(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Piglettail, if I tell hubby buying for no. 2 then even worse lor. Cos we will need hot water to heat up no. 2's EBM and hot water to make FM for no. 1, sometimes also use hot water to 'rinse salty' food for no. 1. He sure ask me to bring the 500ml vacuum flask out then. :p

Stephie, piglettail, I'm confused, Zoji has so many blue vacuum flask, which one did both of you buy? Is it this one? Only stores 250ml and selling $38 at BP leh, $10 more than OG ah?
3026829.jpg

Or are you referring to this one? But this one doesn't look slim leh. BP selling $22 though.
3026830.jpg

Stephie, the $45 one selling on the BP is this one but BP organiser not selling the blue colour for 350ml, only the 500ml.
3026831.jpg

pauline
it's the second pic ur posted but the bigger one. oh, didn't know got bp on this cos i never check out bp threads. i bgt using isetan vchrs which are expiring soon. so not so dui. ;)

pauline
saw the bp thread. it's cheaper by $2 for the 500ml slim tuff flasks that piglettail and i had bought. surprised to see that wt of 500ml (at 0.29kg) is only 0.04kg heavier than the 350ml one (at 0.25kg).

feel that the $45 flask function more like a mug. it's one hand operation is convenient though i find slim tuff more secured (as in children/kids won't be able to open the flask too easily.)

next time will check bp thread for such stuff

Hi Mummies! It had been a while since I last login here. Had been really busy with school holidays and home alone with the kids.

Congrats to all the preg mummies here! How nice to be pregnant again...

Confinement Lady
I engaged CL for my first is quite on the ball, cooks well and good hygiene but not pro-breastfeeding. 2nd one can cook well and very pro-breastfeeding but not very clean, only gives bb a bath in the morning and that's all, no wipe down/bath at night. For my 3rd preg, my 2nd CL was blacklisted by Singapore custom so didn't dare to commit. I engaged a CL through an agent but she's super lazy, every meal only 1 meat and 1 veg dish for my whole family and herself. I paid her extra $300 to do housework (sweep n mop house + ironing), cook for DH and kids, bring DD1 to school (which is just next block). She only brought dd1 to school and nothing else. There was once she was mopping my room, thought I dozed off so she skipped and went to mop the kitchen! I gave her the sack on the 6th day and ordered confinement food from New Baby instead. Portion is good for 2 small eaters but just right for me. I called to tell them not enough food, the next meal they gave me more. :p

Additional member in the family
Just to share my thoughts on this. When you're expecting #2, try not to shoo #1 away. Get #1 involved, eg buying a little gift for #2. And as a parent, you buy a gift for #1, on behalf of #2. The gift exchange will take place in the hospital during their first meet-up.

Upon bb's arrival, try to get #1 more involved. Eg, while feeding bb, do some activities with #1, like read a book or sing a song. You can get #1 to help take a hankie to wipe bb's mouth. Or carry bb's towel to the bathroom. Or simply to remove a bootie or a mitten. Make them feel important and proud of their actions. Make them feel that with the bb around, you NEED their help.

With small gestures like these, they won't feel resentful towards the newborn.

HTHs.

hi pauline,

yes, Stephie is rite, we both have the same one (the middle pic), 500ml. The 350ml (the one shown in pic) looks bit stumpy cos it's slightly shorter than the 500ml one.

Didn't see the last one before (selling at $45). Thought it would be a good idea since it's one button operation compared to the conventional screw cap-push button-screw back the cap. but i find such models are usually heavier in weight.

I also have the first one (250ml)...super small and light! but water don't stay hot for as long as the 2nd (500ml) one.

Eric carle's book - i bought a lot from bookdepository too! I heart them, cause the colors are so vibrant
H is still fiddling with the books..hehe..

tubao - E is so smart, can read le! How do you teach ah?

apple79 - How do we go about doing a lapbook? I am quite interested to know more about this.

Stephie, Pigletail, oic, then the height and size of your flask is the same as the tiger 500ml hot flask that I already have.
The thermos one which I bought recently is 350ml but short and stumpy type lor. But has a nice red bag lar. ;)

Pigletail, the 250ml one was the one I was beowing which my hubby refuse to let me buy when we saw it at the store. So it doesn't keep water hot for long ah? :p

Gar, I think I am in the same situation as you. I think I will need help when baby no. 2 arrives, yet I don't like the idea of a domestic helper to stay with us. More like a part timer who comes in everyday to help clean and cook. But I think there was a good suggestion to house the domestic helper, if ever I employ one, at my in-laws or mom's place.

hi reena
thanks for the tips. i think they are useful for me to bear in mind. my colleague had also advised me abt this gift exchange too. always like to learn from experienced moms.

TGIF everyone!

TGIF !! Happy weekend everyone ! another hour to go... can't wait to leave for the day

qingling,
is the eric carle's books cheaper from bookdepository? there's some ppl who organise a spree from one website (can't remember the name) but it's really cheap because these books have markings on them (behind across the isdn no) and some are also used. even so, condition of the book is still very good.

stephie,
me even lazy lah i think, that's why i just pureed everything together... today C didn't vomit/spit his food out eventhough the food is more coarse than usual. we also cut his fruits smaller instead of using the small grater. hopefully can continue

Qingling,

No lah.... E can't read lah, Guess that she differentiate by pictures. Hehe... we never taught her read, even no ABC, 123; though we sang ABC songs with her often; counted fruits/balls everytime we gave them to E.

hehehe... to have fun with E is 1st; if she learns something it's bonus. ^_^.

DH&mine ways are different. I taught E by asking. DH is creative , I never learn his way. Hehe... for now, don't know how to descibe DH's way.

---books.
We bought books from opentrolley. DH says that it's cheaper than bookdepoisitory.

hi pauline,

the small one very cute rite...
yes i think it doesn't keep the water hot for as long as the 500ml one that i have, but possibily becos there's 'less water to keep warm'? But still ok lah, water still warm enough to make milk after 3-4hours, just need to use more of the 'warm water' to mix with the cooled water (already in the milk bottle). whereelse if i bring out the 500ml flask, i need to use less of the warm water and prepare more cooled water in the milk bottle.

i sound very lor sor hor...

Reena, will definitely try to involve no. 1 by asking her to help. But not sure if Mei Mei will be too distracted to suckle if I'm trying to read a book to cheh cheh at the same time. LOL. ;)

bkkgal, I already bought a small battery operated Hello Kitty bubble blower toy from BP for RaeAnne since she loves bubbles. It comes with a small bottles of bubbles too. I think she will open it immediately and start playing with it in my hospital room after she 'receives' the gift from Mei Mei.

Piglettail, no lar, not lor soh. Cos it means I can still buy if I want to just bring enough hot water for 1 milk feed. Hehe. How much did you buy the small cute thermos though? Is the BP price $38 cheap?

Tubao, does open trolley have free shipping too?

morning mummies.

re : gift xchange 4 the kids

I oni bot one gift 4 Cayenne on behalf of her di di. when she came 2 visit di di in the hospital, dh & I present 2 her saying it was a gift frm di di. She loves the gift till nw! & hug it often.

the belief frm wat i heard is the older sibling wont get jealous and will sayang di di. 4 my case, true enuff!

hi pauline,

opps i can't remb the price - ironically i could remb the bigger thermos which i bought b4 birth while i can't remb this which was bought few months back... but i believe the BP should be cheaper. i bought at the regular retail px without discount.

Piglettail, it's ok, I don't think I'll buy unless I'm working. The 350ml or 500ml will meet my needs more with 2 kids. :p

Snowbelle, had replied you.

tubao,
Bishan have Aitong - a very good primary school.

Gar,
for my confinement, I will do mine at my mother's place. Channet will be look after by my MIL. Hubby will stay with Channet and bring her over to visit me over weekend. Now keep educating channet that her baby sister will soon play with her. So she is now looking forwards to the arrival of the newborn.

Hi, Pauline
No free shipping. $4 .
DH didn't buy any children books there. For books of his interest, he commented that they are cheaper than kinokuniya; more expensive than Amazon; some cheaper/some expensive compared with book respoitory.

Hi, blueginger,
Yah, most friends of my DH and SILs/BIL at their neighbourhood went to Aitong since it's within short distance; while four of DH and his siblings went to 4 different no-so-good ones. My parent-ILs preferred them to go to not-so-competitive ones.
Hehe...... But now, my parent ILs asked us to send E to better ones....don't know why,,,,,, Maybe E is only grandchildren now.

Tubao, I see. Thanks. Hubby likes to buy american comics so he is always checking exchange rates between Kino, Amazon and borders. Just went to check out "Charlie's War" at Open trolley to compare with book depository. $20.98 at Open trolley excluding delivery charge while book depository selling at USD10.06 with free shipping (haven't factor in 5% discount code). Think we'll still stick to book depository for now bah.

Tubao,
FYI. Aitong is more like semi-private school. So all activities ECA need to pay extra fees. My cousin send her children there and now explain a lot about paying paying paying.

morning mummies!!

i'm finally back to work after whole week MC last week. down with flu....cannot take medication....can only rest to recover!

tubao,
thanks for recommendation of rainbow series will take a look. do you know of any good chinese DVDs suitable for our babies age?

hi mommies
K's fever has been yoyo-ing up and down the whole weekend. Today is 3rd day of fever. Bit of nose block and cough but not so serious. She's still active, listening to her songs, playing but sometimes when fever gets to her, she becomes a little lethargic. I thot it was teething at first but now doesn't seem like. Could it be roseola? Roseola is high fever for 3-4 days is it? Her temp this morn is 37.8. The highest was low 38s on sat. No rashes on her body (yet).

Hi Gar! glad you are back. let's arrange the massage soon! Now that K is back on the bed with us, I get kicked by her and the lil one on both sides!

gd morning mummies!

Gar - gd to know u have recovered

bkk - when H got roseola,the highest temp she reach was 40. Have you brought her to the doc?

Qingling
no I haven't cos fever is not that high and she's still asymptomatic. Guess can only monitor for now...how's your MS? better?

bkkgal, just to share my experience on sleep training. We moved RaeAnne to her own room and the toddler bed during the Hari Raya long weekend. Initially with maid sleeping in the living room while hubby slept beside her cot bed on the floor, but that didn't work out cos she keeps wanting to go outside to disturb the bed, or on Day 3, all the adults in her room, lie in the dark with her until she falls asleep. She'll still keep running from room to living room or ask us to 'bao bao' so that she can continue to play. Day 3 and Day 4 were ok, maid managed to soothe her back to sleep when she woke up but we didn't need to wake up (maybe it's because we gave her some cold med for her sneezing so she was more drowsy). Day 5 - 8, she started waking up every 2-3 hours to scream for Mummy or Daddy. Had to bear the pain of hearing her cry and resist going to her. Most nights, I can't take it after 15 mins and will ask hubby to go and take over from the maid. Told him he got to do it since next time, I got to tend to the baby more. Her bedtime also got shifted later and later, most days she only knocks out around 11 or 1130pm instead of the usual 10pm when she was on our bed.

It's still early days and I don't know how long this phase will last. But hope your experience of easing Kate back to her room will be better than mine. :p

Bkk,
Thanks! Oh no....hope K recovers soon! How come she is on your bed now? I recall you mentioned she sleeps in her own cot in your bed or something like that?

I'm still having the sniffles...not bad enough to stay in bed, but not completely well. Will let you know once I'm back in the pink of health!

Qingling,
Thanks! How's the new MTB feeling?

Pauline
Jiayou! Dun give in.

I can only resume after this fever passes and after the lights are fixed. The bedroom lights short circuited last night.

Gar
took pity on her cos of the fever...but short term concession oni lah..she's gg back to the cot for sure.

bkk,
maybe K having fever due to inflamed throat since she's coughing a bit... C is now on antibiotics, quite heavy flu + block nose + coughing... think it's due to the weather these days... hope K recovers soon !

re: gift exchange for kids,
this is a very interesting practice and seems like a good idea... i hope i'll still remember this when i have #2 :p

gar,
hope you recover soon !

bkk/gar - MS still on..haha..i tink it will be for a while, not too serious MS, but i have been having headaches and dizziness now and then.
, i hope it will stop soon.

Gar - the book spree is tempting, but until i find new cupboard space, i better not buy anything..not much of new MTB feeling, cos i haven't seen the gynae..finally long awaited to see the gynae this friday!! but before that i will be in jakarta again (tmr to thursday..zzz)

bkk,
oic...ya la sick sick poor thing. i also v soft hearted. in fact EL is suggesting that we co-sleep with BOTH kids until #2 is 18 months then banish both out to their own room together at the same time.

tute,
thanks! oh dear...hope C recovers soon also! i agree weather is v bad and a lot of bugs in the atmosphere.

Thanks, bkkgal, I know I can't give in lor. If not, next time Mei Mei how? But heart pain to hear her screaming for us lor. I dread the day when I will face the same problem with Mei Mei lor. Feel like putting Mei Mei in RaeAnne's room right from the beginning now but I only have 1 cot and it's already converted to toddler bed. Dilemma. :p

Gar, tempting leh. How much is it retailing in Sg? How many books in the series? It's not hard cover or board books right? I'm afraid RaeAnne will destroy the books even before Mei Mei has a chance to touch them leh. :p

Bkkgal, seems like kate might be getting roseola. Anyway just be prepared, it’s very common to see the rashes. Probably you will feel relieve after seeing them out :p shaun only had high fever 38.6 on the first night, the rest of the day below 37.5. but he indeed had roseola, but the rashes looked quite mild also. I din bring him to doc.

Tute: hope cayleb recovers soon.

Qingling: the lapbook class is for older kids, not for our toddler yet. I am interested to know also. Probably will got for the lapbook class when Amanda is older.

Garfield: get well soon. Wah tempting but 45 books at one go is a lot haha. Probably will check them out when I go JB..

Pauline; I think TUbao mentioned she bought the books at Popular at $2.91 each.

Bkk & tute: Hope both K and C get well soon and take care yourselves too. A also just recover from a week long of flu and cough which subsequently spread to me.

qingling,
take care, hope you feel better soon. ya first tri symptoms v yucky.

re books - i cannot stop buying...i also have run out of space to store A's books! i can resist buying toys but i cannot resist books!

pauline,
hehe...so how? my FIL always go JB, maybe i can ask him to pick up for me then we save $20 so it will be even cheaper $1.90 per book.

can read to raeanne, when she is older then let her flip the book (it's not board book). actually i let A flip all books i tell her that the book "pain pain" when she tears the pages. so now she doesn't tear, but she does cause some crumples and dog ears.

apple,
thanks! you take care too...hope you recover soon! re the books - ya 45 is a lot but i am a collector...cannot stand not having ALL books in a collection. that's why always spend a bomb.

Hi, blueginger
Thanks for info. Is it new for Aitong to charge ECA?
Hehe.... much headache.....better think about it when E is 3 years old.

Hi, garfield.
getting 45 books? Hehe....let me know whether A likes it.
My VCDs are solely provided by my mum; who bought extra copy of my niece's favorites. All of them are about song/dance.

don't know whether there's same ones in Sin. Will take a look at Popular this weekend, let you know then.

Gar, good that Arielle listens. RaeAnne always beats hubby on the head, when I tell her cannot beat daddy, daddy pain pain. Sayang Daddy say sorry, she'll sayang then beat again. Many many times somemore. I'm trying not to beat her to show her that beating is not right but it's getting harder and harder to control when she's not listening to reason, probably can't understand yet. Sigh.

Wa, $1.90 per book even better leh. ;) No need to pay shipping.
If less than $2 per book, less heart pain if she tears a book. haha.

clover,
me me! but is it inconvenient for you? paiseh to troube you cos i think the set is quite heavy

tubao,
hehe...errm...ya i am hopeless when it comes to buying/collecting books. but i have 3x the number of english books so i can console myself that it's ok to buy chinese books now!

pauline,
don't give up just yet....we have been telling arielle to be gentle, not to beat etc for close to one year ever since she could grap things. at about 6 mths old she would grab and fling my beloved soft toy doggies and i would grab her hand and then show her what gentle means.

only now that she is slightly older, she can be "gentle" on demand. but still lapses into "rough" behaviour with things around her. so have to remind her "be gentle" then she will remember. we also pretend to cry when she is rough with people and she seems to get the idea.

ya $1.90 v cheap...so tempting right?