(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal
my gal is a terror at home leh. always bully her brother. when outside, she's more docile. :p

me lazy and scared of all the mess created while toilet training. though agree helps save $ on diaper. only started tt my girl at 2.5yrs and my mum was the one who initiated. keke.

pauline, apple,
OIC thanks for the feedback on bookdepository. so more convenient for everyone since we can order separately!

apple,
how do you find dora? actually i didn't like the character before i had a baby. but after watching a few episodes, i have come to like Dora and find it quite educational.

Pauline yah and I find it more convenient too. But the only thing is that there is no tracking number for the parcel i think. Mine also come 1 by 1 when I order 4. My items are all received in good condition.

Garfield: yah loh before that I dunno what is DORA and find her not CUTE at all.
Wonder why they love her so much ahha. But its not bad lah as there are educational values in the shows although some people advocate no TV for their age. Amanda does pick up things from the shows.

Hehe, I still don't like Dora, Hi5 etc so I made sure I didn't buy these DVDs for her. Hubby means I'm depriving her though. Only got her wheels of the bus, mother goose, Doraemon and Winnie the Pooh and Mickey. But hardly switch on for her to watch also unless it's meal time. :p

Bkkgal, I bought Tiger 2 tier and 3 tier lunch jar but not Zojirushi. But since my 2 tier costs $65 minus 10%, I will say the Zojirushi one is quite cheap. If you are only getting 1 food jar, then get 3 tier is better cos 1 for rice, 1 for soup, and 1 for dishes. Even if you only use 2 tiers, the last container you can fill up with hot water so that the rest of the containers with food stay hot longer.

I prefer Thermos to Zojirushi cos I saw the actual 3 tier lunch jar when I collected my thermos flask that day, the first tier is kept within the inner cover so it's very compact. But best to use the top tier for dry foods so that it won't spill cos it's not completely encased by the vacuum steel body. Price wise $48 slightly cheaper than Zojirushi's 3 tier.
3022438.jpg

3022439.jpg

Gar
I noe u and hb are not in favour of a domestic helper but a part time nanny that comes to your house may end up costing the same if not more than a full time helper. How abt asking yr mom to house the helper and follow her to your house everyday?

apple
agree that cartoons can have educational value. my gal is a playhouse disney fan. watch everyday when she's at my mum's plc on weekdays. she learnt spelling, mixing of colours (e.g blue an yellow = green), etc thru watching the cartoons. at least comforting for me to know she's learning something thru watching cartoons.

i heard barney shows are educational too. my ex-coll wanted to give me the dvds. however i rejected cos i don't like barney :p

bkk,
ya lor...but it's not the cost leh. i always say if $$ can solve the problem and i can afford it - then it's not a problem hehe =P

my mom doesn't want to house the helper. and i can't get the helper to stay with my MIL since my mom is the main caregiver.

so no choice lah try the part time option which will DEFINITELY cost more. sigh...

Gar, your mom is like my ILs. They feel very uneasy with my maid around. My mum on the other hand doesn't mind my maid staying over at their place cos can help her do housechores but she is not the caregiver for RaeAnne.

hi ladies...

Re: Car seat
Thanks for all your tips and advises...will try out this weekend.

Gar,
Mine is both front facing and back facing-according to the instructions. just flip around..technically it looks like those front facing kind but not as 'big' as those that is 'strictly' front facing.

I used to have 1 car seat that is strictly back facing, those that looks like a 'basket with handle'.. made him sit in there until i bought the new one 3 months back. then he rejected it since end of month 1, hence technically it's only been used for 1 month.

Food jar
Do all of you bring food out for your kids? So far I have only brought out porridge when pressed for time (ie. going out and he's just woken up so no time to feed at home first). Using a small 1 tier plastic Thermos food container. Bought for $11 only I think. I like the jars on BP, thou not sure if i can be bothered to cook thus use it for its intended use or not. ;p

garfield
don't sigh. as you've said if $ can solve the prob, it's not a prob. so in your case, it's a prob solved by gettng part time helper right?

piglettail, I do bring food out for her sometimes depending on where we are going and if there are no kids friendly restaurants nearby. Ok lar, just rice, and some dishes. Or sometimes, fried rice, or fried macaroni with a soup.

Hi mummies!! Gonna knock off soon.. jia you k and best of all.. tmr is already Friday!! Time flies.

Apple.. i like nyghs because of the chinese environment.. :D and coz near my in law place plus my sil alo from there.. Wow.. AEP!! TKGS offers MEP.. but i am neither gifted in AEP or MEP.. so doubt G will be.

Re: Primary schools
stephie.. u may wnat to try henry park.. quite near ur mum's hse too..

Re: Book depository
Reading:
Any good kiddy books to recommend? Are u all still using board books or changed to paper back? Seriously G doent seem to be interested when i read to her but she does like to bring books pout and point to pictures and talk to herself.

Re: Toddler development
Any ne developments from your tots... i feel that G hasnt learn much in terms of verbal and vocab wise. I think her greatest developments recently will be to sort shapes and place the jigsaw puzzles into the right slots and can identiy more pictures of things/animals.

But definitely she's more interactive, likes to hug pp from the back and will request for certain things to be done.. I wish she can learn to talk properly soon but i dunno how to teach her.. any ideas to share. How to get her to ask for things properly?

stephie,
thanks...just can't help feeling sim tia over the $$ hence the sigh. but you're right i shouldn't sigh lah =) should be glad that at least there is a solution. and $$ put to help my mom look after my two kids instead of having to send to CC can be considered "well spent" lor

Stephie: my girl used to like Barney until she saw Dora, then its no turning back liao ahha.

Food Jar: Hardly able to bring food out now for her liao cos she will reject hers and want to eat ours. End up waste my effort. Usually try to feed her at home b4 going out.

Genice: I am not gifted too also loh , thats y din get in AEP.I like to draw when I was young so gek kiang go and apply for AEP.

Recently bought "The Very Hungry Caterpillar" book after attending the trial at TOTS University. Amanda likes the book very much. She also likes those 100/1000 words kind of books where there are a lot of pictures to look at.

Pauline
At 6 hrs, the Zoji one keeps hotter at 65 and 69 degrees compared to the Thermos one at 62 degrees but design wise, i like the thermos (red) better cos of the carry bag.

Pauline,
heee...i dun cook at all. oh yes, G's name is Gyan.
I love to buy containers/thermos...have the smallest water thermos on the BP now, very small and light! but only enough water for 1 milk feed and water doesn't really stay hot for long comapred to the bigger 500ml one (which I also have, haha)

Re: books
still prefer boardbooks over soft cover. find that she's still not able to treat the softcovers well. but it depends on the title and whether i think it's good, then i may get it. she likes those "touch and feel" and popup types but nowadays, watching Elmo DVDs and chinese lang flashcards seem to win over old fashioned books. sigh.

Have not intro DORA yet. Dun like Barney too. maybe it's the purple colour.

<font color="0000ff">The "Garfield is no longer a size 6/8" Give Away</font>

I did some packing of my wardrobe recently, and found a lot of almost new tops (some are brand new washed but never worn, some even with the tag still intact) that I would like to give away.

Anyone with domestic helpers of this size? I used to be about 50kg, wearing G2000 Size 5.

If no takers then I will bring to salvation army.

genice,
books wise i'm using a combination of board books and paperbacks. there are some paperbacks that come with slightly laminated pages so a bit more hardy.

i notice A is more interested in lift-the-flap books these days. if i ask her to pick a book for me to read, it is likely to be a flap book.

i also notice that she prefers to listen to poetry or verses that rhyme. she seems to catch the rhythm and will sway to it as i recite.

gar,
LOL !!! you are super funny... i like the title so much.... hahaha... hmm, after giving birth + bf i was a size 5, unfortunately after stop bf now scale up by 2-3 kg sob sob...

jeannie,
C's development is more on verbal i think i.e. vocabulary... he talks so much now and his pronounciation is getting better and clearer for some words. but hor, i think he misunderstood the ocncept of "open" and "close"... if he wants us to open a drawer, he will say "close...close", we just realise this recently and has been trying to correct it ever since... no luck yet, hopefully he'll realise this soon... :p

bkk,
i was also considering between the one pauline bought and the one i bought... i bought the $50 zojirushi one, because just so happen my sis wants to tompang and bought 2-3 piece so more convenient. chose zojirushi coz it looks more sturdy plus i don't like to have white container, scared if i fill up with anything that contains cumin, it will turn yellowish or reddish... the one i have is grey in color and the way it stacks is the same way pauline describe i.e. soup bowl at the bottom, followed by rice container and side dish container. for 2/3 tier, i think it depends on how many dishes you plan to bring every time.

piggletail,
14kg !! wow... G is a big boy...

question mummies,
should i be worried if C still don't want to chew his food... he's still eating porridge leh now... and thing is he will spit out anything he put into his mouth if he cannot swallow it directly... haiz... but he does eat biscuit like star biscuit and baby bites. we also still need to puree his meat+vegies and his fruits... is this healthy? i try to do some readings but nothing mention about hte consistency of a toddler's food, they only mention about the nutrition. for nutrition wise, i think he has enough because i always cook side dishes with pork/chick/fish and 2-3 different type of vegie in a soup then mixed with porridge... any thoughts pls?

gar, raeanne tore off the flaps off my favourite lift the flap books for her. Ask the maid to stick it back using scotch tape. End up she tore off the flaps again. So angry. :p

bkkgal, i trust tiger for keeping food warm best, hehe but most exp of the lots n no bps lor. :p if u need to food container soon then buy the zojirushi 3 tier bah.

Tute, i didn't buy the one whose pix i posted lor. Wish i had instead of spending extra $ on the 2 tier tiger one. :p

pigletail, i love those small slim vacuum flasks too but they r much more exp than the bigger ones so my hubby dun let me buy. He said waste $. Plus he said i'm not the one carrying the diaper bag anyway so he dun believe in paying more $ n getting less. Duh. :p

pauline
i bought a zojirushi vacuum flask few weeks back. the slim tuff design. wanted to buy for a long time. hubby kept saying we've so many at home, no need to buy. those i have at home are freebies, so can expect the quality to be not as good. my SIL is using zojirushi and say it's good. so when isetan had sale, i bgt it (usual price $34, sale $28). i got the 500ml one instead of 350ml so that it can last for many feeds esp when we are travelling. must admit it's good. water is still hot even in late afternoon/evening. in general, i like both tiger and zojirushi pdt.

tute
i think c is too used to pureed food. star biscuits and baby bites are melt in your mouth type. maybe you can start to make his food more coarse. then slowly increase size of his food? my fren's gal whose 2 yrs plus also reject textured food. she too is used to pureed food such that she'll spit the food out if she can't swallow it. think need to try patiently and repeatedly.

vacuum flasks,
i use both tiger and zojirushi. i find both good although i think tiger has a slight advantage in terms of keeping items hot for a longer time. never used thermos before so cannot comment.

tute,
glad i brought you a smile =) sad hor, but true. i don't think i will ever be 50kg again although i wish i will be. couldn't succeed after #1 and with the additional weight from #2 i think can jolly well forget it!! so facing the "cruel truth" now.

pauline,
haha...i'm facing the same problem too!

stephie,
thing is... it's good if C can spit out the food... during meal time, he will vomit if anything coarse goes into his mouth... gave me a headache sometime back when i try to intro more coarse food... hmm... maybe i will try slowly... will try to chop the carrots or beans into smaller pieces and see how he cope with it..

question,
when you intro more coarse food... do you usually start with the side dishes, or give rice instead of porridge while the side dishes still pureed type? i can't decide which way to go... or am i over thinking this too much *scratch head*

Apple,

No, I didn't attend seminar yesterday; Hehe..... it's rare that someone got same name as mine.

Will you take up tots university class?
For now I won't.

Bkkgal,
Thanks. E's fave is shoes. We often told her "put it nicely(bai3 mei2 mei2)"

My Maid will come next week. I don't know what for her to do, other than cleaning.Hope that she's good, Keep finger crossed.

Yah.... Sheila is very efficient and easy to communicate with. Hehe..... she said that since you recommended, she let me have one free maid-change within 10 month instead of normal 6 month.

Also got maid agency's contacts from Esther and Pauline. Haven't tried them , since the maid Sheila recommended looks ok.

Haha.... trying 2nd one? My DH is not ready yet, he prefers next year.

Hi, Genice
The books E has are mostly chinese books.

We bought most of them from Popular. $2.91 each from Cai3 Hong2 series(Rainbow). E loved them.

We often sing rhythm, songs. E liked rhythms like "Da4 Tou2 Da4 Tou2, Xia4 Yu2 Bu1 Chou2".(sorry haven't figured out writing Chinese at my new home notebook).

stephie, somemore 40kg is some adult's weight. Lol

Booksdepository
I got my jamie oliver ministry of food cook book for almost half the price in the bookstore here. I also found £1.99 books on it. E.g. Guess how much i love you (small book) and God made colours

My alex likes lift the flap books n he can be quite rough while handling the books so i will be getting toddler proof books yet.

Tubao: yah loh your name is quite unique so I thought its you at the seminar.
Tots University, nope I won't take up for the time being cos Amanda is attending regular class still but i think her lapbook thing is more interesting.

Caihong series- Are they very wordy? How many sentence per page.

Actually China has a lot of good and cheap chinese children books. You did not stock up when you went home?

Clover: I think its does result in nutrients loss leh cos I noticed if i cook those green leafy vege in porridge and transfer them in Tiger jar, hours later the vege turned a bit yellow .....

Stephie, wa, you tempting me to get the slim tuff vacuum flask leh. But I already got a Thermos one recently (prefer it to come with own bag in case of leakage) If I buy Z's slim tuff, I got to hide from hubby. Or get a job and tell him I'm using it for work. LOL. I already got so many tupperware that hubby teases me about. :p

Clover/apple, think if you know that you won't be feeding the food so soon then don't cook until too soft bah. Tiger food jar is the one that really cooks on the go. The rest just help to keep it warm.

Tubao, that's good. I decided not to change maid for the time being cos she sort of stablised after getting her pay and buying phone card for her hp. It's a risk I'm taking lor, could have changed to a ex-SIN maid but they cost more, won't be flexible on off day and hp usage, and attitude may not be as good cos they already have savings at home so have no qualms about changing employers if things don't go their way.

Tute, maybe you can cook rice which is more moist and not dry, then for the veg, you puree a bit so that it has some texture . slowly introduce, I think no hurry la, as long as he is eating all the food. Think the only problem is cumbersome for you all that you need to puree the food all the time.

Tubao, you getting a maid already, so should be ready for #2 already hehe

Clover, yes , for eg if we keep the veg like broccoli in the food jar for long, when you open it up the broccoli will turn very soft and yellow liao. For veg I think can just dump the fresh one into the hot porridge and keep in the jar- it can really cook them.

Hi, Apple
彩虹系列 books have only one sentence per page. I had planned to stock up books in China during CNY, but got no time to bookstore. My brother then offered me to buy books for me from Taobao.net(chinese shopping net).

I was lazy browsing taobao net; so I just bought books from Popular. I got many books which my brother stocked up for me from July trip. But E still loved Caihong series &amp; 2 song books from Popular. Hehe....we bought 10+ Caihong series, refilled every month. ^_^

Hehe....at beginning we just paused at last word of sentence; let E try to speak last words. Now we let her choose which books she like us to read, she then speak books' titles.

And we sang song, paused, wait for her sing next phrase.

Yah.... Lapbook is very impressed. For the moment don't think E will benefit that much. Also interested in lapbook only.

Hi, tongtong
Haha.....now you know why I hired a maid now.....Last time when I had E; my FIL got stroke at 11 week pregnancy; and SILs&amp; BIL were all studying. It caught us in a very terrible mood.

So now just want to hire a maid, for trial &amp; for emergency.

morning...

pauline,
buy buy...i agree the with Stephie the slim tuff is good (the blue one). im the one carrying the diaper bag so i decide what goes in there... keke.

Pigletail, but it's $45 leh. $10 more than the thermos 350ml that I bought and $20 more than the Tiger 500ml on promotion. Sigh, cannot justify leh. :p

Tubao: Thanks. Caihong series seems good. The ones I bought from Dangdang.com are too wordy for her now. Only have 2 Chinese books at home which she likes cos they are like one short sentence per page kind.
Your girl can speak very well actually. Amanda only can say one or two titles thats all.

tong,
thanks... yest my helper try to feed him rice and he spit it out... he somehow now has this thinking if something big goes into his mouth then he must spit it out... but i will try again... today trying to cut his vegie in smaller pieces (the soft ones) instead of puree... just have to try slowly and patiently

pauline,
i also have the slim tuff zojirushi... i like it coz it's slim... easy to put in bag

bkkgal,
i check the lunch jar i have at home, realise the top tier also goes inside the cover so it's compact too... just that design uglier... :p maybe can get the one with the pretty bag.. heheh..

re:books,
C loves his books... C tend to like a smaller size books which he can hold by himself so i'm always hunting for smaller size books that has storylines (most of the smaller books are just introducing vocabs without storyline)
He usually choose his own books for bedtime reading. For book with flaps... err, if the flap is sturdy enough then i will give to him, otherwise i will keep first till he's old enough :p

Pauline,

$45? no lah i was referring to the 500ml hot water thermos which i believe Stephie also bought. also paid $28 during OG 20% sale.

tell hb u r buying for No. 2....reason to him with 2 kids, things to bring out will almost double! so need to invest in good, compact storage mah, heee.

clover
u very funny. i think the carseats are designed to cater to all kids lah. some may be bigger size so probably will hit 40kg by the time they are 8 years old.

tute
me lazy mummy, never pureed food for shawn. thus think he got used to coarse food easily. for c's case, perhaps start with softer rice with soup first. then go on to side dishes.

apple
what seminar did you attend at OMB? my office is there and i didn't know there's a seminar.

tute
E so smart, can read titles.

piglettail
^5. i bought the blue one too. didn't know there's discount for the flask too when OG has 20% discount. thought the disc is applicable to regular price item only.

pauline
where did you see the slim tuff selling at $45? so far, i usually see the regular 'promo' price of $34 (for 500ml) and $30 (for 350ml).

ya, there's no bag. luckily i've one a home that can fit the slim tuff. so far, never use the bag. just put the flask into a plastic bag. another reason why i like is its light weight (at least lighter compared to my current 350ml alumni flask).