(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tute, mu tou is mandarin for block of wood

mu tou hb
mine is also one. Can tell me last nite tt he will take a 3h lunch break today. I gave him the evil eye... He's not skivving but coz he just completed a major project milestone.

Reena
hmm i can't remember how long she used it for, but it was in pretty decent condition. but her sister also used it after me and said it was usable for a while. apparently they're not selling the old model anymore, so quite good for her that she can get a brand new one and new model right?? I will go to Robinson's to see if they're still selling the old model, if they are, i think i will try and negotiate again, hee..

kitsune
i think men are quite buay zi dong sometimes. and, it's hard to teach old dogs new tricks, haha.. at least my hubby will sometimes say what a good mummy he thinks i am. but i still have to nag at him all the time to get things done!! lol.

bkkgal
don't be sad. i went thru the same thing 2 years back when i gave birth prior to CNY. can always make up the following year and many more years to come

pauline
if it will make you feel better, there are many hubbies who are like yours (including mine). probably it's a men thingy and not specific to your hubby. at least he helps out in area that he know best. better then don't lift any finger at all. perhaps there are too many things around that you need to cope hence made you mang zhang easily. i can understand the frustration of having blocked ducts cos i've had those before. hope you won't have anymore of those fan ren de blocked ducts. smile, pls

pauline,
probably he think that he himself didn't feel a good job as you do hence auto hide in the cave when those problem comes?
i am easier, as long as let me be alone to read book, do my own hobby, i will be happy.

bkkgal,
can steamboat have confinement version?
i think can leh, ginger in the stock, etc. :D

isn't it good that K wants your mom or MIL rather than sticking to you?

tong,
i took SPM for fun. can't remember any moral subject.
basically, i am from chinese stream.

clover,
what's the milestone accomplished?
anyway, he's taking the 3h break during work mah. not on the weekends.

bkk,
err....why cannot eat steamboat leh? it's not considered a cooling food what. in fact, for my confinement - i don't eat "special confinement food", just avoid the cooling types and try to add sesame oil and ginger to the dishes.

re hubbies,
i have the benefit of having a handful of "brothers" - good male married friends. and i always get to hear the men's side of the story. my conclusion is that men typically don't sweat the small stuff - they really don't understand why we women are upset over certain things. it's not like they purposely bochup or ignore us. i think our brains are TRULY wired differently.

the acceptance of this reality has really helped me a lot. i don't expect my hb to be able to read my mind and be able to anticipate my needs, so i always ask for help. after some time, when i ask for help repeatedly in a certain area - it registers in his mind that ok this is something wifey needs help ALL the time and becomes 2nd nature.

my close guy friend once gave me this advice - don't see what you do as a sacrifice or compromise, see it as concrete steps taken to contribute towards a harmonious and happy marriage. if you see it as a sacrifice, you will forever be unhappy cos you will feel disgruntled as to why you need to sacrifice but your partner doesn't.

tong, iso,
are you gals still interested in the kueh lapis? got a few orders coming in from my friends at raffles place that i have not accepted. if sufficient number i may get hb to drop off there.

but it'll be at OUB centre drive way - during lunchtime on 11Feb, Thur (must be punctual cos hb cannot wait). if you are still keen, let me know by today can?

ya pauline. try not to be too mangzhang. One CL told me that our mental state will affect our supply too and that i was probably abit too stressed and negative and affected supply. Her massaging style is not really massaging. Instead it's more like pressing on one (harder) point on the breast and pump at the same time.

sometimes we get quite fed-up/frustration wif hubby cuz we thot they won't be like that etc. i try to remind myself that i also change here and there and maybe if i cut him some slack, i will be happier (though i still get very fed-up when certain things just dun get done properly).

at least for my hubby now, he can look after ruth alone while i go out for well, pedi/mani/massage/hairdressing etc. And i think he enjoys time with her so much more than when she was a small baby.

It's frustrating but to men, things are "very simple". Tired? Painful? Suffering? Torturous? Don't do it liao lor! Sometimes i think they are quitters and we are real troopers (in all areas) due to this mentality but perhaps...some/most/all men have this innate thing lor.

My mother lagi best when i told her how frustrated i am. she say u want things your way, then DIY. No way to get men to do things your way one....maybe one in 10 will get lucky lah. IN fact, u have close male friends who are married - can just poll abit or observe. I think most are like that. Sad but true.

SO.....................maybe the lesbians got it right! LOL!

bkk: Take Care! So exciting ah!

gar
i don't mind trying one kueh lapis! where's the OUB centre driveway? the one facing UOB plaza?

let me know how much to pay u in total so that i can transfer to you?

sorry just to add - cuz i think i didn't say it properly....

re the part about being quitters or troopers....i see it that way at times..but the fact is they just move on in that sense (for things/activities). No point wasting time to keep trying it.

Thus that's why he keep suggesting u to stop BF cuz so 'xin1 ku3"

iso,
okie! i'll let you know once lapis order is confirmed. err....i oso dunno where the driveway is. i reccee next week and let you know beforehand ok?

anyway we are meeting next tue lunch time to pass you the rest of the goodies first right?

lezy,
i think i know what you mean. most men are "solution oriented" so when we go to them with a problem, instead of giving emotional support and comforting words, they typically wanna "fix" the problem. so to them - it's either stop BF or go see LC.

i have a spin to your theory........mine is that ALL the men that meet our needs for romanticism are GAY

Garfield, I’m not ordering kueh lapis but 2 tins of loveletters, if confirm then I will transfer to you. Yea I can meet ur hubby at OUB centre Thursday. Thanks! Oh, is it the building opposite chevron house?

aiyo sorry I think I confused everyone

KLP - cannot deliver so early, so has to be 11Feb, Thur which is week after next. tong, you asked previously if KLP have RP collection mah, so just letting you know may have.

Iso, your KLP order and RP delivery on 11Feb is not confirmed one (only if enough orders else hb sure nag nag....i have 30 orders from office so easy to convince him to drop it off hehe). So better to meet coming tue 02Feb to pass you the "dry goods".

tong, your additional 2 tins LLs i can pass to you coming tue 02Feb lunch time at RP.

hope it's clearer now.

Cos steamboat got seafood which is toxic right? cannot eat during confinement, I was told. This time round, I"m going to be more "guai" for my own sake. I really felt that by not taking care of myself the last time, I may be the one to suffer in future.

Quitters/Troopers
I like that theory! hehe. Actually, for the men I think it's because they are willing to cut their losses early, not becos they are quitters. That's what I gather from the way hb tells me things. E.g. at first when BF is so tough for me, he told me to concentrate on bonding with bb, dun stress over BF, as long as bb is not hungry and can take formula, that's more impt. He would rather I take it easy than to have a post-natal depression case on his hands. Same with taking epidural, when I told him wld like to try going fully natural without epi, he said why suffer when there's pain relief at hand.

garfield
how much is the kueh lapis for small/big one?
your business is good. 30 orders from office!

thanks for sharing the advice from your close guy friend. i should start changing my mindset.

lezy
yes, i did the same as what the CL said when i had blocked duct. pressed on a particular area and keep pumping. very high sense of satisfaction when the duct is unblocked and milk start spurting out (since need to persevere for quite some time to unblock the duct).

garfield
how much is the kueh lapis (for small one only right)?
your business is good. 30 orders from office!

thanks for sharing the advice from your close guy friend. i should start changing my mindset.

lezy
yes, i did the same as what the CL said when i had blocked duct. pressed on a particular area and keep pumping. very high sense of satisfaction when the duct is unblocked and milk start spurting out (since need to persevere for quite some time to unblock the duct).

tong,
no prob. i will confirm time and place with you for tue. can pay me cash if it's more convenient.

bkk,
confinement cannot eat seafood meh? sorry...first time i hear hehe...ok la if MIL is doing confinement, then best to follow her "rules".

stephie,
you're welcome! ya this close guy friend of mine is a real gem. every now and then will "knock" some sense into me one =)

my office folks have tried the KLP previously before and they like it. but it used to come in bigger pieces (22cm x 22cm) which is even larger than bengawan solo's large size. so some pple find it too big. now i ask my MIL's friend to provide smaller pieces (15cm x 15cm), so a lot of them buy a few pieces for family members lor. each one buy 3 or 4 pieces, very fast hit 30 pieces liao.

i will PM you the price ok?

garfield, the kueh lapis hor, i also wanna try, can buy 1 ? but can collect before CNY or not? cuz tot of bringing back to johor one, and not now

clover,
thanks for the translation! i roughly can guess what it means but just wanted to confirm :p

pauline,
maybe can do a heart to heart talk with your hb and share your frustration? i always talk to my hb about everything and also about my expectation of him, just bcoz he's not a very sensitive type of person, won't be able to take hints etc so rather than me having heart pain, i might as well set the expectation straight :p

gar,
can pm me the price too? if got collection at RP i'll be interested
btw, i like what your friend said... makes me ponder a bit as well...

re: blocked ducts,
didn't really have much problem last time with this (thank goodness). what i remember last time i massage my breast everytime i pump until my thumb all pain..
if there's a lump i will press down hard.

tong,
sure can buy 1, but delivery will be on 11feb. is that ok with you?

tute,
my friend will be v happy to know that his views are well received!!

will pm you the details of the KLP. oops..looks like i may have to open up another batch if there are more feb mom orders for RP collection =P

but hor, may have to trouble one of the feb moms to help receive the items from my hb can? cos he will be driving and most places in RP do not allow cars to wait...so easier if someone can meet him and he can just drop off. Thanks ah!

Long time didnt visit the forum liao. Hope everyone is doing fine.

Wish to let go my pupsik baby pouch. Size M. Bot @ $45.90 from Mothercare.

Condition : Used oni one time.

Willing to let go @ $30.

Pm me if interested

board-post.cgi

Thanks everyone for sharing n comforting me.
well, I did have a heart to heart talk with him though it was emotionally charged. :p hope the situation improves since I already told him my expectations. He did SMS me a few times to check if I made appt with tmc LC today n drove me down. Luckily the LC said it is not blocked anymore, guess my self massage worked after all. It is still painful/swollen because of my overzealous 1 hr of pressing last night. Best thing is they did not charge me since they did not need to do anything for me.
Hope it stays this way cos they r not open over the weekend. :p

pauline,
glad that your blocked ducts have been eased and that you had a good chat with hb. hope that you don't kena blockage so often....v painful lah i know. maybe can consider getting an avent manual as that may help. can sell away after that.

<font color="ff0000">Kueh Lapis - RP Collection</font>

I have 5 slots available for a 11Feb, lunch time drop off at RP. Can the following mummies confirm by Monday that you are ordering as I need to finalize orders soon. Thanks! Pls PM me ok?

1)Stephie
2)Stephie
3)Iso
4)Tong
5)Tute

Thanks, Gar. ya, I'm starting to take lecithin cos some literature said it can help to prevent blocked ducts. But must take 1 capsule after each meal so I tend to forget. Hope it works.

Ya, but avent manual is pretty steep without discount. I bought mine for $90+, and another second hand one for $40+. End up sold both at $50 to my friend. :p

hmm....i going to bomb soon, if not don't mind lend you mine (if you don't mind using of course!)

but hor, raelynn still young leh. so if you intend to BF her for 1 year, i think still worthwhile to consider getting lor (of course hope the block duct issue will stop bugging you soon!)

Gar, yes, I don't mind using yours but too bad our timing no good. ;P

Is yours supposed to be cow baby or tiger baby by the way? What's her name?

Ya lor, too bad our delivery dates too close...

Mine could be either cow or tiger - and also depends on which "start date" we are looking at.
a) If we use Li4 Chun1 - any baby born 04Feb onwards is Tiger
b) If we use first day of CNY - any baby born 14Feb onwards is Tiger

Based on LI4 Chun1, it is likely my baby is a mini tigress hehe!

err....haven't been able to decide on the name. every name i suggest kena veto-ed by the dad
so i ask him to shortlist instead since he is so picky!

Gar, haha, never mini tigress also will be as gentle as Cheh cheh and Mummy.

What were the names you liked? Must start with A? ;) I asked hubby to decide on no. 2's name too. He kept changing his mind though. :p

haha...pauline, the cheh cheh and mommy are both errm, not gentle leh!

both of us decided that the name need not start with A. the names i like ah...those that end with "ly" or rhyme with "ly"

Hehe, how come you are still up at this time? No leh, I think both you and Ariel are gentle leh. Not like mine, they take one look at RaeAnne and say she is like me. Whereas Raelynn takes after hubby. :p

Or hubby was thinking of Raely for no. 2 too but in the end decided on Raelynn, sounds sweeter.

hehe....you also leh

sleeping ah - is a torture for me now *sob sob* don't look forward to lying down at all. my back is aching like mad. i think i have some damaged ligaments due to the stretching. the pain is from my shoulder blade and shoots through to my tail bone. i have to resort to sleeping in a semi-inclined seating position with EIGHT pillows/cushions stashed and positioned all around me.

ya the "lynn" sound is nice too! but quite a few friends' kids have that (including yours) so decided to choose something else.

gar, I bf raelynn at 1am then got to pump so can't sleep early lor. Up since 5+am cos no. 1 then no. 2 woke up. Bf no. 2 then coax no. 1 back to sleep. Now I am wide awake. :p Gar your pain sounds really bad. I had very bad sharp butt pain in last trimester when expecting raeanne cos the expanding of my pelvis affected my scratia nerve. cannot even walk properly. Gynae gave mc to rest. I got hubby to help massage bengay. Seems to help, maybe u can try the same?

ya my cousins are Joann and Jolene too (sisters) I did not realize the coincidence until my bro pointed out. ;)

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Anyone can share what is the name of the medical hall and address in Pasir Ris for cheap FM? Need to stock up on Friso3 again cos my stockpile is nearly gone.
</font></font>

pauline,
thanks for sharing. will ask gynae when i next see him! sorry, can't help you with the FM question cos i didn't keep track.

<font color="ff0000">Kueh Lapis Update</font>

Sorry moms, looks like I have to cancel the RP collection point. Only left with collection at (a) my home at Katong or (b) my office at Gateway Beach Road

Cos baby is likely to arrive week of 08Feb (according to gynae), so i can't manage so many collection points (am asking FIL to help if I do bomb, else hb or i can do it). Next year then I offer more collection options!

If a few moms working at RP are keen, maybe one of you can volunteer to collect the cakes from my office (Beach Road) on behalf of the rest? It won't be v heavy lah cos even i can carry quite easily in my current condition

pauline,
you planning to transition raeanne to UHT or fresh milk anytime soon? my PD says after 2 is a good time. much cheaper also!

i'm gonna try soon. mine drinks GainIQ which hardly has any sale. damn siong on my pocket ah!

Gar, true lor, also siong for me cos Friso used to be one of the cheapest but after changing the formulation, it's as exp as Enfa. :p

But I'm worried that she will not gain much weight if I change to fresh milk or UHT milk cos FM is more fattening. RaeAnne still quite light at 11kg, I need to plump her up to 13.5kg so that she can fit into car booster seat then Mei Mei can take over her Maxi Cosi forward facing seat (9 kg). And Mei Mei is already 5.6kg, don't know how many more months I have left to fatten Cheh Cheh up. :p

garfield,
read from another thread that Giant is having GainIQ 2 tins $49.90 till 31 Jan. limit to 4 tins per person.
you may check it out there.

pauline,
not really leh. Enfa is like 900g $36, right?
i dun think Friso is so expensive.

anyway, the weight limit for the carseat is just a guideline. maybe raeanne is tall enough to use the car booster seat even before reach 13.5 kg?

Pauline,
think xy is right more a function of height than weight cos the child must be tall enough to use seat belt.

Xy thanks for the lobang !!