(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Re: polliwogs vs others

Hmm.. not sure abt GGB coz never been there but seems like feedback not very gd in jan thread too.

Bkkgal u very funny.. pinkerton syndrome?? i think GGB too used to AMs patronising them liao and some service pp are like that think they very upclass when they serve AMs. Can see the diff when i go out with my bil ( he is AM).

Anyway, i must say i actually like polliwogs compared to fidgets...
1.Polliwogs has a nice and big play area for tots our age or even younger (abt 1) and they have separate ball pits too. Somemore the tots area are near to the sofa so can sit or stand ard to watch them. I think towards the end quite a no. of us actually gathered ard that area playing the small slides ( dun need much supervision, they can climb the steps).. which was good cause mummies and daddies do not need to bend our back and follow our tots up. Actually i dun mind following G up the winding trail.. but she 'siam' the stairs wheneever she sees it.. :p

2. Polliwogs got free flow coffee and tea! Although i din drink any cause no chance but i think my hubby will like that.. haha

3. Polliwogs still quite 'local'.. or maybe cause there are so many of us that day.. Din see many caucasian kids ard. Fidgets are full of caucasians partly because of location i guess.

4. Polliwogs is at east coast.. can do other activities too.. provided ur kids haven KO. G also KO even when she was in bkk's car. She slept for 2 hrs plus straight.. have to wake her up to go for LNT.

Hmm.. anymore to add in.. i think cause its still new so everything seems gd so hopefully things dun change so soon..

Tute.. actually i was feeling quite hungry and tired but then like what i told u.. a bit bo pain.. when u are the only 1 taking care of her at that pt u will have to be 'stronger' mentally and physically.. even if feel like vomiting also have to tahan..I did sneak out ( with G) to have some bananas.. couldnt take it.. too hungry. Thanks for helping me look after G at the ball pit.. i was quite drained out at the end.

It was quite funny to see the 2 of them laughed together, 1 laughed , the other also followed.. and they like to sping into the ball pit.C is a very active boy .. he din scared G lah.. think G hardly plays with boys thats y..
Hope his bump is ok now..

Bkk.. so k like which tutu.. the black skirt har..K is very friendly and she will prob.. help u take care of ur litle muffin to come.. haha.. she can feed her liao.

At 31 wks, ur tum looks ok lah.. i think 2nd pregnancy our skin more flexi liao.. can stretch more thats y looks bigger.

Btw cant help with the greens, G has them with porridge and i dun think she even knows what she is eating. She basically eats everything except bread.

Fairfield.. paiseh.. i really din ecognise u and skyler.. actually i saw u following skyler round the maze and i thot 'pretty and slim mummy' and somemore i think u were looking at us trying to recognise us too..a pity din tok to u much, i am surpirsed u recognise G.. from where?

Dor.. u still Bf??? wow.. just like fairfield.. now i believe bf will make u stay slim.. u lost wt too!! But bf for 2 yrs??/ my goodness.. i dun think i can do it man.

QL, wah.. another trip? Pats school hse also have wait list?? How long is the queue? I dun think i am signing her up.. very tired to go there every sat.. haha.. i need a break! And furthermore , i think she totally losing interest.. during the flashcards session, she actually rested her face on her hand with elbow on table and gave a "super sian" look and after that turn left and turn right...hmm.. signs that she doesnt enjoy it at all ( based on my teaching experience.. haha.. my disconnected students also like that)

She only enjoys singing and standing on chair to dance so i probably let her go for some rhythm and dance class.. let her try other things.

Wah.. such a long post!!Paiseh..

esther, sounds to me tt yr oven has uneven temp too. It could be the top heating coil has higher heat so the cake has dry n cracked surface. Also the fact tt u use a narrower tin, the heat didnt distribute evenly to the bottom? I think shld try a lower temp n bake longer.

Bkkgal, i tot lotus roots q tough n chunky to eat. I didnt let my son try coz i was afraid he'll choke. Eating mushroom is gd, but preferably not chinese mushrooms coz of pesticides.

bx, congrats.

we had all sorts of activities for the past weekend + my son didnt eat well or he was too distracted to eat. He's been having a meltdown everyday.. Sigh. Can tell i'm tired? I'm starting a strict regimen for his meal n sleep routines from today.

fairfield/genice,
my hb is surprised that you can recognise C too!

bkk,
for greens. sorry, can't help. C loves greens. she loves to grab our stir fried vege to eat too.
no prob with brocolli as well. if she doesn't want to eat, i say 'cai4 cai4' then she will come.

clover,
lotus roots are very soft when boiled in soup.
C likes it too.

polliwogs
we like it there too. True tt there r not as many ang moh kids as ggb, but still must keep an eye on our kid. My fren ever saw an older kid pushed n kicked a toddler n the mom dunno is oblivious or just didnt do anything.

reena,
the cookies are not too hard as it uses cake flour. it has crispy crispy texture due to the wheatgerm.
it really taste quite nice, among all the cookies i tried. this is the best i find.

btw, for mummies bakes bread. i have a problem.
i now doesn't seem to get nice bread out of the breadmachine.
not sure it's due to the Gold Medal breadflour or other reasons. my bread is now not airy enough when using the normal bread program.
if i were to adjust the program manually, i need to knead for another hour to get it pass the window pane test.
anyone encounter the problem?

bkk..hahaha...actually u r right lah. just designer but he is my good friend and an architect by profession previously so everytime see him is a-chi-tet.....cannot change the habit.

he's just doing more of pj mgt - overseeing all the diff parties to hack/paint/rebuild etc.

hi lezy, heehee
jio me n tong....

genice, actually u look ok ") still yr cheerful self... good good....happy mummy = happy bbs.

re:bf...
it has becomes part of me... i felt so lost w/o my pump.... now thinking bring it out to pump again...siao!

er
swaku hor, what is GGB? but polliwogs sounds good!!

XY
peanuts must boil for quite long then soft right? how long ah?

clover
i think it's just the terrible twos time.. wonder whether they really grow out of it..

tute,
I'm not a milk person and when I was preg with DD1, I had very bad MS and I couldn't stomach any dairy products. Gynae said it's ok as long as I'm eating well and taking my supplements. As long as he is getting a balanced diet, I won't be so worried. Alternatively, can give more toufu/soya base food.

Macritchie Reservoir Park
We spent a good morning here and the kids enjoyed themselves. Saw lots of wild monkeys too. A good place for young children to be near nature and it's free!

esther,
Uneven temp in oven means certain location in your oven is too hot and some is not hot enough. Tent means to cover the cake pan with an aluminium foil, then bake for approx 1/2 the time, remove foil and continue to bake further so that the cake will be brown. Also, if you have baked in a smaller cake pan using the same recipe called for, you may need to adjust temp and bake longer, else the cake will be uncooked. Important thing is, you need to understand your oven.

Dorothy,
You can tandem nurse when you have #3 ;-)

qingling,
It's very cold in SH now (DH is there now). Pls bring enough warm clothings.

bkkgal,
I wish I'm her but not. She can bake very well, I'm not even 1/2 her standard. My humble blog is http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/

Veggies,
Mine eats veggie but only to some. I didn't quite monitor what veggies she eats but she likes chayote, winged beans, french beans and long beans. The other day I fried ladys fingers with sambal chilli, she likes too.

Breastfeeding,
Actually once you cross the 1 year hurdle, it should be a breeze. I breastfed DD1 for 3 years and while preg with DS2, hoping to tandem nurse. In total, I breastfed for 5 years (with a 1 month break) then break for a year and now still nursing DD3. It's so easy and convenient, I'm so in love with breastfeeding.

Reena
any tips for Bfing? i was quite bad at it first time round, could hardly produce much milk and didn't let him latch enough i think. hoping that this time i can change that!

any mummies got any advice?
or any good books to read?

clover,
Some pple add dried octopus into the lotus roots soup. Mine loves the soup minus the lotus roots.

xy,
Thanks! Will definitely give the recipe a try as my kids love cranberries. BTW, I just bought a pack of Gold Medal Bread Flour a few weeks ago but have not tried baking it yet. Anyway I don't bake in my bread machine so I can't advice you on that. But I've heard of good reviews for Gold Medal leh... Unless it absorbs more water than other brands, that's why more dense?

Oops paiseh reena, i got the blog wrong. :p

Iso, www.kellymom.com was my saviour. I surfed the site relentlessly for BF tips.

Lotus roots
we slice the roots very thinly and boil until soft and no more stickiness left. MIL also uses octupus in the soup sometimes - canto style.

Iso,
When I first started bfg DD1, I had a hard time too as my confinement lady wasn't pro breastfeeding. To make matters worst, I was using a hands-me-down manual pump and the miserable amount I expressed makes me want to throw the milk away. Anyway, it was a mistake to pump so early as your milk supply may not have establised. I called the breastfeeding support hotline several times whenever I'm in doubt and that helps me to clear whatever queries I have and those myths. Important thing is to think positive.

DOs
Demand = supply
Whenever there's a demand, there will always be a supply.
Latch on demand
If you want to increase your supply, try tandem pumping.

DONTs
Don't express out to see how much milk you have especially during the first week.
There is no need to bottle feed especially during 1st month as you do not want to cause nipple confusion.

clover,
u can add honey dates into the soup to make lotus root soup too. Very nice!

artemis,
no prob! i think skylar was a little stunned when he got hugged by danica. His first spontaneous hug from a girl. Heheh.

genice,
i've read ur blog before, so i can roughly recognise Gwen, but yet cannot 100% confirm, so a bit paiseh.

xiaoyun,
i also paiseh, wanted to ask if it was u, but scared i get the wrong person. To me, the most recognisable baby was Carrie leh, i saw her pic here before a few times, and could remember her liao.

dorothy
i was happy to dump my pump 5 months back (cos it's a chore to pump when i have so much work to do). sad to stop latching shawn then. if i need not be on medication. probably still bfg now. haiz. enjoy your moments with gervaise

hi bx,

congrats to u,really happy for u,can start shopping on boxing day sale :>

hi clover,

what is the catholic method u refering to?

Hi, bx

--party
I couldn' t make it , due to driving class on Sat mornings.
It looks really fun. E will love it.

Hi, jeannie
hope that your MS is over soon.
Last time I also vomit yellowish things every day. For 1st 2 month, I only went out 3 times, only to visit Gynae. And during 1-2 hour' waiting time, I normally vomited twice there.

The 1st time I ventured out to nearest shopping mall for getting a present for my uncle who visited Sin, I fainted and lost conscience for one min or two, just after stepping out lift.
And I lied down on the floor ,for a while , before regaining strength to go back home. Luckily, my hubby was around. Can't imagine I fainted at toilet.

Then next day my hubby told me that he couldn't concentrate on his work at all, afraid of me fainting at home. So on that day, we called MIL to quit her job and helped over.

Hi, Reena
You have steel will and are very resourceful.

thanks everyone!

qingling/goodbb,
wanted to wait for detailed scan before i start shoppint but cannot resist and already from a romper from GAP over the weekend as they are having 30% sale.

Big Problem:
can anyone advise? this wed to fri i am on full day course. MIL (ashlynn's caregiver) has went overseas for a holiday. hb has taken leave on wed and thur to take care of her. Fri he can't take leave anymore. no choice but i have to send her to my own mother whom she is not close to. so these 2 days i went over to my mum's place from noon to about 8pm to let her get used to it. i know she is going to cry non-stop as she is super sticky to me these days. any advice on how to minimise her thinking of me? buy a new toy and bring it over on fri? i am so bothered by this problem.

Bx, yes, I think a new toy will help. RaeAnne love make believe toys like plastic coffee cups, blender, saucers, teaspoons, kitchen stove, plastic food pieces etc so that she can pretend to serve tea and coffee and cook for people. Not sure if Ashlynn likes that but you can try. Don't worry, kids adapt quite well when they know Mummy or Daddy is not around.

Bx, yes, I think a new toy will help. RaeAnne love make believe toys like plastic coffee cups, blender, saucers, teaspoons, kitchen stove, plastic food pieces etc so that she can pretend to serve tea and coffee and cook for people. Not sure if Ashlynn likes that but you can try. Ask your mum to play more with her. My ILs always take out red bean, green bean, barley, soy bean etc to let RaeAnne play when she's cranky. Don't worry, kids adapt quite well when they know Mummy or Daddy is not around.

pauline,
thanks for the suggestion. probably pop by toy's'rus tmr to get new toys and hide it till fri. ok, will also suggest to my mum abt the beans. hopefully ashlynn can adapt. sigh...

Jia you! Quite frustrating to be on course when the main caregiver is away. Ask your mum to bring her to playground or the park and time passes faster. My gal loves the playground or going downstairs to see birds or cat etc.

iso,
GGB is Go Go Bambini.

i dun know how long to cook for the peanuts. but normally the lotus roots soup will boil for 2-3 hrs?

re: baking
esther,
my oven is uneven too.
like what reena said, must know your oven well.
what kind of oven you are using?

btw, you are into baking also?

reena,
i seldom bake in breadmachine recently too. find that the crust is thick.
but it took me so long (> 1 hr) for the machine to get a non sticky dough.
i really dun know what's happening. so disheartening...

re: breastfeeding
for me it became much easier for me after 1.5 yr when my breast no longer engorge after 6 hrs.
before that always need to lug the pump and fridge aroud, very tiring.
but if stay at home, it's really enjoyable cos it's so convenient - free flow of milk for bb. :p

i start to pump on the day i discharge from hospital (day 3) and after that start to pump with fixed time internal to stimulate the milk if bb missed her milk time.
empty both sides after latch.
wake up to pump in the middle of the night as my gal can sleep 4-5 hrs.
basically just pump pump pump. regardless the amount the i have.
looking at the extra milk that i have in the fridge, no one dare to comment that bb doesn't have enough milk. :p

fairfield,
i am surprise you can recognise her so easily.
i seldom post her photos here. probably other mummies put her photos after gathering?

re: boy vs gal
bx,
congrates.

mmm...
it seems mummies are more excited to know bx is having a bb of a different gender than the #1? *no offence*

tubao,
how's ur driving lessons? when are you going for the test?

xiaoyun
erm.. same observation as you. and earlier on was talk abt being sensitive. guess it's human nature bah :p

bx
congrats and happy shopping

staccato trial this saturday at 10.30am. Mummies who have signed up, pls remember your dates ok!

It's a nice place , can bring ur kids to see horse riding there.

re : Baking

XY,

Me not yet into baking though cousin been bugging me to learn. My favourite was baking during home econs. (oops, tat was so long ago. ha..)

my cousin baked a marble cake last sun, turned out 2 be not so nice. so i helped her 2 ask u mummies here.

she is encouraging me 2 bake since i gg 2 be a SAHM next yr. if i can manage my time well, tink i might join u all into it.
esp Cayenne loves cakes, muffins etc. home made ones definitely r better!

Haha, XY, maybe it's because Feb mummies log off at night. I'm one of the few night birds around. Plus, forum board is cranky last night, I keep typing posts but they disappear once I click submit. :/

pauline.. i think yesterday the forum a bit xiao.. i typed some stuffs but cant post.

Pauline.. do u like the RN massage or u prefer the malay lady? BTW, how is ur confinement lady? I will not be getting CL this time round.. dunno can cope or not.. what does ur CL cook in the afternoon?

xy, wanted to tell u i certainly remember carrie cause seen her and u so many times.. aiyoh... although i pregnant but not so blur lah..somemore carrie's eyes are those that i have always wanted..so of course will take special notice..

tubao.. wow.. it must have been a difficult time for u. Its not easy to stay at home for 2 months.. luckily its all over and worth it cause Emma is such a smart little ger..

I dunno whther there are any co-relations but i have personally observed for 1-2 cases when mummies 'suffered' a lot during their pregnancy.. their kids turn out smarter. I have a fren , she is a poor thing, she had cyst when she was preggie , gynae advised her that it might be dangerous and also it was very painful for her thruout her whole pregnancy, she removed the cysts while pregnant.. had to rest for 2 months at home too and undergo c- sect for her 1st kid. Now her 1st kid is 5 mths younger than ours.. but he is a total genius. He could do 1-10 when he was 8 mths using fingers and now he can spell wods like eating, blue, gold , purple. The parents did not intentionally teach him or drill him, its just that he has a fantastic memory, registers things taught once to him. I think this is pure conincidence to his mum's sufferings but in a way..the sufferings was worth it? My fren gave birth to another boy 1 yr after. The boy was more 'normal', he doesnt sign 1-10 at 8 months and doesnt have such a good memory as the bro.

Re: malay massage

Just want to share for those mothers expecting since i am already looking ard.

http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Promotions.html

There is a promotion.. probably i will sign up for 10 sessions.. hope can slim down more after that..

tongtong
thanks for the reminder on staccato trial. a bit blur on the procedure. we just go and tell them we registered for the trial is it?

fairfield
"saw" you via the grp photo on tute's blog. indeed a chio mummy. u are v tall too

dorothy
you lost a lot of weight?

Genice, my CL cooks whatever I want to eat for lunch lor. Haha, yesterday was fried bee hoon, another day was fried yee mee. She knows that sometimes I don't want to eat rice and dishes for lunch so she will always vary her dishes. Today, she's cooking pig leg vinegar, Sunday curry chicken with fried bee hoon. She's going to make pancake for me for breakfast too. She also made red bean soup and cooling water (eg. barley water, chrysthenum tea, chrysthenum tea with luo han guo for the rest of my family)

She'll cook extra and my hubby will 'tapow' and bring over to my ILs too. Win Win situation.

I prefer Rustic cos more professional. For no. 1, I had a massage lady but she wasn't Malay. When she's not feeling well or she has family matters to attend to or CNY celebration, my treatment gets postponed. Luckily I slimmed down on my own. :p

Reena, I watched. The little boy so 'kelian', forced to grow up fast because of his family background. :p

Iso stephie. Ya am at rafflesplace haha! Iso we are so near to each other!!

Stephie, just go there will do, they already got ur name there la.

Reena, I wanna watch but misses it!!

Reena
Wow, ur DD3 powerful ah, can eat sambal chili at this young age? How to teach them to eat spicy huh? I wan K to learn so she can eat what we eat. hehe.