(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tongtong
about every 15 - 25 minutes, we will bring him to the potty and let him try to pee. then slowly we adjust the interval and see the gap between the previous time he pee and the current one.
then we keep reminding him to tell us when he want to pee. few days later, he automatically tells us. :D we are still working hard on poo poo part. he's now trying pull up his pants after pee.

Sunny, my MIL had the same method too but she gave up after 1 day cos too tiring to keep bringing her to potty. Once they forget, she'll pee over FIL and table and bumper mat. End up she gave up lor. :p

re: allowance
talking about bringing them to holiday. no way man...
our interest is totally different. :p
but coming CNY will go cruise with them. at least cruise is OTOT

sweetpea,
exactly. the burden is always heavier for elder son/daughter.
by the time i start working, all my brother and sisters are already have earning power.

and now, 2 of my sis who are having 3 kids already no longer brings money home because of the financial burdern that they have.
i think it's fair as they have already been supporting the family for very many years (they are 11/12 years older than me).

re: education
iso,
exchange is a good idea too.

tubao,
if stay in hostel, make sure she doesn't bring her clothes back home to wash. :p
my hb stayed in hostel for half a year, monday to friday. brought his clothes back home to wash and iron.
till now he can't operate washing machine and iron clothes!!
another disadvantage of being in singapore, it's so easy and cheap to find food outside. no motivation to learn cooking. (excuse for me for don't know how to cook. :p)

i shake my head when saw a gal whose parent came to hostel to help her clean the room during the holiday. hai.. spoilt child.

re: scholarship
nothing else more important as long as she's happy.
read so much about scholars being pressurised so much till suicide. scared scared..
breaking the bond is another thing. what if he/she really don't like to work in that company/government sector? must teach them to carefully consider when taking up scholarship (talk as if mine is so clever and can get scholarship like that :p)

re: long weekend
bkkgal,
my weekends spent at home taking care of the small one, and the big one!! i've decided that i can't make a good housewife.
i get angry when i see hb playing games and leave C playing alone while i busy preparing food.
worse still, my food is not appreciated and i've got to clean up the kitchen by myself.
hence, i told hb - forget about cooking. he pay $ and go and buy food back next time. :p

re: active toddler
when in supermarket, she will sit in the trolley till she buay tahan (maybe 1 hour later).
we can't let her run about in supermarket as there's always lots of ppl. when she feels frustrated, hb will bring her to toys section to entertain her with the soft toys. :p

re: sewing machine
tubao,
i am eyeing those can sew ABC and some disney character one. expensive..
currently no budget assigned. next year maybe?

re: throwing tantrum
i seriously feel that their terrible 2 is approaching..
don't know what to do with her too..
when not happy, she will just lie on the floor. hai..

re: toilet train
i've not yet started training. don't have the patience doing that.
same as tute, afraid that she will dirty the sofa, chair, etc.
see how, my mum coming end of the month. she has experience of training.. hehe...

re: 2nd one
there's a joey in facebook just delivered the second one.
is that joeey from feb?

sunny
my dd is the opposite. she can only poop in the potty, not in her diapers. so she will say "erhg" and walk to the toilet to sit on potty. But when it comes to pee, she won't say it. maybe as tubao said, she can't enunciate the word "sheehsheeh" yet.

bkkgal, so good, kate can say 'ergh'. My gal still can't. But if we ask her if she has poo poo, she'll say "Boh!" if she didn't. If she makes any other sounds other than 'Boh' means she did poo poo lor. :p

re scholarship,
this one is a double edged sword. many overseas scholars are frustrated that they are bound by their bond to return to singapore, because of the perceived greener pastures abroad. especially when investment banks / top notch consultancies offer US$150K starting salaries.

on the other hand, without the scholarship these students may not have these opportunities in the first place.

my first job was in SIA and there are many scholars there. some are happy, some are not. some break bond, some stay on. some do very well, some not so well. so there is no guarantee that a scholarship is always good or always bad. a lot of it depends on what one makes out of it.

and working attitude is very important, if not the most important. some scholars, expect to have a red carpet and special treatment. end up having poor work attitudes and cannot perform.

my hubby is an overseas scholar, i studied in NUS without one. so we aim to be balanced in our approach to A.

toilet training,
haha...i'm too lazy. thinking of outsourcing when i send her to half day child care. my mom has trained her to go the potty when she wants to poo, but always too late. for wee wee, haven't even started at all!

scholarship
i guess there's no such thing as a free lunch! for doctors who study at NUS they die die must serve their bond of 4-5 years, and if i'm not wrong that's something that they can't buy themselves out of. and it's not even scholarship, they still got to pay school fees!
so i guess for those taking up scholarship, just got to "tong" or pay up, lol.

Iso
it's not even scholarship - just bcos med studies in sgp is so "subsidised"(according to gahmen) hence the 5 yr "bond". But if u got $$, can buy yrself out.

Dun do medical; take legal. Only need to play 4 yrs, no bond, come out and earn more than houseman.

Hi, Xiaoyun
hehe...for sewing, I don't have time this year. My hubby and MIL urge me to learn driving; so that I can send my gal to childcare.

Hi, Stephie
Is your gal 3+year older than your boy? Thought that older will bully younger one more, as age gap is shorter.
Hmmm.....Does your gal show affections to your boy often?

E is not that lady type; I suspect that when she has sibling, she tends to bully her sibling.

tubao
ya, my gal is 3 years older than my boy. haiz, pple always say jie jie will sayang the younger one. think mine is odd one out. keep bullying her brother. don't share her toys with him. :p at times she will sayang him (by hugging his head against her chest) when didi cries.

re: potty training
have not started and do not intend to start. partly becos i'm afraid of the mess. :p my girl started when she was 2 years+ (initiated by my mum).

hello mummies!!
very very long never come in here, din even find time to read the posts. The thing is now i have time, but the bad thing is i am home with mc (down with gastric flu, had to get a jab at a&e cos the tummy pain was too severe)..haha

bkk
lol, took me a while to realise what you meant by play 4 years..

breakfast/snacks
i think we've discussed this before, but can i ask what mummies have been giving for brekkie or snacks? i think E is not getting enough solids and he doesn't like the baby cereals anymore..

toilet training,
I wish I can train her to be on nappy too but I can't afford the time to keep changing her nappies throughout the day. What's more, if she poos, big headache for me. Sometimes I'm lazy, I don't bother to wash the nappy, just throw :p

talking,
How well is your toddler talking now? Mine's still babbling at 17 months. DD1 spoke simple sentences at about 20 months whereas DS2 spoke in sentences after turning 2. I think DD3 will be like DS2. But she does pick up alot of things from the 2 elder kids

Iso,
My toddler takes very little solids, she eats biscuits, bread, breakfast cereal, muffins, oats, cakes, roti prata, chwee kueh, cheong fan etc... Basically she's eating whatever we're eating. She's a small eater but I'm happy as long as I see her poo is well formed.

For meals, she eats whatever I cook for the family. Of course, she doesn't eat alot, like I've said earlier, as long as she can eat says around 10 mouthful, I'm contented.

Eg fish baked rice
2801392.jpg

lasagna
2801393.jpg

claypot chicken rice with chayote
2801394.jpg

grilled chicken with rice and roasted veg
2801395.jpg

Homemade Mian Fen Guo Soup
2801396.jpg

long bean rice
2801397.jpg

Iso
hahaha! I always see my law frens always playing, paktor-ing outside the law library, skip classes. life seemed easy for them.

Breakfast/snacks
I have the same prob too. Quite limited cos she doesn't seem to be enthused abt breakfast. i give rice crispies, cornflakes, yoghurt (sometimes only cos she's not keen already), century egg porridge, bread, biscuits.

Talking
wow, sentences at 20 months - that's fast Reena! K's vocab - bus, car, stop, go, bod-ter (bolster), pillow, open, close, elmo, yes, come, milk, cup, watch, yoyo, duck, hao (good), yao (want), unker, ahta (aunty), up above (twinkle little star song), names of family. No sentences yet but alot of babbling esp when playing with self.

iso,
i have the same headache as you. for cereal, we mix it with her favourite fruits and she will happily eat. we also give bread, toasties, cheong fun, biscuits, F&N alive children cereal (very crunchy), soon kway, cheese with pancakes etc. same as reena, we give her whatever we eat so long as it's not too oily or deep fried.

reena,
your home cooked food looks yummy! can you share the recipe of lagsane with me please?

bkkgal,
I bought this book "What to expect the toddler years" when I had DD1 and her vocab is always among the highest for her age. Eg generally todds at this age has a vocab of 20 words, but some (minority) has a vocab of 50 words. And DD1 belongs to the minority. But with DS2 and DD3, they are the "barely can make it" todds.

I don't think DD3 can say so many words... her most powerful word is "MILK MILK!!" faint!

garfield9
The recipe is in my blog, here's the link:

http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/2009/03/lasagna.html

reena
wah liao eh! i feel so hungry now after looking at your photos. and now i feel like going home to cook for the family instead of sitting here at work ;)

breakfast
thanks for the suggestions!! now i feel like eating soon kway too, lol. maybe i buy a variety of things for him to let him try at my mum's place.

talking
E is picking up words so fast these days, he hardly babbles now, either uses words or will make noise "uh uh" to indicate he wants something. no sentences yet though lol.

i think it's super cute that they're starting to sing along to songs!!

reena,
thanks! wah so many recipes i will try my hand. for a newbie like me who hardly cooks...which would you recommend i try first?

iso,
A looooooooooves soon kway (i feed her the filling only without the skin). she can't wait for me to feed her and will grab my hand and bring the spoon to her mouth. toasties with melted cheese and tuna/ham also her favourite. only thing that can make her sit quietly at yakun when we are having our breakfast.

qingling,
rest well, gastric flu is v painful...ouch!

gar
toasties are what you make with a sandwhich maker is it?
i haven't tried giving any tuna yet but have been thinking of! which type you give? the canned ones in mineral water? E doesn't seem to chew much so i think cannot give ham yet..

iso,
ya - those sandwich makers that shaped the bread into two triangular shapes. tuna is the canned type. you can also add omelette, finely shredded chicken with a bit of mayo.

iso,
for breakfast you can try making french toast, add milk to the egg and then pan fry without oil
alternatively can make pancake...

i wish C can take more solid foods, but he still refuse to chew a lot of things or even if he does he will keep it in his mouth for very long then chew and swallow and i have no patience to wait so long! so now he's still eating baby cereals for breakfast alternate with bread soaked in milk plus his morning milk intake...

reena,
your meal varieties looks very good! i'm v lazy usually just cook whatever i know off... lazy to try new recipes..(always rice + side dish type) :S plus i cook early morning before going off to work so not much time
and weekend just want to relax... heheh...

re:playdate,
13 sep it is then... was thinking of going in the morning so that the kids can enjoy early morning fresh air ?
dor, if we go morning hopefully not too crowded?

re: study
bkkgal,
law also not easy to study, i think.
at least the ang moh need to be very good.
that's my biggest disadvantage is the english..

re: driving
tubao,
talk about driving. aiyah. my license has expired for more than half a year already. always lazy to take a photo and go and renew it.
how long can i drag huh?

qingling,
take care..

re: breakfast
on weekday, my mil give baby cereal + bread. she want a bit of bread on every mouth of baby cereal.
on weekeend, i cook oatmeal + fruit. find that she doesn't seem to like it as it's a bit sticky.
but i afraid bread alone is not nutrituous enough and i don't want to put bread spread for her as they are too sweet. :p
ok to feed canned food now? don't wish to start so early.

reena,
what do you mean by poo is 'well formed'?

re: talking
my golden mouth gal speaks very little.
bird, zan (as in 3), take, cat, cake, daddy, flo-wo (flower), fish, what else what else? thinking hard...

wow Reena..the food looks...YUMMY
Mian Fen Guo - Tried to make my own some time back but turned out too hard. used too much egg. And the soup not nice. SO I think I will leave mian fen guo to the experts in the stalls.

garfield,
good idea to make pancake with fruit.
get the pancake flour from the shelf and mix with water/milk? then serve with maple syrup/honey + fruit?

btw, C has a strand of grey hair!!! still monitoring if there's any more comes out.
from the search, grey hair in kids caused by deficiency of B12, iron, etc. breastfeeding mothers need to take note of the B12 intake.
i've been taking multi-vit diligently and make sure i eat nutritional enough too.
not sure why. just monitor loh.

xy,
ya can get those premix or if you have time can make from scratch using flour and some other basic ingredients.

instead of butter / syrup you can spread cream cheese.

Xy, wah! Grey hair?? First time heard of that wor. Breastmilk since 6 months doent provide enuff iron, that’s why they need to take iron fortified food like cereal liao. So make sure Carrie eat enuff iron rich food , for vegetarian like me I take different kinds of beans, lentils, grains, breads, all green vegs like kalian or broccoli, asparagus, tofu, blackstrap molasses, egg yolk, dried fruits and nuts. As for non veg, sources of iron are from meat and seafood . take lots of vit C fruits to increase iron absorption. As for B12 , I gave nutritional yeast , seaweed .

garfield,
aiyah. forgot about cream cheese. thanks for reminding.

normally the premix is quite big packet, i ever bought a few times and end up throw away the rest cos hb still prefer the one in McD. shall try again as i am sure C will give me some face. :p

tong,
i am quite surprised that she got it too since she has been eating quite nutritiously than us. e.g., baby cereal, multi grains, meats. i suspect is one off thing - hb said i stressed her too much (joking).
will monitor first, if there's another come out, got to bring her to body check up liao.

stephie,
yup. mine is the singapore one. but got it when i was holding student pass, that's why got expiry date.

clover,
tahini is the sesame?
i added small amount of oatmeal, wheat germ, and ground flaxseed into it too. cannot add too much otherwise adults in my house doesn't like.

xy, yea tahini is the sesame spread. i use that as spread too. yea i also find that C is eating quite nutritious food already. myabe it's not grey colored hair but you yan3 hua1 issit? :p

tong,
not yan3 hua1. my hb can certify that. we pull it off and kept into her treasure box with her first curl. :p
monitor again and see how.

i found a baby version of pancake. maybe you would like to try over the weekend.

the portion is big yet it can be frozen. i would probably reduce the portion to using only 1 egg yolk.

Baby Cereal Pancakes Recipe - read below for extra hints and tips.

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup baby barley cereal (or other baby cereal)
1 cup formula (or another liquid such as milk)
1/2 cup mashed banana (or fruit of your choice)
1 tbsp melted margarine or butter (unsalted type)
3 egg yolks
1/2 cup baby oatmeal
apple juice (about 1/2 cup) or use water if you prefer

Add cinnamon, nutmeg, dash of vanilla or other flavorings if you wish.

Mix all ingredients together and add enough juice to make pancake consistency. Cook on cook top in frying pan as with "regular" pancakes.

(You could also add some baking powder if you like so that you will get a less dense and more "fluffy" pancake. I believe it is 1 tablespoon of baking powder to every 1 cup of whole wheat flour.)

been down for a few days so back at work yesterday rushing stuff.

scholarship:
i hv quite a varied bunch of scholar friends. some move up very fast. some, somehow, the path already created for them - not just move up but somehow, everyone knows he's gonna be something big. some dying to break bond and leave - feel miserable. some progress as pernormal. all this depends on the person, as well as the mentors and opportunities available.

i think scholarship is good and bad. the student has added pressure to perform up to par to expectations of the scholarship.

I guess I just want my kid to be happy.

TOilet training:
Ruth used to pee/poop on command in potty/sink.
ALl of a sudden, about 1-2 months back, she refuse liao. SHe will poo in diaper mostly, even when we ptu her on potty. Pee sometimes will still pee at sink/potty.

also dunno why. heh. but we'll just let her be la. cannot control every single thing of her life.

breakfast:
we have to keep changing the menu. pancakes started coming on cuz we brought her to McD. She eats basically anything with banana. haha. but other than cereal with banana, bread with cheese, chwee kway, pancakes, cakes etc, we will stuff her with anything we can think of lor. she used to be happy eating bread with cheese but after awhile, i think she's aware of the greate variety of choices...so she picky now.

always have to tell her, "okok..one more pls" then she'll open mouth. if not, she'll shake her head.

I think they are testing out their powers of assertion and trying to see what the consequences are.

Slide:
My dad been bringing her to playground since about 1 year old. Now everyday must have at least 2 trips. There are many many kids there. Some younger, some older. Some very nice, will looka fter her and play with her. SOme like mad dog (mostly boys) and just ram everyone all over.

Playground has tube slides...so she's been going up and down those since young. At first climbing a few steps up the slide then slide down. At home we also stack mattresses for her to play. She loves the thrill. always on tummy.
Slowly slowly they will progress to slide half, then full, then on their butts.

iso,
My bakes and cooks are nothing compared to so many other moms I know. They really can bake and cook well, what's more take nice pics!

bkkgal,
My nephew loves my claypot chicken rice and every school holidays, my sis will make an effort to bring her kids to my place for dinner, and this is always the dish I cook for him

garfield,
You have oven? If yes, can bake gratin, roast chicken. Lasagna is nice but abit more effort.

tute,
Kudos to you for waking up early to cook meals. I can never do that when I was still working.

xy,
As I'm still breastfeeding, if she doesn't eat enough solids, her poo will be watery. So if her poo is well formed, that means she eats enough ;-)

sweetpea,
Thanks for your kind words. I grew up eating homemade mian fen guo and when food courts started selling it, I thought theirs tasted weird :p My mom taught me this, add some salt water to the flour and knead till dough (I don't even bother to knead, just use a pair of chopsticks to stir) and let stand for at least 1 hour before cooking. Not sure if it helps in the texture but my mom says the noodle will be more Q.

Here's another pancake recipe that you may want to try but I personally prefer the buttermilk version

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/nigella-lawson/homemade-instant-pancake-mix-and-blueberry-syrup-recipe/index.html

Ingredients
Pancake mix:
4 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons sugar
Pancake batter:
1 egg
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon melted butter
For the pancake mix:
Directions
Mix the above ingredients together and store in a jar.

For the pancake batter:
For each 1 cup pancake mix, add 1 egg, 1 cup milk, and 1 tablespoon melted butter. Do not overmix.

Heat a flat griddle or pan over medium-high heat.

Spoon drops of 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of batter onto the hot griddle and when bubbles appear on the surface of the little pancakes, flip them over to make them golden brown on both sides. A minute or so a side should do it.

Tute
early morning is great for K - she's an early riser and I agree, not so hot for our kids. Sep 13 it is then.

XY
Usually for the premix, I will make a whole batch of pancakes and freeze them. When wanna eat, take out and defrost.

Reena
the buttermilk pancakes sound yummy! if there's time this weekend, will try it. bought some cherries yday, thinking of making cherry compote.

K doesn't seem to like anything spread on her bread or pancakes. She must eat plain one. Maybe the jam is too sweet for her. But last weekend, she tried a birthday cake for the first time in her life and wahhhhh!! she LURVED it lor. wish she can eat rice with that kind of enthusiasm! ha.

Movers
need a recommendation for good reliable movers. no need to pack, i do my own packing. Just need lorry and manpower. anyone?

xiaoyun
i see. no wonder need to renew. me v happy when they come up with lifetime licence. save $ compared to regular renewal.

bkkgal
u shifting hse?

lezy,
agree....just want child happy.....

Ruth can slide tube slide already....woh.... There's no tube slide at my downstairs. E dare not to try tube slide at other playgrounds.

tubao..i think that's because ruth was 'brought up' on tube slides. i find it safer actually cuz they won't fall 'out' of the slide leh. heh.

i'm still looking for playground with CHILD SWINGS.

ANYBODY CARE TO SHARE??? Ruth loves swings - but i can't find them in Singapore. in melbourne, everywhere also have!!!

2807427.jpg

lezy, yealor shaun likes the swing too, there are 2 opposite my house in KL too, which is pretty common. maybe there's not many here as it's not 100% safe?