(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xiaoyun, i like taonan too!!!
unless u got link with hokkien huey kuan if not tough... initially, i wanted to enrol Germaine there.. but cos of the distance too far...
heehee..

playdate
xiaoyun, go where?

Thanks everyone! Actually, I was about to give up after trying for few months... no patient... :p

You all so early already started planning for their primary school? Now I feel stress and guilty now... I thought we only need to start planning when they are 5 year old.

Tute,
You still remember I used to see Dr Wong lah... your memory very good. 1st appointment next Wed... Btw, I went to the same Chinese sinseh to get him check gender liao... he said should be a girl, let's see this time will he get it correct again. :p

dor,
I hope it should be easy if daddy is alumni.

how about east coast park if weather not too hot?

snowbelle,
chinese sinseh so powerful?

gar,
your no. 2 girl or boy?

Xiao Yun,
Dunno leh... but he got it right when I was pregnant with my girl and he claims that he never got it wrong... so no harm try again lor...

XY, I never really used the crooked spoons that I got for her. I bought a brand new self feeding dish which comes with crooked spoon and crooked fork but end up the dish is too big so I kept it again. :p She's using the 'kopi tiam' kopi spoon quite well so I left it be lor. What else can I do except keep wiping her and wiping the floor? The soup will be over her shirt as she tries to feed herself, feed me and transfer soup from bowl to bowl. Take it as part of learning processs lor. Luckily, now got maid so everyday after meal ask her to wipe the table and mop the floor around the food table. :p

snowbelle,
yeah... still remember coz our due date last time was nearby... :p

xy,
C also like that... we give him two bowls and he keeps transferring his porridge from one bowl to the other... eat fruits also like that.. :p

seeing all preggie mothers makes me reminisce about the time when all we talk about in this thread was about pregnancy... how time flies! now talking about primary schools already... haha..

bx
pri school really v impt ah? actually if not for my gal (who is 4 yrs old now), i wouldn't be talking abt pri school for shawn.

dor
so you mean pri school that disappeared must have merged with one that's still in existence to be eligible?

xiaoyun
i also dunno how to stop shawn for messing around during meal time. some times resort to threatening him with a soldier toy that he fears.

stephie,
it will be an advantage if u send ur children to better schs. i am from a neighbour sch. though din do too badly in studies, i always feel that i dun speak as well and not as confident compared to classmates from the better sch. of coz as i mention, there are some from neighbourhood pri schs but excel in sec sch.

on top of these, attitude and aptitude of the child matters.

bx
me also from neighbourhood school. i dun speak well and am not confident. I attribute it to the environment i was brought up in. i came from a small family and my mum is very reserved. back then also no playgroup, enrichment class whatsoever. hencce had less opportunity to interact. kids nowadays start their social skills real early (e.g. thru playdates, etc). hopefully my kids won't be like their mum, keke :p

actually rather worried abt the stiff competition in better schools. afraid will be very stressful for the kids.

Bx, stephie, I'm from neighbourhood pri and secondary schools too. My parents are very conservative and don't believe in any ECA. My mum don't allow me to be a brownie (cos got to be under hot sun if there are school events and see blood) nor a prefect (cos got to go to school early and book latecomers). After PSLE, I had chance to go to RGS or SAP school but my mum was not keen cos I have to travel to go to those schools whereas the neighbourhood Sec school is just 5 mins walk away. She left the decision to me but at 12 years old, I also didn't know any better so ended up in normal school lor. When I met my primary school peers in HJC who went to RGS and River Valley High, my grades are poor and I felt inferior towards them so deliberately kept my distance. :p

snowbelle,

XY,
Since it is TaoNan, confirmed one time payment. My hb n me too lazy to do volunteer work and dun wanna have a big headache on the pri school issue, so we decided to go for taonan. Hb from Taonan. but like you said the travelling distance actually put us off.

I was at East Coast this morning. Wondering if you are there? Very hot and sunny this morning.

thread so active over weekend.

Snowbelle, no time no see! *wave* CONGRATS on No.2!

Pri school
Will just have to depend on fate since I went to like 3 pri schools (my parents moved around alot), and 1 doesn't even exist anymore! The other 2 are in locations far from us. Hb from ACS, K is a girl.

Anywayz...all my pri schools were neighbourhood schools. i didn't go to a prestigious sec or JC. but i think i didn't turn out too shabby cos my parents instilled a love of reading in my sis and I from young which laid a strong foundation for other subjects that we excelled in.

it's been a really long while since i last posted...not sure if u babes still remember me?

Congrats to all 2nd time Feb thread mummies!

no..me not joining the list yet ;)

having major discipline probs with the terror at home these days...and i thought the 'terrible 2s' should only start from 24months?!

Xiaoyun, shaun has the habit of scooping his dish from 1 to antoher since a few months ago. Now after scooping a few he will pour the whole bowl into another. So I will just let him be, and feed him from another bowl. anyway he is self feeding already, but cant finish by himself cuz he eats/play at the same time. So still need me to feed him so that he can finish all the meals. My hubby said I spoilt him cuz I will give in to what he did like din stop him from pouring one dish to antoher. Well, maybe I was wrong, but I was really fed up listening to his scream wor. Anyway, after “practicing” for so long, he din make mess now already, which is good.

Lezy: mine hasn’t called mummy yet, he can only calls papa now. And the way he calls papa is really damn sweet hehe. I don’t mind he not calling mummy yet though.

Snowbelle, wah long time din hear from you, once heard is good news!! Congrats!!

Piglettail, yea how have you been? Of course we remember you, you are a pretty mummy ma! Ehhe

Snowbelle - congrats!

Piglettail - *wave* welcome back! are you still a SAHM?

XY - arielle will have a mei4 mei4 next year

Re school,
it's a tough decision right? on one hand, i agree with many that a good school has its advantages. on the other hand, i do not want my child to have to POSSIBLY suffer low esteem of being "not good enough" at such a young age.

give you an example - my friend's son is in v good school in Marine Parade and receives a call from the teacher one day. the conversation goes like this..."Mrs. X, your son is doing relatively ok in school. But just to let you know that you may want to enrol him in some enrichment classes if he wants to catch up with the better ones in his class".

ok, when i heard this, i was like OMG!!!!
a) teacher is basically outsourcing the responsibility - aren't they supposed to nurture and bring out the best in their students?? here they are saying if you want him to be better get outside help *DUH*
b) is it better to be a big fish in a small pond or a small fish in a big pond. the results of my friend's son would be top in class in a less prestigious school and she would have been v proud of him. instead she feels he is not "good enough"

Unfortunately the singapore system rewards the early bloomers (those that kai1 qiao4 before PSLE) and the damage done to the self esteem of late bloomers can be permanent.

and while one can say that as parents we try not to impose expectations and high standards - when the teachers are comparing your child day in day out - we can try to be immune to these comments, but not many of us will succeed.

So what to do?? I also haven't figured out yet *scratch head*

re: mealtime behavior
pauline,
i am the maid of myself.

tute,
now C likes to transfer from 1 spoon to another. :D

stephie,
why S scared soldier?

tong,
how long did S practiced? i look forward to that.

re: primary school
bx/stephie,
the only thing that i can think of is she will be surrounded by more well behaved kids, friends are very important.
also, i believe kids will work harder if the environment is more competitive.

bluegin,
means channete will be same school (or maybe same class) as C?
so, just go to the school and register as alumni?
where do you live now?

re: long weekend
bluegin,
i didn't go to east coast in the end.
C is sneezing in the morning and it's very hot outside.
whole day stay at home a rot. :p

re: reading
i too agree that it's important to love reading.
i myself likes to read. yet, hb is not very keen.
whenever i say want to go library, he will make funny faces. >.<
i am afraid that he will be a bad influence to C.

lezy,tong,
*shake hand* C doesn't call mummy too.

piglettail,
hi.. busy at work?

Gar, another princess to dethrone you? but girls are good, more sensitive to mommies.

My detailed scan is this Thursday. Somehow I have a feeling that it's a mei4 mei4 too...maybe cos K can call mei4 mei4 but not di4 di4? this time round i have no dreams abt No. 2...makes me feel less connected to him/her whereas with K, I knew before scans that she will be a girl.

Piglettail, dun think terrible 2s start zun zun at 24 mths. Some kids start earlier, others later. Has to do them trying to verbalise their needs and wants which makes them frustrated when they can't do it.

Pri school
XY, i agree with you. I think as they grow older, peer influence is very strong so a good environment is important. Seems that it can only be found at good schools.

Gar, big fish, small pond theory is healthy for child's esteem but small pond no or little opportunities to reach potential..oso dunno how...sometimes just thinking of spore edu system makes me just wanna migrate to some other ctry! has anyone thot of homeschooling?

piglettail
oh yeah, wanted to share that i found giving dd choices to make helps to lessen the frustration. I will ask her if she wants it this way or that, this item or the other, hungry or full etc and she can respond by nodding or shaking her head. Sometimes i get it right, sometimes wrong but it does help to an extent.

O my goodness.. i must have been living in some mountain for the past 1 week!! So happening week!!( Stupid laptop crashed .. cnat surf net.. slept very early every night.)

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"> Congratulations BX, GARFIELD, NAG, SNOWBELLE!!!</font></font>

bx.. u took me by surprise actually.. din expect urs to be so fast after u said u hope to try for # 2.. well done!!!

gar.. hehe.. we guessed it was you.. congrats.. glad everything went well w the tests.jia you..

nag and snow belle too.. haven heard from u all for a long time..jia you k..

i also trying for #2 now.. must join in the fun hor... hehe.. c everyone preggie also very gian now..

hi babes!

tongtong,
heee..now auntie-fied liao.no make up, hair just use the red rubber band to tie and go everywhere in (50% of time dirty) t-shirt and shorts lugging the huge baby bag...

Gar
*wave*! no lah, not SAHM for 2 months liao...that's y now got time to visit forum! hahahaha..
seriously, i have SAHM very very very challenging and tiring. salute to those to can succeed!

XY,
hie!
yes this job is quite hectic too but i prefer it to my previous overall.

bkkgal,
hmmm.. yes i have been practicing the 'giving choices' option but G doesn't want to do either ;( Actually my discipline prob #1 is getting him to sit in the child car seat. he was doing fine until 2 months ago he just went crazy and yelled his head off one fine Saturday morning. that was 2 weeks after we bought him a brand new bigger seat cos he was struggling before that in his infant seat. struggled, hit, cried and screamed until he puked and dirtied the whole car... arrgh! he carried out the same stunt the following week hence we have not forced him in there anymore (for fear of the vomit and mess)

anyways...nowadays car rides are just a nightmare. i have been telling him he can either 1) sit in the child seat or the 'centre' of the floor of the back seat - the raised flooring portion which was his fave spot a few weeks back. but now he wun do either dispite threats, bribes, carjoling....! just wants to jump around in the car, arrgh.

Re: Popular vs normal primary Schools

Dor.. i like maha bohdi.. i was not from there but i feel its really a good school.

Frankly speaking, as an ex neighbourhood sch teacher, most of my sec 1 students were from neighbourhood schools, hardly any from top primary schools.But i feel that students from the same school still turn out differently
even if subjected to same system, same culture in the same school. Ultimately. its the family environment that contributes to shaping the kids learning attitudes and values. Teachers are the facilitators... i hope parents do not put too much expectations on teachers to turn their kids from one kind to a different kind. Its very difficult cause we are ultimately not the caregivers.. Parents have to work with teachers..

I still recalled 1 incident when i told a parent abt how his daugter ( a prefect) is behaving in sch.. having bgr and that may be one reasons contributing to her sudden lacklustre results.. And i got scolded for the father for coming up with some cock and bull story.. i was literally screamed at! I cant believe it..There are just some parents who thinks that their kids are always right and they dun believe when the teachers are trying to help.. sigh..

OOps.. think i digressed a bit.

I also dunno what pri schools to send.. probbaly convenience will be a key issue.. frankly speaking just happen that there are many good primary schools around my place..but g might not be able to get in too since there are so many rounds to go thru. Will c how it goes.. but would prefer not to send her to schools with a high percentage of 'rich' students.. i dun want her to be inferior because of materails stuffs.. and i dun want her to come back and stress us why we cant provide her this and that..afterall we are just an average income earning couple.. but i certainly dun mind if she comes back and tell me that her friends are doing well in their studies and she wanna be like them.. haha

XY,
Still not finalized yet.
I stayed with PIL at tampines. Last time during school day, my hb was the 1st to be on the school bus and the last to alight. So I hope I can get new home at Bedok or Euno. But currently no good news yet. If I can get new flat ard the area, then will definitely let Channet study there.

piglettail,
Of cos. I rem you. The one with the smallest tummy among us. I totally agreed with you on SAHM. I used to be one for 8months after Channet was borned, totally have no time to serve web. So I really saluate to June and Kitsune.

bkkgal,
Not true. Channet used to point to my tummy n called "didi", but i'm giving her a "meimei". Anyway, just see what the detail scan said. Most important is healthy.

bluegin, yea agree, i'm sahm for many saturdays, totally no time to surf web , even on sundays when hubby is around. cuz the son is just being too clingy. and being a sahm is more tiring than working lor!

erm...schools..tough one. Still a long way also...we can't even plan for weekends, much less plan for primary school! LOL!

This whole primary school talk requires some detailed social analysis. I can only speak from my experience and exposure.

FOr me, my path is IJ-MGS-CJC-NTU. My hubby was from neighbourhood pri &amp; sec (i also dunno what!! LOL!) then CJC-NUS.

I think we are different in terms of our lifestyle and hobbies cuz of friends, as well as family grooming.

FAMILIES:
For me, my parents are huge advocates of multi-faceted life. My bro and I were encoruaged to join ECAs, have friends, given freedom to go out as we pleased. We also started earning tuition money from secondary school. My bro always did VERY WELL in school...while i'm the one struggling to keep up. (He got the As, i got the Cs and Ds. :p) We both got to learn many things - Art, Piano etc (violin, basketball, soccer, table tennis, tennis for him, ballet, martial arts, netball for me, etc)

I think the most diverse part of life came in Uni and post-uni days.

I had 2 diverse groups of friends. One was damn super rojak - ppl from all walks of life with diff education background and levels; one was spent with this bunch of 'elites'. (that's what i call them cuz half the cohort are scholars.)

For the rojak gang, i find that yuo have to be a person who really knows yourself to stand your ground and your beliefs since there is no commonality except we love to 'chiong'. hah.

For the 'elites', it can be pressurizing but i see a few things that are nice.

Contrary to common misconception, we eat at hawker centres more than some other groups of friends we have, especially after our weekly netball sessions (guys + girls).

We spend a lot of time just sitting around talking for hours - which is very very interesting and engaging. No need for secondary activities. Of course also got chiong and play pool and other stuff.

THey are very receptive of people - no matter what background etc and will talk to anyone about anything. I think it comes with having a wider knowledge base and perspective on life.

"failure rate"? So far, i only know of one who couldn't take the pressure of the RI-HPark cohort in secondary school and got sent abroad to study. I heard he 'cracked' under the pressure to perform or what. Not sure. THe rest are mostly lawyers/docs/etc.

Their thought process and perspectives are also quite different. When presented with a problem, the focus is on problem-solving and not worrying and etc. They seem to be very objective and able to detach themselves from the situation to see a bigger picture.

Profile wise, I think 80% are from rather well-to-do families while the remaining are from 'normal' middle-class families.

I'm sorry i have no great conclusion. But i agree with the general notion that it's the FAMILy that grounds a person. The school/social atmosphere can make or break thatperson, depending on many other dynamics. That may really be a common ground for all these people - that their parents nurture and provide an encouraging atmosphere to learning?

I think I'm abit traumatized by my mum's nag-nag-nag-till-it's-perfect and i-told-u-so upbringing. I'm grateful at how dedicated she is. And while she gave us a lot of space to grow, she also slammed you when you failed and could say very very condescending things...something which i see in myself at times when i get very angry. Lucky i can still 'sense' it and know i am quite unreasonable (despite it being very hard to control!!!) But that's family. No one's perfect. The good and the bad come together. What's important is that my parents were with me all the way...never giving up.

My hubby is a teacher in JC and sometimes i tell him off - that worrying is for the parents, not the teachers!! Tell him to worry for his own girl instead of his students - whom he have no control over. They dun study is not teacher's business/perrogative!

Friends are also very impt. I mixed with "good" and "bad" groups before and even repeated my first year in JC. Between "good and bad", also got their own types. The first i met, play and dun study.

But the second batch, though even more 'ah beng' and 'ah lian', they will study very hard, and then play like siao.

It was through these 2 batches of friends that i saw how you can be 'hardworking' and 'cool' at the same time in school, instead of just hardworking (geek) or just cool (failure!!!).

heh. paiseh if irrelevant. but just flashing out case studies for reference! Heh!

Gar, congrats! Arielle will be very happy to have a sister growing up with her.

XY, ya, I know. It's really not easy, that's why we hardly let her self feed until we got a maid. Too lazy to clean up. :p

Blueginger, I've only been SAHM for 7 months and RaeAnne still spends day time at ILs place. So, too early to tell, I think I'll have no time to surf net at all once no. 2 comes along. Though MIL has offered to look after RaeAnne in the day but I'm afraid she and Mei Mei won't be close if like that.

Primary school, hmm... I was quite certain on Poi Ching until I became relief teacher for 1 day. After seeing how uncontrolled the Pri 1 and Pri 5 classes are, I think it's better to send the kid to elite school if not too far and she can get in cos naughty classmates are really disruptive and bad influence to the other kids. Worried that my gal will end up in a lousy class since Pri 1 class is random allocation. :p

Lezy, think my hubby too jaded after nearly 10 years of teaching at JC. Never hear him worry about his students before. :p

bkk,
ya...i am completely thoroughly de-throned. hehe....re school, big pond also headache small pond also headache! i will find a medium pond *muahahaha*

piglettail,
i oso dun think i can be SAHM. re car seat - A also screamed for a long long time. until one day i surrendered in the sense that i took the passenger seat in front leaving A in her car seat behind. viola! she actually was quite happy after that =) no more struggles. maybe she doesn't like me next to her.

genice,
thanks! ya that's why i say all of you so clever can guess =) i also agree maha bodhi is a good school (thick skin, my alma mater mah....) also agree that family is the most important

lezy,
wah your post like machum thesis - i oso agree with your conclusion that family is the most important as usually values and attitudes are imparted from there.

pauline,
thanks! ya that's what i thought too....siblings of the same gender tend to be closer. given that my childre will have no cousins (i'm the only one, and hubby's sister is only 19), she will be quite lonely and i hope that my kids will grow up to be close.

of course, i have to admit that i will save a lot of money on clothes, toys etc....and also not having to worry about getting a bigger house cos they can share one room till pretty old!!

gar,
i'm lousy thesis writer - cuz went one big round to arrive at non-conclusive decision about this whole issue.

we will probably enrol her in my alma mater (CHIJ Kellock) which is incidentally rather nearby but not within 1km. But we're also Catholics so i think that helps!? Not sure.

For secondary school, i really hope she can go somewhere 'better'. Or maybe i should just save money now and send her to MGS pri &amp; sec one shot. If she can go RGS or somewhere good, I don't mind, but I'm afraid of putting her in too much pressure. I rather she transfer "upwards" than suffer the stigma of transferring 'downwards'.

lezy.. for sec.. i would want her to go better schools too.. i hope she can get into nanyang girls.. i am not a fan of raffles. schools.. no offence to those from raffles..i wouldnt mind if she goes tkgs ( my alma mater) but too far ..

lezy,
it's ok. i majored in philosophy for my honours. my thesis also go one round with some non black non white conclusion. still scored an A for it hehe....

i guess in life, we are always faced with grey situations...i always believe that we plan with the best of intentions, and hope for the best.

being the philosopher at heart, i want to share this very meaningful quote from winston churchill - my all time favourite!

“The only guide to man is his conscience; the only shield to his memory is the rectitude and sincerity of his actions. It is very imprudent to walk through life without this shield, because we are so often mocked by the failure of our hopes and the upsetting of our calculations; but with this shield, however the fates may play, we march always in the ranks of honor.”

genice,
i'm also from TKGS *hi-five* i also hope my girls can go to TKGS

shucks, i think i'm going to be a katong-er for life now (stayed in Marine Parade since 3 years and now Tanjong Katong)

Haha, Gar, I will like RaeAnne to go to Ngee Ann Primary then Dunman High, both hubby's alma mater but too far leh. Was joking with hubby if we can upgrade to East Coast or Marine parade property in 5 years time then RaeAnne can study there. If hubby is still at VJC, then she can tompang Daddy's car to go to school every morning. Haha.

Ya, I'm also feeling lucky that they can share rooms next time cos my flat is really too small and not enough rooms. :p

pauline,
wah that will be v convenient for you! dunman high is now at tanjong rhu right?

tong,
btw, i have a friend whose baby refuses to take fish or meat. she is worried about protein intake. can you advise what sort of vegetarian foods she may be able to give her baby apart from toufu? thanks ya!

Gar, haha, Hubby also stayed at Marine parade since he was born until 13 years old so his alma mater all around that area. But hubby ask me if RaeAnne goes to Ngee Ann Pri, how is she going to come home in the afternoon? If take school bus, 1 way or 2 way both same price so not worth it. She'll be too young to take bus back. And if I'm working by then, also cannot pick her up. ILs also won't find it convenient cos so far away. So, still got to kiv this plan lor... ;P

Gar, haha, don't know if I'll still have a maid by then lor cos both kids will be spending 3/4 day to half a day in school by then. Oh well, see how lar, if Poi Ching, I don't need to do much. If Ngee Ann, must ask hubby to pay $ and join alumni by the time RaeAnne hits 6 years old. :p

haha... all the school talk today. scary... dun wanna think of it yet. simei has no good schools ard, so most prob gotta move elsewhere.

genice,
jia you! sure u can strike soon

Thanks everyone! I've been too busy at work, no time to surf at all... but ever since I got pregnant + not happy with boss, totally no mood to work... I find that this pregnancy more jia liat than the previous one, want to puke more and get hungry every min... really scared my weight at edd will hit 90kg!

Seems like all of your babies already know how to self-feed... I haven't let my girl try yet... really can't imagine the mess and no patient too... my hb has been scolding me for not training her at all...

Pri School
My primary school is long gone... I just hope she can get into the nearest school will do... I don't want to stress her by getting her in those popular schools.

garfield,
good. save $ for having another princess.

bluegin,
i guess it's more convenient to move to marine parade area.
or eunos? will be nearer to my place. next time we can car pool to send them to school. hehe..
eunos got new flat meh? get the resale one lah. bigger.

re: school
garfield,
maybe the teacher didn't express him/herself clearly on what aspects that the enrichment class can help.
however, i hate the idea that teacher in the school expect their student to attend classes outside. aren't they suppose to teach the kids whatever needed and work with parents to bring out the best of the kids?

for me, i would choose small fish in big pond. at least the small fish can have the chance to grow into a bigger fish. for the big fish in small pond, afraid that they become the 'frog inside the well'.
my real life example, when i am in a mix class, my result is ranking 5-10th. after they group the best students into 1 class, my result is ranking 5-10th as well. i am those type who will perform better under competition.
C can the biggest fish in the big pond, who knows she can be a bigger fish than the big fish in the small pond?

bkkgal,
i was from malaysia education system - chinese stream and very happy with my secondary school life. always dreamed of sending my kid back to malaysia to study.
however, it's just a dream. don't think i will move back malaysia to work.

homeschool? no no.. i don't know how to teach kids.

genice,
agree that if they are among the kids who are from rich families, she will feel inferior. that's the headache part.

re: #2
genice,
i guess you will strike very soon..

re: mealtime
tong,
months ah. argh!!

Garfield, does your friend’s bb take dairy products and eggs? If yes they have protein ma. Anyway , I give shaun legumes ( like lentils in his daily rice/porridge). Also give beans, chickpeas, kidney beans, baked beans, all kinds of nuts like cashew, walnut ( his favourite) sunflower, pumpkin seeds,. At one time I think he ate too much till a bit heaty and developed ulcer in his mouth. :p You can also give whole grains stuff like buckwheat to be added to his rice. Other than tofu, algae like seeweed or spirulina got protein too. In fact, all kinds of veg got protein as growing plants have protein.

XY, yea I think kids can learn faster to self feed if you totally leave the meal to them. But I let him feed himself + I feed him at the same time too ma. So it takes months

Hi Gar,

Re: child seat
Cannot...i can't even buckle G up...he'll struggle and fight back as though someone is trying to KILL him.

Dor,
*waves*

Self-feeding
Yes it's a huge mess for me too...arrgh. I end up holding his hand to hold the spoon/fork to feed the food into his mouth. even that takes ages. G's very good at eating with his fingers but has this bad habit of wiping his dirty fingers on his shirt after every mouthful/handful.

XY,
good for you! you have a point re the big pond. i think i will observe A's character (easily motivated or demotivated type) and decide what type of school is suitable for her.

tong,
thanks for sharing. her baby does take diary and eggs, but i'm not sure how much. so i guess she is worried that the protein intake is insufficient.

piglettail,
oic...it may be a phase that they will eventually outgrow. A went through something similar. i couldn't go out with her alone cos no way i could put her in the car seat. only hubby can. jia you!!

hello...

sooo busy today after having been on sick leave + long weekend... finally have time to post some replies...

nag,
replied you on the question but forgot to congratulate on #2 (though it's a much belated congratulations heheh...), must be excitingly counting down now... hope everything goes smoothly.

re:self feeding,
i think C is more interested to feed other people than himself ! but there are few instances where he insist to have his porridge bowl in front of him, then he try to spoonfeed himself. He can pick up the porridge occasionally but other times will create a mess, so this lazy mummy will hold the spoon with him and direct it to his mouth instead :p After a few spoons he lost interest and then keep playing with moving food from one bowl to the next (his all time fave "game" to play)

piggletail,
welcome back ! i still remember you, tho not sure if you remember me :p
carseat problem... i've had this issue before too. Initially i try to coax him by reading story books, entertain him etc... so slowly managed to keep him in his carseat longer and longer... until now finally now C's behaviour has improved to a point that he even asked to seat in his carseat whenever he gets into the car and he can finally fall asleep in his carseat

bluegin,
re SAHM, me too cannot take it... within my 2 wks leave i think i lost my temper to C twice (that's with my maid helping out)! Strangely enough, after that he has become a complete angel now esp during feeding time...

re: terrible twos,
totally agree with bkkgal, i think for me the difficulty is when C say some word and I couldn't understand him! He gets very very upset after that, so I just point him and ask which direction he wants to go... or if he wants to pick up something from his toy box, I will bring him to his toybox.. and he takes whatever thing he mentions before, next time i'll take note the word he use to describe it and also I try to correct him

re:primary schools,
In indon it is also competitive, but $ plays a big role i.e. the bigger deposit you pay to school, the higher your chances is to get in. Easier huh...tempt me to go back indon and send him to int'l school.. heheh... I've been asking hb too, should we move then to get to better schools? He doesn't believe in this but I think first kid's school is important coz it can help out carve the path for the siblings (provided they are of same gender or they get into mixed school) :p

gar
my hubby too! he say pri sch nevermind, more impt is sec school, cos of his experience.

schools
i think if both can be good schools, then it's better than "lousy" pri school. but of course i also don't want them to be too pressured, so i guess must find a school that is along your same wavelength?

gar/iso,
same here... my hb also say it's ok, no need to go to the best school... as long as it's not too bad of a school can already... he also say he doesn't want his kids to go for tuition coz last time he never went for any, and he still did ok in school... haiz... :p i guess man are generally more laid back? but i do have male colleagues who wants the best for their kids too... so depends on the person i guess..