(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Happy new year, Esther and to all the mums, tods and babes!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Happy new year everyone!!</font></font>

Wishing all feb moms n loved ones happiness, good health n all things good in 2010!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Happy and
healthy new year to all feb moms &amp; tods! May yr wishes for the year come true!!!</font></font>

<font color="ff0000"> gong xi to xiao yun!!! What good news
for the new year! </font>

tute
is kenwood mixer really good? i bought one for my mum many years ago. think she seldom use cos quite heavy. maybe i should kapo from her if it's really so, else so wasteful :p

xiaoyun
you can try places such as parisilk, john 1:13 (something like that), alan photo. i usually recce these places when i wanna buy a camera. john's service is good (go during off peak hours and you can chit chat with them/asked them for advice, etc) just that they are a little pricier at times compared to others.

pauline,
dun be discouraged...if you are interested in baking, i think you should still get it. you are right - not all recipes are complicated.

baking - used to enjoy it too! i have a sweet tooth, so love cakes, muffins, cupcakes etc. but no time so gave up already. also, hb doesn't eat these things, so only bake for myself cannot finish (last time there's still mom/dad to eat). but i would also like to resume if i have the time/energy. my 2 gals can help eat.

i think your hb like mine, chi1 zai4 zhui3 li3 tian2 zai4 xin1 li3. but hor, not the type to say honey sweet words about our efforts one lor hehe...but i'm sure he appreciates it lah!

tell him one cake already 30+, then you bake one more for Raeanne's bday, one for CNY, one for Christmas - already save back the $$ liao!!

Gar, thanks.
RaeAnne's BD I don't dare to try and bake on my own lar cos got to bring to PG. His I don't mind cos only immediate family eat mah. Ya lor, he don't want to let me buy cake mixer but can request for wording on his cake but I don't even know how to make icing lor. How to write happy birthday on his cake? Buy choco syrup to 'dai4 ti4'? LOL.

tong,
thanks for the recipe. they are to boost the immunity right? can still take when sick? the red dates sounds very 'bu3' to me. afraid that i am 'xu1 bu2 shou4 bu3' in current state.
sadly to say, i am now taking western medicine. because i can't afford so much down time (need to take care of C). so just pop in the medicine, sleep for 1-2 hr then got to wake up and attend to C liao.
but then i am still sneezing away. don't know when i can recover.

tute/tong,
i am not sure how spotting will be like. from what i found, the 3rd week bleeding may be the so call 'implantation bleeding'.

re: mixer/baking
pauline,
mine is the one that you referred to as well.
the bowl is full of scratches too even though i always use the stand to do the job.
mixer with stand takes up quite a big space in the kitchen. must clear space in your kitchen liao.. :p

but i do agree with the rest that no harm picking up another skill/hobby. baking is quite fun actually.
you can use the mixer for baking cookies too.

for icing, you can also get the icing from bakery supply shop, e.g, phoon huat.
i never dare to think about doing any decoration - me not good in arts. :p

eliaw, clover, esther, iso, bkkgal, tubao, goodbb, stephie,
i purposely 'save up' the good news for new year for you all. *hehe*

re: camera
stephie/goodbb,
thanks for the recommendation.
the 699 is what i found from alan photo.
will check out m s color and john 3:16 too.
probably wait for next year mar pc/it fair. should have some good deals.

pauline,
actually for raeanne's PG, you can bake cupcakes. swirl or pipe a bit of cream on top, then add those cupcake toppers. i think quite manageable. found this site www.cupcakerecipes.com i also intend to order cupcakes for A's PG instead of a birthday cake.

XY,
hope you get well soon! sick when preggie always v xin1 ku3. try to get more sleep

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MUMMIES!! WISHING ALL GOOD HEALTH AND HAPPINESS!!!!

xy,
heartiest congratulations to u !!!! what great news for the new year!!!

gar,
m also keen in the love letters. can let me knw the details???

tute
i can imagine C must have a lot of thomas stuff! LOL!! i think next time i want to get any thomas stuff i just ask you.
btw when i went to seoul late last year they have SO much thomas stuff, even diapers also got!
this xmas E got a vtech thomas alphabet train as a present, he loves it...

xy,
congrats!! that time when u were unwell i guessed correctly coz i oso had the same symptoms. hehe...
so fast 10 weeks le.

gar,
i hope to get more sleep too.
but i still auto wake up at about 4 am daily.. hai..
scared about the gastric and heartburn i had previosly. think it's going to surface up soon..
i had it since 12 weeks last time..

leila/bx,
bx, you are absolutely right for guessing. but i dun experienced the same for #1, that's why very ignorance. :p
i blur blur and now 10 weeks - 25% of it gone. haha..

XY, Tute, Gar, finally bought the same Philips cake mixer today. Hope it won't become a white elephant after Wed. :p Anyone has simple cake recipes to share? Hehe.

stephie,
kenwood mixer i think depends on the model, they have quite a few ones I saw. The one I was eyeing is the one with 12 speed because you don't have to wait long for the cake to expand, unlike the smaller mixer with fewer speeds.. those heavy duty ones from kenwood are used by quite a few chef (based on what i saw on tv - i'm a food show junkie :p)

iso,
Hahaha !! No lah, C doesn't have too many mainly because a lot of Thomas's toys (the real one) are expensive! So I dare not buy him too many in case he broke them all (just bought one Thomas train and some smaller ones form 7-11)... I bought for him other stuff with Thomas theme like books, dvd, sticker book, cutlery, water bottle... But i do keep a lookout for any Thomas stuff for him, oh plus I am planning to have a Thomas themed birthday party.. that's why i know about the cake :p

pauline,
recipes i think you can try to search in the Internet but some of the easy cakes you can try are marble cake, chiffon cake or sponge cake...

xiaoyun, yea according to the book, shold take during intial stage of flu, how's your condition now? 5 red dates with seeds taken off shouldne be very heaty to you. I think you should try so that ur recovery will be speeded up. ANyway if you feel unassured then dont try la. take this which is 100% safe for u and effective: take 1 lemon ( the juice) and 2 tablespoon of honey, take 3 times a day (split the 1 lemon juice into 3 times consumption). but if you are able to take more lemon, why not. if you got bamboo salt , take them as well. if you have fever or cough i will give u anotehr recipe. since u are already taking western medicine, take more rest , and hopefully you recover soon!

XY, implantation bleeding is one of those spotting i guess?

pauline, wah great! happy baking! i think banana cake is the simplest? or orange butter cake. hehe

Pauline,
So fast Raelynn 1 month leow! It seems like not so long ago that I read you were preg, then you delivered leow, and now 1 month celebration! Wow!

Mixer,
My dream mixer was either Kenwood/KitchenAid and when DH finally gave the green light, I decided to go for a handheld for one simple reason. I don't have sufficient counter top space for a huge stand mixer. I bought a Philips (350 watts), similar to the one you posted but it's a handheld. I settled for a handheld because for my previous mixer, I don't like to use it with the stand, finds it cumbersome and takes up space. I saw the model you posted in Philips warehouse sale, less than $60.

bkkgal,
You just need to bring the kids out more often, once you get a hang of it, everything will fit into place with ease.

qingling,
For our lunch, it's mainly 1 dish meal eg porridge, rice with soup or noodle soup. For dinner, I like to try out different food so that the kids are exposed to different types of food. I still cook the usual 3 + 1 dish but will add in varieties like lasagna, baked rice/pasta, pizza, sandwich (like Subway's), claypot chicken rice, fried rice, soba, etc... Whatever I cook, I try to have fish in my menu at least 5 times a week.

Garfield,
Drink more water to reduce water retention. Also, elevate your feet when you are sleeping. You can't control the growth of your baby, if you eat more and the weight goes to you, more jialat right? Since gynae says it's ok, I'm sure your bb will be alright. My 3 kids are all small baby (all below 3kg) so easier to deliver ;)

XY,
Congrats!! Will you be trying to tandem nurse?

Birthday celebration
We only celebrate at home with immediate family with a simple home-baked cake.

Pauline,
$70 for a cake is expensive but don't forget you've got 4 birthday celebration a year, so it's only $17.50/cake. And if you use the mixer for 2 years, it's only $8.75/cake. In addition, you can use the mixer for cupcakes, butter cakes and cookies. Can even use it to make ice cream ;-)

Pauline,
I just read you have already bought the mixer
If you're new in baking, you may want to try butter cakes first which is the easiest. But for birthday cakes, I prefer sponge/chiffon cake base.

I have some simple recipes, if you are interested, you may visit my blog

Cranberry Yogurt Cake
http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/2009/07/cranberry-yogurt-cake.html

Banana Cake
http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/2009/10/banana-cake.html

If you have a sweet tooth, you may want to try this. A moist cake but abit too sweet for us.

Condensed Milk Cake
http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/2009/09/condensed-milk-pound-cake.html

Nutella Cupcakes
http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/2009/12/nutella-frosted-cupcakes.html

Happy baking!

happy new year mummies!
Congrats xy! Very good news indeed,do take good care!
My countdown was at downtown east chalet,l very noisy,din sleep well.Haha.

Thanks, Reena. I have a handheld braun mixer but mine must hold onto the button while mixing. Very tiring and the motor gets very hot. :p Think my hubby feels that I don't have time to bake cakes with the 2 gals lor. Plus, I don't really have a sweet tooth. I bought the cake mixer for hubby and RaeAnne actually. Haha.

Thanks for the recipes.
Cranberry yogurt sounds good but hubby is not a yogurt fan. Maybe try the banana cake one day. What does it mean by fold in flour by the way? Me very new to baking. :p

hello mummies - seldom see me late online hor..haha..Pauline,i got the hype of baking today, now i am waiting for my banana chiffon cake to complete bake...yum yum...hee...Reena -i took your recipe, crossing fingers,hope it turns out well.

tong,
thanks for the recipe.
amazingly, i recovered today when the weather is quite warm.
now feeling energetic again.

reena/fairfield/qingling,

reena,
i dun think i will tandem nurse. don't wish to create too much stress to my body since i am just recovered from so many rounds of flu.
am cutting down the latching - did not offer when she's not asking for it.

fairfield,
u went back already?

wa.. everyone is baking.
i need to start engine for my bread baking again. but afraid of the failures.

Good morning mummies!!

Brand new work week for the year 2010 and I'm gonna be the first one to post *heehee*

had a bout of nerves yesterday, as I realized i'm 33 weeks and counting down....not that much time left! so i ticked off a few tasks over the weekend
a) hospital bag - packed and dumped it in hb's car.
b) housekeeping - cleared out one drawer for #2's clothes, packed away #1's things that are seldom used, took out #1 old clothes to be washed
c) preparations for #2 - took out #1's old list of things to buy...realize that quite a few things still outstanding although can recycle jie jie's, but i would like to get new ones for mei mei (like towels etc)

And then hor...all the talk of baking made me miss my baking days. Toying with the idea of baking some cupcakes or muffins for A's bday
can anyone educate me on the difference between cupcakes and muffins?

Happy New Year to all!

Is anyone using a Netbook? I am interested to buy one so can surf SMH anywhere in the house in future

XY,
Congratulations!

Garfield,
Im keen on the love letters too, will pm you in a moment

i'm using a netbook at home. Some things to consider:

- small and light
- consumes less power (one charge lasts about 5-6 hours easily)
- no CD/DVD drive
- may not be easy to type that much as keyboard is smaller
- performance ok if dun use for any much things other than surfing and simple word docs/spreadsheets.

HTH

happy new year !

first day of working in the new year and it's raining... really don't feel like going to work

gar,
if i'm not wrong... muffins are more dense and generally the recipes doesn't require you to beat the eggs/ingredients? whereas cupcakes are lighter and they are like sponge cakes in papercups... correct me if i'm wrong other mummies who bakes :p

piggletail,
netbook is ok if you are just using it for surfing and simple applications like what lezy said. not as high performing as normal laptop of course but it wins in terms of size and portability.

Yes I just want something light in weight and basic - will only surf net, pay bills and simple Excel (calculate my bills, haha)

Read somehere I should get 6cell battery for it to last longer? How about the RAM?

Saw the HP110 and Lenovo s10 at Harvey Norman, any comments? How about Asus?

piggletail,
my opinion is that sony, lenovo and hp are all expensive brands.. asus, acer and dell are the cheaper brands... not sure which one is good because i don't have a netbook myself. my laptop of 5 years is from toshiba so i trust this brand, and i usually go for a product mid range though i have heard ppl saying that acer is not bad
imho, try to get something that offers longer warranty because portable pcs tends to break easier if you carry it around often... RAM wise, if you get 2gb i think it's more than enough now for the applications you said you are going to use. re battery, not sure about the # of cells but i usually judge from the # of hours it can last.

hi mummies!!!

happy new year!! thread is moving quite fast.

anyway anyone not wanting to work, check out the cutest latest sesame street youtube song from Jason Mraz. if you know the song, it'll definitely put a smile on your face

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZrqF7yD10Bo#

tute
good idea! i'm thinking of doing a small birthday party for E but haven't decided yet. let me know if you see any other thomas party stuff?

good morning!!!
just came back from Gervaise's playgroup orientation.

re:thomas n friends
iso, u can find thomas cake at polar. they are the normal type n also printed type.
u can buy thomas party stuff on online store. i still have not decided which theme to go for. either Thomas or Barney

netbook
piglettail, i just bot a lenovo S10 2weeks back! not bad. i saw sim lim sq selling lenovo S10 at $550.. i bot mine(brand new) for $400 at hardwarezone. you may wish to get yr netbook there

dor
thanks! tute already told me abt polar
what online stores u go to? but most of them are in the states?

how was playgroup orientation?

iso,
not many bakeries will be selling thomas themed cakes because of the copyright issue, at most you can purchase the cake toppers and ask them to put the cake toppers... but there are quite a lot of those independent cake makers who can make thomas like cake using fondant like gladcake but they are much more expensive (>$100) plus the cake tends to be more dense than those from polar so personally i prefer polar cakes

iso,
you can order from singapore shops but slightly more ex. check out some of the party gift shops :
http://www.kidzpartystore.com/
http://www.balloonsparadise.blogspot.com/
http://www.babyterroronline.com/

dor,
$400 is v cheap! so my thinking of lenovo being expensive is wrong then in this case heheh... :p

dor/iso,
if you want to buy some thomas party favors maybe we can buy in bulk and ask for more discount

netbook - me using S10-2 too, so far so good.

birthday party - do we have a birthday bash like last year? it was quite fun with all the toddlers
. since H's birthday falls on chu yi, i doubt will have org birthday party,probably a mini one with the family that's all.

iso, the orientation ok loh... a bit boring also...heehee
tml is the first day of school term.

tute, ya... not ex hor.. heehee
where/when r u gg to order?

re;birthday bash
qingling, i dun mind... but gar/bkk will be popping soon

tute,
OIC...i initially tot that cupcakes have icing / decorations and muffins don't. didn't know that the methods are different and the texture is different.

Leila, Piglettail,
Thanks for your interest
have emailed you the details already.

Dor,
for the theme maybe you can do barney for PG and thomas for home? cos girl girls may not be that interested in thomas =P

qingling,
don't mind a birthday bash...maybe polliwogs? think the kids all had fun the last time

dor,
*muack* so sweet of you to remember us =)

it's ok, if bomb already i can still delegate my hb to bring her to the birthday bash too!

Hi anyone knows any good playgroup in the serangoon north or garden area ?Thinking of sending Gen to a playgroup when she turns 2