(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

XY
me! i went to GUG for trial before. i thought the classes were ok, quite interesting, and there were 3 malay teachers to the entire class (of about 4 or 5 kids?).

the thing that i did NOT like was that all the parents except for one was very unfriendly! when one boy and ethan were kind of playing with each other, his mother was looking at us/the boys from the corner of her eye. WTF is up with that?? so i had a very bad impression.

I also feel the staff quite bo chup, not like gymboree where they make an effort to remember the child's name and are always v friendly.

my SIL signed up my nephew (1 yr older than our tots) for the classes, but after 1 or 2 semesters she said she will not continue because after 1 round of all the alphabets/phonetics she thinks no point to repeat.

driving: haha i think we meant more like u learn it, you can pick it up again easily even if you haven't done it for a while.

ameda lactaline
any mummies seen any good deals on this recently?

sigh, last time i borrowed the pump from my friend, and dropped it, now she wants me to buy back a new one for her. sigh...

XY
i guess must be new :S i think i might offer to pay a certain percentage of the price since it didn't come to me new..

Mumsfairy is going for $365, Moms in mind $368. MomsRUs is $388 but $349 if you're a member.

XY,
wish is a good economical and practical car. good choice.

re enrichment - have not attended any trials (the only class A ever attended was gym class) and don't intend to send her. it's a personal preference lah - i don't believe in "classroom" style stimulation. but i do know that GUG is frequently compared to JG.

GUG supposed to be v curriculum driven - like parents hv the expectation that their kids can master alphabet/phonics at the end of term. JG style is the learn through play so no concrete deliverables in terms of learning promised.

iso,
hehe...i'll be headed to Raffles Place actually to pass my friend love letters next week. but not in time for lapis leh cos that is only going to be baked / delivered week of 08Feb.

how? wanna try the loveletters or other goodies?
bkkgal and her mom/MIL say the pineapple tarts are good too. i personally like the almond cookies also.

re ameda lactaline...eee...why your fren like that - it's already second hand mah why must buy new one? can you subsidize pay half or not?

iso,
i may be momsrus member. err...or is it momsatwork. i go back and check. if i'm a member can utilize my discount.

tong,
the kueh lapis is the thousand layer cake (the type that bengawan sells), so not the same as love letters. no collection point at raffles point leh - only delivering to my office else it will be collection from my home.

if you want more LLs, next week is probably the last week i can meet at RP cos i would be 38 weeks already. a bit scared to walk too much after that hehe

garfield,
didn't get to test the pineapple tarts sample leh. you forget me liao. :p

i thought GUG is pretty well received by lots of parents, very surprised to hear my friend's complaint about it.

gar
thanks thanks!
if it's convenient i actually dun mind! let me know when and what's available?

re pump,
i suggested that i only pay 75% since it wasn't new to begin with, and she said she wanted to suggest that as well. phew!

she's due in early feb so i guess she wants to settle it soon. her friend can sell to her for $330, so if mummies see any better offers let me know! :D thanks for the help/advice.. the pumps not cheap lor..

XY i think the latest robinsons offer was for the older outgoing model, but i'll go down tmm and check.

tong,
why before ML? reasons?
- no time to shop around after bb is born?
- need to get familiarise with the car?
- can use it to/fro hospital after delivery?

another thing is i afraid the car will be under utilise when i on 16 weeks maternity. no one drives as it's faster for hb to walk to office than driving the car, make a big round to office.

Garfield, oops, I mistaken that as kueh kapet, the triangle shapes one hehe. are you delivering some to your friend at rp? Are you still able to take in orders? Dun want u to carry so many to RP also.

XY,
ooopss...i forgot all about it
sorry sorry! in fact v forgetful these days - i packed some samples for colleagues last night. just this morning i opened to add more cookies into my tupperware........and then FORGOT to put it into my bag *tsk tsk tsk* if got chance can let you try too!

re car - i also think get it earlier better. when #2 arrives, will be busy with so many things so it's good to get the car matters sorted and out of the way at least.

iso,
okie okie, i PM you what is available and you let me know. ok lah your fren quite reasonable then. although i was thinking more like 50% hehe...ok will keep a look out for you when shopping for cheaper prices.

tong,
my hb has to deliver some orders to chevron i think it's near RP, so he can give me a lift and drop off my orders also. if you wanna add on let me know ok? date yet to finalize will let you know again.

RP mass meetup for CNY goodies,
since i am already heading to RP next week anyway, and may be meeting iso, anyone else wants to meet there let me know ok?

XY - you can shop for cars when u are still preggie but not during ML. ur hubby can ferry you and bb out from hospital. easier for your family to go visit u at hospital too. and also more convenient la!

XY,
with the car may be easy for u to travel around on your own with the baby for check-ups maybe? also it's one less thing to adjust after no. 2 comes out if you have already gotten used to the car etc.

MPV driving is slightly different from normal sedan. Takes abit more care i feel. esp corners, parking...got big 'backside' compared to sedan.

Also be careful of certain multistorey car parks....some have steel structures that pertrude at the top of the lot - so u cannot reverse too much. But it's quite rare. I know my dad kana once. lucky the back windscreen never crack!

Wish is good for u guys. I hear quite economical.

FOr my hubby, it will be abit 'short'. My Carens serve my hubby better due to the generous headroom. I tend to think (*looks around*) that it's also cuz he's quite.....stiff and can't slouch n etc....thus always straight straight one and need a lot of headroom. hee.

gar
ok let me know about RP! i do feel a bit bad abt the pump cos she didn't use it much before she passed to me, but dropping and having problems is v common for the lactaline. maybe i'm too nice, should have suggested 50% instead since now they got new model and old model only going for $330. anyway will go robinsons and see if they're still selling the old model, since that was the one that she lent me!

clover
apparently the parts are q ex or something. i know another friend with the pump as well, so it's a common problem..

XY, when I was 'considering' to get a bigger car with no. 2 on the way, Toyota wish and Honda stream were the 2 cars I had in mind. Hubby doesn't like either car cos he finds it too big lor. But we still haven't tried putting both car seats into our Vios so don't know whether it can fit. :p Better to get the car first, even for my hubby, when we first got the car, he took some time to familiarize himself with the driving/parking (esp parallel parking) and the roads.

Now with GPS, much better liao. Sometimes I forget to bring for him, he'll remember to take it himself. Which means he finds it useful too. Haha.

stephie
if i'm in her place, feel not so nice to do that cos i don't mind using a 2nd hand one if it's from a friend, but if i buy 2nd hand from a stranger, not so nice? but i think i will look out for the older model and see if anywhere is still selling that..

iso
understand where you are coming from. if i were you, probably paiseh to have sploit something that a fren lend to us. so naturally want to make up to our best ability.

gar,
it's ok. you are forgiven because you are preggy. :p

re: car
gar/tong/lezy/pauline,
seems everyone suggested to get before ML while hb suggested to get during ML as i can always sneak out to view car while mil take care of bb.
i remember last time during the 9 weeks - 12 weeks of ML, i am actually quite bored liao. :p
furthermore, raffles hospital is very accessible by MRT and direct bus from my home too. pretty convenient.
we took taxi to the hospital last time quite convenient too.

lezy,
MPV will definitely be bigger challenge for me. will take note.. thanks for the advice.

the way you describe your hb, very funny. lol.

pauline,
for me, i think MPV is necessary as i got to take into the consideration of my pil and sis. *as if i will go out with them all the time. :p

one is a booster car seat (Nania) and one is those that can be used from 3mths to 8yrs type. can't remember what's the brand.

tong, iso,
my hb says his delivery to RP is probably next tue - is that ok for both of you? most likely lunch time.

iso,
depending on how long your fren intends to BF, you may be able to work out an arrangement that she passes the ameda to you when you deliver?

xy,
thanks for your forgiveness =) btw, re car - you may want to consider getting earlier also to help carrie get used to taking car seat. a lot of us have errm, challenges, getting our babes to like the car seat (even if they sat in it since birth!) so you may not want to wait till #2 is born la, v stressful to have to deal with the struggles....

iso,
me too ! i love driving especially on a long and quiet road with nice views... then turn on your fave music loudly... very relaxing !
but i don't like to drive to work :p

re:pump,
have you tried sourcing to see if ordering from US will be cheaper?

xy,
i also think the earlier the better... financially you won't get a shock because if you get a car + a baby around the same time, you'll prob get a shock during hte first month for the additional expenses... at least if you get it before, you'll have time to adjust... it will be easily an additional $1.3-1.5k a month. it took me 2 years to decide getting a car because of this and even till now i still feel the pain of spending more for the car... also, if you have a car you can probably do quick getaways during your ML

wish is a good option, it's a small mpv and quite economical. there was a new wish model which came out mid 09 in Japan and Borneo Motor brought it in end Dec (at least that's what they say they'll do when i check mid 09). am driving honda stream and feel it's quite okay coz i feel small mpv differs a bit from driving sedan.. of course cannot beat the ease of driving small sedans...

stephie,
you can fit in between 2 car seats because you are small size
i tried sitting in the middle row with a car seat, me and my dad and already quite cramp...

iso,
me too ! i love driving especially on a long and quiet road with nice views... then turn on your fave music loudly... very relaxing !

<font color="0000ff">tute...which country u driving in? Germany?

LOL</font>

actually i miss my manual car and long road trips with friends up to KL every now and then. We convoy up and it's really fun.

quiet or noisy road, music always makes my drive a good drive.

tute..just teasing u ah.... :D

XY
does C like to wear the leg warmers? i bought for E before but he doesn't like at all! he also doesn't like the Nissin pants, although i think they're so cute. guess they're too "itchy"

gar
next tues sounds good!
borrowing pump again, idea! heheh. but i'll have to be super careful this time if i borrow again

tute
well if it's for me i'll buy the pump overseas if it's cheaper, but aiya, i don't want to make too much of a deal out of it, less headache in the future.

shopping time!
i bought some books from this lady
http://picasaweb.google.com/mylittlebookshop21/
quite decent prices for some!
original BP link is here:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?581296/2850029
it's closed, but can still order..

tute, got thomas books, haha..

iso,
C only wears it when it's really really cold. that means we made full use of it during our cameron highlands trip last year only.
dun really need it here in shopping centres.
just like socks, she will pull it out if i let her wear at night.

tute,
now reminds me of driving back malaysia during ML!!
but then hb wanted to wait till me on ML then get and he's paying majority of the car.. i seems not much rights to say ho? :p

lezy,
BP for hb to get for us?

lezy,
i wish ! haha... i used to drive in indon but not jakarta (thank goodness) and it was quite an ulu area (my dad was posted in sumatra) where there's a lot of forests (yes, and there are monkeys around, and wild boars)... so when i was upset, i'll just hop on and drive around for around 1 hour then i'll come back home

iso,
i bought books from her as well! think quite a few mummies bought books from this lady... i even pick up from her house :p but didn't buy thomas books because her thomas books are paper back ones, i still buy boardbooks for C because more long lasting. Very rare to find Thomas's boardbooks
Btw, there are quite a lot of offers on Thomas's rail set in the toy shop these days if you are interested

xy,
can just have an open discussion with your hb first? why does he think need to wait till ML?

lezy,
mmm.. but then, i dun like porn leh.
i prefer to see woman than man. :p

tute,
simple reason loh. the car will be under utilised for the 4 months ML and no point for him to drive to work since he can get to office in 15 mins by foot.

XY,
your workplace quite far right? can you use the car to drive to work before baby arrives?

lezy,
haha...LOL...damn funny!

iso,
PM you the goodie list liao! let me know by friday can?

tong,
if you wanna meet me next tue, let me know your orders by friday also?

garfield, ok, my colleague who wanna order more is not around till next week, so cant take in his order. so will likely give u 1 tin order only . will give u final order by friday anyway

gar,
i m now taking company transport from tampines to work. sleep/read while on the road, if traffic jam - even better, can sleep longer.
Although i spend more time on the road, i do enjoy the ME time on the road.
another thing that i am worried is the dropping of energy level when the pregnancy advances, what if i fall asleep when stuck in the traffic jam, how? :p

tong,
ok no prob.

xy,
oic...haha...then no incentive to drive lah. for me, while i take public transport when moving around alone, much too used to having a car liao when having a baby. would definitely prefer to have it sooner.

i drove up to the day i went to hospital...auto car very simple to drive....so i think not a problem...

but if ur current arrangement is good like yours, then no harm waiting till no. 2 comes.

just that buying car can be a rather not-that-straightforward process sometimes and somewhat draggy. having no. 2 and if u intend to be home and bf-ing all the time, may not feel like going out to view car.

also...erm....*touch wood*...if ur no. 2 is anything like Ruth, no chance to get out one.. feed/cry round the clock during the first few months!

thomas board books
my son is into thomas too. i came across at popular amk a few weeks back and 1 board book is going for $3.90 and popular member has further 10% discount. best deal i've seen so far.