(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Tong,
she's teaching the K2 because of the short of teacher. and she will teacher music class as well.
C's teacher so far still the same since I enrolled her. Still consider 'safe'.
but from the way she describe on how to allocate the teacher resources, i start having uneasy feeling. she doesn't seems to be an organised person.
she probably a qualified teacher - but an old fashion kind.

qingling,
ya. so materialisic. $ is not everything. millionaire doesn't mean has good personality, good education right?

clover,
ha. this is the question my hb posted to be when i told him that she claimed to be a millionaire's mother.
:D

bx,
yes. in a way, i am very daring correcting ppl that i dun respect.
i kept quiet for some time when she kept saying 'Monti-Storey' 'Monti-Storey'... after seeing her so yayapapaya, i just can't stand it and wanted to shoot her back.
too bad i still don't have the guts to tell her off by telling her: 'so what? what's so great being a millionaire? [sorry, i am just too angry at this moment]

oh yes. C doesn't really cry when go CC. that's her character. there's good and bad. I've to really take note of her emotion changes, take note of her on her mood/behavior change in order to know that if she's happy or not happy. but she took about 1 week plus to nod her head when we say 'school/teacher'.

dun cry, dun cry. she will be sad too if she knows that you cry. make it a happy event for her to go school. i was silly enough to sing about the songs of 'going to school' (in chinese) to her and kept telling her how much fun to go school, and how i wish i can go school too. haha...

bkk,
wow. daddy also got it, must be even more painful for adult to get HFMD.
for this round of sorethroat, cough, running nose that C got, the whole family got it too. such a close-knit family we have ya? :p

may I know if you still remember the name of the Montessori principal? Grace?
I sure will bring up the concern at the parent-teacher meet session end of the month. not sure why was the last principal left. i still prefer her as i can feel that she's more genuine to the kids.

Bx, i also cry very hard for the 1st few days when G has to go to sch but the sch allows me to go in with her for the 1st 2 days so it wasnt that 'bad' in the sense, not so overwhelming for her but subsequently from 3rd day onwards i will just "escape" which on 2nd thoughts was a very bad idea. She thot i was gonna be with her yet i perforemed the disappearing act. So subsequently, i will say goodbye to her and hand her over to the teacher even though she still cries. Honestly, she cried for very long too, prob abt 2 months? Everytime she wears the uniform she will cry, its only recently in this 1-2 weeks that she is ok...still fake cry and "teng" a bit when i have to go but she gets over with it in less than 30 s time.

So dun worry k, she will take some time to get over with it. when she starts to make frens and have a'fav' teacher she can identify with she will not mind going to school. Today when i helped her wear the uniform, she din cry and even told me she " go sch look for teacher nisa" one of her fav teachers.She even carried her own bag to school which was really rare. when she reached school, all her classmates welcomed her happily and even called out her name, at first she din want me to go but i think when she saw her frens, she happily say goodbye to me.

Ashlynn is a very sociable ger, i think she will eventually enjoy school.

Bkkgal,
i read abt sarah mae on fb too. So she is ok now? Hope ur family can recover from this bout of HFMD soon.. its definitely frustrating, one falling sick after another.

XY,
That lady reminds me of a Montesorri lady that i talked to also. That woman super yaya too, i asked to just sit in and view how they conduct the lessons but she said that by doing that means that i dun trust their school, their system. Wah liao, i think she a bit crazy lor, her sch is so small, with only 30 kids from nursery to K2 and she charges like $500 for a 2 day/week, 3 hrs lesson. Of course i have to see what she teach lah. Then she keep saying that i shld put the deposit first to reserve the place else i might not be guaranteed a place there.Of coz, i din, i totally cant stand her attitude and seriously dun think G will be happy there also. PLUS she dun even dare to show what she does,... how does she expect me to buy in with the words she say.

Anyone Knows how much is a box of 36 pcs pigeon breastpads selling? or a pack of 80 pcs pigeon wipes selling?

I was at malacca over the weekend. Bough 2 boxes of breastpads for Abt $15 adn 2 packs of wipes for abt $6.60. Is that consider cheap?

genice - i bought the breastpads at mother care, erm, 100pcs i tink at less than $18? somemore got 30% discount, i tot quite worth.i started off with pigeon, but found it expensive, then tollyjoy, now first time trying out mothercare ones.

xiao yun,

The lady sounds too much.

How can she carry out so much 'boasting' with you?

Recently I looked around more child cares nearby, there's one childcare which my hubby favors a lot because of its spaciousness and very large outdoor environment, he pressurized me into accepting that childcare is the one for E. I said no, feeling the principal is not very passionate about children.

hello mummies - just to share.

The Big Mattel Toy Moving Out Sale
From Thursday, 11th Mar 2010 - Sunday, 28th Mar 2010

Check out The Big Mattel Toy Moving Out Sale at No 1 Lok Yang Way from 11am-5pm (Mon-Thurs) & 11am-6pm (Fri-Sun).

Featuring Fisher Price, Hot Wheels, Barbie, Matchbox and more.

International branded toys from $2 onwards. Enjoy up to 90% discount.

Participating products include:
- Collectibles
- Arts & Crafts
- Action Figures
- Educational Toys
- Infant Toys & Accessories
- Fisher Price Baby Gear Display Sets
- Casio Calculators
- Earphones/ Headphones
- Hand-held Electronics Games
- Sony Camera Accessories
- Electronic Keyboards
- LCD TVs
- Teaching Aids

Accept Visa Card with min. $50 purchase (for toys only, not applicable for electronics items).

Feeder Bus No. 192 from Boon Lay MRT/Interchange

genice,
i think ppl are now misusing the word of 'Montesorri' make a big deal about it. I would like to attend the class first before deciding.
How I they make me to trust their school, system if they don't let me know what's going on in the classroom? Not that I want to make a big fuss about it, I just wanted to justify the $ that I spend on them.

tubao,
she's just too engrossed in boasting.
i love this CCC because of it's classroom, private outdoor environment, friendly and attentive teacher when i visited them in January.
yet i also learned that the turn over rate for CCC is just too fast. the principal that I like in the first place might not be around a few months later.
(the other 2 CCC that I went earlier just changed their principal a few months ago too). they just told me to give them some time to settle down all the administrative stuffs, etc. how much time they need and will they move on to another CCC a few months later? who knows?
it's important to keep visiting the CCC and talk to the staffs to ensure everything is fine.
just hope that her teacher-in-charge will still be around for the next 1 year.

brought A home. was told by the teacher that she only ate half a bowl of macaroni. is it normal that they can't finish their food the first few days?

she also refused her milk before the nap. she usually has her milk when she wakes up from her nap. not sure if i should get the teacher to feed her when she wakes up. was hoping that she can follow the routine established by the CCC.

for the rest of ur children in CCC, what time do they drink their milk?

bx,
i think it's usual that they can't finish their food - at least for C.
she's slow eater, i doubt the teacher has the patience to feed her for so long and thought that she's already full.
what we do is to feed her again when she gets home.

for the milk feed, at CCC, it's before nap - just after lunch and bath ~ 1pm.
at home, hers is after nap (~ 3pm). i made special request to the teacher to give her only after nap.
partly because i don't want her to drink milk and without rinsing mouth before nap time.
however, i still prepare 2 portion of milk powder for her in case she 'gian' when seeing her friends drinking.
so far, the extra portion is not used up except a few occasions.

so A is there for 1/2 day or 3/4 day? ok already? anymore crying?

xy,
what time do u bring C home? these 2 days i only put her for 2 hours plus. so i can still afford to feed her extra portion of lunch when we reach home. starting next week, she should be on 3/4 to full day bah if she is coping well.

i also suspect that A eats slow that's y the teacher no patience to wait for her to finish the entire portion. I will observe a period of time. if this continues (eating half the portion), I may need to speak to the CCC.

i think i same as u. will pack 2 portions. see if she wants milk before or after her nap.

i doubt A will eat during teabreak knowing her pattern. sigh...

as for crying, the teacher told me on off a few times. i think she is getting attached to her form teacher. during her bath time when her form teacher brought 2 children off to bathe, A cried for her. she was ok after the form teacher expained to her to ask her to wait.

gwen also takes her milk feed before her nap usually after eating lunch and bathing. She doesnt eat much also. So i told the teacher to give her extra milk feed if i am late in fetching her say abt 5 plus cause she does not take much snacks too. But usually trhe teacher also never give.

Gwen follows CCC routine when she in school. At home, she follows own routine, her milk time is abt 3 pm before/during or after she naps. I normally make sure she takes enuff for lunch .She is fine switching betwwen routines.

bx,
hb will bring her home around 6 pm. so, by the time she's home, she will be very hungry.
thus got to make sure that we have her dinner ready before she reach home.

bobian for the teacher to feed her for so long. they've got to take care of other kids as well. [teacher to kids ratio is 1:6 right?]
one of the skill that the kids have to learn is to self-feed and eat fast. if not, they will be hungry later.
consider it to be surviving skill ba. time for them to be independent [sad but true
].

what we can do is to top her up with nutritious food during dinner and weekend loh. don't be too sad about it.

hi sorry to interrupt
I have a BNWT Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Stevie (Black) selling at S$288 only and Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Jillian (pink) selling at S$268 only. All items are BNWT, comes with original Kate Spade dustbag, care card and hanging tag. For fast deal, please email [email protected]. Prices nego. Thanks

tong,
paiseh paiseh. i not so weida. it's MIL prepare dinner for her. :p

nowadays more tired. can't wake up too early in the morning. so didn't prepare her dinner.
anyway, MIL do use 10-grain rice, fish + extra vegetables in her porridge. i am not worried about her food nowadays.

xiao yun,

Hehe....A seems enjoy school a lot, and you arrange routine very well.

Maybe keep monitoring cc teachers for more time, it's hard to find a very very good cc which meets OUR expectations.

Every time I do search, I feel like sahm is best for children.

bx
K does not eat more than a few mouthfuls in cc. I spied on her secretly before. Even though the teacher tries to feed her (1:3 ratio), she still won't eat. She gets a 2nd lunch at home.
What you can do is top up A's milk before and after nap. At least, she gets a full stomach before nap. Because it's quite hard to get them to eat if we are not the ones feeding. They are so easily distracted outside.

K also is attached to her English teacher who was the one that she didn[t want at first. Strange right? But I guess every kid will form their own favourites after a while.

XY
I think its called little village montessori but they are not really montessori lah. Just "borrow" the name oni.

Real true blue montessori schools use purist methods to teach, e.g. by letting children of all ages attend the same class as the philosophy teaches that children learn from each other. That's what a fren who went to observe a purist montessori school said.

bx
i think shawn will cry badly too if i were to send him to cc now. at home, when i take my bath, he'll cry until tears all over and sweat all over kind.

I think A has done well even though it's just been day 2. jia you.

re pumping for #2. i will pump after feed if breast still feel full. otherwise, will just latch during next feed. so my timing isn't fixed. it's kinda "pump when there's excess".

xiaoyun
if that lady bump into pple like me who bo chap what montessori is about, then she'll be like talking to herself.

long time never come to the forum already.
seems that quite a few of the kids have gone to ccc? i haven't sent my boy yet... probably 3 yrs old bah.

my elder one has been with the ccc for about 9 months. still getting used to it. everyday, when i send her to school, she will grab my hand and cry pitifully and tell me she misses me... but according to the teacher, after i leave the centre, she doesn't cry anymore. recently, she admits that. so, it's more on attention seeking.

in terms of the food, the ccc doesn't cater for our diet i.e. vegetarian... so, everyday, i got to wake up at 5+am and prepare the gal's lunch, including hb and myself's. *tired* for nutrient wise... i can still do my best as i am the preparer....

bkkgal
which purist montessori school did your friend go to?

Xy, CC's milk feeding timing is the same as RaeAnne's. Looks like I'm in luck, next time no need to retrain RaeAnne regarding milk feed and nap time for CC.

Qingling, thanks for the tip off. I finally went to the FP sale today. Bought a display infant to toddler bouncer for $30 n a fisher price leraning home for $150 n a Barney radio for $5. Condition of bouncer was quite good cos it is wrapped up in plastic n material was not faded. But still got the maid to wash it once we came back. Here are pixs of the gals with our FP loot.
http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/2010/03/mattel-toys-warehouse-sale.html

Sunny, long time no see, yeah must be very tiring to prepare 3 person’s lunch! Why don’t u just prepare for ur gal only?

Pauline , the new toy for Raeanne seems great! Hey, jio us to your house then the kids can play together leh haha!

qingling, bouncer still got quite a lot but different design from mine n mostly with boxes.

Haha Tongtong, sure weekend morning 930 - 1130am n late afternoon 4-6pm is usually good. Feel free to SMS me when u r in the tampines area. Can bring Shawn to my house.

tubao,
the CCC's here are really very hard to predict. it may be good this year, you won't know what will happen after the turnover of teachers/principal.
but if the management is good, i suppose they will be able to keep the teachers.
isn't it the same as our workplace? turn over rate is so high that any kind of problem will happen. :p

i think it will be more useful to be by their side when they are in the primary/secondary school. this is the time that they will be influenced most by the teachers/friends.
it's important to keep a close relationship with them to ensure they are on the right track.
hopefully i can half-retired or get a half-day job when she enters primary/secondary.

bkk,
hai.. i view those non-true blue montessori as they are just purchasing the material (some may even have!) and let the kids have free activities at their own pace.
isn't it worse than formal education system?

stephie,
i am that kind who will speak up if I am really 'bo song'. especially C already in the school, i want to make sure that she won't jeopardize her 'happiness'.

pauline,
ya. you intended to send RaeAnne to CC anytime soon?

tong,
the booster seat need to tie to the bottom and back of the chair. how to use it on car?
how does the normal car booster seat function?

stephie,
ok, so for u, no fixed pumping schedule. pump when i feel there is excess. hopefully i have lor. During A's time, my supply limited wan...

A not coping well. today scream and cry like crazy when I preparing to take my leave. i called 1 hour later to check on her. the principal said she has stopped crying. hope she stays that way.

i find myself very emotionally drained and this is only day 3.

sunny,
9 months and still crying. oh no... i dun think i can tahan. like i mentioned, this is only day 3 and i think i can't take it anymore.

genice,
thks for the consolation. i hope A's crying phase will pass soon and start to be like G. oh ya, I think G is more sociable. remember G goes around to hug others during our meetup at ikea last june.

Bx, hey be strong! It’s very common for kids to cry… it’s just separation anxiety, after you left, she will be fine liao. Remember to tell her that you are coming back at what time to fetch her, and ask her to play with other kids lor.

tong,
her crying not normal. she cry until her face red. sigh... perhaps it's the pregnancy hormones that is causing me the distress...

bx,

when E started playgroup in Jan, she was okay for the 1st 2 days. From day 3 onwards, she practically cried whenever my mum brought her to school. E also cried v badly till vomitted (nothing unusual since she is Ms. Merlion). She also rolled on the floor crying and bang her forehead against the door.. On day 3, the teacher even called me to ask my mum to bring her home as E was crying real badly and was unconsolable. It was already heart-breaking for me to hear all these updates from my mum and i told hb tat we shall monitor her during this term before we decide if we should let her continue with school.

Good thing is that she got used to it after day 10 and the crying gets shorter & shorter and now she will walk into the classroom by herself, put her bag into the pigeon hole and follow the teacher to wash her hands..

I also almost wanted to let her stop school initially but hb said that sooner or later she has to go thru this stage. with that plus i wish that she could learn something in school and be more sociable, it helps me feel better. U hang in there too, i m sure A will get used to school life soon...

tong tong
'cos the effort & time in preparing for 1 person's meal is about the same. so, might as well prepare for the whole family. it's healthier and save $ as well. hb is still getting used to the food i prepare. haha.. 'cos the food is less salt and oil. :p

bx
ya, 9 months, it's not easy. over these 9 months, i was pondering if i should just quit and stay at home. so she just needs to attend 3 hours session class and doesn't need to go full time childcare. now i started part time, those non working days, i promise her to pick her up after she takes her nap and snack at the centre. i can see that she's getting more cheerful after i make the change 'cos i think she feels more secured now. these 2 days, she walked into the centre happily. feel so happy about it.

give your gal more time to adapt to the new change and monitor it closely. some kids get used to the change fast, but some needs more time like my gal.

happy,
wah, E so drama. still knock forehead against the door.

genice/xy/qingling,
the first few days did ur gals take nap at the CCC? the centre called me at about 1 telling me that A refused to drink her milk and sleep. she was crying for me. when the teacher sat down next to her, she will lie down on her mattress but still cry. if the teacher walks away, she cries louder. i think they dun wan her to disturb the rest.

hb and mil was saying that they should have tried to accompany her even if she does not want to sleep. but i guess i was the one who told the teacher to call me if she does not wanna sleep.

sorry for the rantings... just need an avenue to post my doubts and feelings...

pauline,
so RaeAnne will be same CC as Ashlynn? or Elfa has another branch at Tampines?
by the time she will be 3 yrs old and RaeLynn is 1 yr old. Can look for some parttime job liao.

bx,
I very gungho and put C there whole day at CC. She wanted to leave with me after lunch but the teacher said can try to let her stay since she seems ok.
she did cry a bit but sleep after teacher pat pat. That's also because she's blur blur after milk feed.
i am a 'hen3 xin1' mother. lol

i asked them on the case when kids refuse to sleep. their reply is to bring the kid out to play in order not to disturb others.
that's very common they refuse to sleep due to the new environment. need time to adjust. but most of the time they will follow because other kids are sleeping together too.
does she bring her favorite toy/pillow/bolster/blanket with her for sleeping?

Bx, relax ok. Yea don’t be so bothered else #2 will get distressed also wor.

Sunny, I’m curious what kind of food you cook for whole family? 1 pot kind or rice with 2 or 3 dishes? Hey you works PT now? 3 days a week kind?

bx - i only put Heidi in half day, means she's off school at 1230, so she naps at home. i can imagine H also not napping if with other kids, she's easily distracted.

Hi, long time never post here. Just want to lend support to BX.

BX: Hang on there. Its normal that they cry. Soon their crying will switch to singing! Amanda attended CC happily now and sings non-stop everyday but that's after nearly 1 mth of protest. She did not cry the first few days and she took bus to and fro herself. After that, it went downhill and started crying when we put her on the bus. Have to *hen xin* a bit. I was in doubt intially too as in why must I put her through crying but I think that its for her good and I got feedback that she participate in class although she cries on and off when she thought of mummy and ah ma and its also impt to trust the teachers to take care of her(before that I search for a long time for a CC to find one I am comfortable with and confident of)and have good communication with them.

I think its also very important that you must all be positive in front of her about school. Talk about what she does in school etc and make it like school is fun and exciting. If you cry, they will sense it and feel worse i guess.

Its also normal that they cannot eat much and sleep. They need time to get used to new routine.

Jia You!

xy,
think tmr i insist that i pick her up after her nap. otherwise they start calling me as soon as she starts protesting. i brought along her usual pillow and bolster and the ultimate weapon - her pacifier!!
so embarassing. she haven't wean off yet. even with the pacifier she can't sleep leh.

qingling,
oic. din realise H is on half day. will convert to full day when didi arrives?

apple,
thanks a lot for your "guest" appearance. i guess it's just day 3. i should give her more time to adjust. it's really nice to hear from u.

Bx, XY, I am biased. Think she will 'study' more at CC cos the curriculum is more robust. Though Elfa has not given me any details on their curriculum yet. :p Will prep her more for primary 1. I heard of kids having so much tuition before enrollment to Pri 1 and I got scared. Cos the two schools I am eyeing for her are both SAP schools. Scared she won't be able to catch up if I just put her in normal PCF nursery and kindergarten from age 3-6. :p

XY, the Elfa is at Tampines Central CC, where there is a NTUC, it's a stone's throw from my flat. But must cross 2 roads. :p

Bx, is Ashlynn at Elfa? Can you share with me their 'school work'? THe teacher only told me they have their own worksheets.

Yup, can consider PT work too if she adjusts well to CC. My maid's 2 year contract will end in Aug 2011 but she's thinking of going back after 1 year so better to be prepared. Less disruption. :p

tongtong
normally, it depends on whether i got time to prepare the ingredients night before. it's usually rice with 1 or 2 dishes. sometimes, i will fry bee hoon/rice/noodles. but, everyday, there will be soup for the family. i ask the ccc to give me the menu and try to cook the similar kind of dishes for my gal.
your boy at ccc already?
my boy was with the ccc for 2 days emergency care. for that 2 days, he cried a bit, but was able to finish his food and slept well. he could even remember the phonics sound of the letters that the teacher taught during the 2 days. the principal told me that i could let him go ccc already. but, i am still quite reluctant loh.

ya, now on part time le. 2.5 days per week. seeing this month's pay slip really making me feel sad. haha... but, i feel happier as i can spend more time with the kids and can take short nap during the day. :p

bx,
dun worry. A will get used to CC very soon. Did u try letting her enter the classrm herself, while u stand next to her at the door? I find that S is more willing, and wun cry when i do that, cos he doesnt feel i am "pushing" him to class.

Do all the CCs feed the toddlers their lunch? That's very gd, the system here is so different, every kid is left to eat on his own, so i am not sure if i want to let S go for longer hrs and eat lunch in sch.

pauline
my SIL told me that kids from PCF adapt to primary school better that those from CC. hmmm.. dunno why pple are biased against PCF leh.

anyway just to share, recently, they added literacy time into their curriculum

sunny
ur coy is good to let you convert to part time. you work 2 full days plus a half day? next time when kids are older sure have option to revert to full time right?

sunny.. which ccc did u send ur boy too? They started teaching phonics? The one that gwen sends din even teach ABC lor.. say too young for them to learn.

Actually at this age, what do the tots learn in school.. can anyone share what are the activities they do? Mine normally do songs, scribbling, colouring and art work.. reading.. outdoor.. they dun focus on learing letters or phonics..i dun think they intro numbers also. Actually i am ok with them just playing and socialising at this age but it will definitely be good if they can incorporate a bit of 'real' learning like numbers, alphabets, shapes and colours into their daily activities..