, try it out.

Playdoh recipe...
1 cup water

1 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 cup salt
1 tbsp cream of tartar (this is the preservative)
food colouring
1 cup flour

Put all the ingredients except the flour into a saucepan and heat until warm, stir to mix the ingredients well.

Remove from the heat and add the floor, stir until it forms a ball then tip it out onto the work surface. Leave it to cool, whilst it is cooling, mix up the next batch.

Once it has cooled you need to knead until smooth.

Store it in an air tight container or zip-locked bag it will keep for ages.
Have fun kids!

bkkgal, dont blame yourself, it's not your fault!! so how's kate now?

ql, thanks for sharing!

pauline, yea agree, feb thread is very quiet wor. maybe all the working mummies are very hardworking at work, except me :p

iso,
haha... same for my family, my parents have 4 girls and among the 4 of us we have 5 boys and 2 girls... :p

bkk,
can understand the guilt thing... but really not your fault, you could have not known that there is another kid with hfmd. i'm also feeling guilty towards C - dunno if you read how i was saying last week here that i'm trying to not bring him to doctor and that he's recovering after 2 weeks of mild coughing? well, last sun all of a sudden he got a bit feverish, lasted till night, yesterday afternoon brought to pd and pd said lots of phlegm, with wheezing and they put him on nebuliser in the clinic...

so since yesterday i feel soooo guilty about not bringing him to doctor earlier... he got a lot worse just because i wanted to try to get through without him taking too much medication... though everyone at home agreed that he seems to be recovering. he's coughing really badly now - still with fever, he has difficulty sleeping and will wake up about 4am-ish with fever and coughing...
anyways, i think i learnt my lesson... next time i will not wait that long before bringing him to doctor... he seems to be suffering more now.

tute, sorry to hear that, hope C recovers soon! now the virus is evyerwhere, lots of toddlers are down with cough and flu again. C might have caught it again when he is still not fully recovered. take care!

Morning mummies, pop in to say 'Hi'. Been very busy at work cause have we some promotions running, busy attending seminars as well.

Btw, i fell down yesterday while on the way to fetch Gwen from school. I was shocked cause i haven fall down *touchwood* ever since i got preggie with both . I was walking up a flight of stair when i tripped, luckily, i only hit my knee cap along the edge of the stairs which bled and is pretty swollen now. Heng.. din land my tummy on the edge of the flight of stairs.. else will be drama i think. And another gd thing, luckily there was no one ard.. feel so paiseh.

A little bit of gossip..

Brought my ger to sch just now and saw Felicia Chin and Elvin Ng shooting just beside my block.. hehe. Elvin Ng looks gd!! Sigh.. i felt like shit walking past them .. super auntie look.

bkkgal,
rope in ur mom or mil to help?? u prob need all the help u can get esp when tend g to an active tod n a youg bb so that u can breathe. JIA YOU!!!

genice,
oh dear...be careful leh...

i finally got the strength to announce...m preggie n will be 15 wks on fri

and FINALLY my ms is easing. For the past mths, been so v v sick, always lie in bed feel g pukey, tired, can't eat/drink n spotting. AHHHHH....finally see some light at the end of the tunnel.

Talk g abt gender of kids, my hubs prefers a gal nxt since the first is a boy. M actually ok wid having 2 boys, infact m not exactly the gentle sort of person so thot bring g up boys wld be much easier for me....oh well....can only wait for the detail scan then see.

hello mummies, my boy just turned 2 last sat n i had a small party for him.

Ql, i made playdough for the party using the same recipe! It's v fun to make it but must get the propotions right.

Tute
Poor C. Is he better? I would've done the same thing as you, let him recover on his own, you also didn't know that the cough could get that bad.

I'm an advocate of letting small illnesses run its course and letting the kids get well on their own. Whereas hb is of the view that if there's medicine available, why let them suffer. Always give them the necessary dosage at the prescribed time.

Leila
Congrats
Finally can congratulate you! haha. I miss gg to see Prof! haha. I haven't made a gift to thank her yet. Aiyah, so busy until now. Send her my regards when you next visit her.

June
My old helper went home last week. New helper only 1 week old. I'm gg through all the training woes and having major old helper "rebound" syndrome - you know like how you break up with Boyfren and want him back? haha, that's how we all feel now (yeah WE - from hb to MIL to mom to K to the cat)