(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

blueginger, haha, government service is like that lar cos they don't earn commission or money from each donation. So die die stick to their 5 day work week/office hours and meeting up is at their convenience.

Whereas, if you call cordlife cos you want to bank the cord blood privately. They will be happy to meet you anywhere, anytime, somemore ask you to recommend your friends for $50 discount. Hee.

xiaoyun
yes, need lots of courage to move out from comfort zone. so far, the shortest time i worked in a coy is 10mths cos the boss who recruited me turned from a supposedly nice man to a horrible person who have no qualms of belittling you. that's really a big push factor for me to leave. it was probably a blessing in disguise cos i ended up with my current coy for 6 years liao.

stephie,
Your ex-boss sounds like my current boss. I still worked for 1year. I also need a switch, but got to wait next year after my ML. That's y I so eager to kena the restructuring. =P

kitsune
i like the way you think!!! LOL.

XY
i think every job will have good or bad, sometimes just have to take the risk to see if there will be "better"! :D

blueginger
think i was terrible hurt when he extended my probation for no good reasons. so much so that i look out for job diligently. i am one who dread the process of job finding, write resume, attend interview, etc. he did the same thing to another colleague who also left the coy.

Iso, hehe, cos I used to be from govt service mah. Can understand the mentality. :p If you work hard, you'll get dumped with more work. If your colleague can't perform, they don't sack her unless the staff 'zidong' and quit herself. Meanwhile, the boss dumps her work on you cos she can't trust the non performer. Low pay, super slow increment, always talk about quota when it comes to promotion. It's easy to be demoralised after a while. It's a trade off between job stability and low pay. So, I still put in my best within the working hours but if ask me to do extra eg. burn weekends for events, work OT then I'll be resistant. :p

iso
ya, when he recruited me, he sang praises even before i joined (my ex-coll told me so). then dunno why he suddenly showed his true character after some time.

pauline
u r right. being govt, it's diff for them to sack non performing staff, unlike pte coy who can give the sack anytime anyhow. i used to have one such staff, really bochap abt work so we counsel, counsel, and counsel. regardless how we counsel also no use. my RO told me must give sufficient chance then can so call ask the staff to leave. thanks goodness he threw in the letter himself.

yalor, when it comes to promo, must think of quota one. so it's like exams where they will moderate and see who gets the As.

i felt v upset when i got my increment letter this year (cos it's the worse grade i've got since i joined the coy). i know i can never 'fight' with those scholars/high performancers, so i try to kan kai that i'll not be able to get what i used to have no matter how hard i work.

looks like today's topic is "work woes". lol.

stephie
wah, he change faster than a woman changes her mind!! so tempremental. i also find that it's not professional at all when someone belittles you at work, cos there are other ways to bring your point across.

kitsune
in the private sector, it's you work hard, the ang mohs get promoted. heheheh.

Hi, goodbb,
I bought Banana boat baby block Sunscreen lotion SPF50, from Guadian.

Hehe... don't know good or not. E turns tanned after many outings.

Hi, Lezy,
E also likes to run around freely, and she can run & roll around at grass field of botanic garden for 2 hours, on bare feet.

Hi, Xiao yun
I had book 在爱里相遇 : 做个好大人, 给孩子一份没有亏欠的爱 . I have finished reading it, can lend it to you.

*pat pat*,
guess every body had cruel experience of not appreciated/liked by boss/ authoritative figure . Your post reminded mine, though I always tried not to recall unpleasant experience, for keeping good mood.

Lots of luck needed, since unfair every where.

try not to believe in how others value you, and let your emotion manipulated by others' perception of you. Hehe......If you think that going home on the dot is 1st priority for you, be thick-skinned and continue enjoy this good thing.

*pat pat*, your big boss really knows how to discourage people. ..... ignore her .

wa.. everyone has their own 悲惨的过去..
cheer up!! :D

anyway, my immediate boss came and give another round of counselling just now. More lame excuse from the big boss. I am very clear with my next step.

tubao,
i feel that the big boss is short sighted.
she gave us lots of projects that beyond our jobscope and we made it. and now she 翻脸不认人。
she now offended those ppl that supporting her 'critical group'. morale is super low now..

definitely go home on time. bo chap.

regarding the book. thank you in advanced!! :D

bluegin,
last time i donated the cord blood is a more pleasant experience. however, can feel that they are trying to 'stick to their 5 day work week/office hours and meeting up is at their convenience.
'

xiaoyun
haha..you are right. it's something like jia jia you ben nan nian de jin. other than that silly boss, all my other bosses are good (and they are all WOMEN). think i damn suay cos pple usually say male boss is better. turned out opp for my case.

last time i used to go home on the dot or slightly over the dot if i've nothing urgent to rush. now a bit paiseh to do so unless i have appt to attend.

iso
my ex-colleagues always compare that boss to a woman. cos his temprement is like one :p

Stephie, ya lor, no amount of counselling will work if the staff has no heart to improve. End up morale of whole team so low. Quota I understand but it's not applied fairly. Certain individuals (with loud voices or type 'A' personality supervisors who can fight for them) will keep getting expedited promotions. They will come up with excuses like this staff got to meet external clients so need to have certain 'rank' or that staff manages a big team so need a bigger title etc. Whereas other department staff work as hard or work even harder but no promotion because of quota. :p

Iso, Anyway, I used to be 耿耿于怀 over the unfairness. But after having my gal, 我看淡了名利。 That's why can quit even though just got promoted cos to me, that promotion was long overdue so lost its significance liao. Ultimately, even with the promotion, it's just a difference of $100+, I'm still earning peanuts so not worth it. :p

I just called the cordlife rep this afternoon. Even at 10+pm, she was smsing me to ask for my particulars so that she can prepare the collection kit for me next monday. haha.

stephie,
i remember you've got a promotion last year right?
some manager will normally give a poorer appraisal (end up with less increment) to the one that just got promoted as they say it should be this way as more responsibility and higher expectations as the person just got promoted.
furthermore, they've got to 'normalise' your grades so that they can move another person up.
don't be sad. i think this is the norm everywhere..

Hi Mommies!

I'm arranging for a tour of a butterfly farm on Sun 8 Nov, 9.30 am. The admission is $3 per pax and the tour will take up to 40 persons max.

You can read abt the Butterfly Lodge here: http://www.butterflycircle.com/?p=36 The farm is located at 14A Bah Soon Pah Road. It is recommended that we start abt 930 am as the morning is cool and the butterflies will be more active at that time.

It is an educational tour for kids and adults. You will be in an enclosure where you can see the butterflies and take macro shots (for the photography buffs). Besides the tour, you can also purchase a caterpillar kit where you can bring home a caterpillar and breed it. This is good for the older, school-going kids where they learn abt the whole life cycle of a caterpillar.

Would any of you be interested? Pls put down your names and how many persons you want to bring.

BUTTERFLY LODGE TOUR, SUN 8 NOV, 9.30AM
1. Bkkgal + hb + K

bluegin, last time i had good experience with SCBB because i went to their centre at KK.Maybe now changed ppl and service standard drops ?

Pauline, you mean can donate to cordlife?

tongtong, no, cordlife is private banking of cord blood. I banked for no. 1, will be banking for no. 2 to be fair. Although a Dec mummy asked her PD and her PD said 1 set of cord blood is enough for the whole family since it's just a form of insurance.

Bkkgal, hehe, thanks for the offer. Caterpillars and worms are the only things I'm afraid of. :p Anyway, think my gal can't appreciate this yet. Maybe in another 1-2 year or so.

Just had dinner, happy mood cos RaeAnne ate a chinese bowl of stir fried macaroni (80% full) and some teriyaki chicken breast today. She was quite guai for lunch, ate quite a bit of chicken porridge too. Hate seeing her spit out food and rice, got to clean up the mess. :p

lezy, yup, she started spitting out food for 1-2 months liao esp white rice cos she likes the 'liao' more. We try to give her more with spitting 'buffer' but it takes very long to feed and she still ends up eating less. So, we just make sure we make a bit more milk for her next meal. :p

xiaoyun
your memory v good leh. ya, got promoted last year. what you said is true. with more responsibility and higher expectation, i can't meet the grade now. haha. so now i kan kai le and try not to make myself miserable over things i can't control.

Hi Pauline,
The tour is not just for older kids. I'm sure our little ones will have a good time identifying plants, vegetables and butterflies
For us, it's also a chance to be out with nature

bkkgal, I brought RaeAnne to the vegetable garden at the zoo in June. Showed her the different plants of chilli, gourd, herbs, fruit trees etc. But she wasn't interested leh. ;P I'm interested in plants though
I got pandan, curry and limau perut at home. Used to have cherry tomato, mint leaves, basil but they didn't make it. Nowadays, I assign the gardening duties to my maid but at least I've bought new pots, bags of soil, organic fertilizer and supervise her to repot them. But sembawang a bit far for us. hee. :p

Stephie, I got my first job title promotion (after working there for 4 years) in Jan 2005. In 2005's annual appraisal, my rating dropped from 2 to 3 for the first time. My boss also justified by saying that I got bigger roles and responsibilities. I wasn't convinced though. :p

Anyway, my hubby got promoted early this year. He told my MIL that he won't get promotion for the next few years so no need to try to impress anyone when she asked why he didn't go for the Teacher's Day dinner this year. :p

bkkgal,
me !

1. Bkkgal + hb + K
2.dor11 = hb + G + G
3. tute + hb + C + helper

pauline
for my case, it's comparing my performance with that of my peers. so definitely i'm not as good. still trying to learn non-technical skills which i'm lacking in.

good morning!!
how's the weekend?

i had a tiring weekend. C refused to sleep at night. wanted to watch TV.
After her first milk feed in the morning, refuse to go back sleep and wants TV AGAIN!!!
don't know what's wrong with her. but i've decided NO TV for her anymore. not even children programmes.

anyway, i've 'upgraded' her to soft rice. first offered her the one in Yoshinoya as i didn't bring her dinner out on Sat as i don't expect to stay till so late.
she likes it. so, i cooked her soft rice by reduce the water by half for porridge. and stir fried vege, chicken, and mushroom. she didn't reject like what she did to porridge. that's a good sign.

1. Bkkgal + hb + K
2. dor11 + hb + G + G
4. xy + hb + C

she enjoys seeing bird last time. i think she will like butterfly too.

basically she likes anything that is flying.

me also ok.
<font size="+0"><font color="#CC0000">
1. Bkkgal + hb + K
2. dor11 + hb + G + G
4. xy + hb + C
5. lezy + hb + Ruth

she also a bird girl. see bird will point, yell &amp; chase (sometimes).
</font></font>

i'm also keen on butterfly!! think E will really enjoy it. but my hubby q antisocial, and sunday is the only day he doesn't work, so he might not be keen to drag himself there at 930am.. and to sembawang!!

are there any other places to go see butterflies?

XY
E also like that, loves to be glued to the TV. think we have to cut down also..

iso,
will E also cry when you switch off the TV?
she just keep making the 'peek-a-poo' action, point to TV and no-more no-more. Then cry pitifully. I see her like that really want to throw the TV out of the house. :p

Ruth is mickey mouse addict.

Recently she is also addicted to Elmo's ABC song.

When she watch these 2, she'll smile and laugh and respond and etc.

I un-subscribed my cable box in the room and now left with one hubstation in the living room. So the bedroom tv is quite 'defunct'.

She's very adaptable. She'll wake up in the morning, pull my thumb/finger and drag me out of the bedroom. Then she'll climb onto the couch (in almost the exact same spot everyday) and wail for the tv. Mornings cannot help it. I need to change and etc. Mickey mouse will help me out by keeping her engaged for 20-25min. Or else i can't even pee.

(you know how we need to pee when we wake up right!!!)

XY
yes! just this morning i switched it off and said time to bathe, then he cried and kept saying "more! more!". usually i will also try and tell him, after this show we're going to bathe, but of course doesn't seem to help much

Hi Iso,

Sorry, I don't know where we can see butterflies..I'm sure parks/gardens will have the random butterfly or 2 but these are not in enclosures, so you will have to hope that you are lucky enuff to see as many.

TV
When u say the kids like to watch TV, is it any programme or specific children's shows?

K doesn't know much abt TV in general. I let her watch Cartoons once but it didn't hold her interest for long. She only knows the elmo dvds that we play for her. K loves Elmo - she surprised us by sitting through 50 mins of Elmo DVD. She will say TV, On, Elmo but so far she understands that Elmo is only for weekends (when mama and dada are at home), not weekdays. Nai nai will play her chinese educational DVD on weekdays but only then i think it's not frequent cos my MIL takes her out for walks and to gymboree class.

iso,
hai.. all kids like that. once expose to tv, that's it liao.

bkkgal,
she likes TV in general. i suppose it's due to the moving pictures, lights, sounds to attract her attention.
she wants the TV to be ON. she can walk around, watch once in a while when it's some other programmes.
for her programmes, e.g., babyfirst, luli, she will be able to stay still for quite some time.

bkkgal,
to review on the DIY mask (mask sheet + rose water)
i think it is effective!!
i did it every morning 10 minutes for 5 days straight. I can see that my face is less oily. That's a good sign cos it means less break out especially my menses just came few days ago and suppose i will have serious break out during that period of time. but i only have 1 small pimple on my nose. and that's it! haha..
so happy. hope the effect is long lasting (as long as i diligently put it on everyday). :D

XY, what is the benefit/effect of rose water? Where did u get it? I must go and check out the pill masks at watsons. I suppose we can use with anything right? Wonder if the SKII facial essence + pill mask = SKII mask. hee.

iso,
there's also the butterfly park at sentosa... but much more ex fee to go in :p

bkk,
C ignores tv most of the time unless for certain commercial or if there are something that interest him (TV is almost on the whole day coz my parents watch a lot of TV which I can't say no to) but then he will be able to sit and watch for an hour if we put on DVDs like Sesame Street/Baby Einstein/Barney. These 3 is so far his favorites...

re:singing,
C likes to follow songs too! Whenever we go out, we'll put in a cd with kids songs... and he will follow the last syllable of each sentence... e.g. when it's abc song, he will sing "g,p,s,v,x,z", the second 'c' and 'me'... sometimes it amazes me as well.. he can remember so many things now... but then also depends on his mood...

XY,
ya, jiat lat, haha. problem is, sometimes it's a convenient babysitter!!
wah i'm amazed you got 10mins to spare in the morning!! lol.

bkk
he will ask for specific shows, like Word World, Thomas, or Bob the builder. But if some other show is on he doesn't mind too.

tute
ah ok thanks! i remember going to the sentosa one AGES ago, wasn't sure if it's still there.

XY/Iso, RaeAnne does the more more and cry when I refuse to give in to her requests for Raisins, prunes, biscuits etc. Luckily not for TV, I do consciously restrict TV time. Prefer to let her play with her toys, do colouring or read to her. :p

A few times, my hubby switched on the tv watching some English programme and my maid gets distracted and started watching tv when she's supposed to be feeding RaeAnne. Grr... After that, I restrict him to Chinese programmes only. :p

bkkgal, hehe, nice try but the SKii masks has a sticky film, not watery like the essence leh. I love the masks cos I can see a visible difference, the skin really looks more moisturized and nice glow. Anyway, I kenna two pimples after using my long leftover ampoules for 2-3 days in a row last week. Now, don't dare to apply liao. Told hubby to help me finish them. hee. ;P

Job promotion:
I change my job to get promotion. =P
Easier.

Toot,
Hi. ytd, channet also sing ABC song like C. Just that she will sing "H,P,S,W,X,Z" Hahahah. Find it so funny. Then she sing Hi5 raining song. The one that goes "rain, rain go away, come again another day". She sang the "away" and "day"

bkkgal,
rose water is for calming and other benefits:
e.g.,

http://www.rose-works.com/Rose-Water.html

it's suitable to dry and sensitive skin.

i got it from Guardian, $7.90 for 250 ml.

Watsons has both mask sheet and pill mask (compressed mask). The mask sheet is 80% cotton and 20% viscose, 20 pcs $3.95. Pill mask is 100% viscose, 15 pcs $3.95. I suppose can use with anything. But adding SKII + pill mask, very expensive compared to rose water leh. :p

iso,
agree that TV is very convenient. the side effect e.g., myopia freaks me out.

i prefer to wake up earlier to do the things i need to do. i simply have no energy to do things at night.
just put on the mask, then do housework. :p

vernon loves it when we sing to him lol...
when we sing twinkle twinle little star, he will follow. although he dun sing he will follow the rythm..

den when we sing if you happy and you know it clap ur hand he will clap his hand. stamp ur feet, he will oso feet his feet. quite funny lolx

i'm interested in the butterfly lodge tour. I dun like butterflies of their long tongue but want to bring my son to more nature places.

1. Bkkgal + hb + K
2. dor11 + hb + G + G
4. xy + hb + C
5. lezy + hb + Ruth
6. clover + hb + alex