(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Gar, ya lor, the smaller series look better, no need to have so many books at one shot. But cannot see the insider pages so don't know how much text there is. RaeAnne has very short attention span for books. She's more of a hands on gal. :p

pauline,
welcome! i missed it myself too until today.

ya the animal series is v nice and cute. i bought from popular and paid twice the price at SG$4.90!!

Ouch, ouch so you must buy more books to average cost then. hee. I haven't buy any chinese books yet cos ILs are always 'channel 8' with her.

Eg. While I prefer RaeAnne to call me Mummy, FIL keeps teaching her to call me Mama. He can even tell me that I ask her to call Mama but she calls Mummy (i'm like what's wrong with that? Hee.) Today, my gal called me Mama at ILs place, bo bian got to acknowledge lor. If at home, I'll correct her and say call Mummy not Mama. Cos Mama sounds like Mah Mah (grandma) and she cannot make the different intonations between the two yet so I rather don't confuse her. ;P

you all looking for books from msia? i'm going back this wed,might be able to help you all. but pls let me know exact what are the books you all want.

hello mummies
how is everyone doing? im so terribly held up with the 2kids. my 1st maid was a flop and im struggling now while waiting for the 2nd one to come. i scared later 2nd one also cannot make it, im so gonna be demoralised.

cheryl cannot adapt to childcare and i have withdrew her, will have to wait till she's older, prolly 2yo or more then will try to send her in again. she is now extremely super glue to me. the only lucky thing is she has FINALLY stopped 'torturing' her didi. she nvr beats or pinches him anymore, instead she has always kiss, hug and talk to didi. and one gd thing is she loves me reading to her and her didi so we spent most daytime with books. but still cant leave her unattended with didi yet cuz sometimes i think she still cant control herself.:p

so now im up to the neck lor. totally cant do anything (cook/chores) with them the whole day unless they slp. and im so tired that i usu fell aslp with them while tucking them to bed. end up i wake up at 3am to do the chores. zzz

gar
im keen in the rainbow series and the big sister book. still able to take in my orders?

Pauline, not heavy because I’m coming back by car ma! 45 books only RM 17.55?? if cant accumulate RM 100, I will go get from popular, since I wanna get some books too.

Pauline, so you want the rainbow series which is RM 210 also? If yes, then definitely >100 and I can opt for delivery liao.

Tongtong, keen on rainbow but don't khow to collect from you cos that series is quite heavy. You staying at Yishun right?

crystal, yea! can let me know which one you want?

free shipping of pelangi books ( if possible pls pay me RM since i will be paying RM )

offer only open for FEb thread mummies. thanks.

pauline, yea i stay in yishun. hubby works in tampines. but if too heavy i dunno he keen to carry it to office or not.

If not, we can have a playdate , meet up then can pass u the books lor!

pauline, i think not feasible hor to pay me RM. ok la i will buy using my Singapore credit card, then see how much they charge?

or i pay RM cash then u pay me SGD, depending on the exchange rate i change? last thursday i changed SGD1= RM 2.46

tong,
hehe...yes BP on Pelangi is a good idea! they have quite a lot of nice books and they are cheap!

thanks for helping us =) i would like to order the rainbow series as well.

for payment let me know your preferred mode. RM or SGD both ok for me.

tongtong, yes, thanks, thanks, SGD is definitely easier thatn RM. But, I think I order the animal series first bah and browse around for other series bah. Cos don't know if I can ever finish reading 45 books to RaeAnne for the rainbow series. Need storage space also. :p

Crystal/Garfield/Pauline,

I checked online rate today, it’s 2.4484.

Please pm me what you want in the following format:

Link:
Item name:
Qty:
Total cost in RM:
Total cost in SGD: rate to use 2.4484
Collection: playdate or sort out later?

rainbow books series
sorry garfield, i won't be going to the pelangi store to get the house. i tot they have presence in the malls... i checked the map and i think it's quite far in JB.

i browsed through the website and there's 《小果果故事集》青苹果系列 which is written for 2-3yo, but strangely it's more wordy than the rainbow series... anyone knows why?

my qualm with these books and most chinese books is that the illustrations are not attractive. =(

Tongtong is the pelangi book BP on? I'm interested in purchasing the animals books. Are they soft cover? Can i have the link for pelangi books?

Kistune,
I dun mind to collect the books you order n pass to you. We stay near each other mah.

Hi blueginger, check here http://www.pelangibooks.com
Pm me what you want then. I’m not doing bp la, just helping to buy for feb mum.

Mummies, since I had received quite a lot of orders already, think I got to stop here already. Think my car boot might not be able to accommodate more books liao as I will be shipping other things back from KL as well.

good morning mummies,
thread is active now with more and more preggy mummies joining..

haven't read through the past posts yet.

<font color="0000ff">any good recommendation for making window grill? last time watch TV they recommended those at Defu Lane (if my memory doesn't fail me). Are they really good and cheap?</font>

good morning!

my gal has used them b4 when she was much younger.
there is a title on the daddy's new car (under the rainbow series)which Gervaise loves to flip.
in fact, our local popular also carry this rainbow series. Mummies who are interested can go n take a look first b4 committing....

will be going to JB maybe today or tml...
i can help to post here n if ok, can help u to get too....heehee

XY, I did up my window grills last year when RaeAnne was 7-8 months old for my balcony and service balcony. I don't know if they are the cheaper than Defu Lane though. If you need the contact, I'll go dig for it. Don't know where I throw the namecard liao. Hee. :p

Hi Apple/Tong,
Thanks - K's fever has passed. She's coughing more than before but I think it's ok. Maybe it was due to teething after all as she again said "cream, cream" and point to her teeth (asking us to apply dentinox).

Sleeptalking
any of your kids sleeptalk? K does it every night, sometimes will shout words that she learned in the day or mumble something and fall asleep again.

Chinese books
Much as I like to get for her, i wonder if any use. i've been showing her chinese songs/dvds - she will watch and "translate" for us, e.g. twinkle little stars in chinese, she will point and say "star!" refuse to say the word in chinese. So far, can only say "hao3", "yao4" and "xiao wa wa" in angmoh-nised tones!! give up.

bkkgal, just keep talking to her in mandarin. bah. She will pick it up soon. I try to speak to my boy in one language, usually mandarin.

Dor, the pelangi store seems quite far in hor?

bkkgal,
C does it too, talk in sleep i mean... sometimes he will even wake up, look at us and smile then immediately fall back to sleep... i think i read in what to expect toddler book that it's normal and it usually happens around this age...

Clover, i try i try but sometimes will lapse back to english :p if she fail chinese, will be my fault! nobody else at home support my efforts...sigh. ILs speak a mix of canto, english, chinese. i don't mind if they can speak pure canto to her, at least she can pick up 1 dialect but they also lapse.

Ruth also will wake up, sometimes eyes open, sometimes eyes closed.

She'll usually grope around for her little pillow(s).

SOmetimes she will shift position like crawl to another part of the bed.

Then all of a sudden! SHe'll just PLONK! down on the bed.

funny.

Sometimes she will sleep-talk/shout/scream/scold/cry. never wake up. just make a lot of noise and suddenly go back to sleep after u pat her.

Ruth also will wake up, sometimes eyes open, sometimes eyes closed.

She'll usually grope around for her little pillow(s).

SOmetimes she will shift position like crawl to another part of the bed.

Then all of a sudden! SHe'll just PLONK! down on the bed.

funny.

Sometimes she will sleep-talk/shout/scream/scold/cry. never wake up. just make a lot of noise and suddenly go back to sleep after u pat her.

bkkgal,
Channet also talks in her sleep. As I'm a deep-sleeper, I only heard once she shouted "bus-stop".

Chinese book
I want Channet to learn to recognize chinese as it is more difficult to learn how to write than to know how to say.

tongtong,
since it might be too heavy, just count me out this time. Let me know if you are going in again and can order for us. I also dun want you to add on to your petrol.

Thanks, blueginger, you stay near the round market right? I'm also checking to see if can collect from Tongtong's hubby at lunch time at Tampines Mall area but also depends on where is his office. :p

bkkgal, RaeAnne will scream in her sleep but last night she was laughing in her sleep instead. She woke up around 5 times last night cos she had a mosquito bite and kept scratching. My blur maid did not alert anyone about it. Until when she woke up at 445am, I decided to let hubby rest and went to lie down beside her in her cot then noticed it. She took 1 hour to fall asleep again. Faint :p Very cute to hear her laugh in her sleep. That's what I missed about cosleeping with her, hearing her laugh and watching her sleep so contentedly. Hee. ;)

Bkkgal, haha, RaeAnne opposite, we tell her cat and she'll say 'Mao'. Tell her Hello Kity and she'll say 'Mao' again. She just refuses to call 'cat'. :p

bb sleeping patterns,
same here - A will sit up, then crawl to another part of the bed to sleep repeatedly a few times in a night. or she will let out a little shriek or cry, but settle back to sleep.

pauline,
re co-sleeping...these few nights hb on biz trip, so i sleep together with A on the bed. i agree with you that it's very sweet to watch our babies sleeping so peacefully.

i kinda think i will be co-sleeping with my both kids liao. hb was the one who suggested it actually so i think he doesn't mind it. i guess to us, there will come a time when our little ones grow up, and even if we want them to sleep with us they also won't want to.

Gar, ya with 2 kids, can just cosleep with them esp if you don't want no. 3 liao.

If RaeAnne is not a 360 deg clock or a shadow kick expert like hubby, I also don't mind cosleeping with her until she is older. Problem is when I co sleep with her, I don't get quality sleep. :p

Much as I hate to admit it, yes I do spend lengths of time gazing at K when she's sleeping too. All mums are like that right?

She kicks and moves alot. I learnt to use a bolster between us so that I can protect my bump but I have been kicked in the face everynight so far (bolster cannot cover my face)!

bkkgal, yup, I think so. That's why some mummies choose to cosleep right from the beginning cos babies sleep best with parents for that sense of security. And we can gaze at our babies, smell their hair, kiss their cheeks etc. My hubby loves to smell my gal's feet when she was cosleeping with us. He said better smell now when it still smells sweet. Faint! ;)

pauline,
ur hb is so funny!!!

calling parents/grandparents,
just wondering what ur bbs call ur moms ( their grandmas)? My mom is insisting my boy call her Ma Ma, which is what he calls me, just diff intonations. I dun like it, cos he doesnt know how to differentiate, and calls us both the same.Told her many times to call Ah Ma, but she din want.

At first, mil also wanted ma ma (Cantonese) but we convinced her nai nai is better. My mom said she wants to be grandma, not ah ma, so we let live but now prob is dd can't say grandma, always say ma ma. I'm also mama so pp get confused. Worse, my father is grandpa so dd shortcut call pa pa, which made my hb upset. Hb is da da.

bkk,
ya, i can understand why ur hb is upset. I am not happy with both of us being called Ma Ma too.But at least ur girl is taught to say "grandpa and grandma", which is very good, cos i think its better to teach the right way of addressing now.