(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Mine loves slides too, but she goes to the regular slide. I just put her on the lowest slide and she'll slide down by herself, with a loud "WEEEE!!!"

Reena,
Thanks. Pasir Ris abit far for me but i'll be sure to try when i'm there. i think those in melbourne type are secur enough for me - since we will definitely watch her and not leave her alone.

Others,
Any place u know of have swings - that are not too far out?

lezy,

There's child swing at Sembawang park. Quite popular, kids queue for it.

Another option, my neighbour bought swing from kiddy palace. Often I see their kid play with it at living room.

dor and tong.. i not preggie lah.. will prob.. only try at the end of the year. Now very stress with family stuffs and work stuffs.. think i need a few months to really settle down.

Re: child care
Anyone knows any child care around farrer road area/holland area to recommend? Thinking of sending gwen for flexi hrs school.. abt 3-4 hrs a day.Even if not sending her now.. dunno where to send her in the future.. wanted to send her to the child care centre next blk but went there to take a look and noticed that the teachers are pretty bo chup...one of them even told me that the kids are mischievious when i notice that 1 of the kids ( just 18 months) was curious abt things and just wnat to touch.This makes me a bit worried cause when kids are curious.. they are deemed as naughty in the school and it seems that the teacher prefer quieter kids. Are our child care/kindergarden like that?

Reena.. u can cook and bake so well!! Ur kids and hubby are so fortunate!!! I will never be able to do like u. Thumbs up!!!

Re: swings
Very difficult to find nowadays.. i still prefer the playground we had in the past.. got swings and dragon head.. and sand!!

genice
which childcare centre are you referring to? at which blk?

reena
agree, you can cook and bake really well. even with 3 kids can still squeeze time to do so. i feel like trying the steam choco cake one of these days. does it taste like those awfully choco cake?

bkkgal,
I made another pancake over the weekends using shredded cheddar cheese, the pancakes are soft and fluffy. I'm still in the midst of updating my blog. Check out my blog again in a few days' time for the recipe. DD3 being a fussy eater ate quite a bit of it

Clover,
I think you can but you'll have to oil your WMF pan well so that the pancakes won't stick onto the pan.

genice/stephie,
Thanks for your kind words. I'm a lousy cook lah.. but having been a sahm for 1 year plus, I must improve right? :p

Stephie,
I've not tried awfully choc but my friends say they will make this and no more secret recipe cakes for them. So I think it's closer to secret recipe's choc banana cake. I don't usually buy choc cakes outside as I'm not a choc fan :p

reena
oic. looking at the texture of the cake, looks llike those yummy chocolate fudge cake. i'm a cake lover, eat any kind except those with lots of cream.

Genice, so far, the playgroup at my place is ok. They have a lot of mischievious kids cos they take in kids from 18 mths to 3 years plus. The older kids will definitely be naughtier, crawl and hide under the tables and chairs, stand up and block the other kids when they are watching vcd, snatch toys from younger kids etc. But I think the teachers are pretty tolerant so far. Think it helps with the teacher themselves have kids so that they know what is natural curiousity versus being naughty. :p

Reena.. i thot u have stayed at home for many years,, only 1 year? and u are doing so well!! Wow.. even more impressive.. givve me 2-3 yrs.. also no difference.

re: pancake
i made this over the weekend.
it tasted very much the same as the one made from premix plus a bit of banana in it.

1.5 cup all purpose flour
0.5 cup baby barley cereal
1 tsp ground flaxseed
1 cup milk
0.25 cup mashed banana
3.5 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
pinch of cinnamon powder

the batter is not liquid enough, i think i will add more milk next time.

opposite of K, C doesn't like it plain - even with some banana.
put cream cheese or nutella for her. she happily ask for more.

reena,
haven't try your buttermilk pancake recipe cos no lemon on hand.

bkkgal,
me too freeze the rest. no need to worry for her breakfast for next week.

reena,
your DD3 really eats so little solid food until the poo is liquid?
if i were you, i sure worry till siao. i always want her to eat more.

yup. i will monitor and see how. in the mean time, i think will try to add black sesame in her food.

you only 1 year into sahm, who took care of your kids before that?

bkkgal,
you moving to where? tanah merah property price rocketing, you sold it off?

Hi Reena
Sure will check out yr blog! Shameful to admit but I didn't try pancakes in the end cos I was trying to cook down my fridge in preparation for my move in 2 weeks.

Stephie
Yup shifting house - again. *sianz*

Jeannie
me too looking around the area. let me know if you find one - maybe gwen and kate can be schoolmates! i think you're thinking of those play-based learning childcare/kindy right? can try montessori-based learning schools - they encourage natural curiousity to dev. But be careful, not every montessori really engages the montessori method. In the true-blue montessoris, apparently the kids of all age groups learn together, not segregated into groups because the philosophy teaches that kids can learn from each other. The kids are apparently, I say apparently because I have not visited one myself but a colly did, and she said the older kids do not disturb the younger kids and there was general peace and order in the classroom.

xiaoyun
haha, i wish ah! no lah, property price still sama sama. i make a loss if sell now cos i bought at height of 08 boom.

long story but my childcare arrangement going to center around my ILs who live in the west. So I have to move nearer to them loh.

bkkgal,
oh ya. remember your hb registered K for St James. It's at the west right?
your mum no longer to help take care of K?

Reena, ya agree with Gwen, you adapt to SAHM so well. I've only been SAHM for 6 months. Duh, but I only looked after RaeAnne myself for 1 months plus. After that got pregnant then started bringing RaeAnne to my ILs house in the day liao. :p

bkkgal, Have your ILs been looking after Kate? Personally, I do prefer own parents to look after but mine too old so bo bian, got to rely on ILs. Wow, moving from East to West is a big move. Too bad, I missed your playdate of the year last year. Next time, cannot visit you in the East liao. ;P

hey talking about montessori, did you mummies see the article in Mind Your Body last week?

it was an article by a child psychologist, about ADD - he said one boy thrived in a montessori environment, but when he went to primary school he suffered cos it's much more structured. too bad no montessori-type pri school, haha.

i've also been q interested in the montessori methods, but recently my friend put his son in PCF kindy and he said it's q good!

am also thinking about playgroup, but no action yet, heh.

bkk which part of west u moving to?

Pauline
MIL takes care Mon-Tues and mom Wed-Fri but this arrangement will change. y'noe, i also thot having own parents better than ILs, hence chose to stay near my folks in the east but i was wrong.

bkkgal, hehe, why wrong decision? Normally, own parents easier to communicate, that's why better for them to look after grandchildren. But it's great that your MIL takes even better care of Kate.

Pauline
haha, playdate of the year?

Actually, i'm very grateful already that our parents are willing to help us out. I don't dare to impose more than necessary except when she was younger becos we thot that putting her on E.A.S.Y schedule is impt but other than that, i leave them to their own devices. oher pp usually hv IL probs. maybe i've been indept, away from spore for too long but i think the caregiving philosophy is different. even value system is different

I'm expecting our No. 2 btw. When I told ILs, they were so thrilled and willing to cont to help. But when I told my own parents, the answer is very lukewarm.
That's when I knew that probs will crop up sooner or later. And then later, there were some issues that crop up between us - hence.

Iso
Moving to central west
can do westie playdates?

<font color="ff0000">Congrats! bkkgal on no. 2.
When's your EDD? </font>
How come I missed this important announcement??? Looks like you are the 5th Feb08 mummy to be preggie again.

My ILs were the one with super 'cold' reaction to my annoucement on no. 2. Until now, no concern, no tonics, no nutritious soups and no questions at all about no. 2 except 1 question on when I'll know the gender of no. 2. That's partly why I decided to hire a maid too. Don't want to impose too much on them. :p

Freezing food
I've never frozen any food before prior to having #3. Now, I freeze almost everything, broth, cakes, bread, pancakes, muffins etc... It's such a breeze to have ready food whenever we want it.

Stephie,
Try to make the cake then and let me know if it's close to awfully choc ;-) I also don't like too much cream in my cakes so I always scrape off those commercially bought ones. Now that I can bake one myself, I just limit the cream used

genice,
Actually it's coming 2 years being a sahm. I left my job in Oct 2007 when I was preg with #3.

XY,
Even after crossing her 1st year, her poo sometimes watery and custard in colour, exactly like those new born poo. So now, as long as her stool is well formed and is dark in colour, I'm happy :p I guess it makes a difference when you are a mother of 1 vs a mother of 3. I still rem when I only had dd1, I was very rigid but as ds2 came along, I tend to be more relax. With dd3, anything goes

DD1 was taken care by my sis and her maid as MIL had to take care of my nephew who's 11 days younger than dd1 (phew!). I'm glad my sister resigned from her part time job and helped me out. Hardly any conflict as she knows better than me and more receptive to what I say.

DS2 was taken care by my sis's maid but under my employment, but they will go over to my ILs in the day and we go over for dinner and come back together. She only worked with us for 1 yr+ (she worked with my sis for 7 yrs) and wanted to go back to get married. I left my job in Feb 07 to take care of dd1 and ds2 but returned to the workforce in May 07 as my ex boss started his own business and invited me to join him. I quitted my job in Oct 07 because I felt I wasn't spending enough time with the kids. I was preg with dd3 then.

bkkgal,
Not easy to move house, alot of logistics to take care, what's more with a toddler in tow.

Pauline,
I didn't "announce" lah, that's why you didn't miss mah! Actually thot if Jeannie announce, then I'll piggyback on hers! hehe. Jeannie, hurry up, jia you!

Xiaoyun
Due in Feb 2010 - exactly 2 yrs from K - hb hoping for same bday so that he can save $$.

bkk,
congrats!!! how many weeks le?

pauline,
is it u who is sensitive to the way ur ILs react to ur 2nd pregnancy? mayb they juz dunno how to show their care and concern bah. 1st pregnancy they got prepare tonics etc?

bkkgal,
Pray hard and you may have same bday bb cos it happened to my ex collg. All her 3 kids born on the SAME DAY!!

hehe, let me try and get the list right, please correct me if i got the names wrong. ;)

Feb08 mummies
1. Crystal (popped already)
2. Esther (popped already)
3. Pauline (edd 8 Dec 09)
4. Mystery mum (edd Feb 10)
5. bkkgal (edd Feb 10)

bx, I wish lor. Even hubby sense the difference, he even asked them if they can make black chicken soup for me, and they replied no time. No. 1, MIL made bird nest every 1-2 weeks and black chicken soup a few times. She even asked her friends when I can start taking tonics and what kinds of tonics are good. No. 1, they'll happily see the ultrasound scans. No. 2, show them they also just give a cursory glance. Sometimes, don't even bother to see. RaeAnne is more excited to see mei mei's photos than them though she tends to rip the photo album apart. :p

Anyway, their indifference towards no. 2 made hubby conclude that they are not keen to look after no. 2 (or continue looking after no. 1). Even when we hinted that we want to hire a maid, they didn't say anything. And last month, my MIL already signed up for karaoke lessons at CC again. Think she's more than happy to get her social life back. ;P

reena,
that's the way to be a happier mum then.

you want to have #4? wah.. really pro-family leh.

bkkgal,
feb baby is actually quite good. weather is still cooling in feb compared to june - sept.

pauline.. u very cute leh.. y is there a mystery mum? I think u forgot to put blueginger.. i very curious leh.. erm... is it bx? haha.. or.. hmm..iso?

reena!! wow.. u going for NO. 4?? I salute u leh!!!U must advertise for GOVT liao

bkkgal.. i cannot hurry.. cause i want august baby.. haha... Wow.. urs exactly 2 yrs.. got timing one har?

Now we can meet to go botanic gardens.. i think i will put gwen on wait list for st james first and i will decide again if really get it.. I am enrolling for session 3 cause the rest are so FULL!!! almost 100 on wait list!!! Its scary..

Oh ya, I forgot blueginger and she's due 1 month before me. Eeks! :p

Feb08 mummies
1. Crystal (popped already)
2. Esther (popped already)
3. blueginger (edd Nov 09)
4. Pauline (edd 8 Dec 09)
5. Mystery mum (edd Feb 10)
6. bkkgal (edd Feb 10)

Reena, looks like you are fighting for the 7th position then. ;P

bkk
CONGRATS!!!! yes! playdates can! :D

mystery mum - who?? me? i would love to be preggers again, then at least got maternity to look forward to. i am so over my current job!! :D if i "kena" by the end of this month i will be so happy :D

Yes, genice/xiaoyun, there is a mystery mum but I can't announce until she announce mah. hee hee. ;)

Iso, genice, reena, 3 of you can fight for 7, 8 or 9th position then.

LOL

i must admit i knew about bkk's pregnancy - but i kept quiet cuz she kept quiet until now. heh.

Iso confirm dun have..i just met her hahaha.

for me, hub and i still trying to convince ourselves we want more. SO far always feel 1 is enough. :p

yes yes...westies playdates!! Ruth needs friends

Reena
All the way! I have frens who have 4 or hoping for 4th. I find they are really those who enjoy families, love kids, life is totally blissful for them. I think if can afford, why not?

Pauline
who the mystery mum????

Bx
15 weeks le.

Jeannie
hurry up and sign up for Session 3 liao. I oso signed up Session 3, No. 9 on waiting list. Btw, must pay $30 non refundable to sign up.

15 Feb is in the Tiger year liao. I dun wan Tiger baby leh cos 2 tigers in the family will eat poor me (rabbit) and Kate (rat) up! So, I cham siong with hb - anyday within Feb still can celebrate bday together! hehe.

Pauline
i know what u mean. Can tell the difference clearly. MIL straightaway whip out her week-by-week tonic cookbook for preggy moms and every week Mon-Tues, she will have some special dish for me. last pregnancy, she didn't do that much for me. mom cooked bird's nest for me during 1st pregnancy, this time nothing at all. mom keep saying that she very busy, no time to do this, no time for that but when i ask is it Kate taking up her time, she doesn't want to say.

reena

how you handle 3 ah? sorry but can i ask again what the age gap is? i think u mentioned before but i forgot... i'd like 4 too! but that's what i say now. maybe after 2 i buay tahan, hahha.

lezy

haha.. u might not know if i'm not showing yet mah! lol.

LOL Iso - will be praying for you! I oso considered darn hard about changing jobs and trying for #2. having maternity leave on my timeline is definitely something I look forward to!

bkk - congrats!!
mystery mum - whoever u r? hee..

today i am already in my 3rd day of mc (since Thur and Friday)
, but am feeling better already. stupid gastric flu! made me eat plain porridge on my birthday (Sat)..argg

i am also planning to send H to playgroup, am looking at zoophonics, any reviews?

bkkgal, ya, exactly. ILs say got no time to make soups for me. But they can make pig tails, peanut soup for themselves and can even make 'tang yuan' from scratch by hand (roll and dye themselves). Sigh, what to do. It's a matter of whether they want to do it or not. Cannot be forced mah.

Even without ILs love, I'll still love my Raelynn as much as RaeAnne. But I told hubby, if they choose to treat no. 2 so unfairly and don't cherish her even though she is also their grandchild then don't expect me to keep bringing the baby over to see ye ye and nai nai. If they want to see, they come over and see. :p

After I complain to my mum about their attitude, my mum make cordyceps soup for me almost every week. Had some leftover from first pregnancy.

pauline,
come on... tell us leh. if go dig out Feb 10 thread, will know?
hint hint pls..

bkkgal,
i dun like tiger too..
if really going to have #2, shall wait for 12 months more then try..
yes.. maybe i am going to try.. not firm yet. 12 more months to consider.

qingling,
still haven't recover ah. avoid dairy products (that's what my GP told me in my last gastric flu).
take care..

hey mystery mummy,
please own up.. i am super curious now.

XY, I also dying to tell but no permission given, cannot leh. Maybe when she reads the posts, she'll decide whether to announce early. I'm super curious to know who will pop first though, mystery mum or bkkgal. So fun to have both kids born in Feb 08 and Feb 10. The 2 sets of siblings will have so much fun at playdates or gathering next time.

hmmm, maybe bkkgal already knows who the mystery mum is but she is also keeping mum?

Oh yes, rings a bell. Do you remember when's her EDD? I forgot liao, next time got list easier to keep track then to pore through old posts. :p

genice,
no me la
i did put on weight but not preggy.

bkk,
wow, 15 weeks le! so fast. it means u got preg shortly after our meetup at ikea? i rbr u said u r starting to try for #2. wow! strike liao.

pauline,
give hints leh. how u found out wan?