(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal, try lemon juice with honey. or scrap the ginger put in hot hot water. leave it to temperature whcih is ok to drink, you take a hot shower first, come out then drink.

hi tongtong, thanks! hehe, i meant remedies for toddlers. she won't drink ginger water although lemon honey can try.

genice
din know u selling bags leh.

bx
i think your hubby no nid to por also will remain good lah. have read so many times where he celebrated special ocassion with you.

xiaoyun
i hv a digital weighing scale. bought it more than 10 years ago. useful when it comes to measuring those 5g, 10g ingredients. think nowadays cheaper (i bought at abt $60-$70). good investment if you likes baking.

bkkgal, oh for kate. yahor you said she started to have runny nose. did she have blocked nose? if yes burned eucalyptus essential oil at night, or you can get albus oil and put on a towel/tissue in the room ( the smell is strong). yea you let her try lemon and honey. eat kiwi and plenty of rest and water or fruit juice

bkkgal, ya I tried the eucalyptus oil that I bought from Sydney for RaeAnne when she had blocked nose too. I just drop a few drops and put the tissue near where she sleeps. Sometimes I even drop onto her t shirt near the neck area. Seems to help.

Hi moms,
thanks for the suggestions.
Tongtong, what is albus oil? where did u buy from?
She's better after taking the NatraBio cold and flu relief over the weekend. She likes the med so much, it's like a treat for her! lucky man!

bkkgal, i'm here but outside so using handphone to surf. Glad to hear that kate is feeling better. I think this thread only comes alive if there are new mtbs announcing their pregnancy. Hee.

i am ard - pop in occasionally to read updates

this time round the morning sickness very weird, i have to keep myself full in order not to feel nauseous :p, shit..i think i will grow fat fat this time round

just came in.
going off to meeting soon.

qingling,
my last MS is like that too.
keep lots of plain keloggs cereal in your drawer. it's less fattening.

Qingling,
i haven't shed my last 2 kilos from 1st preg and now I'm already up 6kgs! Worse thing is I have this craving for fizzy drinks this time (i hate fizzy drinks normally). Every night, will wake up to drink milo. How not to get fat...sigh.h

bkk,
bf dilligently after u deliver to shed the kilos. dun worry abt the weight gain now. strange cravings u have. waking up to drink milo. hee...

bkkgal
last time i also dun like to drink fizzy drinks. when i was expecting shawn, suddenly crave for it. somehow the 'fizziness' seemed to be very soothing. after giving birth, i still continue to take.

sigh. i normally really dun wanna have no. 2. But somehow, i'm missing pregnancy abit!!!

BUT...when i thought about it more....scared of delivery again!!!

So in the end, haha, the most unlikely candidate for no. anything will be me. We won't want no. 2 until...i dunno..something life changing happens and changes our mind?

Bx, I also want to share but no approval given. hehe. ;)

Qingling, this pregnancy also like that for me. Must keep eating every 2-3 hours, once got gastric juice/hungry, MS starts. I've also gained more for this pregnancy, already 7+kg so far and I'm only 6 months plus. Somemore MS longer, ended only at 16 weeks.

bkk/pauline - my weight is up up up since giving birth, except for the period of bf (how i miss that period when i am able to remain at 52kg..now i am almost 60kg, i want to faint, cannot imagine going up to 70kg for this second one, so i must really control my diet. after birth i maybe should train for marathon..haha

lezy - the scariest part for me is maybe the MS..haha

sweetpea - when r u plannign to visit gynae? me haven't even book appointment..ops

hi gd morning mummies !!

oh congrats qingling & sweetpea !

btw mummies, can check with you for childcare leave, on what circumstances are we allowed to take cc leave ?

my colleague insisted that if child sick need to produce MC for taking cc leave ??

if child not sick leh ? cannot take cc leave ?

diana
there are 6 days of unconditional childcare leave for children below 7 years old. can go to mcys website to check.

diana,

no condition for taking 6 dyas cc leaves in my com wor. only condition is that you have below 7 yo kid at home. boss din even ask me when i apply for cc leave.

Qing ling, I booked appt with gynae on 23 Sept. Think will be about 7 weeks then, so should be able to see heartbeat. I also kan chiong and feel like going earlier but I keep telling myself no point to go so early. This time's MS is worse than my no. 1 :S

Diana, no condition. As per the website:
"An employee has full flexibility to use the childcare leave to spend time with his/her child. A child medical certificate is not required. "
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Childcare_Leave.html

tong - or is bamboo??

diana - there's a form that your employer can submit to MCYS that requires all your particulars including marriage cert no.

maternity for contract workers
any mummies know whether if you're a contract worker (say 6 months or 1 year contract) you still get maternity?? i'm NOT the mystery mum hor, but there might be a contract opportunity coming up so just want to be sure..

oh qingling/iso - i'm not referring to sugarcane, it's in hokkien - happened to kids one - like got worms in the stomach.. would like to find out more info. cuz Shaun has been drinkin a lot of milk ( dunno why ). heard ppl said kam chek might cause a kid keeps getting hungry?

tong,

i think "kam chek" is just a term of endearment, not really that there are worms? if you suspect worms, the PD can verify.
maybe Shaun just going thru growth spurt?

bx
adding on to what you said, that's why pple say kam chek = body got worms, cos worms eat up all the food thus dun put up much wt :p

Iso
In general, I think contract or freelance workers do not enjoy benefits that "perm" staff enjoy. Maternity is probably one of them. But it also depends on how generous the coy is - some MNCs for example transpose EU/US labour laws to Spore and give their contract workers the same benefits.

"kam chek" - I heard of it before. Think BX's definition is most accurate. maybe K also kamchek - after eating huge dinner, can still drink 240 ml of milk! But never put on weight - just went over 10 kg this month. *faint*

cheryl/bkk,
dun forget they do not gain much weight because they may be very active, hence higher metabolic rate. not necessary kam chek.

wow bkk - Kate can really drink,the fact that H dun drink so much but is much "pui" than Kate, I am sure H no kam chek..haha. She is still drinking 180ml until now, and not even finishing her milk..zz

Oh dear. Kate drinks more than 600ml of milk a day. In fact, she finishes 1 tin of 1.6kg Mamil Gold in 12 days. I'm going broke!

She eats 2 bowls of rice with soup and kiam for lunch and dinner. Only brekkie she does not eat much - just nibble on cereal and fruit. She is only 10.2 kg!!! goodness, where is it all going??

bbkgal
kate can really eat leh...wow.

vernon milk intake is still 210ml, sometime he cant drink finish, sometime he like not enuff. weird.
he can eat 2 pcs of hotcakes now for breakfast.
lunch 1 bowl of rice
dinner oso 1 bowl of rice.
inbetween will give milk

ashlynn just had a fall and suffered a cut at just right above her eye. oh no... will leave scar? thank goodness din kena her eye.

bkk
yah i guess if the contract ends before birth then probably no ML. but wonder if the contract is like 1 year whether they will still give... oh well, maybe see if i even get offered a contract first!!

RaeAnne is also 10.5kg until now. Sigh, but she doesn't eat a lot unless it's junk food which we give her occasionally eg. ribena, prunes, biscuits. If she eats rice for dinner around 7pm, she can only drink only 160-180ml of milk.

Bx, oh no, hope Ashlynn is ok. Think can ask dermatologist for cream to reduce the scarring.

Ruth drinks only 120ml max, maybe 3/4 times a day. Sounds like she doesn't drink as much milk as most 'babies' here. sigh.

Ruth takes about 2 rice bowls of 'porridge' a day. Breakfast is always a struggle. So far she's doing ok with banana pancake or cakes.

Last measured..she was about 12.5kg, 86.5cm. Think she big-boned and lanky like her daddy.

oh..she also drinks only eithe rribena, delrosa, gripe water, anything but plain water.

takes biscuits, crackers, cereal, fruits throughout the day. if we eat, she also want to try. she's basically all over the place

oh..she also drinks only eithe rribena, delrosa, gripe water, anything but plain water.

takes biscuits, crackers, cereal, fruits throughout the day. if we eat, she also want to try. she's basically all over the place