(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

good afternoon all,
how's everyone?

it's my turn to fall sick - having flu now.

don't know if pauline pop already or not?

re: christmas gathering
i might join last minute.

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
5. tute + hb + C
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. Lezy + hb + Ruth
8. Tongtong +hb + Shaun

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
4. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
5. bx + hb + A
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. fairfield + skylar
8. artemissoh + hb + Danica + maid

Sorry, I can't make it on 12th Dec. I just updated the list.

Marina Sq would be good for me, cos I can take MRT. Not sure how to get to the other places, but no worries, I will take a cab.

iso,
it's 02-12-09 leh... heheh...

pauline,
have a smooth delivery !! was just reading your blog yesterday about the waiting game.

Hi, everyone. I've popped at 3+pm at TMC, natural with epi, and BB Raelynn is 3.355kg. Using hubby's netbook so difficult to resize the photo and post on forum. Those who are keen, check out my birth story and Raelynn's photo on my blog www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com.

nienie's blog,
For those interested, this lady (and her husband) survived an almost fatal plane crash.

Read here for more updates
http://www.oprah.com/article/oprahshow/20090924-tows-stephanie-plane-crash

And from her blog, I especially like this entry.

"Finally I slipped out of bed and walked up to my room. Beds were unmade, toys spread all over the floor, garbage and popsicle sticks on the ground. And then I smiled. It was still perfect. I was alive and happy. Sure I miss the almost perfect life I once had.
But right now, this is perfect too."

http://nieniedialogues.blogspot.com/2009/09/my-perfect-life.html

congrats pauline... you are very efficient, the birth story is already posted and with pics some more... take care and hope you recover fast...

dor..for POLLIWOGS, how much is per entry? Can just walk in? What if it's full? You been there?

Paiseh, i never se before and the website only show 'member' packages and 'value' packages and "parties" from $438.

Reena,
Ya, sometimes i also get very very annoyed with things...esp how messy the home is. But then i think i have healthy family, happy kid, good job, ok mah.

but still i'll want more lah. hehehehe.

for mummies who live near expo..

Book worms
The well known and well read, Penguin Books is holding a massive warehouse sale this weekend. With books starting from $1, and a wide selection of children's, fiction, business, reference, lifestyle, and more, this sale will be great for stocking fillers.
When: Thur 3 Dec - Sun 6 Dec, 10am-9.30pm.
Where: Penguin Warehouse Sale, Singapore Expo Hall, 6B

oh ya..congrats Pauline! Looks like delivery with epi really quite 'shiok' ah. Can take time to really appreciate everything.

Polliwogs sounds interesting. Can try and hope not too many kids alrady there.

Was thinking we can just meet at East Coast (where Polliwogs is) and if too many people liao, we'll just erm, impromptu picnic there lor. We should try to bring some stuff to entertain the kids just in case we can't get in.

Thanks, everyone for the well wishes. Uploaded more pixs of Raelynn at my blog. This time with both eyes open. Haha. www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com

Esty, the midwive commented that she's very fair when first born too.

BFing is still slow going though. Not as easy to latch on NB who is sleepy and refuse to open her mouth wide. I wish I got 3 hands to carry her, open her mouth, position nipple for her etc. :p

Pauline,

Same as when i try 2 bf cayden when NB, sleep so much. but i almost every 2, 3 hrs will bf him in hospital.. till i hardly sleep.

FYI, breastmilk normally will kick in ard 3rd day & will get super fast engorged! i tink i got engorged within 1 hr when the milk starts flowing. reali painful. LC told me 2nd time mummies, the milk will come super fast and furious! haha...

Esty, hehe, I also try and feed her more lor even in the middle of the night. But she's so sleepy and the nurses keep taking her away for tests. Longest milk break was from 11am to 445pm. In between I tried feeding but gave up after 5mins cos she's not interested. Lazy mummy. But breasts not hard yet cos just beginning. Luckily, she already having a few poo jobs a day so still ok. ;P

Hi Mummies, sorry been too busy to read all of the thread cos Gar and I have launched our 2nd BP. Do come and visit if you have time - we have 2 new products to intro to you:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3317836.html?1259826605

Xmas gathering
Lezy and Dor - I'm cool with anywhere altho indoor aircon wld b very nice for preggy people!
I can bring a few toys if you need e.g. activity table or a stride&walk. Just let me know ok?

Pauline
I feel like I'm reliving my 1st labour and bf-ing with your blog again. Can't believe it's only been 2 yrs and yet my memories of breastfeeding has faded. Keep up the good job yar?

Thanks, goodbbb.

XY, I updated my blog faster this time cos post delivery pain was not as bad. Can get down and wake around last night. Can pee without catheter also.

bkkgal, me and hubby forgot how to hold a NB, how to swaddle and forget that we need to burp Raelynn. Our memories really gone liao. And we are second time parents but everything don't know. So paiseh. Hehe. ;P

pauline,
wah your birth story v detailed. you can remember all the details and timing - do you write it down or just remember in your head? mine was like a blur in my head even later that day itself.

today, i SUDDENLY feel very big and heavy. am 29 weeks and counting...

btw, what's this patient controlled device for epi that you mention that KKH has? i don't recall having that leh? also, dun recall having to "top up" for epi. the anaethetist only came by once only.

BFing - aiyo dun say - now i feel v lazy and unmotivated....recalling all those sleepless nights waking every 1.5 to 2 hours to pump in between feeds...*shudder*

Gar, that's why I posted last night before I forget everything. Had to cross check with hubby for some details also lar cos when I was in pain, each second was like a min, each min was like an hour. Still forgot a few details eg. my waterbag didn't break even when I was 10cm dilated so I went to amend again today. :p

At KKH, I paid extra for an good anaesthesist recommended by gynae (ie. not the anaesthesist on duty). She set up the plug and poked me and started me with the first dosage. After that, she told me if I wanted more, I can top up using the patient controlled device and a technician will come by and set up the device, looks like small black portable box. I can click on the button if I want to up the dosage. What they didn't tell me was that there is a safety mechanism built in so every hr can only add max of 5 or 10ml. My baseline epi was set quite low so I didn't have any contraction when I went in at 9+am. Waterbag broke at 830am. But later when contractions got worse and worse (I was only 10cm dilated at 1030pm), anaesthesist was not around to top up. She came once only as well.

So, all I had left was the technician who couldn't help top up baseline and a lousy pcd that beep every 5mins (cos spare bat was flat) and it didn't work cos pain was so much worse as delivery progressed and nurse upped the oxytoxin when I was 10cm dilated to make me feel the contractions! I couldn't top up more to ease the pain no matter how many times I clicked in the last 1-2 hrs. :/

BF, me too. I was BFing Raelynn and had the uterus contraction pain and I felt so lazy to go through all this again. :p

pauline,
cograts!! Realynn is so cute!

after reading ur birth story made me so scared to think of labour. hope to go epi-free like #1 but dunno i can make it onot.

jia you wif bfing. i heard there is usually more milk for #2. keep me updated if it's true onot.

Hi BX,
Yes, he was on Channel 8 and U last night introducing a first in the world phone that takes ECG and transmits to a 24 hr call centre for med advice. But he refused to be interviewed in Chinese cos his chinese not good :p There's gonna be a write up on Sat's ST.

Hi Stephie,
hee, thanks thanks - couldn't have done it without Feb Moms' support!

hi stephie,
thanks for popping by...ya as bkkgal says thanks to feb moms support =)

hi lezy/dor,
thanks for driving the gathering venue forward =) polliwogs sounds like a good idea. price sounds reasonable too. then the kids can have fun (place looks quite safe so maybe dun really have to supervise so closely also? which is good hehe...then the moms can catch up!

i think there is also a cafe there, so don't need to worry about catering food/drinks.

bkkgal, i missed the news featuring ur hubby hehe. ur hubby runs the business for the device?

Xmas gathering: so we set it at POllowogs, which date and what time???

pauline,
yikes...sounds awful! strange, i wasn't given the option to use this patient controlled device for epi. was just given one dose and that's it. or maybe i remember wrongly and they came by to top up....like i said - everything is just a blur to me now

Pre-school,
Started Arielle 01Dec on AM pre-school as planned.

Day 1, she cried for 1.5 hours (according to the teacher), I hung around for about 30mins peeping at her, and eventually left.

Day 2 was good - she didn't cry when we dropped her off but acc to teacher, she did cry for about 30mins.

Day 3 - cried pitifully when i tried to drop her off, clung to my leg like a koala bear and refused to let the teacher hug her. but hubby played swing swing with her and swung her over to the teacher (and we hastily said bye bye and left even though she was crying)

Day 4 (today) - even before we got off the car, she already started to whine papa...think she knows we're going to drop her off. comforted her with her toy panda and daddy passed her to the teacher (i stayed in the car...didn't dare to go down). she hugged daddy for a loooooooong time, and stopped crying. but when daddy passed her to teacher she started to cry again (altho slightly better than yest, at least she allowed teacher to carry her)

Strange thing is when I ask if she wants to go to play school, and play with teacher jasmine, she says YES. So hubby says maybe it's just anxiety at the point of separation. Fingers crossed the crying will stop soon