(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Wa, qingling, thanks for the link. I always watch Japan hour but can never catch the names of the hotels/restaurants unless I stand by pen and paper. Now, I know, can just go to this website and get research from there. My cousin is based in Tokyo now, got even more reason to visit Japan, haha.

qingling
thanks again! sob, doubt any of my frens know japanese. $143 for 2 with meals included is cheap by japan standard. okie, shall try to email them provided i can find their email address. keke

pauline
so good, got relative in japan. at least there's someone whom you can rely on if you need advice/assistance. i can only get info from forum, colleagues/frens who had visited japan on their own. ;)

Stephie, haha, yup true but she just went there to work last year. If she doesn't enjoy it there, she may come back to Sg even before I get to go. I've been to Japan twice myself, both DIY trips. Ok to get around with very basic Japanese and a guidebook. Second time I went, much more English or romanized Jap signages liao compared to first time (1998). :p

pauline
ya, i heard that if we know chinese characters, sometimes can guess what the japanese words mean. i took up elementary japanese many many years ago. now can only remember how 1, 2, 3 is pronounced. haha. learnt a few japanese words from my tour guide in japan when i went on packaged tour last nov. ikura - how much? gomenasai - sorry. hope i got them correct. :p

stephie
i've stayed at keio plaza the last 2 times i went to tokyo, it's still a fair distance to walk to the train station although quite ok.
the hakone place that both fairfield and i have stayed at is this one:
http://www.senkei.net/eng/senkei-hotel.html
got english on their website, and pretty good directions, that's why i found it a good place to stay, haha. but also quite a walk from the train station.

i also want to go japan!!!! :D

i also want to go japan! haha..

hoping to go for a short trip before popping the second one..i think malaysia seems the most probably..hmmmm

iso
wow, good leh, both fairfield and yourself stayed at the two hotels i am aiming for. still a distance to walk huh? hmm.. that means i shouldn't consider any other hotels that are furterh than keio and sunroute. i prefer keio over sunroute because of the complimentary disney transfer. else, sunroute has all that keio can offer and is cheaper (airport limousine bus and free internet access are my top two consideration). do you still remember how much you paid for keio? their most basic rooms are at least much bigger than sunroute's.

will check out senkei and kasansui recommended by fairfield/yourself and qingling respectively. tks

qingling
hehe.. u also just went last year right? if can, go before #2 pops. for me, i grounded myself in singapore for 1 year after #2 pops. though i don't mind the hassle of bringing babies/kids on holiday, i'm more apprehensive to bring when babies are less than 1 year. don't know why, it's just a benchmark i set for myself.

i hvn't been to m'sia for few years. hubby suggested a few times but i just not keen. think i read too many news report on robbery, etc happening in m'sia (even in city like KL), so kia kia.

Morning mummies! Finally back from Tokyo yester midnight, rested at home with hubby and G yester, only can log in today after she has gone to school.

RE: Tokyo trip ( for those who going F&E)
Aiyoh.. the 1st day was horrible, couldnt decide what transport to take to tokyo ( din do much research), in the end we took the airport limousine which was the best choice i guess ( if take the subway, it was too confusing esp when we are still not used to reading the subway lines).

Situation 1:
After alighting at shinjuku main station and the bus has moved off, we realised i have left my bag which includes all my valuables plus G bottles on the bus!! Hubby had to try to explain to the person to call the bus back but they only come back in 2 hrs time!Arrgh.... at that time i really think that this probably means that our whole trip will be disastrous since it was such a bad start.

Situation 2:
Already very upset and stucked with 2 luggages, 1 stroller plus a not cooperating tot, we have to carry all these down to the basement using stairs cause we cant find the elevator!! Sigh.. even more down.

Situation 3:
Found a cafe to settle down,had some pastries and coffee to drink then hubby realised he left his HP in the bus as well!! Alamak.. have to run up and tell the transport operators again. I think they must be wondering how come this couple so absentminded. :p

Situation 4:
Finally got our stuffs back and after having lunch, proceeded to take the train from Shinjuku station. OMG.. there are so many lines and we are at one corner of the station, dun noe how to get to to line that we are supposed to take.. dunno how to read the subway map..plus G kept wanting to get out of stroller/carry/refuse to wear jacket when it was super cold/ want sweets/ chocolates/ kept crying cause we forced her to zip the jacket.. sigh.. super frustrating and also we have to push the luggage plus ask station masters ( who has limited english for directions ), it was totally exasperating. Have to push the luggage across the bumpy floor ( they were having some reno.) and there were so many steps, they dun have escalators and lifts everywhere. It was really tiring plus my bump is getting bigger so even more daunting.

Situation 5:
Finally reached the station nearest to our hotel but we din expect that we still have to walk, actually it wasnt that far but after all these episodes , the 10 min walk also seems like eternity..felt like sh**...

Sigh.. reached the hotel, went up and almost collapse.. stayed in the room for like 2-3 hrs before we make a move to shinjuku area to have dinner and after that straightt away went back and sleep.. :p our 1 day gone..

But this is only the 1st day... from then onwards.. everything was ok and we had a lot of fun.. very leisure trip, no rushing just taking our time to walk ard and eventually we also understood the subway lines ( not that difficult just that escalator and lifts are not readily available, can be a problem with the stroller)

stephie
yah! got free disney transfer! last time i went there for work and day time hubby took transfer and went to disney sea :p but v convenient with the airport limousine, straight to the door step!
at that time i think the rates were something like Y22,000+? one of the wings (south tower maybe?) is bigger and newer than the other, but also a bit more ex.

are you bringing the kids?

hello genice - welcome back! no wonder din hear from u, forgotten u went japan.

luckily ur trip turned out fine in the end, ur first day was really full of hicups ya.

qingling.. yar lor.. the 1st day was horrible..curse and swear.. haha plus it was so cold. But i think this is the 'fun' part of F and E also. Train us in our navigation skills.. :p

stephie when are u going japan again?

Hakone is really very pretty, we din stay there probably will try next time cause i cant go hot spring also so decided to give it a miss.

We saw Mt Fuji very clearly over there. U should take the cruise and the cable car.. can get pretty good pictures of Mt Fuji.

jeannie
wah!! your first day sounds quite horrible! luckily the other days are good. i miss japan and the food!!

let us know how the other days went? was it easy to bring gwen around?

genice
welcome back and glad you enjoyed your trip other than hipcups on 1st day. i've been reading up on japan since nov after my package tour. so more or less prepared myself for the 'complicated' transport system. knowing that tokyo's station rarely have escalator, that's why i want to stay in hotels that have airport limousine bus. to cut the hassle of having to lug luggage/kids and transfer around to reach airport/hotel. somemore can buy the package for the 2 way transfer which include 2 days metro pass.

yeah, i want to do a 2D1N at hakone, buy their free pass which will include rides on cruise/cable car. must pray that weather is clear that day else can't have good view of mt fuji. you are lucky to see it clearly.

when you hv time, share with us what are the must see, must buy, must eat, k?

i'm thinking of going in may (wanted apr but schedule not that suitable for hubby/myself). how many days were you there? you travelled by ANA? was the service good?

iso
yes, going to bring my kids along. my fren managed to get keio at a discount. so they paid only $240 per room which is considered reasonable for the convenience of staying at the hotel and the location. normal price is more than $300 which is rather ex.

3590564.jpg

Stephie.. here is a pic of G at Hakone, Lake Aishi, weather was pretty gd that day.

I think u noe more than me.. i din do much research.. haha.. i also dunno what must eat and must buy .. cause we just wander ard.. but i can share my itinerary and what are some stuffs that we eat and bought

genice, nice pic!! glad that you enjoyed the trip, except the first day la but then it was very good liao that you managed to get all ur stuff back

Thanks tongtong, jass and Qingling.

Tong, yar luckily we got our stuffs back else will spoil our trip.

Qingling.. i think they really grow very fast, look more mature now..recently she has been singing a lot of songs by herself.. me and my hubby were actually quite surprised and she is talking much more now.No more small baby already..

Genice, yup yup, the lack of escalators and lifts were a shock to lazy Singaporean like me when I first went to Japan in 98. Looks like some things don't change. The second time that I went, think it was in 2001. I carried a backpack and put in at the station lockers if I'm travelling in between the towns. :p

good afternoon all,
busy busy day..
come in and rest now.

pauline,
the one with double chin is mei mei. with mummy's over supply of bm, she's more chubby. :p

genice,
nice photo you have! Gwen look like a big kid now.
so fortunate that it's a 'you3 jing1 wu2 xian3' trip for you. My experience for the Tokyo trip is like everybody.
keep walking and walking.. climbing staircase with luggage. so tired even though our luggage is 1 big 1 small only.

pauline,
we also used the locker at their MRT station. especially storing those item that we bought as souvenier. :p

pauline,
until stephie/reena mentioned, i remembered how i cleared the harder ducts last time.
i press with my finger along with the rhythm of the pump, means when it suck, then you press. when it release, then you release.
can see the milk spray out, very fun. i used less strength yet manage to soften the ducts too..
hope you can get what i mean, try it.

Xy, haha, as usual you so clever.

Ok, I try to follow rhythm too next time. But everytime I press, the air gets into the shield leh and pump stops working. Maybe I press too hard. :p

genice
the pic of gwen is so nice. weather was real good. i heard that japanese are very honest people. there was a case where a girl left her almost new LV bag in toilet (with impt stuff like passport), a japanese actually stayed in the toilet and waited 30mins before the girl went back to retrieve the bag. or valuables like cash, DSLR left in hotel room remain untouched after the guest returned to the room in the evening.

pauline
so cute to look at the look a like sisters. don't say girls, shawn also resemble his sister when she's a baby. there's a picture of jie jie where he said is him.

genice
yes, would be great if you can share your itinerary and stuff you bought and ate. info i gathered so far are mainly on transport, hotel and major places to visit. makan wise i don't really remember.

Thanks qingling, iso, stephie.
hehe just fed baby at 3am. She is late so boobs still hard after feeding her. Pumping now. Wonder if gar has popped?

Genice, agree with the rest. Gwen looks so pretty n grown up.

morning mummies *WAVE*

i haven't popped yet...but super busy at work trying to handover everything asap. cos gynae assessed me on sunday and thinks i'm "ripe" (what an unusual term to use hehe...) and could bomb anytime. so sorry, haven't been able to reply to PMs/emails/posts will do so once i get my work out of the way!

*NEWS FLASH*
bkkgal is in labour this morning!! wishing her a smooth delivery

good morning mummies,
jia you jia you bkk!!

pauline,
another hearsay technique about clearing the block ducts is to let bb suck in the direction 180 degree opposite of your blocked ducts.
this also means you got to try different positions in order to clear the ducts at different sites.

HELP NEEDED.
anyone has flat foot problem?
what kind of insole do you use? my hb has this problem and he can't seem to stand/walk for long hours.
wondering i should get some special insole for him.

bkkgal: jia you jia you!

garfield: wish you a smooth delivery too
try to rest well now ok.

pauline: hee... the sisters look so alike! cute cute!

bkk
all the best!!!! today is a nice date, 02022010! hubbs was just saying this morning, nice date, and i said, nice birth-date! :D

gar
jia you too!!! how about 10 02 2010, nice also. haha!!

bkk,
Jia you. Can't wait to see your bb girl soon.

Garfield,
U too must jia you. =)

XY,
Flat foot has their own shoes. U can check with individual shop.

haha.. today is 3rd already leh.. Iso.. i wish i was younger too.. :p

Thanks XY, Steph, paulin, iso for the compliments.She looks quite mature here leh. Now they are really very cute, chatty very funny.

Does ur tots have a fav toy? She got a mickey that she carries everywhere thruout the trip and when we tell her to do things, she will tell mickey to do the same thing. Eg.. Gwen walk walk.. she will hold mickey's hand, attempt to place him on the floor and walk. same as eating and drinking and yesterday when i was cooking dinner at kitchen, she pushed her ride on horse and toy penguin and sat down at the entrance, made them look at me and told them : " See, mama zhu fan" It was very funny. Think she really needs a new baby to play with, hopefully she will help to take care of the baby.

Pauline.. e 2 sisters are so adorable!! they look very alike but i think raeanne looks more like u and raelynn like ur hubby. Is raelynn darker or is it just the lighting?

bkkgal.. jia you!!

bluegin,
only limited brand has special shoe for flat foot. i know Nike has it, other than that, not sure.
i was thinking if it's possible to get a universal insole to fit into his normal shoes.

jeannie
er ya hor! maybe he said that YESTERDAY morning!! lol... jiat lat jiat lat.. haha.

E has a favourite bear (which he has the exact same one at my mum's place too), but we strictly do not allow the bear out of the house so it won't get dirty, lost, etc. we have some other bears which he can take out of the house though, heh.

hey.. 2nd time mtbs.. just curious how much have u gained now?

I am into my 21 weeks.. have already gained abt 6 kg. I very scared i will gain 18 kg like my #1

genice,
C is more 'hua1 xin1' as she does not have the most favorite toy.
koala bear, strawberry baby, giraffe at home; pooh bear at mil place. we didn't bring any toy for her when outside. :p

genice,
me 14 weeks, gained 1 kg.
last time total 8 kg.
appetite not very good, no choice.

*NEWS FLASH UPDATE*

<font color="ff0000">Sarah Mae says hello to all the aunties here
Arrived at 1035am weighing 3290g!

thanks all for your well wishes! i will jia you

now that bkkgal has smoothly delivered, i also starting to gan cheong already haha....

must quickly finish my handover so that i can do my confinement in peace!