(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Gar
Hubs and I were recalling that tze char dinner we had. We thot EL was very keen but u not so. Yeah, very funny that we just joked "see u in Feb 2010" and really zun zun!!

I'm really surprised that many of us managed to strike lottery so fast the 2nd time round compared to first time. I thot secondary infertility was quite common that's why we thot to try earlier than later.

Iso
The lens is Nikon AFS 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6 VR

Qingling
hang in there. MS will pass, try to eat small frequent meals. For me, fizzy drinks seemed to help quell the bleah feeling.

Feb08 MTBs again, UPDATED LIST!

1. Crystal (popped already)
2. Esther (popped already)
3. blueginger (edd Nov 09)
4. Pauline (edd 8 Dec 09)
5. June or princessgx (edd 14 Dec 09)
6. Garfield (edd Feb 10)
7. bkkgal (edd 9 Feb 10)
8. sweetpea (edd tba)
9. Qingling (edd Apr/May 10?)
10. Bx (edd May 10)

Position now open for no. 11!

bkkgal, ya, can never predict secondary infertility. My close gf finally succeeded in her quest for no. 2 after a few years and many rounds of IVF. Her no. 1 is now in Primary 2. She spent so much $ and went through so much pain and disappointment including an ectopic pregnancy to finally succeed. Was surprised to hear about her secondary infertility cos she was the first to get married among us (at 26 or 27) and she conceived her no. 1 a few months after tying the knot. :p Very happy for her.

Pauline, BX, Dr Joycelyn Wong is also my gynae
I'll be seeing her next Wed for first appt.

Bx..can join May2010 Thread liao...congrats! I still suspect mine is end April. Anyway will update next week.

sweetpea, ya, she's very nice but wait very long to see her every time. Carpark charges very exp. Was your no. 1 by her too? Is her stitching good?

bkk
wow, sounds like a large lens? i was asking cos the close ups are really nice, and at the same time got "normal" wider angle shots, if that makes any sense
i use a fixed 50mm or 60mm for close ups but then it's troublesome cos i can't get wider angle..

Gar, congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!
bx, congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!

so happy!!!!!! i lurrrve babies!

i'm so envious. must jia you to be #11, lol.

Pauline..my no. 1 was also delivered by Dr Wong.

Yes, her waiting times are scary. I did consider changing gynae just because of the waiting time. But my hubby suggested for me to stick with her coz we are familier with her and she is good. I did really enjoy my pregnancy and delivery with her. Her cheerfulness and love for babies encourages us. Her stitching is ok..actually it was painless for me. Maybe that time too tired and numb from the delivery to feel anything ahahaha.

We dun park at TMC..we park at the carpark oppsite and cross the bridge over :p

sweetpea, I see. I only started parking opposite during last appt cos my appt is always in late afternoon and hubby will always run late so we always rush rush rush to meet appt time. End up we also have to wait 1-1.5 hours there. But after 'complaining' to Dr Wong, she said we can reach after 6pm next time so that no need to incur double charge (flat rate after 6pm) for carpark. ;)

Tute
u mentioned shortlisting some CCs - care to share your research? why are you sending C to CC? Isn't your maid taking care of him?

tute,
C is exposed to a mixture of languages too. mandarin, english, teochew, hokkien and sometimes malay.
i've thought of speaking pure mandarin to her and hb in another language.
yet, it's difficult for me to speak mandarin without mixing english as i've been here for so many years.
this may explain the reason for C not talking much as she's still in the observation stage. :p

bx, garfield,
congrate!!

bx,
what makes you test even it's only 4 weeks?

garfield,
it must have been a mental torture for you for the past few months.
now can relax and enjoy the pregnancy liao.

how are you able to hid it from your parents till last night? already more than 3 month right? won't the tummy show?

tute,
can share with which childcare has negative feedback?
i thought kids > 18 months should be playgroup instead of childcare?

Xiaoyun, same here!!!! I speak rojak to shaun too – English +mandarine. I also dunno how to speak pure English or pure mandarine to him leh. But he does understand everything we says even in rojak. Oh yea, finally Shaun is saying papa and papa in everything. His speech development is really very slow!! :p

Iso, jiayou to be in spot 11!!

bkk,
i'm only shortlisting those CC nearby my house coz i intend to send only 2-3 days a week and half day so dunno if you still want to know? :p i'm planning to send C to cc only next year when he turns 2 coz my parents would not stay here forever and am not comfortable to keep him with maid all day through. Also, i notice C likes to play with kids, but it takes him a while to recognize other kids e.g. he goes to Sunday School every Sunday but somehow doesn't interact that much with other kids (coz perhaps after 1 week he quickly forget how they look like), on the contrary he remembers our neighbor's kids (he sees them every other day) and keep wanting to play with them.. so i thought of exposing him to interact with other kids by sending him regularly to CC... Not sure if it's the right decision (i really had my doubts after reading those posts from ppl) but i want to try...

xy,
i just list down the CC nearby my house and i try googling them one by one... also there's a blog whereby some ppl give their comments :
http://preschool.sg/
http://sgpreschools.blogspot.com/
apart from that can also visit other forums like kiasuparents and sgmotherhood... been reading here and there... based on that i get about 3-4 CC list which doesn't have negative feedbacks(on the contrary, they have good ones), but i think there will be some waiting time, so need to call them earlier.

re:cc vs playgroup,
not sure actually what is the difference, i was under the impression that playgroup is only 1-2 hours on a weekly basis... i do know of some friends who sends their kids to playgroups... thought of doing the same thing...

re:teaching toddlers,
i realise during my 2 weeks leave that our kids learn fast... before my leave, C couldn't recognize shapes (only star and moon shape) but i try to teach him repeatedly the shapes form his shape sorter, now he recognize square, circle, cross and triangle... my next aim is to intro him to color... inspired by this mom who says his 16 month can recognise letters due to her maid diligently teaching her child...

pauline,
thanks! sorry to make you lun so long...actually i also lun v long. torture the past few weeks cos waiting time between scan and amnio is 4 weeks. everyday sneak in and out of the house trying to hide from parents - and only told them on monday night...i'm already 18 weeks!!!

bkk,
ya so qiao right?
must have motivated each other to try after that chat. i was reluctant to try so early due concerns over child care arrangements, but hubby felt age was not on my side and wanted to try earlier. have you worked out your arrangements yet? your MIL will look after both at the same time?

crystal, esther, qingling, sweetpea, diana, iso, xiaoyun....THANKS!!

qingling,
*pat pat* can try twinings fruit tea w/o caffeine (lemon twist in particular). i drink diluted one tea bag per pot of water w/o sugar. it really helps.

xiaoyun,
ya torture. cried a few times over it. i wore very loose clothes at home and i think my parents are not so observant also. already 4.5 months liao

Garfield & bx,
congratulations.

garfield & tute,
I understand what both of you mean. I'm happy when #2 is along the way. But physically i wasn't prepared to have #2 so soon. It is both physically & mentally tiring to attend to #1 and #2 at the same time.

Kitsune,
Updated mine edd. We are very near each other. Mayb we can pop the same date. Hehehe.
Din know I'm No.3 in the list.

3. blueginger (edd 27 Nov 09)
4. Pauline (edd 8 Dec 09)
5. June or princessgx (edd 14 Dec 09)
6. Garfield (edd Feb 10)
7. bkkgal (edd 9 Feb 10)
8. sweetpea (edd tba)
9. Qingling (edd Apr/May 10?)
10. Bx (edd May 10)

Just miss the Feb MTB outing again. The kids must have a lot of funny last weekend. Hope I can join next time, Channet will be bewilded to see so many friends around.

tong
haha tx tx

tute
actually some CC have half day also right? which i think is a bit longer than playgroup. i have the impression that playgrp is usually abt 1.5 hrs to 2 hrs, whereas half day CC can be 8 to 12 or 1. i might have to look for a CC for E for next year..

Gar
Frankly, I haven't quite thought thru the arrangements when bb arrives. One possibility is to convert to part time so that I can tag team with MIL. I suppose K will have to go to prenursery for half day and the maid will take on more childcare duties. Luckily my maid has agreed to stay on.

Playgrp vs CC
I'm trying to research more as well. I suppose we can start with playgrp and see how. My biggest worry is K catching germs/virus, come home sick and pass on to the bb. I think after 2 yrs old is better since immunity is stronger but then I'm afraid that she'll think mommy chuck her to CC in favour of new bb if I send her in soon.

Aiyo this is my third time retyping my post. Dunno why it keep hanging on me.

CONGRATS! BX and Garfield!!

CC: I have been looking high and low for a CC for Amanda. It is indeed a very challenging task given the following considerations:-
1. Location
2. Price
3. Curriculum
3. Teachers! Very impt
4. Feedbacks from as many as possible cos when u viist the CCs, they will surely show u their best. U never know what happens behind the closed door
5. Your priority and aim in sending your child CC will determine the type of qualities u look for in a CC

Playgroup is 1.5 to 2 hours daily. Some have flexi ones like few times a week. Some CC have flexi childcare too like going to CC 2 or 3 times a week.
Halfday is till 12 or 1pm(depends on centre). Enrichment classes are usually in afternoon and the price difference is minmal for full and half day due to govt subsidy.

iso,
that's right... like what apple say.. some haf half day am or pm, some have flexi etc...

re:cc,
me also like apple...
1. Location
2. Teachers (no high turnover, nice teachers)
3. Feedbacks (sometimes i think no feedback = good)
4. Curriculum
5. Price
6. Check license of cc (Some say better ones have 24mth license)
7. If possible, not located below HDB Deck i.e. separate bungalow.
Most importantly, go for trial and see how C can fit in...

bkk,
ya me too...thinking of doing part time or taking no pay till end 2010 (basically for 6 months since our maternity is till June)

hi all'

my edd is 8th Nov but will probably c-sec on last week of oct....my 2nd is a boy...

my gal is now 19 months born in feb 2008.
anyone with the same problem like my gal:???

- she always hit her own face before we even hit her...we just scold her and pretend like want to hit her.
- she cry when she wake up and like that also cannot, like this also cannot, carry also cannot..
- she seems to understand everything but still some things like tell her dont touch this dont touch that she simply ignore...her favorite -running to the kitchen!!!

hi nagsterak,

my boy had that period as well where he hit himself.. but we always say no no... so now he doesn't do it anymore...

crying upon waking up - he does this too, especially when he woke up from his late afternoon nap and if we turn on the air con at night, morning wake up he will surely be a bit cranky - i think it's because he's still sleepy... or sometime body pain due to wrong sleeping position... so gotta coax him a bit..

going to the kitchen... i think all kids like this... what we do is that we give him a plastic bowl to play with and spoon... or give him ice in a bowl.. he will quietly play on his own... i think they have high curiosity hence the kitchen (with all the drawers and utensils) intrigue them

Bx, Garfield

Hehe.......so excited and happy for you!

Hi, nagsterak,
My girl also cried when waking up. My DH and I ususally ignored her, she then sucked thumb herself for some time.

Oops, looks like got to adjust the list since Nag is no. 3.

3. Nagsterak (edd 8 Nov 09)
4. blueginger (edd 27 Nov 09)
5. Pauline (edd 8 Dec 09)
6. June or princessgx (edd 14 Dec 09)
7. Garfield (edd Feb 10)
8. bkkgal (edd 9 Feb 10)
9. sweetpea (edd tba)
10. Qingling (edd Apr/May 10?)
11. Bx (edd May 10)

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Spot open for no. 12 instead!
</font></font>

Congrats Garfield, BX.. Envy envy.. i also want to try for 2nd one.. but most prob planning for next year.. way too busy now!

kitsune, yr captions very big leh.. haha.. how do you format the fonts??

re: JB outing
wow, the photos r sooooo nice.. bkkgal can become pro liao! so sad to miss it..

re: SAHM
i so want to QUIT my job.. sian sian everyday.. sigh sigh..

re: school
I have enrolled C in half day school! nearby my house la. he's starting school Jan 2010.. feel v excited.. but i think he can cope well.. usually he's quite keen to interact or observe other children.. so keep my fingers cross that he doesn't have major separation anxiety..

re: teaching toddlers
tute, was reading yr post on letter recognition @ 16 months.. frankly, i'm not a big fan of teaching letter recognition at such a young age because they r too young to understand symbols.. n symbols don't mean anything to them.. however, it is good to teach phonic sounds instead of letter sounds.. phonics will help the child to pick up reading.. learning the letter sounds not that effective.. i heard of 1 mummy who started to teach phonics from age 2, child could read from age 3.. and now he's 4, he can read v well and his vocab is excellent..

teaching shapes and colours are more meaningful than teaching letters.. shapes and colours are part of our everyday life.. they can relate easily and will enjoy spotting shapes and colours.. C's favourite word previously was Blue.. we ask him what t-shirt he wanna wear, he will say blue.. if we dress him in other colours, he will refuse.. when we give him his milk bottle, he will ask for blue (cap).. when there are toys, he will take blue..

i faint when i see some people teaching toddlers how to write letters! it's really ridiculous..

eliaw,
i see i see... thanks for the input! that was only my goal actually... not intending to teach him letters immediately, will see his progress as well. next step for me would be teaching him the different colors (rainbow range that is). i just want to make sure that by the time he graduate kindergarten he can read/write, as i read some kindergarten not very good at teaching these so we must put in our own effort... my mom teach me to read/write as well within a month after i graduate Kindergarten so that i can go into Primary school earlier..

will look up phonic sounds and try that first

thanks eliaw
it's not me, it's my hb.

Nag,
Sometimes they are annoyed when they wake up maybe cos they didn't sleep well or they have pins and needles. I used to tell my girl, "wake up cannot cry, must smile and say good morning!" Nowadays, she just lay ard in the cot, talking to her toys, when ready, she will call "mama" and I'm supposed to appear magically with her milk. She seems to like to nuah around in the cot nowadays.

As for stopping them from touching/doing things, I believe the best way is to remove them from the situation or the object. If she's holding to the object, I try to distract her with something else and when she's not looking, quickly take it away and hide. Sometimes she will rem and look but something else more interesting will get her attn.

Kitchen
I trained her and everyone in the house to stop her from entering. Because the kitchen tiles and living tiles look different, she is able to differentiate and stop herself from entering once she sees the tiles. She even does this at MIL/Mom's place instinctively cos she knows she will get a big scolding from us. Consistency is key in training.

Eliaw, you can refer to the help menu at the bottom of the screen to format different typeface, font size and colour.

bkkgal, RaeAnne is also like that. Sometimes, wake up in the morning, happy and smiley. Sometimes, grouchy and crying. ;P Good that Kate is sleeping in the cot. RaeAnne is still cosleeping with us in the bed, coming to 3 months liao. Since hubby is the one who took her out of the cot and started the cosleeping, I should make him train her to sleep in her little toddler bed himself. But problem is he's afraid she's flip around in her sleep and hurt herself. Sigh. ;P

Gar, poor thing, what a stressful first few months it has been for you. Agree with XY, time to relax and enjoy your pregnancy. Pre natal massage? I just went to Rustic Nirvana yesterday, shun bian pop by Isetan Private Sale.

Bkkgal, missed seeing your post cos I already went out to fetch RaeAnne from playgroup. If not, can help you buy. But I thought Kate don't like porridge? Find the food jar more useful for porridge or soup. Now that RaeAnne is eating rice, I bought a 2 tier Tiger thermos lunch jar instead (can put rice and some dishes). Already have a 3 tier one but found it quite bulky. :p

Pauline
What will your sleeping arrangement be like when No.2 comes along? Altho Kate is in her cot, we're in the same room as her. Has been like this since the holiday, which is insisted by hb. She used to be in her own room own cot alone. I have to boot her out before No.2 comes or else she may think that she's getting the boot BECAUSE of no.2. But after 1st month, my intention is to also boot No.2 out. The thing is whether the 2 can sleep in the same room without waking each other.

haha, bkkgal, looks like our hubbies more 'sim tia' their princess sleeping alone hor? RaeAnne used to be in her own room own cot too. Sigh, I bit the bullet and suffer interrupted sleep since she was 6 months to put her in own room and own cot. Even BF got to go and fetch her from the other room. End up 6 months before my no. 2 is due, my hubby go and spoil my plans because he don't want to carry her back to her cot to sleep after she falls asleep in our bed cos he can't tahan patting her back to sleep during her teething period. :p

Before no. 2 arrives, the plan is to let RaeAnne sleep in her toddler bed with the maid on mattress in her own room. While no. 2 sleeps in my MBR in her little cosleeper bassinet. After she is too big for the bassinet, I got to think of new plan cos we already changed RaeAnne's cot to toddler bed. Maybe both sleep on tilam in the baby's room? I'm also not sure. :p

congrats Nag!

clover, tubao, eliaw...THANKS!

bkk,
you're in a better position than me. i've been dethroned cos A sleeps with EL on my bed, and i sleep on the floor on a mattress! we also want to transition her to her own room and own bed - my mom offered to stay over a few nights to accompany her. but say only, have not actioned yet

pauline,
ya indeed v stressful...and my back is killing me due sleeping on the floor (read my previous post to bkk). the rustic nirvana any good? very expensive leh....

Bx, Garfield n Nag!!! Congrats!!! Congrats!!! so happy for u ladies. M so tempted to try for no. 2 too.... But wid a super active n attention seeking L now, i don't even dare to think abt it till nxt yr when he is in a playgp.

Eliaw,
I have also enrolled L in a playgp for nxt yr but m wonder g whether i shd put him earlier cos he now shows so much more interest in getting to knw other kids, is less shy n i m running out of ideas on what to do to keep him less bored at home. Cld u share why u intend for C to be in the CC nxt yr instead of this yr??

n wanna ask u, when do kids actually start recognising colours? cos my son says everything is red in colour. is he colour blind??? Arrrgh!!!!

btw, when r u quit g huh??? then i got one more kaki ...:p

kitchen issue
Actually, L hangs ard the kitchen very much cos i am usu there doing household chores. What i did fm young is i allowed him to take almost everything he points at(with the exception of dangerous things) n that he needs to ask for permission whenever he wants to take things from the kitchen table. I even put his little hands over the stove's fire to tell him it is hot so now whenever i tell him something is hot, he doesn't even wanna touch it at all even though i ask him to :p As for kitchen cabinets, what i did was i emptied a small cabinet n put in his things, so whenever he meddles wid the one in the kitchen, i will ask him to go meddle wid his own cabinet instead n it somehow works

morning grouchiness,
okay, i admit, i am like that - super grouchy in the morning. hubby avoids me until i've washed up. so i think A takes after me. for her sake - i make an effort to be cheerful and greet her "good morning". most times she whines cos she wants to play but we are both still partially in dreamland. so i also try to wake up and interact with her if she wants to.

but her needs are not consistent, like today, she was quite content to entertain herself with the various boxes in my wardrobe, read her cloth book by herself. so i could lie down for a few more minutes.

gar,
u've been 'dethroned" ? oh my goodness, isn't it terribly uncomfortable esp now that u r preggy?? why don't dethrone ur hubs instead??? :p

leila,
*wave* thanks! ya, dethroned. now i have no "status" at home. even my mom says to tolerate and give in to my daughter *muahahaha*

unfortunately for me, there is no perfect solution unless she is out of the room.
a) if i sleep on the bed with A - she stirs quite often and i get woken up easily (light sleeper ever since giving birth)
b) if i sleep on the mattress, i get uninterrupted sleep but suffer backache

sad right?

bkkgal,
u n yr hb super techies! i vivdly remember the printer u had for the playdate at yr place! excellent service leh.. anyway, i had put the photo in C's album..

kitsune,
ya, saw already.. quite mafan.. i'll stick to normal fonts for the moment.. haha

leila,
i enrolled C in etonhouse leh.. not cc.. so kena have a holey pocket for the next few years.. they are full house now for Pre-Nursery class, that's why have to wait for the new academic year..
how i wish i can quit la.. i tok for almost 1 yr already but until now still can't quit.. my next target is submit resignation by dec 09..

C can recognise some colours.. just that he can't verbalise them initially.. but i think it's quite difficult for them cos C seemed to be focusing more on the object than the colours.. i started with those board books with colours theme. u know those with objects the entire page is one colour so it's very obvious.. that's easier to get them to SEE the colours at the same time.. he first started to say blue, then picks out all the blues, and blue was his favourite.. now he learnt to say green, he wants to wear green now.. haha.. anyways, he can say red too, and occasionally purple.. other colours he can point to them, but can't pronounce..

gar,
dethrone both hubs n A??? two against two wat....hahaha!

L jus recovered fm flu but he seems v "heaty" cos his tempt ard 37.3 degrees or so n lips kinda red (macham like put lipstick like that...). Anyone can advise whether i can give "ling yang" or any other "cooling" drink to help???

Yup Kate doesn't like porridge but she takes rice with dishes. I think the 2 or 3 tier jar is more suitable then.

yeah lah, i oso got a floozy reason for having her in our room.

Gar, boot both father and dd off the bed! Preggies got priviledges.

I saw on facebook banner - rustic nirvana offering 1 for 1 prenatal massage. Wanna check it out?

eliaw, i'm def no techie - it's all the hubs' idea.

wow, etonhouse, expensive! and you say it's full? u noe what u shud do, set up some brandname school after you finish your course, sure make lots of $$.

colours - i noticed that K can identify but cannot say. eg if i saw pick up that red block and bring to me, she will pick the right one.

Leila
can start trying now
By the time you "strike", just nice to send L to cc or playgroup next yr. I noe what u mean abt keeping them entertained. my girl everyday see her yeye and nainai will ask for "gai gai". it's like her right to go out lidat.

eliaw,
i think hor, A will get to enjoy the Tempur mattress not me lor =P

leila,
how to?? sigh...for L try some cooling fruits like water melon? helps to keep him hydrated as well