(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

princessgx, i followed the extinction method in this book, healthy sleep habits, happy child by dr marc weissbluth. U can get it for abt s$20 at booksdepository.com

basically, if our child is not sleeping enough, the more tired they are, the more they wont cooperate with us. the method recommends to estabalish a set of routine n getting the child used to the idea of sleeping at the right time, and on their own. it's a life saver for me!

June, Jerome sounds like RaeAnne. She takes 1-2 hrs to fall asleep at nap time and at night too. Then I realised that if I put her to bed, she falls asleep slightly faster so nowadays I try to do it. It means I get even less rest and sometimes it clashes with Mei Mei's feeding time then bo bian, make her wait 5-10mins while I feed Mei Mei lor. Finish with Mei Mei then feed RaeAnne milk and make her sleep by lying on the cot bed next to her until she is asleep. If she tries to open the door and run out, then I'll close the room door and lock myself inside. She will get scared and want to come in cos she doesn't want the maid to carry her to sleep. ;P

Goodbb, I usually ask RaeAnne to choose between reading a book, play jigsaw puzzle or do colouring/cutting/pasting. She usually chooses a book for me to read. I seldom switch on tv cos I saw my cousin's kid who is a tv/vcd addict and I got scared. :p

Tongtong, I only put nan bei xing and dried figs yesterday cos chuan bei mu was at my MIL's house. Today, added both chuan bei mu and dried figs. Anyway, this evening, hubby surrendered and said bring her to see dr cos she vomitted her milk out twice due to coughing and cleaning up is so messy. :p

goodbb,
its tough when S doesnt have to go to sch that day-- so hard to pass the time! He will keep wanting to watch tv/cartoons on computer, play with his cars, jigsaw, and keep going to the fridge to get food.

how do u discipline ur toddlers? S sometimes cries till he vomits if we put him in the room to punish him, time-out doesnt work for him, and in the end, I have to spank his butt. I feel bad for spanking him, and worry that I will unintentionally hurt him, but looks like this is the only way that works right now.

Oh, wanted to ask, the beansprout pillow for newborns, what is it good for? Where do I buy it? Was thinking if i shd get my parents to buy it for me for my #2.

tong,
coupon vouchers from genting? to be spent at genting?
aiyoh. i go there only once every few years. :p

tute,
i think manuka cannot give to infant. toddlers are ok with small amount.

june,
can understand the frustration over J.
my C very guai liao my MIL and i also cannot tahan her when she's active. more friends at CC, more activities to tire her out. haha..

stephie,
in this case, you should go and get shares that give decent dividend. DBS is not that bad actually.

no quick $ for our case loh.

pauline,
i bought 'hou2 zao3 san3' from Hock Hua last night.
C doesn't want to take it cos it's typical chinese medicine taste. lucky she still drink her milk after i mixed it inside.
you bringing RaeAnne to TCM sinseh? last time she cough also cured by TCM right?

fairfield,
beansprout pillow is to put on the newborns so that they won't be 'scared'. i guess it acts as a slight pressure like us putting the palms on them.
kiddy palace and places selling bb stuffs got sell.
if want to save your parent's trouble, why don't you get from online store/BP and send to your house instead?

XY, we went back to the GP again this morning cos RaeAnne developed a rash around her eyes and left cheek. Changed med liao, these 2 taste better but she still doesn't want to drink. 3 of us got to hold her down. Faint! Ya, if still not ok, will try TCM again. But that one the cough syrup very big bottle and she also doesn't like to drink. :p

princessgx
is it because your boy is trying to get your attention after the 2nd one is born? maybe you can let him have more outdoor activities e.g. to the playground to play for 30 minutes, strolling, water play, etc to make him tired and hungry.

goodbb
i will normally read book for my boy, let him play with his toy, watch 30 min of the DVD, play puzzle, help me to do housework e.g. sweep floor (he will mess things up), bringing the clothes out from the washing machine for me to hang, song and dance. sometimes i will bring him out for marketing.

re: cough with phlegm
you can get those big round pears, boil with 'nan xin' and 'bei xin', then add some rock sugar.

re: tuina
recently i signed up a 4 hour session tuina class. learnt some basic techniques to do tuina for my kids. just start to use the skills learnt from the instructor. hopefully, in long run, my kids can be healthier thru this method.

Sunny, the hock hwa staff told me that if it's more of a night cough (can be liang cough), then don't boil with chinese pear. Put apple instead.

Tute, I also read that before. But the manuka I bot can be given to toddler > 2 yo, according to the sales rep. Anyway I have given S. If u feel unsure , then give normal honey then

Clover, I have yet to visit the splash park. Hubby brought son there yesterday in the morning but they were not open yet. Only opened at 10.30am. We will go there again next week..

Stephie, yea. DBS wont lose $ one. gov owned wor. hehe.

June, can understand your frustration now. Yea maybe it’s better to send him to CC and u continue teaching??

Fairfield, beansrpout pillow is good I think? My son had that too, to be placed on his chest while sleeping. So he gets less startled. When he was older, he will hug it while sleeping.

XY, yeah, coupon vouchers for F&B, hotel, cable car ride and etc. All to be spent at genting one la.

My boy kena dunno what insect bites on his hand, palm and legs at nanny's house last friday!! i counted, 15 bites in total, haiyo.

Hi moms,

Have been silent reader these few days cos so busy with 2 girls and running the BP!

BX, I think A is doing so so well! 5th day and no more crying, very good already! K cried for 1 mth I told u right? haha, she very act one.

June, u can pump 30oz after latching? *clap clap* very good supply. wish cld hv ur ss. Every evening, my ss dips, i have to top up with a bottle. haiz....

Tong, congrats on impending SAHM-hood. I still think I can't do it. Very cooped up at home these few weeks. almost gg crazy liao. how to be sahm lidat...

I got a question, wonder if anyone can help.
I brought SM for vaccination today, got pneumoccocal as well. Paid for the 6in1, pneumoccocal and rotarix and forgot that can use Medisave to pay for pneumococal. Can I go back and ask the clinic to refund me and charge to medisave?

princess
hmm with eating, i observed that my nephew from young always kana forced, and i think that's why now he's not interested. sometimes MIL can give him biscuits at 4+, 5pm, then expect him to eat dinner at 6+. and she never let him self feed when young, always chasing him around the house.

maybe if S doesn't want to eat, just let him be, but don't offer too much snacks after, so next meal time he will know better eat? and some kids also less interested in food than others, so maybe he is one of them?

fairfield
i read that our tots are too young for time outs, but actually i not sure what age is "ideal". after spanking does he stop? is there a reason behind the tantrum?

Went to check out Cherie hearts CC today just to kaypoh. But don't like the facilities. Looks very spartan n basic. Asked about their curriculum for 3 yr old (Playgroup 2) and the teacher (a very young one) said PG2, no worksheets yet. They are learning to read and joining dots. Got a copy of their full day prog and the 'studying' is only 10-1130am and 4-445pm. Like really waste time to put the kid for one whole day for just 2.5 of learning if excluding storytime/music & movement. Will try and check out PCF 3 hr programme too since Stephie said it's not bad. ;P

Bkkgal, not all PD clinics allow you to claim using medisave or CDA account. Mine doesn't. :p

pauline,
reporting here with the effect of 'hou2 zao3 san3'.
C recovered very fast since i first introduced her the medicine Friday night.
Friday 1 dose.
Saturday 2 doses.
Sunday 3 doses.
Monday 2 doses.
she only cough 1 time during sleep just now.
if RaeAnne still not recover yet, you can consider getting it from Hock Hwa since the Eu Yan Seng one is so expensive.

tong,
you know what insect is that?
itchy?

bkk,
i checked with my PD, only polyclinic can claim medisave for pneumo. not sure true or not.

iso,
i read about the timeout not suitable for young tots too.
the book recommend the 'time in' instead.
check out the book called 'the science of parenting'. after reading, i will try to understand what's happening in their mind before i implementing any 'discipline'.

tong
how's your boy? 12 bites are quite scary. my kids always kena mosquito bites when we go back to m'sia.

for the manuka honey + lemon. it's 1 teaspoon with how much of the lemon juice? can share your blog link?

morning to all,
just as we thought A is adjusting well as she didnt cry ytd when we sent her, she fell sick and we have to keep her home today. she woke up with a temp of 38 degrees celcius. called the cc to inform that she will not be reporting and was told to check out for ulcers. apparently there are reported cases of hfmd in the centre.

those of u who have experience, what is the first signs to look out for?

Bkkgal, thanks! Counting down liao hehe. yea saw your TTT bp is having good business! Congrats!

XY, good to hear that C has recovered! As for the insect, it has a big red bump with the stink in the middle. It has subsided la. Yeh they were itchy as I saw him scratching. But still dunno what insect. Could be the red ants.

XY, what is the time in approach?

Sunny, my boy is ok liao. The bumps had subsided, but still red and probably some are still itchy. But overall it doesn’t affect him la, only saw him scratch a little while falling asleep yesterday. Yeh, when I go back to Msia, I will apply the repellant on him when we go to park! Hehe. so many mosquitoes lor. The saleslady told me for kids who started to fall sick, can have 4 times a day, 1 tsp each time. But I add lemon because lemon is a natural remedies to cough, can sooth the irritating throat or can have some healing power too if combined with honey? Hehe. Anyway, I will just try la, no harm trying ma. My blog is here. http://guazi-myboylittleshaun.blogspot.com/ but I forgot whether I updated this remedies in though..

BX, oops, hopefully Ashlynn is only having teething fever.. give her natural diy fruit juice ok!!

tongtong
in you blog, there's a cough remedy: Korean bamboo salt honey with pearl
do you mean bamboo salt + honey + pearl? pearl is the pearl powder from chinese medical hall?

Sunny,the 3 combi in 1 is sold in 1 bottle, my mum got it from Msia. After we finished that bottle, we din buy anymore liao, it's expensive! :p

Mummies...did you get to count your tot's teeth to see if all 20 are out?
I have waited so long for my boy's last molars to come out but still haven't appear. They seem to be taking a looong time to come out coz he is forever drooling.

tong,
for the time in method, it's something like being beside the kid when they distress. talk to them about their feeling as they might not be able to identify why are they feeling sad/angry at this age.
but got to make sure that they are not at the stage of attention seeking or having the little neuro tantrum.
let me go back and dig out the book again and let you know the details.

<font color="ff0000">no one interested in the mosquito patch?</font>

<font color="ff0000">Road Users,
please be aware!!
i've bought the car. beware of dangerous driver on the road soon! :p</font>
now headache is on the carseat. haven't buy any yet.
i've got 1 that hand down by my sis, super old and the buckle not tight one. can be used or not?

re: carseat
anyone know the rules and regulations for carseat in Singapore?
need to find out if the old old one i have can be used or not.

Xy, not sure how to differentiate between attention seeking or throwing tantrum leh. Anyway, whenever now he is throwing tantrum, I will just walk away. When he cools down, I will start to “preach” again. Looks like he is getting what I said , think must be really patient!

XY, get a cheap car seat, at least it’s new and safe. Lucky baby one is the cheapest I think? S has been sitting in it since 1 yr ago and is still sitting. Managed to psycho him to get bc to his seat liao.

tong
thanks. for the prune juice, where did you get it?

xy
it's better to get a new one. buckle not tight is not safe enough. my boy takes over his sister's car seat. the one which he previously sat, its buckle also not tight anymore, so we decided not to use it anymore.
i will just use the repellent instead of the patch.

XY, agree that it better to get a new car seat coz safety compromised if buckle not tight. C will manage to wriggle out if its not tight. Anyway, think of it on a longer term basis as her meimei can sit in it next time. Think now car seats quite affordable, $100 can get a pretty decent one during sale.

I just bot one at Safety First one at the kidzloft 50% sale few month back at $150

I still remember this deadly and horrible car accident reported in the newspaper involving a S'pore family and their toddler while driving in Malaysia. Think last year. The parents did not survive the crash, but the toddler who was in her car sear escaped whith minor injuries. I always remember that incident to remind myself how impt the car seat is.

BX
HFMD - K had high fever for 2 days and complained of pain in her mouth and then tiny visicules appear on her limbs on 3rd day. Usually, tiny blisters/visicules appear on palms, soles and mouth.
Hb also the same - had fever, malaise for 2 days and then tiny rashes on hands, feet, back of throat. Slowly over 5 days all the rashes will "pop out" of the skin and become blisters.

Monitor A carefully. They can't tell us so they will say mouth pain or teeth pain. The rashes are not very itchy at first. Hb said his was itchy until cannot sleep

Sweetpea
Yeah I still rem that accident. The baby's name is Jolene. I cried when I read the news.

Tong
Yup luckybaby is the cheapest. I got for K, used over 1 yr still good, abit worn out but can last for at least 3 yrs.

hello mummies!
finally got a breather now because C has slowly adjusted to cc too! she just started last week like Ashlynn. And today she finally napped there already. But she still cries very badly during shower time which the teacher says she still needs more time to overcome that.

and im leaving for phuket this thurs! finally finally !! haha.

apple
you also place A in cambridge? me too! but mine is the branch at admiral hill country club at sembawang. how's she doing? what i like best abt this cc is that the teacher-student ration is good!

june, blueginger
waves! long time no see already!

hasnt really catch up on the posts. just randomly browsed through.

tong,
it's a tough question. different kids are showing different behavior when seeking attention.
yup. patient is the key.

re: car seat
thanks all the advise.
i am sure getting one - not expensive one.
but it's too rush now cos didn't expect to get the car so soon. that's why thinking can i use the old one to tahan a while.

sweetpea/bkk,
ya. remember the case. the baby girl is born jan 08 right?

re: car
bkk,
hehe.. in the end hb itchy backside.
we got a new sedan instead of 2nd hand MPV.
chose sedan over MPV is my concern about the 'visible' car boot that the small MPV has. i think it's safer to have a proper boot especially when i drive back to malaysia.
currently COE is very high liao. last round result is 26k. not sure about tomorrow's bidding.
since the price of the car comes with COE (4 bids), just hope that the dealer be able to get it tomorrow.

re: repellent
sunny,
why choose repellent instead of patch?
thought it should be less impact on their skin since it can stick on the clothes?
furthermore, i am getting it for her field trips (for CC). afraid that the repellent will wear off when they wash hand/perspire. and dun think the teacher will reapply for her. that's why thinking patch is more suitable.

hello crystal,
enjoy your trip to phuket.

iso,
i go back and search for the exact description of 'time in' and let you know, ok?

re: CC
1:40? shouldn't be, at 3 yr old, it should be 1:8 at most.
i thought the milk is provided by ourselves?

re: carseat
iso,
it must be with 'child restraints'.
means no exact specification, as long as the child can be securely attached to the seat?

XY
hee ok..

CC
ya! 1:40!! i think i must go ask her again if i heard wrongly and she meant 1:14, cos i've also visited that particular cherie hearts (the tanjong pagar one) and it certainly doesn't look like it can handle 40 kids in one level to me..

iso,
probably she doesn't count assistant teacher as teacher?
it's up to the CC to allocate the manpower and 'play' with the number to meet the ratio.
but don't think it can be 1:40.
somemore, cherrie hearts is not a very very bad CC right?

tong, harbour front mrt.

Ladies, i'm in a dilemma. Just now went out for lunch with hb n left A in mil's care. She just need to make him sleep but A wasnt asleep aft almost 2h. Her style is to accomodate all his needs, even though he was playing tricks on her, like asked for water, books n even played catch with her. i cant tell her tt her method is not suitable coz she thinks she has more kids experience than me. Next time no.2 is out, who can i count on for help?

Any mummies have suggestions how to make you little one drink water?

James hates water..and now he has fallen sick again. No water will make it worse. BArley, Chrysanthemum tea..all also dun want. He only likes sweet packet drinks and yakult which I dun endorse. I try to dilute his drink but he's very smart..can differentiate. help!

tong
harbourfront, u can take bus from there to pasir panjang wholesale centre. Buona Vista mrt, think there might be like only 1 bus to go to pasir panjang.

clover
i think if we want to depend on IL help, we have to close one (or sometimes 2) eyes...

sweetpea,
what about using different water bottles with pictures? or using glass? or maybe drink directly from bottle (those mineral water bottles)? my boy is at that stage where he likes to imitate us so if he sees us drink from glass, he will also want to drink from glass... similarly with the bottle... these days he will dictate on what he wants to drink from.

tong,
i started giving C the manuka honey + lemon but just at half a teaspoon each 2x a day... he seems better, not sure if it's the honey or just the fact that he was getting better... but nvm, what's important is that he is better

xy, yes will still be a sahm. I was in IT line previously, now my skills r redundant lor.

Tong, i feel it's unfair for A if i send him to cc. At first i tot shld start him next jan in nursery..

Isobellies, aiyoh, i cant close 2 eyes! Things like giving A food just b4 his night time milk n he overate n puke!

<font color="0000ff">According to the book “The Science of Parenting: Practical Guidance on Sleep, Crying, Play, and Building Emotional Well-being for Life”

Time In is taking the time to sit with your child after a bout of bad behaviour, to talk together about why she is behaving this way. Time In is not giving attention to bad behaviour; it is giving attention to the feelings that underlie the bad behaviour, so that these can be resolved. Time In acknowledges the fact that so much bad behaviour results from a child having painful feelings that she is not able to manage herself or to describe to you in words. You may need to find a creative way to encourage your child to talk about her feelings.

Time Out may be effective in stopping bad behaviour, but putting a child in a room does not give you, as a parent, the opportunity to find out what is making your child behave badly. Time Out is simply about stopping the behaviour, so the painful feelings that may have triggered it often go underground. As Weininger (an originator of the Time In technique) says about Time Out: “We are in danger of withdrawing from a child just at the very time they need help with their feelings.”Over time, using Time In with your child can help her to change from angry, attention-seeking behaviour to a more thoughtful, reflective way of being in the world.

Note: Time Out is appropriate as a last resort when a calm warning from the parent has failed or a child has deliberately hurt someone or destroyed property. Take care not to overuse this technique, both to maintain its impact and to protect your child.</font>

xiaoyun/tongtong,
thanks for info on the beansprout pillow. Sounds useful, think i may get one.

sweetpea,
S is still short of his last molar, and has been with 16 teeth for a long time liao, but i heard that some kids only get all the molars out when they are ard 2 1/2 yrs old.

iso,
S throws tantrums mostly when he gets too bored, then he will refuse to cooperate with instructions. I notice he does behave much better when I spend almost all my time playing with him, but whoa, so tiring man!!

Hmm, time-in is something new to me, never heard before. Time-out is very popular here, cos angmos dun advocate physical punishment. Seems like it works for a lot of kids who are by nature more quiet,milder and less active though.

Re: potty training
How to do potty training for boys? Do they sit on the toilet seat like girls too? A bit worried that he may grow up sitting in toilet like girls. Haha.