(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pauline
yes, cherylin has been attending PCF since nursery. 'literacy time' is a new curriculum introduced lately. it aims to cultivate reading habits for the kids. there's a set of books identified for each level from nursery till K2.

good morning,
took leave today cos my gal is not fully recovered yet.
she was with my mil for the past 2 days and didn't go for CC. super naughty and active, too much energy stored. better let her go CC for a while to tire her out. this morning send her there, later pick her up after lunch. don't wish to let her nap in the aircon environment in CC.

washed 2 rounds of clothes (of course by washing machine), vacuum the floor. so tired...

after she come back, hopefully can nap for > 2 hrs so that i can cook her porridge and boil soup for dinner. not easy to be SAHM. working so much relax. :p

bx,
hope A has more progress today.

genice,
C does learn ABC and 123 in school besides art work and cookery. i dun really fancy studying at this young age.
I JUST WANT HER TO PLAY! haha...

Qingling.. tell me whther the mothercare breastpasds gd or not k after u deliver..

Pauline.. thats not bad leh.. at least got some exposure lah.. y u dun want to continue full day ccc at this current one?

Stephie.. Shawn not going to any playgrp yet right?

sunny,
work 2.5 days. means get half of the original pay.
but it's good. i feel working 5 days a week is too taxing - not enough time spending at home. 4 days week is ideal for me.

qingling/iso/jeannie,
i posted your stuff tuesday evening.
let me know if you have received them, ok?

qingling,
paiseh, i calculated the postage wrongly. parcel is heavier with the wrapping. it's 50 cts more.

tt.. what is bc?

xy.. i very greedy.. haha.. i want her to play and subtedly learn her abcs and 123.. :p

stephi..ok lah i think next yr is fine also.. i sent her earlier so i can manage when my #2 comes... dun want her to feel i am "dumping" her there. Luckily she likes her sch now.. to day din even want to eat bf at home, want to go sch!

BTW, i got 1 comment to make.. her sch has a lot of Indians/malay and CHINESE PRC teachers.. i dun mnd the chinese teachers but i find that the Indians ( i dunno local or not) are not very gd at handling the kids.. can c they totally not much enthu. Is it like that in other schools?? Mostly singaporeans or?

tong,
wa.. really?
so good. got extra help at home.
ur hb will be very sad as you and S not around.
how long will you be there?

genice,
hardly can find singaporean chinese in CC, even have, will be those super young kind. i guess singaporeans doesn't like to be a CC teacher.
mostly are malay teachers (singaporean), some indian, some chinese prc.

tong,
1 month is bearable.
if i bring C back for a month, he will be very happy to get back his freedom. haha..

genice,
E's playgroup does touch on numbers, alphabet, colours in addition to the songs/dancing, colouring, art work & etc..

xy,
wat time will u be hme tis sat? plan to collect d items from u..

tong,
u resigned already?

tongtong
congrats on being a sahm!

in morning, he'll play on his own/with my mum, bathe/sleep. in the afternoon, he'll play with his sister, watch cartoon with his sister.

Xy, freedom, you mean ur hubby? My hub was angry yesterday when I told him that I got job opportunity in KL. Oops. I only simply said but his reaction was soooo big.

Happymum, yeh… resigned already@!

i am traveling to KL with vernon n Hb. may i wat shd i take note? cos i am taking plane? can pack his milk powder in a container?? can i bring hot water in bottle into the plane?

cheryl
yes, can pack milk powder in container. cannot bring hot water into the plane. must empty all water content from bottle when boarding. what i do is to request for hot water when on plane.

pauline,
i have yet to see any worksheets. so far the curriculum seems pretty similar to CCC which i have made equiries. maybe her group is still too young for "real" acedemic curriculum coz got kids as young as 18mths. yup, she's wif Elfa.

fairfield,
aiyoh i can't even let her walk into the centre herself. the moment we get off the car, she demands to be carried. when we reach the centre, she will be "snatched" away by the teacher.

xy,
latest update: she came home with fever today!!! arghhh.... anyway hb and i had a discussion last nite. we r going to wean her off her pacifier, so these 2 weeks or so we will put her only until abt 1pm. i will only start her on full day once weaning is successful and she is more used to the env. this way, i feel less stress. reason y i wanna wean her off pacifier coz she wants pacifier and not her milk.

Have been reading forum but not sure what to contribute since C is not yet in CC :p I still don't have the heart to put him in CC yet, but still put him in waitlist for later this year.

iso,
no worries, read your blog... sorry to hear about your dad, do take care. don't worry about the meetup, no hurry... jsut let me know when you are free

tong,
good that you make a decision to be sahm... most important thing is to be happy

stephie/cheryl,
I think if it's for babies/kids, they usually allow to bring water. I brought C's water bottle (filled with water) when i went back last Dec and they never commented anything.

tongtong
wow, congrats for becoming sahm soon. :D

xy
ya, half pay now. kind of not used to it leh. haha...

genice
my gal is at amazing star. my boy was only there for 2 days. they taught the phonics by sing songs. so, very easy for them to remember. it's a montessori based school but not those pure type. for playgroup and nursery, they would do the montessori materials, then rest of the time will be sing songs, outdoor play, reading stories, interaction time.

stephie
ya, it's 2 full day + 1 half day. the part time arrangement is for 1 year only. not sure after a year, my boss still allows me to continue this arrangement 'cos after converted for half a month, both of us feel that it's not very effective to work as part time. probably 'cos the workload is not adjusted yet and my boss expectation on my deliverable is not 'downgraded' yet.

june,
wah so cool. 2 days and that's it! i have also been telling A that she is a big girl and cannot eat her tu tu. but dun think she knows what I am saying. Good thing J understands what u meant.

ur milk supply very good. full latch and still can pump 30oz a day.

Long long time din post in the thread.

BX,
I placed Channet in CC beg of the month. I very hard-hearted, just leave her there after 30mins on her first day of school. Of cos she cried. For the next 3 days, she cried and vomitted.
Below is some of the photos the teachers took on her first day.
http://smilebox.com/playEmail/4d54557a4d5455784e4468384d7a4d354d6a67344d6a4d3d0d0a&sb=1
After 2 weeks, she still cried when we drop her to school, but only for 5mins. Even now she has a good friend in school, she still refused to go. But we know that she is enjoying school as she demo some craft work, cooking and sing songs to us. She now always said to herself in mandarin "cannot find Granny, cannot find Mummy. Channet cries. Shy Shy."
What I want to say is they will soon realise tt we are sending them in a place of fun and friends.

Milk intake: Channet dun take milk in the day, but in school the teachers will usu give milk after shower and lunch. before nap.
1/2 bowl of macaroni is norm. Channet sometimes took only 1/4 bowl. Normally, will give her bread when Granny picked her up in the evening.

sick after attending cc:
Channet also down with running nose today.

Cheryl,
Must bring his favourite toys and pillow (if any). Let him drink water during take-off to clear his ears.

Pauline & bkkgal,
Hmmm... I also pump less now that I have to jarga
two. One in the morning, noon, night and 3am. Total 4 times, particularly after latching on weekend. Weekdays more hardworking cos in co nothing to do 4 times in the day and twice at night.

tongtong,
so niced to be SAHM. I dun want to, but have to leave work - retrenched mah.
so wuill be SAHM next month onwards. Wanna jio pauline & you for brunch liao.

happy,
this sat. i will be home after 730pm.

tong,
yes. my hb. no one stopping him for playing games/mahjong. :p

cheryl,
kl flight very short - 50 minutes nia.
maybe just water bottle will do. we took airasia, security check not so tight.
you got check in luggage?

bx,
fever?! what's the temp?
also good to put her 1/2 day first as long as there's someone pick her up during noon time.

weaning off pacifier now. will there be too many changes happened at the same time?

june,
hi, you are back.

you've got so much milk!! full bm for #1 and #2.
i guess there's some difference of nutritient level but it should be ok since #1 relies on solid for his nutrients.

bluegin,
the CC so good, still take pictures of Channet. so how much milk will she drink before her nap? after hearing from all of u, i feel so much more assured. thank goodness there's this thread here to keep my sanity.

no. She is not drinking milk. Only once in the night and morning when she is awake. 150ml. If she is awaked, she dun want any milk.
Well... we need one another support sometimes.

xy,
at the CC when we took was 37.6. When we reached home it was 37. maybe she's too traumatised by the changes that she fell sick.

ya i know shouldn 't wean her at this point. but she got on my nerve when she refused to drink her milk and wants her pacifier. so i decided that no more pacifier for her. at the same time, i dun force her to nap at CC. so she will only be there from 9am to about 12+pm. now that #2 haven't arrive, mil can afford to pick her up at noon. moreover, i still paying mil for taking care of her mah. hee....

bluegin,
oh no. retrench again.
economy pick up liao still retrench? you planning to look for job or stay home for some time first?

little skool house is the NTUC one? the classroom seems very spacious. so good teacher help you take some pictures. i can't take pic while i was inside. hopefully can see some during the parent-teacher meet end of this month.

finished boil the soup, cooked the porridge.
C fell assleep at 2pm.
time for my nap too. *night night*

bx,
That's y my MIL always bring bread or some light snack for her in the evening.
She also take teabreak if she is hungry. not to worry.

Some more photos of her first week in school. Teachers ensure that our children are safe and sound in school.
http://smilebox.com/playEmail/4d54557a4f4445774d544a384d7a51774e6a55334d446b3d0d0a&sb=1

XY,
Retrench also not bad. I get $$ n stay at home for a while. Mayb gng back taiwan for a week.
In the mean time, send resume loh.
ya. It is under NTUC. Yes. Very spacious, bigger than Hungry Caterpillar. This school at TJ is new and it occupied more than half of that level floor area.

My girl is going to CC in May.
My FIL and MIL cried at their home , pitied E so young to go to school.

Guess that they will pamper E even much more this 2 months.

In front of E, they still tell her that School is very good for play with friends, for learn from teachers.

Blueginger , June

Long time no see!

Tute/happymum, thanks! Cant wait for that day! I have so much things to do after I start my sahm life hhaa!!

June, giving BM to 2 years old, of course!! Why not??! There’s no reason for not giving BM.

Sunny, yea my boss kept asking me to do half day. But hor, I know I’m sure not used to the half pay in my salary slip leh! I rather don’t work at all, but work on something else which can generate income also.

Blueginger, hey I wanna meet u too leh!! Can go gathering at pauline’s house liao haha. But hor, youleaving work next month so fast? I still got to dong here for 2 months leh.. at least.. unless HR super fast can find a replacement soon. I also hope that I kena retrench cuz got $$. But no leh. Leave without $.

XY, ur hubby plays mahjong for fun or with money one?

Bx, how’s ashlynn now? 37 is not fever la, don’t worry.

bx,
no need to feel paiseh! the forum is here as a venue for us to vent our frustration/worries etc... a lot of us are all in the same boat, even when i can't contribute anything... i can read and gain experience from what you are facing now... so thanks for sharing
and i do hope A will adjust to her CC life soon... agree with tong2, 37 is not fever... above 37.5 if measure from ear then considered fever.

re: kids falling sick,
i'm always a gan cheong mama who brings C to see PD everytime he falls sick (maybe the fact that PD is fully covered by company makes me take advantage of that). so this time when C is down with flu + cough, i try not to bring him to see doc... just gave him medicine from home... didn't give him anything for flu (only gave the echinaea bought from xy's spree) and dried ivy leaf extract for his cough. so far, i think it's not too bad... his running nose is reducing (dunno if the echineae helped) within 4 days and his cough doesn't seem to bother him... so i'll let him be first, hopefully he can recover fast.
tong - i was partially inspired with your blog post where you said S recovered from cough on his own in 1 week... i am not that brave yet though, not giving C anything, plus i don't think he takes in the alternative medications well coz he would not easily try new food... but he loves that dried ivy leaf and echineae extract, so i just give him that

sunny,
so good can do part time... one of my colleague in UK does that... she's only at work 4 days a week. I wish i can do that too...

june,
long time no see! 2yo drinking bm of course it's fine... my sis took bm until she's 3 yo

bluegin,
market is picking up... don't worry, take it as a break now and then you can start looking around slowly

Tute, hey don’t worry, cayleb will recover on his own soon! Glad you got some tips out from my blog haha. Anyway I learned new thing from u today! What’s the dried ivy leaf? I wanna research and put in my blog liao :p

tong,
it's a cough mixture syrup made from dried ivy leaf extract. can buy over the counter... it claims to not contain any alcohol, coloring, etc etc... but dunno how organic it is :p

Re: childcare
all of u say that yr kids cry for weeks, for me will be very heart pain. I put in J in 1.5hr playgroup now. He likes the place. Very happy to go to sch.

Re:solid food
I have a big big problem with that! J was a late starter, rejected porridge till around 18 mths. And now, he still refuses to eat meat! I have to shred until very small. And he doesn't eat much either, for porridge or rice, he'll eat about half-3/4 of a bb bowl size. He drinks about 24-30z milk a day though. Is tt too much? How much milk u all give yr 2yo now?

Btw J is still very skinny, 87cm 11.5kg every time ppl will comment that he looks very skinny. I tried all sorts of food.... Porridge, rice with soup, finger food, mashed potato..... Only junk food catches his fancy!

bluegin, sorry to hear abt the retrenchment.

Apple, where did u send yr girl to? I'm looking for a sch for my boy too.

Tong, so u'll be sahm?

princessgx
wow... your boy can adapt to the new environment fast. envy.
actually, i think it's fine for the kids not to have meat. my 2 kids follow our vegetarian diet and growing well like other non-vegetarian kids. if you are worried about the protein intake, you can let him take beancurd. if he likes egg, you can give him egg, too.

does the doc say he's underweight? i think his weight is ok.

Hi, June. Nice to hear from you again!
I popped on 2 Dec in the end. Raelynn insisted to be Dec baby lor so I also bo bian. Next time, she cannot celebrate her birthdays in school like Cheh Cheh liao. haha.

Bx, I see. I wonder if they will 'entertain' me if I ask to see their curriculum and worksheets. ;P

Blueginger, Tongtong, sure, but tea time after RaeAnne's nap around 4+pm better for me leh. Brunch is no good cos she has school and I try to rest when she is not around. ;) hehe.

sunny, actually my son eats tofu and vege. but i am quite "pantang" and the geomancer said that according to his ba zi, he is the wood sign and doesn't need vege, so I try to feed him what he lacks... but seems like i am failing. his weight is around 25th percentile lor. though PD said he's ok, I think fatter would be better.

pauline, bluegin, tongtong, can I join in too?
after 4+ better too cos that's also after Jerome's afternoon nap

Pauline. Sure, meetup at ur convenience!

June, my boy is a vegetarian too n he is growing well . So u don't need to worry abt his non meat diet wor. U can give protin rich food like lentils, egg, beans , tofu n veg. U can read up more. But u mentioned that he drinks lots of milk, issit fm? Cuz milk is fattening n will help gain weight. Also, if u give junk then he will haave no appetite for his main meal. Try not to offer junk, but fruits .

Xy-have received the items le,will transfer the postage to u later,tks!
Genice-ok
princess-welcome back!
Bx-will not convert h to full day,cos will hire maid to help mum.
Yest went taka fair to grab the avent bpa free bottles,FYI, the pigeon promo is over for the bpa bottles.also went fp warehse sale,hoho also grab a infant to toddler rocker at 50 bucks.

princessgx
ya, like what tong said, try not to offer junk in between meals except stuff like fruits. same as your boy, my hb is also wood sign.

anyone go to baby fair at expo today? can update what's good offer there? i am going there with my sis who is due in July tomorrow.

morning everyone!!
something happy for me this morning. A said bye to me when i sent her to cc and i saw her running happily into the classroom.

however her temp was 37.4. is it considered slight fever? din wanna keep her at home as i scare come monday she cry and dun wanna go sch again after 3 days break.

bx,
the thread is for us to support each other. don't feel bad throwing questions here.
everyone can learn together.

A's temperature ok today? probably she's just a bit warm due to the activities?
good for A for slow transition in the CC. i brought C back after her lunch and bath yesterday, she's very happy too.
many days didn't go CC and can see that she quieten down. after yesterday morning session, she's more chatty and happier.

bluegin,
as long as the retrenchment package is good, who will mind getting retrenched? haha..
my hb waited for years and still can't get his. if he kena, can rest for 1 whole year leh..
is your industry sunset industry in singapore? why always do retrenchment regardless of the company?

it's the branch at Tampines Junction. not bad. spacious and near your place.

tubao,
your PIL so emo one? hehe..
but then, my FIL too very frustrated after we seeing CC throwing tantrums in the evening due to tiredness initially. it's worse as he will say C poorthing because of going to school in front of her. >.<
after she got used to the routine, he doesn't complain anymore. :p

tong,
my hb play for fun. all earning (if there's any) will go to my PIL's account.

btw, C's cough is the same probably didn't take much of the 'zhi3 ke2 tang1' ~ 100 ml per day at most.
going to try the 'hou2 zao3 san3' as recommended by my sis.
this is the first time she fell sick for so long. everyone suffer...

june,
if J doesn't like meat, how about get the 'bak4 kut3' a.k.a. pork bone to cook the porridge?
got calcium and protein. taste nice too.

C also 25% percentile. I asked PD and GP if there's any concern, their reply is - it's in the genes. indirectly they hinted that i am short and small size loh. :D

qingling,
pigeon promo over liao. then save my trip to orchard.